We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“South Pacific heaven!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Denarau Island
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“South Pacific heaven!”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We absolutely loved staying at The Westin.
We stayed there for our friends wedding at the nearby Sheraton, and could not fault it. We saw the other resorts on Denaurau & both agrees The Westin by far was the most beautiful. It's thatched buildings & dark timbered interior adds to its beauty & authentic Fijian appeal.
All the stagy were extremely friendly & helpful.
We would recommend staying here, and also advise travellers to take a day to explore nadi & nearby attractions (mud pools & hot springs) in the countryside to see Fiji outside of the resorts in Denaurau.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ccsydney1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RavDesi, Hotel Manager at The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Bula Ccsydney1

Thank you for taking time out to post your review. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our cultural look and feel with modern Westin offerings and experienced the hospitality of our warm and friendly staff.

Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Be Well
Ravinder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,026
    851
    325
    155
    103
See reviews for
541
1,216
102
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (755)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

My family and I travelled to Fiji back in September 2012. It was our first trip to the Island and definitly not our last. I was concerned as to what to expect due to other reviews i had read. I didn't need to worry. The staff were great, service was fantastic and the beds were amazing!! I read a few reviews about "dated rooms" I actually found them to be lovely and the resort has kept with a traditional look. The food was so yummy. If travelling with a family, especially young children like I did (3 and 11 months) Denarau is a fantastic option as you dont have far to travel to your hotel after getting off a 4 hour flight!! Lots to do around the place. You have use of 3 resort facilities and are able to room charge at all 3 aswell. 5 minute Bula bus ride to the Marina which provides great food and activities. All in all a fantastic holiday and I cant wait to go again!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 83soph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RavDesi, Hotel Manager at The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Bula Vinaka 83soph

Thank you for your feedback, we are delighted to read that you had a "fantastic family break". Our signature Westin beds are highly commented on and great to read your enjoyed the hospitality of our warm and friendly staff. We do have a point of difference with our cultural look and feel and with our sister Sheraton properties, you have the advantage of staying in one and playing in all three.
We keenly await your return visit
Vinaka
Ravinder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We really liked the traditional setting. The room was charming and the staff were friendly. We should have been advised of this when we made the booking. I really fault Starwood for the lack of disclosure. The property appeared to be rather dated in general and we had the view of construction and the sound of saws and hammers from 9-5 daily. We learned that the majority of our wing (and we think the property) was closed due to cyclone damage, so trying to get a late check out (flight not until 2200) became problematic as they are turning the few rooms they have open as quickly as possible. We also noticed a big difference in the entire atmosphere here in Denarau Island. Sad to say everything felt like a western resort. It cost F$20 for taxi from the airport and F$45 back. The restaurants tried to up-sell menu items. The quality of food in restaurants we dined was low and prices high. Having spent our first week in a more secluded resort (Hotel Intercontinental in Sigatoka) this was a disappointment.

Helpful?
1 Thank DebKnowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RavDesi, Hotel Manager at The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Bula Vinaka DebKnowles

Thank you for your feedback. My apologies the traditional look and feel of the resort gave the dated appearance as the property has been fully refreshed post cyclone. We are also taking the opportunity to address all in room maintenance and hence have a reduced inventory available for sale. Unfortunately, we could not offer a late check out due to high occupancy during your stay. I am sorry our culinary offerings were below your expectations as we generally receive very positive comments. The airport based cars are taxis and the Denarau Island based cars are private hire cars and the prices are regulated by the relevant authorities.
We hope your stay didnot negatively impact the overall visit to Fiji
Warm regards
Ravinder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I was at this Hotel, June 2012 and enjoyed the hospitality, so needed a weekend break from work and once again came to Westin Denarau Island Resort with my partner. It was everything I had told my partner. As soon as we came up the drive to the Hotel, Smiling Staff greeted us, Bags were taken care off, Room was warm, food was great and bed was comfortable.The smiles were real, we felt like a part of their family. Really a little part of Paradise on earth. Who cared about the rain, I was relaxed,surrounded by good people. As with most places, you cant get local food at Resorts unless its a special nite.............So If you want Fijian food, go to Nandina at the Denarau Marina, Beautiful. I'm home again feeling all the pressures,I feel another fleeting weekend coming up. Vinaka vaka levu. Peter J

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RavDesi, Hotel Manager at The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Ni Sa Bula Peter
Thank you for taking time out to post your feedback. Our team was equally delighted to welcome you back to your home away from home. I am glad you enjoyed the service and facilities and returned re-energised and feeling renewed.
We look forward to your next visit.
Vinaka
Ravinder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I have been lucky enough to travel the world and stay in a variety of hotels and this is one of the best. From the moment you arrive the staff are lovely , we arrived at 7 am by tie we had breakfast looked around our room was ready. We had a basic room but it was lovely big enough with his and her basins a drench shower and a proper bath.
The bed was as good as I have ever slept in I could take it home with me.
The pool area is great the Bula bus down to the Marina is a must $7 FJD for as many trips you want in a day, we ate at he Marina as my one moan was the price of the evening meal we ate out in lovely places for around half of the cost. We did eat in one night and the food was great just I think over priced.
The breakfast here is great, the usual egg station is a winner with a good variety of food, we especially liked the juice station that made the juice mixture of your choice.the service at breakfast was first class, all the staff are lovely warm people.
The whole place is spotless. We were sad to leave but will be back

Room Tip: We had a basic garden side room it was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Freeman5802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RavDesi, Hotel Manager at The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Bula Vinaka freeman58

Thank you for your time and positive feedback with perfect scores. We are glad you enjoyed the comfort of our Westin Heavenly beds and the hospitality of our warm and friendly staff. As a regular traveller, it is great to get your positive feedback as the team have worked tirelessly to repair the damages after the cyclone.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Vinaka
Ravinder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed a week at the WESTIN to attend a friends Wedding. The Westin had only recently reopened after cyclone damage of 2012. We enjoyed our stay and thought our 'My FIJI' package purchased through 'The Holiday Centre' was fantastic value (check it out if you want to save $$)

The Westin is located approx 15 mins walk from Port Denarau, a lovely little eating/shopping precinct approx 20 mins by car to Nandi.

The Hotel is located in the middle of 6 other like type hotels that span along the port shores.
Our room (Ocean Front) deluxe suite was all that we needed , the beds were super comfy.

The buffet breakfast included was good, with fresh fruit juices, cereals, fresh eggs and omlettes on order. The staff were very friendly and helpful and nothing was a problem.

THe Zing restaurant at the hotel was lovely, we enjoyed a number of meals there. There are a number of pools that surround the hotel which make it easy to try and find your own little 'spot'

We ventured out of Denarau, and enjoyed the best Indian meal we have had in years... Called SITAR, a cab will cost you only $25.00 FJ... and so worth the trip... best Indian ever with cheaps wines to boot... We had fab meal, 2 bottles of wine for $200 FJ...
Overall a very good stay, but we still love the Coral coast in FIJI (we stayed at the Intercontinental ) for the natural beauty, the lagoons, cleaner water and better beaches...

Room Tip: Make sure you are in an upstairs room, so you are not disturbed by the dragging chairs , and general...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gilliganandskip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RavDesi, Hotel Manager at The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Bula gilliganandskip

Thank you for taking time out for a comprehensive feedback on your stay with us. Your positive comments will be welcomed by our team, having worked tirelessly in repairing the resort after the cyclone damages. Great to read you enjoyed the signature Westin Heavenly beds and the culinary offerings at breakfast and Zinc.

Please do let us know when your travel plans bring you back to Fiji.

Be Well
Ravinder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narromine NSW
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

. We (my wife , daughter and partner ) travelled to Fiji with your company on the 15/2/2013 returning on the 23/2/2013. I have no complaints as the staff who booked us were polite and kept up to date with every thing and all went smoothly while there. I feel it was good value for money and was happy we were staying at the Westin ( even though it was the oldest hotel in Denarau ) it had the most relaxed and traditional atmosphere. My only complaint was that the discount book was not recognised over there yet but they are making enquires and should be sorted out soon .Also one guest who played golf was charged as they said the golf deal was seasonal ( so if you are a golfer check this out before going ).This did not effect us as we are not golfers. In all it was a great holiday and we hope to travel with you to Fiji again and would recommend your company to our friends.
Thanks,
Garry Tink and Family

Room Tip: The rooms at the Westin we bigger than the Sheridan and the ambience was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Garry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RavDesi, Hotel Manager at The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Bula Tinker Family

Thank you for your comments, much appreciated. I will follow up with the team on the issue of the vouchers. We are delighted you enjoyed the relaxed and tradtional atmosphere of Westin.

We look forward to your return visit

Warm regards
Ravinder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denarau Island
0.6 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,112 reviews
39.4 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#5 of 24 in Coral Coast
2,573 reviews
11.8 mi away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Fiji Resort
Sheraton Fiji Resort
#7 of 8 in Denarau Island
2,080 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Denarau Villas
Sheraton Denarau Villas
#3 of 8 in Denarau Island
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji

Property: The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji
Address: P.O. Box 9081, Denarau Island North, Denarau Island, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Denarau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Denarau Island
#3 Luxury Hotel in Denarau Island
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Denarau Island
#4 Spa Hotel in Denarau Island
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Denarau Island
#6 Family Hotel in Denarau Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji 5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa beautifully reflects Fiji's rich cultural heritage and local style. Offering the finest resort facilities including 246 guestrooms and suites and the award winning Heavenly Spa by Westin, it is a simply stunning resort for your next holiday in the South Pacific. Stay in 1, play in all 3: directly adjacent to The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa are the Sheraton Fiji Resort and the Sheraton Denarau Villas. Within the shared complex, guests can enjoy all facilities including the 14 dining venues, 6 swimming pools and the Denarau Golf and Racquet Club. Starwood Preferred Guest(R) Members receive complimentary in room internet and special dining discounts when booking direct. Book direct today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Denarau Island Resort And Spa Fiji
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji Hotel Denarau Island
Westin Denarau Island
Denarau Island Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing