We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thank You My Fiji & My Holiday Centre - Sofitel Resort & Spa, Denarau Is, Fiji”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Denarau Island
Certificate of Excellence
Port Macquarie, Australia
1 review
“Thank You My Fiji & My Holiday Centre - Sofitel Resort & Spa, Denarau Is, Fiji”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

For our 50th birthdays our group of friends decided instead of having the BIG 50 birthday party we would holiday together to celebrate. The Sofitel was perfect, devine breakfasts, tasty lunches and dinners along with happy hours and hammocks. Close to the Denarau Marina for a cruise, and Nadi Town for a shopping trip. We couldn't have been happier. The value, location and quality was the best. We had a fabulous time.
Thank You again to My Fiji and My Holiday Centre for organising a value packed holiday
Julie

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms were beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,425
    1,193
    477
    180
    79
See reviews for
1,141
1,513
97
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (773)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paynesville, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed at this resort March 13 for 4 nights, just a quick break for my birthday. This trip was organised at short notice for my birthday, we just wanted to kick back, relax and chill out. This was the perfect place for us as we only had 4 nights in Fiji. We upgraded our room so we were close to the beach and on the top floor. It was beautiful. The pool and gardens at this resort was the best I've seen. We found the staff to be lovely, friendly and helpful. The breakfast was great with plenty of variety to choose from, even champagne! On the morning of my birthday the staff surprised me with flowers (organised by my husband) a cake, when this was brought out all the staff joined in to sing a Fijian song to me, it was one of the most moving experiences of my life. There is a little open bus transport that goes around Denarau island, dropping into all the resorts and taking people down to port Denarau, this is where all the restaurants and shops are. You have to pay a small fee for this but you get a discount for a 3 day pass, we didn't find this out until our 2nd day so we missed out. There is a good variety of different restaurants and prices at the Port so take your time to wander and check out the menus before you decide.
We used the Spa at the resort for a couples indulgence package, this was supposed to a massage and spa for 90 minutes. The massage was very basic and didn't go for very long, maybe 40 mins at most, we were then shown to our bath which was outside in a nice courtyard, it was all very nice but it was exposed to the sun and we were left in there for the remaining time, we ended up having to get out before our time was up because we were getting sunburnt! This was really the only downside to our visit, it was very expensive so my advice is save your money for something else.
The only downside to Fiji is the prices, while you can get great deals to fly and stay there the shopping and the meal & drink prices are quite high, you will be paying similar prices to those in Australian restaurants and shops. Fiji isn't for shopping like Bali is, but it is a place to relax and indulge yourself.
One annoying day was when a cruise ship was in port and a lot of the visitors came into the resort and took up all of the deck chairs, so those of us staying there couldn't access one, but I would suggest using that day to go off and explore the port or do an organised tour.
We went into Nadi a couple of times but we were disappointed, we were in Fiji over 20 years ago and back then Nadi was a great place to walk around and do a bit of shopping, but now it's full of low quality shops. Be careful of being approached on the street to visit a real Fijian souvenir shop, we were warned but got sucked in anyway and found ourselves in a back street in a house being pressured to buy something. We didn't feel safe and it was a lesson learned. Just say no thankyou.
I can recommend the Sofitel for a relaxing and indulgent break and we will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a room closer to the beach, we had a great view over the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shino1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

we just got back on the 16th june, were a family of 4, with a 3yr and 10m, and this was a great trip, stayed for 6 nights.
l dont know why people on this website are complaining about this hotel and their service, this hotel was the best, they did everything l asked for, before l left for my holiday l asked for bottom floor, microwave in my room, cot and everything was ready before check in.
the rooms were very clean, the works will help you in everyway and their not on the best pay.
there was no problem with the pool side service, fiji time isnt that bad, why are you in a hurry to get your food, your on holiday in FIJI...
we stayed in luxury room, stay in these cause there renovated..
the grounds are so clean you cant find a leave..they clean everyday.
at the resort the food is very expensive at any of the hotels, we had lunch at the steak house at the westin, little burger, 2 patties, chicken and chips and mash potato AU $88, thats a lot, but l figure lm on holiday...
theres a lot of cheap resturants at port denarau and if you go to nadi town.
sofitel has a little mlik bar on the bottom floor, everything is expensive, you only go there if you need to. eg bag of chip big AU$7.30, cheap water AU$3 1ltr, snack block AU$7.50...ye not like melbourne.
the beachs are not that bad, the sad is grey, but soft as flour,you can swim in the water, theres nothing wrong with it, just not clear.
this hotel is the best, anyone that complains are very fussy...and im a fussy person
buffet breakfast wasnt that bad, a lot or variety there were birds, but nothing to complain
about..

Room Tip: go luxury cause there renovated, if you have requirements ask before you go..n relax
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank val s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiama
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Our stay at Sofitel Fiji was ok. Most Resort style stays are very similar. Food price within resorts, is always inflated, but generally ok. In this case, we had one evening meal, which was ok, but have had better. The rooms were of good size and well laid out.
I found the bed to be uncomfortable, the pillows that soft (2 of) that I ended up using the cushions from the couch to sleep on. The shower leaked through the trendy glass door, so drying yourself & trying to keep your feet dry, was a task.
As it was a family holiday, we had 3 rooms. We all had air conditioning problems, be it with controller faults which couldn't be adjusted or all having blocked filters. It showed that there was NO maintenance program in place for reular service. For a 5 star resort, I thought this be fairly poor.
Other than that, the location, layout , pool area etc to be very comfortable. Staff were Bula friendly, but I must admit, I thought that I have had friendlier on other resorts, but perhaps after 5 trips to FIJI, I am just getting used to the people etc.
The greeting staff were all helpful, similarly the operational staff behind the desk.
Even with the negatives above, it is still a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensland
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Just read a review about the Salt Restaurant and V Restaurant not wanting ti serve tap water. We stayed at the Sofitel over Easter this year....the V restaurant was OK when we asked for tap water but at Salt the girl told us that the tap water was not safe to drink. Having been to Fiji many times including stays at the Sofitel we were amazed to be told this and of course ignored this advise....what a con!!!. We love the Sofitel, but if the manager reads this please understand, that your guests should not be treated with such an idiotic claim. Please don't have your staff lie to guests.....guests will see straight through it. Selling drinks is one thing but not being honest about the safety of the drinking water is not on...Tennisea

Room Tip: Luxury Room away from the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tennisea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

My rating comes given that this hotel is rated 5 star. It is not that this is a bad hotel at all but really is more in the 4star range.

In summary;
Food - The quality of the restaurants were good quality but nobody in our party were wowed (again not 5 star).
Room - In our room again we had immediate 4 star impression however our bath was poor quality with the bath tab being worse for wear and water streamed on the floor as it was poorly designed,
Pool - ideal for kids, not many deep areas and the jacuzzi was not heated,
Kids club - was ok with friendly staff and decent activities, not one for older kids,
Breakfast - really good breakfast options for 4 star. Got a bit the same by day 5 but can't complain. Would have been nice to have something other than french coffee press for coffee.

However the most disappointing part of the hotel was the beach. As reclaimed land that whole stretch of beach including the other hotels Westin, Sheraton etc. was not what I expected from Fiji. If you want beach and clear water form the brochures than stay somewhere else.

Overall a nice hotel that would get a higher rating if it was rated more commensurate to what it was. However all would have been forgiven with a better beach.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louballs929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitford, Auckland
Level Contributor
182 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

As with all the hotels in Denarau the Sofitel is well located. It is only a short walk to the marina or the Bula bus stops outside. One of the advantages of the Sotitel is the sandy beach. Ok not the best beach in Fiji and anyone that has exerienced the outer islands will be disappointed, but it is much nicer than the rock frontages many of the hotels enjoy.

The pool area is very nice. Second only to the Radison which has a separate adults area and exceptional layout including swim up bar. There are ample loungers and a slide etc for children.

The grounds are well maintained and the rooms clean although the housekeeping this trip was a little late (often around 5 pm). Enjoyed the Pure Fiji but often the complimentary water was forgotten.

The eating options at Sofitel are very good. V is without question one of the best places to eat in the area. We would be happy to eat here even if it was local to our home. Salt is casual and variable. The main restaurant serve themed buffets at dinner and a good buffet selection for breakfast including omelet station. There is a bbq at poolside that serves light lunches wraps etc which are tasty and convenient, there is also an icecream stand at pool side and a small cafe at the front of the resort. Of course room service or the quick trip to the Marina are also options.

We would by choice not stay on the main island. However when it is necessary the Sofitel suits our needs well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheezel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denarau Island
0.3 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,972 reviews
39.3 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#4 of 23 in Coral Coast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,439 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Fiji Resort
Sheraton Fiji Resort
#7 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,002 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Denarau Villas
Sheraton Denarau Villas
#3 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa

Property: Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
Address: Beachfront, Denarau Island, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Denarau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Denarau Island
#4 Romantic Hotel in Denarau Island
#5 Family Hotel in Denarau Island
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Denarau Island
#5 Luxury Hotel in Denarau Island
#6 Spa Hotel in Denarau Island
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Denarau Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Fiji Resort and Spa is located on beautiful Denarau Island. This five star Fiji resort overlooks the beachfront, adjacent to the world class Denarau Golf and Racquet Club. Our Fiji beach resort offers 296 rooms, each with a private balcony. Other features at this Fiji luxury resort include a private beach, wedding chapel, swimming pools, three restaurants, four bars, an international health spa, and one of the largest ballroom on the island. A bustling marina and cultural temples are located nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, ACCOR, TravelUp, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Fiji Resort And Spa
Sofitel Fiji Hotel Denarau Island
Sofitel Denarau Island
Denarau Island Sofitel
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa Denarau Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing