We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swim 24/7!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Denarau Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We've stayed in Denarau Islands most years and have found Sofitel very good for it's price.

One of the things that we like most about this resort is that the pool is open 24/7 whereas a lot of Fijian resorts seem to close their swimming pools in the early evening. We have been swimming on two stays here in the last year at mid-night!

The pool during the day-time is fairly busy but the resort has many quiet places to 'escape' to during the day-time. The hammocks on the beach are the best.

The breakfast and meals are nice and similar to most of the other better Fiji hotels. If you are here for business, you cannot rely on the internet. Rooms are good but get fairly warm at night time.

If you want a good Gym then don't stay here, stay at the Sheraton. Also the organised activities are not very good (especially compared to the Shangri-la).

Room Tip: Most rooms are good (unless you don't like walking far)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakera, General Manager at Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2011

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your last review, I was glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us especially our pool which is also the largest single pool in Fiji which as you mentioned is available 24/7 as long as you are not disturbing any other guests at night. Im glad you also enjoy the hammocks as we have now just purchased anouther 20 for along the beach area.
Kind regards,
Adam Laker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,612)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,968 - 2,974 of 3,612 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2011

We had doubts about staying on the mainland and Denerau because of the lack of (white sandy) beaches...but in the end we didn't even notice. The hotel was top notch, spotless and lovely rooms. The staff were so lovely and helpful...and the hotel environment was beautiful. We would lie by the pool taking it all in (and what a pool it is!). fantastic place and convenient location. We'd definitely come again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tegsnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakera, General Manager at Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2011

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your comments from your last stay, I was delighted to read that you had a great stay with us and enjoyed our resort. we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Adam Laker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Fijian people are lovely and it is definitely a laid back relaxing place to be. Staff is hit and miss. Rooms are filthy and stained and tired. Puke on the toilet bowl, wipeable stains and splatters on all walls and mirrors, yellow sheets, hard grey towels, dirty dirty wine glasses everyday, the keys for the door never worked in our 10 day stay and multiple keys. Plus side is it gets a nice crowd for the most part and the pool is great. pool side loungers are all broken. Not much pool side service this year. Quality of food and service in dining rooms 'lagoon' good and 'v' are very good, but salt resteraunt is and always has been diabolical. This resort is getting remarkably over priced (our third trip there) and the quality is not there. Porter service is excellent. Some members of staff are stand out. I have recommended this hotel to many people who have gone on my recommendation but until it is refurbished I will say stay clear as it is wildly overpriced and no where near a sofitel standard.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kellyrae2review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lennie70can
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lakera, General Manager at Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2011

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Accor traveler
Sydney
1
Reviewed August 3, 2011

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lakera, General Manager at Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2011

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We have just returned from 6 nights at the Sofitel with 50 of our friends. We got married there and it was the most amazing holiday ever.
The staff were fantastic and always friendly and willing to help.
We stayed in a suite which suited us and was fantastic but all our friends and family stayed in the resort and ocean view rooms. Our family were all happy with the rooms and if there were any issues (like some glasses smashed) the hotel were quick to sort them out. The rooms are more than enough for the time you spend in them on hioliday.
We used the kids club and had a great experince there.
One afternoon we spent at the spa which i highly recommend. The service was great and the treatments all to a very high standard.
It was school holiday so the pool was busy, but dont go on holiday there in school holidays if your not prepared to deal with it. We all found chairs and enjoyed the service around the pool.
The resturants were all great. I have eaten all over Denerau and can say the the Sofitel is easily one of the better ones. Salt has a very high level of food. The buffet breakfast had good variety and yes it was busy but we went a little later and sat in the bure which was a nice way to start the day. You pay resort prices but they are all very similar and not unreasonable.
Selai, thanks for making our wedding so special. We had an amzing time as did all our friends and am making plans to come back next year. Everyone loved the food at the V resturant and the night went so smoothly. Thanks. :-)
Dont be worried about booking here, we had a wonderful experince. They are on Fiji time so if you dont want that, maybe dont go to fiji!
We cant wait to come again next year!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misscoco08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakera, General Manager at Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2011

Dear Valued Guest,
I was delighted to read your feedback from your last stay with us and congratulations on your wedding again. I am so glad you had a great holiday and enjoyed our facilities and resturants.
I hope we will be able to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Adam Laker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We have just spent 5 days at this Hotel and had a mixed experience.
Good Points
Our king seaview room was comfortable, quite spacious and on the whole well serviced.
Grounds are beautifully laid out and probably the best of the hotels in Denerau.
Enjoyed dining in both restaurants and had an excellent meal at Salt one evening with very attentive staff.
Bad Points
As many reviewers have mentioned, and despite the comments posted by management, there is still a continuing problem with guest "reserving" loungers by the pool first thing in the morning. The 45min rule is totally unenforced by hotel staff ...i made a point of watching. So by the time we finished breakfast there were no chairs and that remained the case for most of the day.
Although the beach is not great for swimming it is still a nice place to sit and chill out. However, there are only 4 hammocks and at the time we stayed, a total of 6 loungers there. This is an obvious way to relieve pool congestion !
Room swipe cards were a continuing problem - one, if not two, visits to the front desk every day for new cards.
Loud and rowdy guests in the hallway late at night. One time at 3am with obviously totally drunk young guests.

Room Tip: Most rooms have some seaview but those facing west get afternoon and early evening sun which is grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wes13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denarau Island
0.3 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,261 reviews
11.9 mi away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Fiji Resort
Sheraton Fiji Resort
#7 of 8 in Denarau Island
2,184 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Denarau Villas
Sheraton Denarau Villas
#3 of 8 in Denarau Island
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa

Address: Beachfront, Denarau Island, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Denarau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Denarau Island
#4 Romantic Hotel in Denarau Island
#5 Family Hotel in Denarau Island
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Denarau Island
#6 Spa Hotel in Denarau Island
#6 Luxury Hotel in Denarau Island
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Denarau Island
Price Range: $164 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Fiji Resort and Spa is located on beautiful Denarau Island. This five star Fiji resort overlooks the beachfront, adjacent to the world class Denarau Golf and Racquet Club. Our Fiji beach resort offers 296 rooms, each with a private balcony. Other features at this Fiji luxury resort include a private beach, wedding chapel, swimming pools, three restaurants, four bars, an international health spa, and one of the largest ballroom on the island. A bustling marina and cultural temples are located nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Fiji Resort And Spa
Sofitel Fiji Hotel Denarau Island
Sofitel Denarau Island
Denarau Island Sofitel
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa Denarau Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing