We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji
Nearby Hotels
Sheraton Fiji Resort(Denarau Island)
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sheraton Denarau Villas(Denarau Island)
$742
$574
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Terraces Apartments(Denarau Island)(Great Value!)
$242
$199
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$165
$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island(Denarau Island)(Great Value!)
$330
$283
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$56
$27
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$43
$34
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$85
$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (2,800)
Filter reviews
2,800 results
Traveler rating
1,211
961
352
168
108
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,211
961
352
168
108
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean frontmeke loungeheavenly bedzing restaurantheavenly spabula busoceanfront roomgolf clubbuffet breakfastour honeymoonplunge poolfood and drinksgolf courserelaxing holidayground floortour deskcoral coast
Filter
Updating list...
1,636 - 1,641 of 2,800 reviews
Reviewed May 15, 2014

We stayed a week in May and had a beachfront room.

Staff extremely helpful and friendly in all areas. All public areas very nice - faultless. Free wifi great. Excellent free entertainment by pool most nights. Having stayed in other 5 star properties I wouldn't rate Westin as 5 star as rooms are a little tired. Bathrooms have been done but decor is heavy, dark wood and a bit oppressive. A contemporary look would be more popular. Rooms had dated plug sockets obviously original from when property was built 36 years ago, old phones (one by our bed was dead), old radio alarm clocks, light fittings etc - just all a bit 'old'. Bedside units were dusty. Air conditioning vent thick with dust in ceiling. Stains on white bathroom shower curtain. One day there was no hot water so had a cold shower. Shower mixer handle kept falling off. Screen/insect door fell off the runner twice. Walls are thin and had to ask neighbours to turn their TV down as too loud at 11.00 p.m. Don't forget this is the beachfront room (3rd category up in rooms) I'm talking about, not the lead in 'garden room' category.

Have to call housekeeping if you want a bottle opened and then they come to room, open it and leave with the opener and won't leave it with you so we ended up buying an opener. Rather archaic and as I say not what you expect from 5 star.

Taxi from airport is $25 FJD but on requesting a taxi back to airport the Westin's only option is private car at $45 FJD and they won't call a taxi so my advice - organise/call for one yourself in advance.

The pools are all unheated (this is however normal at all the Denarau resorts/hotels) thus it was very cold upon getting in and after about half an hour we had to get out as too chilly. Even the spas are filled with cold water which was bizarre!. I have stayed at a 5 star resort in Palm Springs where outside temperature was 45 degrees but pools were still heated. When we were in Fiji it was 29 degrees daily but still think pools could have been heated.

Unsure what people with young children and families do for washing clothes. Guest laundry would be useful rather than washing your knickers out in the vanity basin each night!

As an SPG member I was emailed a week prior to my stay asking if they could assist in any way ie dietary needs, room type, special occasions. I thought this idea excellent and responded stating we were there to celebrate a special birthday (they HAD asked). Did not then get a response until the day before check in (having chased twice). Despite advising re the birthday, no mention was made or anything done while staying there so unsure why they bother asking. Disappointing.

Would probably opt for more contemporary Sofitel next door next time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Camda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RavinderSDhesi, Hotel Manager at The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Bula Vinaka Camda
We appreciate your time and detailed feedback from your recent stay. Indeed we are not a modern day contemporary resort as our architecture is very heavy timber based and we are very proud of our cultural look and feel. We do offer all the signature offerings of a Westin brand.
My apologies that certain areas of our service were below our normal standards, especially in regards to SPG member services. Being in a tropical country most of our guests prefer a non heated pools and whirlpools.
We do trust your overall trip to Fiji was a pleasant one.
Warm regards
Ravinder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We stayed here for 1 night after our cruise, it's the oldest hotel on Denarau and the exterior of the buildings shows this (other than the lobby which is very impressive). The rooms are good size and the bathrooms are much nicer than the Sofitel (see separate reveiw). The pool area is very modern and impressive with lots of sun loungers and attentive bar staff. We stayed here as a couple and most guests were couples, I probably wouldn't stay here with small kids, the majority of the guests were couples. The twice daily happy hour at the bar is good but the food at the poolside restaurant for lunch is very overpriced.
Overall a nice stay for a couple.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Lara_TravelTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

I booked 6 nights at the Westin hotel. Check in was very quick with a friendly staff member briefing me well on the hotel features. I was given a room in villa 4 and it was a ground floor room opposed to level one. Suggest strongly try to avoid a room located on the ground floor as they can be noisy at times, you can hear all of the noise coming from the room above you.The beds are very comfortable and you will get a good nights sleep. The room is well appointed and the A/C certainly works well. The only issue which I experienced was that I felt the lighting in the room was a little too dark at times as the light fittings are very dated except in the new bathroom, lighting and bathroom fittings are of a high standard. Housekeeping does a fantastic job,probably one of the best that I have seen in a long time. Everyday they ensured that fresh towels, soap along with other bathroom amenities had all been replaced.The lobby has a very good place called the Westin Bakery ,they make a fantastic coffee and there is plenty to select from should you wish to have a light breakfast.More importantly the staff that work in the Bakery are the most friendliest and helpful staff within the hotel complex.The 'Meke Lounge' also located in the lobby is ok for an evening drink but it can lack some atmosphere at times, If the evening is a little quiet then I suggest that you try' Chime' at the Sheraton, they have a great live band.
The' Steakhouse' at the Westin is a must visit, the quality of the food is very good and the setting is amazing.My only complaint about the Westin is the swimming pool, I firmly believe that the pool was planned only to look good opposed to how guests would actually be able to swim in it.Prior to the hotel being rebadged to the Westin the pool was very different and it had a better layout for guests to swim in. I found that both the Sheraton hotel and the Sheraton Villas had the best pools to swim in. As a Westin hotel guest you are allowed to use the pool facilities at these two hotels.
If you plan to visit Port Denarau Marina from the Westin as an option you can easily walk there opposed to catching the blue coloured Bula bus.It will only take you 15 minutes to get there, a very easy walk. The brown coloured Bula bus is a good option to travel around within the Sheraton group of hotels/ Denarau Golf and Raquet club.
Checking out of the hotel was just ok, in fact a little disappointing as it was not as efficient or as friendly as what I experienced during check in, note it was not busy in the lobby I was the only one checking out at that time.

Room Tip: Suggest you ask for a room on level one opposed to the ground floor. Reason for this is that if you are on the ground floor you will hear all of the noise coming from the room above you, example someone walking in heals or if they drag a chair across the floor, it will all all be heard in your room - regardless of the time.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlenIris58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RavinderSDhesi, Hotel Manager at The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Bula Vinaka Peter S
As a senior contributor to Trip Advisor, we certainly appreciate your thorough feedback from your recent stay. Thank you for particularly acknowledging our housekeeping staff as indeed they do have a tough ask and do a great job of it. I will be reviewing the lighting with our Chief Engineer to ensure we provide the industry standards. Being part of the Starwood Fiji complex, our guests so have the luxury of using the facilities at our sister Sheraton properties. The Fiji Premium club does offer great alternatives to formal restaurant dinning. We will retrain our reception staff to ensure each and every guest is farewelled as we welcome them
Warm regards
Ravinder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Amazing place for holidays. First night of our stay hotel organized very nice reception. Local dishes, very interesting performance, fire show, nice music... Hotel has really very good location. Staff very friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gayane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

My husband and I stayed for 6 nights and to be honest, didn't want to leave!! Our room was reasonably clean, there was a little dust here and there, but nothing to be concerned about. We stayed in a ground floor room facing the ocean and it was more than we had expected. Yes, you can hear movement in the room above, but it's not like it was happening all night every night. The view from our room was stunning, particularly the sunsets - never got sick of watching the sun go down. Everything in the room worked and the bed was so comfortable, you didn't want to get out!! All the staff were friendly, and if something wasn't to our liking, they would definitely bend over backwards to fix it. For example, one night I ordered a cocktail from the Meke Lounge and it came out in a tall plastic cup!! All I did was comment that it wasn't in a cocktail 'glass', the waitress apologised and 5 mins later came back with another cocktail in the proper glass, apologised again and said that this one was complimentary - really didn't expect service like that!! The pool area was always clean, the buffet breakfast should appeal to all tastes as the selection on offer was more than sufficient. We spoke to many people who were staying at the Sheraton, and they had said that they prefer our breakfast menu to theirs. The Spa/massage was divine! Check in was easy as was checking out. We had no problems with our bill. The resort is spacious, clean, well laid out and also patrolled by security. One of the bonuses of staying at the Westin, was being able to use the facilities/restaurants at the Sheraton, so you were never short of somewhere to eat or have a drink or even swim!! Overall, we had the most relaxing holiday ever and would not hesitate in returning to the Westin - loved it!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidaylover333333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RavinderSDhesi, Hotel Manager at The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Bula Vinaka holidaylover333333

We are delighted to have you stay with us all the way from Adelaide, Australia. As a senior contributor, your thorough feedback means a great deal and serves as a motivation for our staff to continue to strive for excellence. Indeed our Steakhouse does have some great culinary offerings. We will review our check out processes - thank your for highlighting this.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Be Well
Ravinder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews