We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Denarau Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We have just completed our stay for a 3 night stopover on our way home from the USA and only wish it had been for longer. The Fijian people are gorgeous and sooo friendly. Our rooms were perfect for us and the view was beautiful. My teenage sons loved it and enjoyed participating in the activities of the day and the Fijians treated and joked with them like brothers. We will definitely be back!!! Vinaka Sofitel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familyholidaysx5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakera, General Manager at Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Bonjour Familyholidays5,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your last stay with us, we are delighted that yourself and your family had a great stay with us from the room to the service from our team. We also hope that you are all able to come back again soon.

Kind regards,

Adam Laker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,660)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,417 - 2,423 of 3,660 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2013

From the moment we arrived at Nadi airport and picked up by our expedia transfer to Sofitel our holiday was seamless. Because it was our honeymoon we were given a room upgrade, 20 mins after arriving in our room, a complimentary bottle of bubbles was delivered with a hand written card congratulating us on our wedding. All staff were friendly and nothing but helpful. Cocktails were brought to us by the beach or pool and the food through out the hotel was very good. Staff arranged taxis or shuttle buses although we had no reason to leave the resort and would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelmalloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakera, General Manager at Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Bonjour Kelmalloy,

Firstly congratulations again on your wedding and for having your wedding with us here in Fiji, we are all delighted that you had a great stay with us on such a special trip. Its great that you have seen and experienced the true Fiji feel of happyness that exists here. We hope you will be back with us again on your anniversary.

Kind regards,

Adam Laker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel. Beach front resort. Staff extremely helpful & caring - as you'd expect from the Fijian people :) We stayed here two nights prior to staying at Nanuya island resort. We found it full of children - which is fine if that's what you're after.! If you're wanting a quiet time by the pool - this is not the place for you.! Clean & large rooms. Enjoyed our time - but not really for us as honeymooners.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K_LondonRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakera, General Manager at Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

bonjour kbonb12,

Firstly congratulations on your recent wedding. Thank you for taking the time to post your last stay, I am glad that you found our staff to be friendly and helpfull. You are correct that there can be many children around the resort, we dont hide this fact as you we will see we promote family packages into Fiji especuially during school holidays. Of course as mentioned to avoid this, adult islands and resorts is the easiest way other wise all other resort will have plenty of young kids staying at them.

Kind regards,

Adam Laker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Everything is perfect there! Lovely staff, really good service, comfortable and clean rooms, beautiful view (my room had ocean view), excellent food in all the three restaurants and also in the delightful French cafe, perfect location within the Denarau Island, nice amenities in the rooms and in the hotel.... Awesome hotel to make your stay relaxing and memorable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PatriciaBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakera, General Manager at Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Bonjour PatriciaBrisbane,

Thank you for your kind review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with the service and food, we only hope we can look after you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Adam Laker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at this amazing Hotel 2 days after the cycole for 12 days!! We cannot recommend the Sofitel enough! From the staff to the facilities to the pool, the food, it never dissapoints.
We are always greeted like family and love coming back every time. We have recommended so many over the years and they are just as impressed! "V" restuarant is amazing food first class! Do not hesitate to sat here, we do not have any children, but the kids club looks amazing!

Room Tip: Rooms near chapel, as these are quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helleni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakera, General Manager at Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Bonjour Heleni,

Thank you so much for your kind words about your last stay, I am so pleased that you loved the hotel facilities and our staff, Im also so pleased that you loved the V Restaurant as we are very proud of this outlet.

Kind regards,

Adam Laker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here for about 6 days after some time out in the islands. Even though the hotel was very comfortable, we wish we would have spent more time on the islands and less time on the mainland. Denarau Island doesn’t have very good water, so we spent most of the time by the pool. The hotel has a great lobby, lots of places to eat, and is well maintained. I feel like it is one of the better hotels in the area, although the Radisson looked awesome (I would stay there next time).

Pros
-Location- This is the closest hotel to the port. Definitely within walking distance. All the other hotels are a lot further walk.
-Rooms- The design of the hotel allows for most of the rooms have some sort of an ocean view. The Rooms were comfortable and somewhat spacious. Some water and milk is complimentary in the room.
-Pool- Nice pool with lots of shaded chairs (although people mark them early, which sucks if you are late riser).
-Decent Happy hour- restricted menu, but beers were cheap.
Laundry facilities on site- we bought some detergent down at the store and did laundry for free.

Cons
-Wifi- is only available in the lobby and they give you about 10 MB per day for free. Anything else is expensive and MB restricted. This is the case for most hotels in Denarau.
-No adult pool or swim up bar- Most of the hotels have an adult pool. Although the pool is nice, there is only one and it can get crowded.
-Thin Walls- Sometimes we thought people were in our room. Thankfully it was quiet at night.
-Slightly dated- The décor was nice, but there are some signs of aging. The bathroom probably needed some renovating. The tub was really odd because the ½ glass door forced all the water on the floor.
-Food and drinks are expensive- Although all the food was good, Salt was the only reasonably priced restaurant. There was also a buffet, but it ranged from $60-$100 FJ at night, which we thought was expensive for a buffet. The restaurant V was really good, but fancy and pricey.
-Motorized water sports were outrageously priced. Opt for a tour instead.

Some Tips
-Go next door to the Hilton for free wifi. They have it by the pool and in the pool restaurant. Cardo at the Port also had unrestricted free wifi.
-The Bula Bus is not worth it- It is about $7 FJ a day per person and it only goes from the Port to the Hotels. It is a 10-15 minute walk and a $6 taxi.
-Try out the Port for dinner. Pizza place was great along with the Nadina Authentic Fijian Restaurant.
-Don’t allow your taxi driver to take you to a “souvenir shop” downtown. They won’t tell you the price of anything and then are forced to buy some overpriced piece of crap they carved your name into.

Just keep in mind that there is no such thing as a 5 star in Fiji… so I would rate this around a 4 star.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoogAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed here in January 2012 in an ocean view room.

The staff were very friendly, and the service was excellent.

The resort itself is in good cosmetic conditions, and the scenery is very picturesque.

The food was amazing, and they had a different cultural buffet on each day.

It was definitely a 5 star experience, however the major drawback is how expensive everything is.

I would recommend it to people who are not on a budget, and who just want to relax.

A stay here works well when combined with an Accor Membership

( I have only recently been introduced to Trip Advisor, hence my review is late)

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicholas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denarau Island
0.4 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,327 reviews
12 mi away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Fiji Resort
Sheraton Fiji Resort
#7 of 8 in Denarau Island
2,235 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Denarau Villas
Sheraton Denarau Villas
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa

Address: Beachfront, Denarau Island, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Denarau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Denarau Island
#4 Romantic Hotel in Denarau Island
#5 Family Hotel in Denarau Island
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Denarau Island
#6 Luxury Hotel in Denarau Island
#6 Spa Hotel in Denarau Island
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Denarau Island
Price Range: $182 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Fiji Resort and Spa is located on beautiful Denarau Island. This five star Fiji resort overlooks the beachfront, adjacent to the world class Denarau Golf and Racquet Club. Our Fiji beach resort offers 296 rooms, each with a private balcony. Other features at this Fiji luxury resort include a private beach, wedding chapel, swimming pools, three restaurants, four bars, an international health spa, and one of the largest ballroom on the island. A bustling marina and cultural temples are located nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Fiji Resort And Spa
Sofitel Fiji Hotel Denarau Island
Sofitel Denarau Island
Denarau Island Sofitel
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa Denarau Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing