We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but not 5 star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Denarau Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We have just returned from 5 days at the Sofitel. This was our 3rd trip to Fiji but the first without our kids. I would not class this hotel as 5 star. As we were there for our Wedding Anniversary we were offered an upgrade at a cost of $60 per day which we declined. Our room which was classed as superior oceanside was adequate but the air conditioner was set at 22 degrees and would stop and start all night with about a 2 second burst each time. The first night we couldnt sleep as the room was stuffy and hot. We found if we opened the sliding door at least we had air circulation.We did however receive a nice plate of small desserts that were left in our room while we were at dinner. The pillows on the bed were terrible, you could hear the taps in the rooms next door going on and off, everytime we had a shower the floor would flood. A shower over the bath with a shower curtain that barely reached the top of the bath is NOT 5 star and the bath itself was stained a yellowy colour. Coffee and Tea supplies were not restocked daily so replacements had to be requested. There was very little information offered about any entertainment that may be on in the evenings and we only saw some fijian dancing upstairs near the Breeze Bar by accident as we were attempting to use the free wifi in the lobby, which was not always successful. I would have thought 5 star would have a better free service to guests. We had breakfast included with our accomodation which was provided at the Salt Restaurant which was nice but the staff seemed reluctant at times to serve us and were not the cheery smiling fijians we have encountered on previous trips to Fiji.. The pool was great and the area was always spotlessly clean. We later found out we could go to the Lagoon Restaurant for breakfast if we chose to and this was also nice. We went to the V restaurant one night for dinner and this was fantatic and about the only time I actually felt like we were in a 5 star hotel. Happy hour was good but limited to a choice of 3 or 4 cocktails while it would have been nice to choose any of the cocktails as has been the case in other hotels we have stayed at in Fiji on previous visits. The coffee shop up adjacent to the lobby was fabulous and the grounds and general areas were always spotless. All in all it was adequate but a bit dissapointing as we thought we would be staying in top 5 star accommodation and it definately was not what we expected.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Albatross2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded November 25, 2012

Bonjour Albertross2004,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your last stay with us here in Fiji, I am glad that you enjoyed the pool area and resort facilities and thank you for your comments about your dinner in V Restaurant. I am sorry to read that you found the room stuffy and warm as that should be the case, of course if you sleep with the slidding door open then this will turn the aircon off and so only the air fan is operating with might explain the niose produced.
We also do try and inform all guests about the resort activites around the resort via the in room TV channel and also a display daily notice board in the hotel lobby and beside the pool, I'm sorry if this wasnt explained to you.

Kind regards,

Adam Laker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,635)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,474 - 2,480 of 3,635 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

This is my favorite hotel in Denarau, have stayed many times.
I've had issues in the past with the Salt restaurant but it was great this time.
Pool is lovely, rooms are a good size, Pure Fiji product a treat in rooms, staff lovely.
It can be a long walk if you get a room at far end of hotel to restaurants, pool etc but if your a couple it's much quieter down there.
Ground floor rooms open to grass for kids, upstairs have a nice view.
Bula bus comes all the time and for $7 you can hop on hop off at all the other hotels or Denarau Port.
Oh and there is a very good coffee shop for caffeine addicts!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lbw1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded November 25, 2012

Bonjour lbw1970,

Thank y6ou for taking the time to place your last review of your stay with us on the websight, we are delighted to read that you had a great stay and we hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Adam Laker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

The Sofitel was beautiful. The service was superb from the second we pulled up to the moment we left everything was just right. Our kids loved the waterslide and the kidsclub was fantastic. All of the staff were lovely. Our room was well appointed and quite spacious we stayed in a superior room with 2 queen size beds and a large bathroom. It was fine for a couple of nights for 1 adult and 2 children if staying for longer I would get a suite. The food was a little expensive and we went to port denarau for dinner most nights. Which is a quick (5 Fijian dollar) can ride each way.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heatherbear21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded November 25, 2012

Bonjour Heatherbear21,

Thank you for taking the time to post your last review and thank you for your kind comments about the resort facilities and our resort team, we definatly hope to be able to welcome you back to the resort again in the near furure.

Kind regards,

Adam Laker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I was travelling to the Yasawa islands for the most part of my trip and only came to Denarau on the last night before flying off so it was a wind down for me and I didn't need to many activities and have had my share of blue lagoons & white sands out on the islands. Sofitel was excellent in terms of the rooms & all - very comfortable and relaxing. The restaurants were top notch, I entirely loved the buffet (it was Pacific Indian food that night) - definitely worth it. Beach was quite sad, but if that's what you're after, you should be out in the islands. Only downside is the long walk out to the room, but it's not too big an issue.

Room Tip: Mention that you don't want to walk too far - because it can be quite a long walk
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Corylusx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded November 25, 2012

Bonjour Hazelyy,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your last stay with us, I am pleased to read that you had a great stay with us, thank you for all of your kind comments about the resort and our team. We hope we can welome you back again soon for another holiday.

Kind regards,

Adam Laker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed at the Sofitel late October and absolutely loved it. From start to finish was awesome. Room was nice and clean, food was great ( little pricey maybe) and a special mention to Lavinia at Salt, she was fantastic and went above and beyond and my son is still talking about her. I read reviews before we booked and was a little worried after reading some of the comments however I needn't have. Someone people must have massive expectations when they go to these places thats all I can say. Highly recommend. Treasure Island hhhmmm now thats a different story.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 370 something and was far enough away from the pool etc that I was nice and peacef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded November 25, 2012

Bonjour Jannie M,

Thank you so much for your feddback from your recent stay with us at the Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa. I am delighted to read that you had a great stay with us and then you had a great holiday, We hope we have the oportunity to welcome you back again soon for another holiday.

Kind regards,

Adam Laker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Buffet Breakfast in Lagoon :(
We really couldn't fault anything else, fantastic hotel. Each morning whilst dodging out of control kiddies (parents, not hotels fault) we had to follow up numerous times to get coffee, wait around for clean plates, cutlery and glassware and for for food to be replenished. Listening to an out of tune island version of "Hello Mary Lou" didn't help.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelloMaryLou1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded November 25, 2012

Bonjour Hellomarylou1,

Thank you for taking the time to post your last review, I are pleased that you had a great holiday with us, I am terribly sorry that you had problems with service over the breakfast period, of course your feedback has been shared with our breakfast crew and also our Director of Food & Beverage for his attention.

Kind regards,

Adam Laker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KellyGangBathurst
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management response:Responded November 13, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denarau Island
0.4 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,304 reviews
12.0 mi away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Fiji Resort
Sheraton Fiji Resort
#7 of 8 in Denarau Island
2,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
0.3 mi away
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Denarau Villas
Sheraton Denarau Villas
#4 of 8 in Denarau Island
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa

Address: Beachfront, Denarau Island, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Denarau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Denarau Island
#4 Romantic Hotel in Denarau Island
#5 Family Hotel in Denarau Island
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Denarau Island
#6 Luxury Hotel in Denarau Island
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Denarau Island
#6 Spa Hotel in Denarau Island
Price Range: $176 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Fiji Resort and Spa is located on beautiful Denarau Island. This five star Fiji resort overlooks the beachfront, adjacent to the world class Denarau Golf and Racquet Club. Our Fiji beach resort offers 296 rooms, each with a private balcony. Other features at this Fiji luxury resort include a private beach, wedding chapel, swimming pools, three restaurants, four bars, an international health spa, and one of the largest ballroom on the island. A bustling marina and cultural temples are located nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, ACCOR, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Fiji Resort And Spa
Sofitel Fiji Hotel Denarau Island
Sofitel Denarau Island
Denarau Island Sofitel
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa Denarau Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing