We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and a relaxed feel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Denarau Island
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
168 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great location and a relaxed feel”
Reviewed June 28, 2011

We spent 7 nights here from June 19 2011. We were in a sea view room, but looking around the resort I would say all rooms are sea view. The transfer from the airport was easy and we got a airport cab so it was a set rate of FJ $25.00 - more than reasonable. The welcome at the hotel was great and check-in was very easy. All the staff were warm friendly and welcoming. The buffet breakfast was good but we found that if you had the buffet dinner breakfast was unnecessary. The dinners were all good with a different theme each night.

Restaurant V was a highlight and the meal was of a very high standard and the service excellent - I highly recommend V - it is not one for the kids though - stick to the buffet if you have the kids with you. My partner had a birthday here and the cake and singing of happy birthday was a highlight , made the day that bit more special

Salt down by the beach is also excellent and has a "Adults only" breakfast from 8am to 10am, we didn;t try this breakfast but sounds good to me. Cocktails and light meals at Salt are excellent is a beautiful atmosphere

The resort is very family friendly but is large enough that you can escape the kids if you need to or don't have any or left them at home. The pool has a large shallow area and a water slide. The deep end is very deep at 2.7m which is fantastic as I love deep pools. As i burn easily we used the pool at night, the night sky at 11pm from the pool is amazing.

The hotel ignored my AClub Platinum status but this was forgiven as we were given a welcome gift for another reason. Again all the staff we encountered were excellent and a real asset to the establishment.

I highly recommend the resort, the rooms a good size and very clean and the private balconies and real plus. We had no noise between rooms but you can hear noise in the hallways but it was not a problem as most people move around quietly. There are also two guest laundries with free washers and driers, another big plus. There is a onsite shop for laundry powder, drinks etc - it is not cheap but is very convenient. The Bulla Bus at FJ $7.00 per day per head is great for moving around the island, there are shops at Port Denarau where you can get grocery items also.. If you are at the Sofitel make sure you catch the daily Torch and Candle lighting ceremonies at sunset, this is great to see each night.

We used the Spa which was wonderful and once inside it is very private from the rest of the resort. The staff were very friendly, well trained and professional.

Internet is quite expensive and has a small data allowance – but you are in Fiji – so don’t use it - holidays are to relax. Each room does get 30mins or 15MB per day in the public wireless areas – enough for emails etc.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drew Jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakera, General Manager at Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 29, 2011
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for letting us know about your last stay with us here at the Sofitel. I was delighted to read that you had a great stay, thank you for your kind comments about both Salt and V Restaurants. Maybe next time you can try our Adults breakfast at Salt as it starts with a glass of Sparkling......
I'm sorry we didnt take extra care of your arrival as A|Club Platinum members as you are very special to us, I will of course check to see why this wasnt listed on your booking with us. I thought your three photos were great also. We look forward to being able to welcome you back again soon for your next holiday in Fiji.
Kind regards,
Adam Laker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,461
    1,215
    484
    183
    80
See reviews for
1,161
1,541
100
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (788)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 27, 2011

All I can say is that we enjoyed our WONDERFUL STAY AT THE SOFITEL FIJI RESORT &SPA. The people were so friendly and very helpful. We are so looking forward in bringing our daughter and son in law and their children (our grandies) here to stay and have a lot of fun food and fellowship.
THANK YOU AGAIN FOR THIS WONDERFUL PLACE FOR US TO STAY IN AND FOR THE WONDERFUL PEOPLE.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakera, General Manager at Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 29, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for listing your comments for your last stay with us, I was delighted to read that you had a great stay and we hope to see you both back here again soon.
Kind regards,
Adam Laker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2011

We stayed at the Sofitel for 6 nights. We arrived late at night and we were greeted warmly by the staff and were served a refreshing nice drink and we immediately felt at home.

We stayed in 2 different rooms during our stay as we had to get up early in the morning to catch the blue lagoon 3 day cruise. For both stays we booked a garden view room, but to our surprise when we came back from the cruise, our room had a really nice ocean view (not beachfront but still a nice treat) which was definitely a bonus.

The rooms were nicely laid out and spacious. The only downside was the standard of the bathroom didn't match the rest of the room, however this didn't bother us much.
The resort was dominated by young families with children so this isn't the place to be if you are wanting a romantic escape.

We made use of most of the facilities at the resort including the pool,Mandara Spa and the tour desk.

The price of the spa treatments were slightly expensive but this is expected from a 5* resort. We paid around 500fjd for 2x80min massages.
The pool was really nice however it can be difficult to find pool chairs later on in the day as people seem to lounge there from 10-4pm.

In terms of the restaurants at the resort, we only ate at Salt once (on our first night as we were too tired to go out and look for food). The price was ok, (for 5* hotel) and the food was nice however there's more food (and cheaper too) outside of the hotel. Most nights we caught the taxi down to denarau marina ($5 fjd one way) as there's a variety of food there and at a cheaper price.
However, I must state that La Parisienne cafe serves delicious sandwiches for a really good price and good coffee.

The tour desk was helpful but you can also book day trips at denarau marina (you can negotiate the price too), so it's probably best to take a look around before booking.

There was a glitch with our booking for some reason and when we had to check out to go to our cruise we spent 30 mins trying to explain to the receptionist that we had fully paid for our accommodation prior to arriving to Fiji, luckily I had my booking receipt with me.

A word of advice regarding the internet, in room internet is about 13 FJD for 2 hours or 30mb of internet (which is NOTHING!!!), but you can make use of free 20 min of wifi or 10mb in the lobby (there is a small sign in the lobby stating this..) or a better alternative - to go down to the cafe in denarau marina (bilocinno) and get free 30 min when you purchase 10 dollars worth of coffee/food.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Sofitel and we will come back next time we visit Fiji.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcha33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakera, General Manager at Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 26, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your latest stay with us here at the Sofitel Resort & Spa and I was delighted to read that you had a great stay with us. Thank you for your kind comments about our food especially La Parisienne which is our latest outlet to open just last year. Im glad to read that you were able to use most of our facilities which helped you gain the true feel of our resort.
We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Adam Laker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2011

Great location, EXCELLENT service and awesome value for money. We are seasoned travellers and we loved the place and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taupoChap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakera, General Manager at Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 26, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your latest review and let us know you had a great stay with us and so your comments are appreciated.

Kind regards,
Adam Laker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 21, 2011

We stayed one night at the Sofitel before we headed off to the islands. Overall, I was pretty impressed with the hotel. It seemed well kept and a bit more polished than the Radisson down the road that we also stayed at. The service was pretty slow at the bars - that was frustrating, but pretty standard throughout Fiji.
Our major gripe was that in the morning we noticed that the duvet on one of the beds (our room had two doubles) had spots of dried blood all along the top of it. It was pretty revolting. We understand these things happen, but when we told the hotel about this the woman at reception whilst clearly horrified, didnt really acknowledge this in any other way than by saying sorry. My understanding of customer service is that you do your best to get repeat custom from travelers, and the fact that she couldnt knock a cocktail off the bill, or offer a complimentary taxi ride or anything really disappointed us. This really put a dampner on our stay. I would recommend this hotel, IF they could sort out their service.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakera, General Manager at Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 26, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback from you last stay and also for sending me your extra letter. As I mentioned I am very sorry to hear that their was a mark on our doona insert and please rest asured that our laundry department has rectofied this for any future guests.
Im sorry my team didnt offer you a discount off your account when paying your bill upon departure, however please note they did contact our Executive House Keeper to let her know your comments so this could be actioned straight away.

Kind regards,
Adam Laker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
2 reviews
Reviewed June 20, 2011

On our Fiji holiday we stayed at 2 separate hotels; The Sofitel at Denerau & one on the coast. The Sofitel was by far my favorite. The kids (2 & 4 years) loved the awesome pool, which had plenty of shallow water to play in & a water slide!! We found the food expensive, although delicious, & preferred to go to Port Denerau where we payed the same price for all of us as we would have for 1 adult at the hotel. There is such thing as 'Fiji time', but at The Sofitel we found teh service on the most part efficient enough & friendly. We booked a standard room which we were lucky enough to get on the ocean side of the hotel & therefore had a nice view of the beautiful gardens & a glimpse of the ocean. The room was nice & was cleaned every day to a high standard by the lovely housekeeping staaff (who were also generous enough to give me some dishwashing liquid to clean the baby bottles - thank you!). I read in previous reviews about the noise between rooms. The doors did have to be slammed to close but we had no problems with sound from other rooms Maybe we were lucky, but we didn't hear any noise from next door the whole time we stayed! We look forward to returning back to Fiji & staying at The Sofitel!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melbournedanielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakera, General Manager at Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 23, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your latest review, I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and especially loved our pool, being a resort in the lovely sunshine of Fiji I do admit this is one of our most popular and best features.
I will also pass your kind comments about the staff onto my team for there reference.
We look forward to being able to welcome you back to Fiji and to the Sofitel in the near future.
Kind regards,
Adam Laker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denarau Island
0.3 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,062 reviews
39.2 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#4 of 23 in Coral Coast
2,538 reviews
11.9 mi away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
0.3 mi away
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Fiji Resort
Sheraton Fiji Resort
#7 of 8 in Denarau Island
2,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa

Property: Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
Address: Beachfront, Denarau Island, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Denarau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Denarau Island
#4 Romantic Hotel in Denarau Island
#5 Luxury Hotel in Denarau Island
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Denarau Island
#5 Family Hotel in Denarau Island
#6 Spa Hotel in Denarau Island
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Denarau Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Fiji Resort and Spa is located on beautiful Denarau Island. This five star Fiji resort overlooks the beachfront, adjacent to the world class Denarau Golf and Racquet Club. Our Fiji beach resort offers 296 rooms, each with a private balcony. Other features at this Fiji luxury resort include a private beach, wedding chapel, swimming pools, three restaurants, four bars, an international health spa, and one of the largest ballroom on the island. A bustling marina and cultural temples are located nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Orbitz, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Fiji Resort And Spa
Sofitel Fiji Hotel Denarau Island
Sofitel Denarau Island
Denarau Island Sofitel
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa Denarau Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing