We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyed our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Denarau Island
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“enjoyed our stay”
Reviewed February 18, 2010

We stayed at this resort for 5 nights and throughly enjoyed our stay. The resort and grounds are immculate. The pool was a great size, with plenty of room (although we did go in off season) we had no trouble with towels or chairs. The rooms were lovely and a good size. The rooms were serviced every day. Everyone was very friendly and helpful.
No real complaints with this resort and would stay there again.

Also would reccomment the whale's tail day cruise, older sail boat but very realxing and gret crew.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbrd80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,463
    1,215
    487
    183
    80
See reviews for
1,162
1,545
100
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (788)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2010

We stayed 3 nights at the Sofitel & found the service slow but friendly (but I guess thats Fiji ) rooms were good, breakfast was great, night time resturants were average. breeze bar up stairs over looking the pool was good & most of the staff in there were fun & friendly live band was ok. we had a ocean view room & if you looked hard you could just make out a little patch of water the rest was blocked by buildings & trees so save a $ and just get gardeb view because I think they are the same room.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rmcbroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2010

I had read a few reviews before I went and was a little concerned about some of the complaints people had, but I have to say after a 7 night stay, it was a great place to stay and as a couple we were very pleased.

As it was off season it was clear that the place was not full, which was very pleasent as it meant that space around the pool was easy to find and noise from other guests was at a minimum. At arrival we were greated by some staff singing and playing guitar. We found our room was upgraded from a garden veiw room to a sea veiw room at no extra cost. The room was always well clean and the staff were very plesant, meeting all our needs.
The breakfast buffet was included in our package and was a great way to start the day (we ate alot of pastries during our stay). Eating a large breakfast meant we didn't need a lunch and instead we indulged in snacks by the pool with a cocktail.

We did feel the prices at the hotel for food were expensive, but quality was high. We choose to eat at the Port for dinner most nights, and enjoyed the live entertainment that most places at the Port provided. Overall we really enjoyed our stay.

As the beach is reclaimed land, it was grey and the sea water not too appealing for swimming, so I would recommend taking a boat trip to one of the islands for the day to experience the white beaches and snorkling. We took the captain cook day cruise to mystery island and had a ball.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank satr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Auckland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2010

We stayed @ Sofitel for a week (got married @ Sonaisali Island Resort) and it was lovely.

LOVED the Pure Fiji products/toiletries that were left in the bathroom, and LOVED the daily bottled water.

House keeping were wonderful, nothing like going out for the day and coming back to a nicely made bed.

The buffet brekie was very nice, massive variety to choose from. Room service was ridiculous, the prices were just absurd.

The place didnt seem very cultural, no theme nights or island nights etc

The Resort overall was beautiful but the staff were no where as near friendly as the other resorts, and based on that alone I would prefer to stay elsewhere. Staff @ Sonisali were so beautiful and friendly, I looked forward to seeing them throughout the day, they really made our stay but we didn’t seem to get that @ Sofitel. The staff didn’t smile as much here, that was sad to see, I don’t know if its because management tell them to not be to friendly or because the place is to stuck up and the workers are not used to hotel patrons being nice to them?

Overall the place was very nice and clean.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Romez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2010

We stayed here for a week before Christmas. Very disappointed with dining options. Themed buffet night was limited in choice and food more resembled cafeteria fair. Prices of snacks/drinks around the pool were high - don't know how a family would have coped. All resorts on the island seem to exploit their "captive market" in the dining area. Taking the courtesy train shuttle to the marina is a good option for dining. Having said that, the facilities at the Sofitel were lovely and the staff wonderful. The gym manager even opened the gym early for me (5am) to use before our flight home.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank selliot64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riverside
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 3, 2010

Where should I start? The front desk clerk was rude from the time we got here...the beds were lumpy and uncomfortable...the drinks at the pool watered down... food was overpriced and average...property was rundown overall and overpriced. Not a good experience. Don't go here.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marvinp1riverside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2010

We just stayed at the sofitel 1 night before leaving. The room was more like city hotel and compact rather than resort villa. However, the pool was great and I love breakfast with champagne! Yummy!! Also you can walk to the Marina, which was nice.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momotarokawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denarau Island
0.3 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,069 reviews
39.2 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#4 of 23 in Coral Coast
2,540 reviews
11.9 mi away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
0.3 mi away
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Fiji Resort
Sheraton Fiji Resort
#7 of 8 in Denarau Island
2,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa

Property: Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
Address: Beachfront, Denarau Island, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Denarau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Denarau Island
#4 Romantic Hotel in Denarau Island
#5 Luxury Hotel in Denarau Island
#5 Family Hotel in Denarau Island
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Denarau Island
#6 Spa Hotel in Denarau Island
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Denarau Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Fiji Resort and Spa is located on beautiful Denarau Island. This five star Fiji resort overlooks the beachfront, adjacent to the world class Denarau Golf and Racquet Club. Our Fiji beach resort offers 296 rooms, each with a private balcony. Other features at this Fiji luxury resort include a private beach, wedding chapel, swimming pools, three restaurants, four bars, an international health spa, and one of the largest ballroom on the island. A bustling marina and cultural temples are located nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Fiji Resort And Spa
Sofitel Fiji Hotel Denarau Island
Sofitel Denarau Island
Denarau Island Sofitel
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa Denarau Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing