We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second chance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Denarau Island
Certificate of Excellence
sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Second chance”
Reviewed June 2, 2011

After a booking mishap a year ago, Adam Laker invited us back to try out the hotel. I must admit I was a bit nervous especially going over a busy time like Easter, but eventually took up the offer. I have stayed in just about every resort on Denarau and quite a few Islands. "Fiji time" , is something I am used and have come to expect. This was the first time in 10 years that I experienced exceptional service. I could not believe that I was in Fiji. Well done to all the staff. We stayed in a family room with bunk beds. The top bunk had a railing which was perfectly safe for my 4 year old. My boys (2 and 4yrs old) usually don't like or go to kids club but loved the Turtle Club and they loved the pool and slide. We usually stay in Denarau for a few days before heading off to an Island. We where so happy that the next trip to Fiji we are thinking of staying the entire holiday at the Sofitel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WMRSYD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakera, General Manager at Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 4, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your review and I was delighted to read that you had a great stay with us the second time around, I hate having guests leavre un-happy so I am glad to read that you trusted us enough to try again and we also lived up to the task of creating great memories of Fiji,
I look forward to being able to welcome you back again for your next holiday.
Kind regards,
Adam Laker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,476
    1,225
    491
    188
    82
See reviews for
1,173
1,559
102
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (800)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 2, 2011

Great spot for a relaxing family holiday. Great meal options & don't forget supermarkets/restaurants in Port Denarau. Great pool and slide for kids from 3 -10. Outstanding grounds, public areas and gardens. Had fun doing the water sports (book early).

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 1, 2011

A great hotel. Staff were very friendly and the facilities were fantastic. Each of the three restaurants had a wide selection of dishes and the food tasted great. Would recommend the Sofitel Fiji to anyone. It was a long overdue break and every aspect of the hotel contributed to a great holiday.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canberra
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2011

This is a lovely resort, and we had an enjoyable 10 day stay. The grounds are beautiful, the service is very good, and the pool area is very pleasant. However, it is not without its problems. The rooms just don't feel up to 5 star standard, especially after the beautiful lobby and pool area. The bathrooms, in particular, are very tired and need to be renovated. Aside from the lovely bed and linen, the rooms and bathrooms don't feel particularly luxurious.

The service varied, but on the whole it was very good (you have to make some allowances for Fijian culture, which is very laid back). Certainly it was better than a number of other resorts we visited (including the Fijian, which was terrible). What I liked most about the service was that it remained professional, yet was also friendly.

The spa was very expensive - so much so that we stayed away. We did visit the spa at nearby Denarau villas which was terrible - cheap, but terrible.

The food was probably a bit of a lowpoint, especially the food served by the poolside. There was one big exception to this, though. The Vee Restaurant was superb. I couldn't fault the food nor the service. It was truly world class. You should definitely visit it if you stay here. Salt restaurant, too, was fair but nothing to write home about. If you're staying a few days, walk down to the Port and visit the Nadina Restaurant - it's basic, but the food is delicious and it makes a great change from resort food.

Overall, it's definitely not the ideal place if you want a quiet getaway without kids - the place is crawling with them. But if you're not averse to children and can't be bothered making the transfer to one of the islands, this is probably the best option in Denarau.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timmacCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakera, General Manager at Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 3, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your latest review of our resort, I was glad to read that you enjoyed your stay especially in our two main restaurants being V and Salt. I noted your comments on our guest rooms, please note this year they will be refurbished with new carpet, paint ,beds and furniture and so will have a new a fresh look and feel.
I look forward to welcoming you back again so you can experience the difference.

kind regards,
Adam Laker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denarau Island
0.3 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,128 reviews
39.2 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#4 of 24 in Coral Coast
2,586 reviews
11.9 mi away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Fiji Resort
Sheraton Fiji Resort
#7 of 8 in Denarau Island
2,084 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa

Property: Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
Address: Beachfront, Denarau Island, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Denarau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Denarau Island
#4 Romantic Hotel in Denarau Island
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Denarau Island
#5 Family Hotel in Denarau Island
#5 Luxury Hotel in Denarau Island
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Denarau Island
#6 Spa Hotel in Denarau Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Fiji Resort and Spa is located on beautiful Denarau Island. This five star Fiji resort overlooks the beachfront, adjacent to the world class Denarau Golf and Racquet Club. Our Fiji beach resort offers 296 rooms, each with a private balcony. Other features at this Fiji luxury resort include a private beach, wedding chapel, swimming pools, three restaurants, four bars, an international health spa, and one of the largest ballroom on the island. A bustling marina and cultural temples are located nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, ACCOR, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Fiji Resort And Spa
Sofitel Fiji Hotel Denarau Island
Sofitel Denarau Island
Denarau Island Sofitel
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa Denarau Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing