We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply The Best In Denarau”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Denarau Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2006

My husband and myself spent 13 nights at this resort, while having our daughters wedding here. We cannot fault anything about this beautiful laid out resort. I would say it is suitable for young and old. The staff work endlessly and are always happy to please. We cannot wait to return next year, and highly recommend to all our friends who could not make it to the wedding.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank merg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,606)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,489 - 3,495 of 3,606 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2006

Having recently spent two nights at the Sofitel in Denarau enroute to one of the fiji islands, I have the following comments
Found the rooms to be very small more like what you would expect to find in a city hotell. Would agree with previous reviews regarding the fact not all rooms have sea views, if in one of the side wings, sea glimpse from balcony would be a more honest description. Also massive confusion with reception staff regarding what has been pre paid and what has not, we also incurred the breakfast problem that a previous reviewer mentioned. Additionally having thought we had paid for all accomodation in full prior to arrival, we were charged again at check out, still waiting for credit card statement to confirm we have not been charged twice. Having said all this both the pool areas and public areas of this hotel are very pleasant.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank vietnam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2006

Although we had a lovely (short) stay, 5 nights, our biggest disappointment was paying for an upgrade to an Ocean Terrace Room to ensure we got 'uninterrupted sea views' in 'close proximity to the beach', to end up with a room with very limited sea views, over the tops of trees and the Spa, and as far from the beach as the cheaper rooms. We generally found the cheaper rooms had a better view, as they were looking straight out to the water, where the Ocean Terrace rooms were wings off the main building and all on an angle to the beach. What side of the wing you were on also made a huge difference to whether you got much of a sea view or not. When we go back again (and we will) we know exactly which rooms to ask for.

The pool area was great, but we spent most of our time on the man made beach. Not great for swimming (nor is anywhere at Denerau) but it was nice listening to the waves and watching the water activities. If you are a guest the catamaran usage was free. If you stay at the Hilton you have to pay for their cats, so we had Hilton guests hiring Sofitel cats as it was cheaper to do that than use the cats at the Hilton.

We spent a lot of time looking at the different resorts at Denerau, and we would recommend the Sofitel, but if a view is important make sure they confirm in writing that you will get what you are expecting.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank VisionBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2006

Stayed at the Sofitel Fiji Resort for a week and had an awesome time. Previousely, I've always stayed at Sheraton Fiji or Sheraton Villas but it is wonderful to see that you now have the choice of other resorts apart from the two Sheratons and the absolutely over-rated Westin. During our stay, we found that there is no doubt - Sofitel food is the best on Denarau and Saturday night seafood is not to be missed as locals and other resort guests have heard about the Seafood buffet. The service is truly amazing compared to the dis-gruntled features of Sheraton staff and management. The new Mandara Spa offers truly unique services and the ambience of this spa invites you to sit back and relax while your therapists works wonders on your face and body. While sitting at the Juice bar at the spa, my husband and I spoke to other guests from other resorts on Denarau. We all agreed that this spa is better than any spa that we have been to back home or on Denarau. An evening next door at the Hilton was also unforgettable. The local band played some beautiful music that had us swaying to the tunes of 70s, 80s, and 90s. The Denarau shuttle service takes you right around the island and a stop at Cardos for Steak or Pizzas is a must!!!

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Snow1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2006

My husband and i stayed at the Sofitel for our last night of our honeymoon in Fiji Denaru. The next morning when we went to breakfast we were told that it was included in our package $66 breakfast only to be told at check out that it wasn't after 15 mins of being told by staff that we were in the wrong and that we would have to pay, and totally being embarrased infront of other guests only to find out when arriving back in australia that breakfast was included in our package, we recived no apology what so ever. Drinks were expensive, nice resort but is too Americanised, looks like a shopping centre. We stayed at Matamanoa Island where we payed $550 a night this was beautiful compared to Sofitel.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank szamar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2006

We have just returned from a 7 night stay at the Sofitel and wish we had stayed a little longer. It was fantastic! The rooms were very clean and relatively spacious, considering there were four of us staying in the one room ( 2 children- 5&8 years). Most of the day was spent by the pool, which was absolutely huge, and catered for all types of swimmers. There is a great waterslide which keeps the kids entertained (and adults too!!).
There is a great choice when it comes to food from fine dining to casual dining. The kids are well catered for in the lagoon restaurant, which offers a buffet. There is a special little buffet area for the kids but they are quite welcome to eat from the ordinary buffet as well. Soft drinks are included in the price and there are special kids prices for the buffet. It is strongly recommended that you get a package deal with breakfast included as this sets you up for the day, and the variety is great (and varies slightly each day).
Looking at the other resorts on Denarau Island, I thought it was truley the nicest, although we did not go to the new Hilton down the road. We did drive past it with the Bula bus (which is free), and it didn't seem too inviting from the outside.
Overall, the Sofitel is highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank gpanzas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2006

Stayed for 5 nights at the Sofitel last week. Thoroughly enjoyed it and are planning on returning next year.

Pro's - lovely pool area, lots of loungers, very friendly staff and prompt service throughout the resort (unusual for Fiji). Great food, nice modern rooms. Also good babysitting service organised via the kids club ($8 per hour). Very child friendly resort.

Con's - overpriced watersports. In room hotel directly needs updating as some information is incorrect.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank KiwiSunSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denarau Island
0.3 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,260 reviews
11.9 mi away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Fiji Resort
Sheraton Fiji Resort
#7 of 8 in Denarau Island
2,183 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Denarau Villas
Sheraton Denarau Villas
#3 of 8 in Denarau Island
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa

Address: Beachfront, Denarau Island, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Denarau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Denarau Island
#4 Romantic Hotel in Denarau Island
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Denarau Island
#5 Family Hotel in Denarau Island
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Denarau Island
#6 Spa Hotel in Denarau Island
#6 Luxury Hotel in Denarau Island
Price Range: $157 - $386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Fiji Resort and Spa is located on beautiful Denarau Island. This five star Fiji resort overlooks the beachfront, adjacent to the world class Denarau Golf and Racquet Club. Our Fiji beach resort offers 296 rooms, each with a private balcony. Other features at this Fiji luxury resort include a private beach, wedding chapel, swimming pools, three restaurants, four bars, an international health spa, and one of the largest ballroom on the island. A bustling marina and cultural temples are located nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, ACCOR, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Fiji Hotel Denarau Island
Sofitel Fiji Resort And Spa
Sofitel Denarau Island
Denarau Island Sofitel
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa Denarau Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing