We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but some issues...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Denarau Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Overall a lovely hotel with good facilities. All staff very friendly and helpful. Room can be quite a way from main hotel but well equipped with excellent air-con. Free wifi very intermittent and off as much as on! Breakfast excellent with huge variety. Evening meals expensive and a little limited in choice. No beach at the hotel and free boat to the island nearby was out of action for the 5 nights there. We had use of facilities at other local hotel and discovered that a 10minute walk past the wedding chapel takes you to a lovely sandy beach. Had a great massage at the Spa. Not a lot to do in the area but great if you want relaxing...

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mello68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,530)
There are newer reviews for The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,695 - 1,701 of 2,531 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2013

Perfect weather, perfect hotel, perfect people, perfect holiday destination.....PERFECT HOLIDAY. We just loved our time spent in Fiji at the Westin. Food is a bit expensive & if you want time away from the kids, this is not the place for you. We had an Ocean Front room, which is the only way to go. The Westin is a family resort with everything there. Recommend a day trip to one of the islands, and a visit to the Valley of the Giants. So much to do & so little time.

Room Tip: Has to be an Ocean Front Room.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We have just arrived home after staying here for 9 nights. Service was great, atmosphere was great, room was fantastic, pool great and eateries great too. My only issue is that we reported something missing and were promised it would be looked into but was never mentioned again, although it was nothing of great value it wss disappointing that it seemed to have been forgotten about or swept under the carpet in hope that we would forget about it....in saying this I would not hesitate to stay there again!

Room Tip: Ground floor tropical garden view room close to amenities and quiet
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dani f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RavinderSDhesi, Hotel Manager at The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Bula Vinaka dani f

We appreciate your time in posting your feedback. Great to read you enjoyed the facilities and the service by our staff. Please do contact our Chief of Security on apenisa.whippy@sheraton.com so we may investigate the issue further as we take the safety and security of our guest and their belongings very seriously. My apologies for the inconvenience.

Warm regards
Ravinder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

From recollection, the first 30 seconds of the hotel experience was impressive from a visual perspective, on meeting the staff at the book-in counter, I was truly shocked and confused by the unfriendly welcome my sister and I had received. We felt so very unwelcomed which was a real disappointment to say the very least. While the hotel is beautiful in its design, it is way over priced as are all the services they provide. Little did we know that they slap you with a 20% tax on top of every food and beverage purchase. For example, a glass of wine, a mocktail and two bowls of chips could cost you a staggering $55 Australia. Service is slow but that was understandable due to Fijian culture and we were happy to go with the flow. However, another low point of our stay occurred when my sister slipped and fell over flat on her back in the lobby due to wet floors (no warning signs). Sadly, all staff members in the vicinity either looked on or laughed. YES I did say laugh, not one staff member came to my sisters assistance, making the experience even more distressing. One of the desk staff eventually told up that she couldn't come and help as she was busy serving other guests... go figure. This hotel is a law-suit waiting to happen due to their negligence. During our visit to Fiji, we stayed at the Western Denaru a total of four nights too long. I recommend that you eat out at the Denaru Marina as there are plenty of shops, cafes, pubs and restaurants to choose from. Or try the Sofitel Resort (next door), great food/ great atmosphere. While travelling with my sister we simply requested two separate beds and clearly stated this when we booked on two separate occasions. Neither request was acknowledged and we had to argue with the staff to honor the booking requirements. Needless to say, both times we booked we were given one bed to share. Another low point had to be the drunken NUDE tourists running around the pool area and on the beach while security just stood there and laughed, this instance just proves how poorly the resort is managed overall. Yes, while it might seem hilarious, who wants someone's private parts thrust in your face when you've just finished dinner. Moving forward, I have travelled the world and stayed in many lovely resorts but I would have to say that while the hotel is pleasing to the eye, sadly this resort is in desperate need of improvement on so many levels, especially in way of customer service. For that and many other reasons I would not recommend this hotel, not in a heartbeat. Save your money and go stay somewhere else i.e. Sofitel where the ambience and service are very pleasant, and where you will be treated like a valued guest, not the opposite.

Room Tip: Don't be rail-roaded into a room that is on the main road and which has the distinct odour of fr...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RavinderSDhesi, Hotel Manager at The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Bula Kim P
Thank you for your comments after your recent stay. My apologies for failing to meet your expectations on this visit. Our staffs receive great feedback on their friendliness and warmth - creating lasting impressions. Our Food & Beverage pricing is comparable to other resorts on the island. Unfortunately the staff you have mentioned work for our third party partners - tour desk and water sports and their lack of empathy has been escalated to their managers for retraining. Unfortunately, we don’t have any incidents reported either by yourselves or the security in regards to the nude incident and are not able to investigate this further, however I have escalated this for retraining of security personnel. In regards to the room, during high occupancies we are not always able to accommodate requests due to bedding configurations.
Again, my apologies as your experience is not reflective of our normal excellence in service.


Warm regards
Ravinder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We chose to spend our last night in Fiji at the Westin on Denarau island. We had spent a week on an outlying island and had an early morning flight so needed to be closer to the airport.

This property is just beautiful. The architecture is Fijian style and the lobby gives a very good first impression. Staff are all very efficient and excellent. The property is opposite the beach so there is a choice of swimming in the sea or in one of the pools.

We chose to dine at Peter Kuravita's Steakhouse and were not disappointed. The food and service were excellent but the most lasting memory is of the restaurant staff standing before our table at the end of the meal and singing their Farewell song to us. It was very emotional and a lovely touch.

Our room was comfortable and well appointed. However it was not sound proof and unfortunately there was a family next door with a toddler who cried constantly. We were woken several times in the night by the child literally screaming the place down - this is the last thing we needed when we had a 5am wake up call.

Other than that - we loved the place . Thank you to all the staff who made our short stay memorable.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ally46Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RavinderSDhesi, Hotel Manager at The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Bula ally46Australia

Thank you for your post acknowledging the warmth and friendliness of our staff and the uniqueness of our resort - cultural Fijian architecture with modern Westin offerings. Indeed the Steakhouse by Peter Kuravita is receiving great feedback for their culinary delights and great to see the staff left a lasting impression with the farewell "Isa Lei" I will alert the Chief Engineer on the sound proof issue.

Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Be Well
Ravinder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I have stayed one night in March. I have booked as it is Starwood Hotels and I keep a good memory of my stays in Westin Berlin. Unfortunately owners of this property are not the same than Westin Berlin. It needs some renovation, in fact you can see that some renovation has been done but just half way.
It is the kind of building build in the 80s with no charm. My stay was ok, staff very kind.
Room big enough. No wifi connection in my room.
The Steack House restaurant offer delicious food and very kind staff.
This hotel i think is great for families but too crowdy for couple.
My stay was average, nothing bad but nothing wow as well.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NawakRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RavinderSDhesi, Hotel Manager at The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Bula NawakRed
Thank you for your review. As a regular traveller, I am sure you will appreciate that each resort/hotel is different. Our resort has its uniqueness in its look and feel of Fijian history / culture and this is very well received by a lot of our guests as it sets us apart from other resorts on the island, - I am sorry that this did not meet your expectation. While our look and feel is cultural, we still offer all the signature Westin experiences including culinary offerings, Westin Heavenly bed and great hospitality by our warm and friendly staff.

The revitalisation of the resort is an ongoing process and unfortunately one that cannot be achieved overnight.

Be Well
Ravinder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

What an amazing holiday at the Westin! I travelled with my family (made up of 8 adults and 4 children under the age of 4 years old) and stayed at the Westin for 5 nights. The lobby area is beautiful - a fantastic first impression!The rooms are spacious and modern with very comfortable beds. We definitely thought the pool area was one of the best in the chain of resorts on Denarau, with a split design of varying depths and bubbles. It's very handy being able to organise all the activities from the resort - from the in-house things such as fish feeding, kava tasting, and dancing, through to scuba diving charters and parasailing. However, it was the staff who really made the difference. Nothing was too much trouble for them to organise (including room upgrades and private dinners) and they even took the time to learn all our names so that we were personally greeted around the resort. They're also fantastic with children! A fabulous stay at a resort I would recommend to anyone and one I will definitely be back to.

Room Tip: Some of the garden view rooms also have views of the ocean from the balcony and bed so try for one o...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RavinderSDhesi, Hotel Manager at The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Bula Vinaka Vicki C

Thank you for taking time out to post a comprehensive review of your recent stay. We are delighted to have made your stay a memorable one with connections created by our staff. Great to see the whole travelling party took full advantage of our activities and facilities.

We look forward to your return visit.
Be Well
Ravinder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denarau Island
0.6 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,221 reviews
11.8 mi away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Fiji Resort
Sheraton Fiji Resort
#7 of 8 in Denarau Island
2,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Denarau Villas
Sheraton Denarau Villas
#3 of 8 in Denarau Island
734 reviews
23.4 mi away
InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji

Address: P.O. Box 9081, Denarau Island North, Denarau Island, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Denarau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Denarau Island
#3 Luxury Hotel in Denarau Island
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Denarau Island
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Denarau Island
#4 Spa Hotel in Denarau Island
#6 Family Hotel in Denarau Island
Price Range: $157 - $400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji 5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa beautifully reflects Fiji's rich cultural heritage and local style. Offering the finest resort facilities including 246 guestrooms and suites and the award winning Heavenly Spa by Westin, it is a simply stunning resort for your next holiday in the South Pacific. Stay in 1, play in all 3: directly adjacent to The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa are the Sheraton Fiji Resort and the Sheraton Denarau Villas. Within the shared complex, guests can enjoy all facilities including the 14 dining venues, 6 swimming pools and the Denarau Golf and Racquet Club. Starwood Preferred Guest(R) Members receive complimentary in room internet and special dining discounts when booking direct. Book direct today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Starwood APAC, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji Hotel Denarau Island
The Westin Denarau Island Resort And Spa Fiji
Westin Denarau Island
Denarau Island Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing