We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fiji holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Denarau Island
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“fiji holiday”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

just came back from a stay in fiji. stayed at the westin denarau. had a wonderful week, we had a ocean view room with a fantastic view to the water and beautiful sunsets. in the room was decorated beautifully in a fijian timber theme and had a king size bed which was extremely comfortable. enjoyed the pool facilities ( need some cushions on the lounges)and all the staff were very helpful and happy. the only issue we had the first few days were we had a connecting door in our room and the guests staying in the next room had a small child that woke up about 6 am crying very loudly and it sounded like they were in our room. i think they should look at where they book people in and into rooms that are near family's or couples. I dont know if all rooms have connecting doors or not, but much better insulation is required. we were almost going to ask for a different room but the other guests left. Would definately visit again.

Room Tip: stayed in village 5 easy access across grass to boardwalk and breakfast room and pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    991
    821
    322
    155
    100
See reviews for
524
1,179
100
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (730)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Room was absolutely lovely. Staff super friendly. Is linked with the sheraton so you can eat and swim at two other resorts within walking distance. Great location with a short local bus trip into town (Nadi), and walking/bus ride distant to the port to go on day trips to the surrounding islands. Like most resorts everything cost money to use (eg. paddleboating etc) and there was a 20% gov tax on top of food/goods purchased so that the locals can profit from an internationally owened resort. Very family friendly, with adult only areas. Great gym and spa. Beautiful setting, especially sunsets over the water, however not great beach swimming around Denarau.

Room Tip: we stayed in a deluxe garden room. Could see the ocean from the balcony. was lovely and roomy for tw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShannaRei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RavinderSDhesi, Hotel Manager at The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Bula Shannarei
We appreciate your feedback and are delighted to read you had an enjoyable stay with us. We see you took full advantage of our resort facilities and that of our sister Sheraton properties as well.
We look forward to welcoming back soon.
Be Well
Ravinder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

This was our third stay at the Westin Denarau Island. Again we chose to upgrade and pay the extra for an Ocean Front Room. We do this to enjoy the view and access to the water front precinct.

Air conditioning was not working the first night so I brought this to the attention of reception staff. They apologised and advised that they would advise maintenance. I happened to be in the room when a young gentleman from Maintenance came by. He advised that there was nothing wrong with our room but there was with the whole block within which we were located. The air conditioning compressor was no longer working.

I returned to reception to request another room. I was told that occupancy was running at 100% and there were no other options available for us to be moved. We had stayed only one night of four so we were looking at a long and uncomfortable stay. The Manager attended our room and offered a portable pedestal fan which we accepted.

To enable some air flow we had to physically chock the hydraulic door-closer on the read door and slide open the front door. Whilst allowing a cooling cross flow it also created an uneasy security risk and an insect problem at night. The reason for the upgrade to the Ocean Front Room was negated because we could no longer enjoy the room and were forced elsewhere.

There was no offer of another room. I am sceptical of the claim of the Resort being at 100% because this was no reflected in the number of guests we saw. I believe that other rooms were out of service too. We were not offered any refund or partial refund. We were not offered any “no cost” services in recognition of our situation. I’m not talking any external services that would have cost Westin but a complimentary meal or even a drink.

Our first night saw a brief shower. It was not heavy but sufficient to cause flooding to and closure of toilets in the main building. One of the spa pools was closed. The gas fired lights along the foreshore were not working neither were the sprinklers which caused puddling instead of equally watering the lawns. The relatively new Moo Moo Restaurant has closed to be replaced by a steakhouse. No such luck for the Japanese Restaurant which is now vacant.

Whilst the staff is still friendly the Resort requires an injection of capital to bring it back up to its former glory. VERY DISAPPOINTED!

Room Tip: Get a room where the air conditioning works.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BrisbaneSenrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RavinderSDhesi, Hotel Manager at The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Bula BrisbaneSenrab

We appreciate you taking time to provide us with your feedback from your recent stay. Firstly, thank you for your loyalty to Starwood and secondly my apologies for the poor experience you had with us. As you will no doubt see on Tripadvisor, we have been receiving great reviews on the facilities and sevice by our staff. I agree that we could have better handled the issues raised and again my apologies for this. I will be emailing you via personal email to restore your confidence in our resort and to give us an opportunity to redeem our normal excellence in service.

Warm regards
Ravinder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed in the Westin, Denarau in June 2012 for 3 nights before going to the Mamanuacas.

Having been in Fiji a few years earlier, I found the resorts much busier than before. Even though the resort was not fully occupied, there were very limited loungers available around the pool or waterfront. This prompted people "recerving" sun loungers from the early hours with towels, which is very annoying. Westin residents can use the facilities at the Shereton next door, but their pool area was also busy when we visited.

Breakfast was the highlight! Fantastic! In the evenings we took the Bula bus down to Denarau Port as there was a lot more atmosphere/shopping/places to eat at better prices than the Westin.

The room we had was spacious and of a good standard, with a sizable bathroom and a balcony. The furniture and fittings showed signs of wear & tear. If you plan to sit on the balconey in the evening, bring repellant/mozzie coils or you will be eaten alive! WiFi access was included in our rate, but there was no reception/coverage in our room.

Overall, this may have been a 5* hotel a number of years ago, but I would question if it still is...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peig.Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RavinderSDhesi, Hotel Manager at The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Bula Vinaka Peig.Dublin
Thanking you taking time to provide is with your feedback. Its pleasing to note that you enjoyed the service and facilities, including our spacious room and superfoods inspired breakfast. We are continuously upgrading our resort which has a traditional Fijian look and feel with modern facilities. As we are in a tropical country we do face the elements as such but we have a daily spraying program to keep the mosquitoes under control. Indeed, Fiji is fast becoming a very popular holiday destination as reflected by the warmth of our staff and the Tourism Fijis destination marketing of Fiji: Where Happiness finds you!.
Be Well
Ravinder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Enjoyed 5 nights and returned home refreshed. A truly spacious resort reflecting Fijian influences. Staff and facilities were first class, an added bonus to be able to share Sheraton facilities with room charge back.

Room Tip: Our room was by the service entrance and therefore quite noisy, especially during the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetteAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RavinderSDhesi, Hotel Manager at The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Bula Janette
We are delighted to have been able to offer the services, facilities and friendly staff which enabled you to have a refreshed vacation in Fiji. Great to read that you took advantage of our sister properties' offerings as well.
Vinaka and Be Well
Ravinder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
256 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We've had a few holidays to Fiji, but this year chose to stay closer to Nadi Airport, and chose The Westin Resort & Spa on Denarau Island (15-20 minutes from the airport). The Westin adjoins several other resorts on Denarau, but from our observation, The Westin has a lower ratio of kids (which suits us), but we were also able to take advantage of adjacent (2) Sheraton Resorts. Accommodation was first class, and the restaurants provided us with a great range of selection. The Westin is opposite the Denarau Golf Resort, and within walking distance to the Port of Denarau, where there is some good shopping available. The Port also offers a good selection of lunch-time eating options. Resort staff are very friendly and courteous. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We enjoyed a quieter Lagoon room, away from the beach, and it was very good. Air conditioning (and f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The Westin is located on Denarau Island which is only 30 minutes from Nadi International Airport by taxi. The welcome "Bula" and warm smiles we received when we pulled up to the entrance relaxed us and set the tone for the holiday. Check in was efficient and friendly, and we got a late checkout once we reminded her were were Starwood Gold members. The luggage was efficiently brought to us, once again with more smiles. The ocean front rooms were clean and comfortable, and the toiletries were replenished regularly. The WIFI varied in speed but the internet broadband in our room was not working.

Dinner at the Zing Restaurant had mixed results. The curry was good but a side of rice would be good. The dumplings in udon soup were hard dry dumplings. The fried noodles with teriyaki fish comprised a piece of hard over cooked fish. The entree of samosas and prawns were lovely. On another night, tried the fried rice (nasi goreng), which was soggy. The potato and egg curry was lovely. I think that they need to improve on the Asian dishes if they are going to offer it, whilst the Indian dishes were lovely. The prices are geared towards Australian visitors.

Breakfast is more serene here than at the Sheraton. The offerings were plentiful, and there good omelettes, fresh juice machine, fruit and fluffy pancakes. The hot dishes varied daily and we appreciated that there were usual bacon and hash browns, but also fresh stir fried vegetables and steamed chinese buns. It makes for an interesting breakfast for a week.

Dinner at The Steakhouse by Peter Kuruvita was excellent. The ribs entree was superb. The mains of Portugese chicken, steak, fish were all excellent. We are both not pavlova fans but the pavlova with fresh fruit was excellent, as was the Fiji "halo halo" shaved ice dessert which was refreshing on a hot day. The setting right on the beach was magical and we enjoyed eating with the sand under our toes.

The pool was lovely with interesting parts that allowed privacy for family groups or couples. The water aerobics in the morning was also good fun. We found that the pool area was quite hot unless you managed to grab the seats with the umbrellas quickly. Perhaps the Westin could consider having more shade available.

If you get a chance, the Spa is great but once again the prices are geared for Australians. The setting is lovely. Take advantage of the early bird or evening specials that take 20% off the price. I would suggest that Westin considers a discount for multiple treatments, we asked but were not given any discount for 3 x 90 minutes massages. We liked the traditional Fiji massage.

The staff are also friendly, and they love children. My son was always welcome to participate in the volleyball or to play ball. We also found the staff at the shops friendly and approachable. The staff are genuinely warm and the this is what makes us return time after time to this tranquil setting. It makes us want to say "bula", put a frangipani in my hair and enjoy dinner at sunset with sand under our feet.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms on the top floor have good sunset views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lifeanddesire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RavinderSDhesi, Hotel Manager at The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear lifeanddesire, Bula from Westin Denarau
We appreciate you taking time to provide is with a thorough feedback and of course your loyalty to Starwood as Gold SPG members. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us. While we are delighted on the positive experiences you and your family had, my apologies for the less than perfect areas and I have escalated these to the relevant department heads to implement corrective actions.
We trust you departed our shores rejuvenated and we look forward to welcoming you back
Be Well
Ravinder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denarau Island
0.6 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,022 reviews
39.4 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#4 of 23 in Coral Coast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,492 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Fiji Resort
Sheraton Fiji Resort
#7 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,030 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
#6 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,388 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Denarau Villas
Sheraton Denarau Villas
#3 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji

Property: The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji
Address: P.O. Box 9081, Denarau Island North, Denarau Island, Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Denarau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Denarau Island
#4 Luxury Hotel in Denarau Island
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Denarau Island
#5 Spa Hotel in Denarau Island
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Denarau Island
#6 Family Hotel in Denarau Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji 5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa beautifully reflects Fiji's rich cultural heritage and local style. Offering the finest resort facilities including 243 guestrooms and suites and the award winning Heavenly Spa by Westin, it is a simply stunning resort for your next holiday in the South Pacific. Stay in 1, play in all 3: directly adjacent to The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa are the Sheraton Fiji Resort and the Sheraton Denarau Villas. Within the shared complex, guests can enjoy all facilities including the 14 dining venues, 6 swimming pool and the Denarau Golf and Racquet Club. Starwood Preferred Guest(R) Members receive complimentary in room internet and special dining discounts when booking direct. Book direct today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji Hotel Denarau Island
The Westin Denarau Island Resort And Spa Fiji
Westin Denarau Island
Denarau Island Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing