We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Positive experience all round!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Denarau Island
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Positive experience all round!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed at the Westin for a week, while the rest of our party stayed at the Sheraton next door (they were full up by the time we were ready to book). Having the charge back priviledges available at the Westin, Sheraton Villas and Sheraton was really helpful, and we just loved the call button on the recliners by the pools at the Sheraton!

We had an ocean facing room, on the 1st floor, which I recommend you ask for over one on the ground floor, as that way you get the view but noone can see into your room.
The rooms themselves were great, the beds amazing and the bathroom large and clean.

The grounds are very well kept and the staff very helpful and friendly.
yes there were lots of kids having fun in the pool, but there is an adults only pool at the Sheraton that you can use.

We had the buffet breakfast every morning and it's a good selection, the rest of our group rated it much better than that what was avaialbel at the Sheraton, and they came and dined with us most mornings.

The charity donation that I have read about as a negatuive review below - it is explained on one of the handouts that is out in your room when you arrive, it is a very nominal charge!


All in all, we had the best time and I'd highly recommend the Westin, and the other Starwood Resort properties on Denarau Island!!

Room Tip: Book a 1st floor room, that way people walking past cant see into your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kiwiinoz2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RavDesi, Hotel Manager at The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Bula Kiwiinoz2012

We appreciate your comprehensive post of our resort. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the service and the facilities. Thank you for your donation to our preferred charity - UNICEF.

We look forward to your return visit.
Be Well
Ravinder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    953
    807
    310
    151
    99
See reviews for
504
1,145
96
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (707)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

This Hotel had very friendly people who went out of their way to help. I could not fault their politeness. The room was everything I expected and the service was excellent. Can/t wait to stay at another Westin Resort based on my stay here....

Room Tip: Partial ocean view is really lovely....sunny in the afternoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gigi085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RavDesi, Hotel Manager at The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Ni Sa Bula gigi085

Thank you for taking time out to provide us with your feedback and great to read you enjoyed the service and facilities. Thank you for your loyalty to Westin, we look forward toyour return visit.
Warm regards
Ravinder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

Upon arrival (7pm) we discovered that our booking which we had made in Australia on Expedia had been for the previous night so when we went to check in the lady at the desk said she would not valid this and we had to pay if we wanted to stay the night. Explaining that it was a mistake and seeing they were not fully booked could they please valid our booking etc but again the lady said she could not. Upsetting as this was and being regular Westin travelers we had to really put up a stink (my partner rang Australia and spoke to management there) where finally we were told they would valid the mistake etc. I had to laugh as the whole tone of the lady at reception went from this cloud of negativity to an angelic voice of nothing is a problem Mamm/Sir.
Anyway, we upgraded to beachfront apartment, very nice but not value for money (we were not expecting it to be) great location between other hotels along the strip and enjoyed the lap pool.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellethegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RavDesi, Hotel Manager at The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Bula Ellethegal

Thank you for your post, I will be sure to use your post as a training example with my team. When booking are done via third party, we do have to follow dates stipulated in their correspondences, however, it could have been handled better.

On a positive note, great to read the team upgraded your accommodation and you enjoyed the lap pool.

Vinaka
Ravinder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

after 5 days at a backpackers, the Westin was a little slice of heaven for my friend and i! We were warmly welcomed by the friendly staff, and taken to our gorgeous room - comfy beds & a big shower :)
the hotel itself is gorgeous and we were treated like 5 star guests.
yes, there was a lot of families and screaming kids, but we expected that. just try find a quiet spot on the beach area and time your trips to the pool :p
the cocktails are delicious (try the 'unwinder') and the breakfast was devine.
we checked out the 'cultural show' for something different which was nice and interesting, but nothing overly amazing either.
it's only a short cab ride to the port with plenty of dining options, and you can also ask the porters to take you on a golf buggy to the golf club (yummy pizzas and slightly cheaper drinks).
if you're looking for a secluded, quiet resort, perhaps you'd be better off somewhere else. but if you're happy to chill by the pool and don't mind families and loved up couples, it's great :)

thanks to all the staff for their wonderful and friendly service! we will be back!
Fi and Nik (Melbourne, Australia)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fiona0284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RavDesi, Hotel Manager at The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Bula fiona0284, Greetings from Denarau

Thank you for your review, great to see you enjoyed our Westin Heveanly Beds and Heavenly Showers. I am pleased you enjoyed the cocktails at Meke Lounge by our pool, makes me want to try a "unwinder" now.

Look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Be Well
Ravinder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

First of all this is a lovely property. The grounds are well kept and the checking area is beautiful. Pools are very nice and the rooms are large and spacious. Front desk and bell staff are helpful, and courteous, but lack the true Fiji caring spirit. You will know the difference when you meet a local that is not associated with a hotel.

Where it lacks the extra push to be a 4 star is the following:

There really is no beach to go on, water is not very as beautiful as the one you see in the brochure or one that you can experience on one of the other smaller islands.

Food at the restaurants was marginal at best. The only thing worth it was the breakfast buffet.

Because the Shearton is close and shares charging privileges, you do get many kids at this resort. I was told there were not as many kids here, but I seemed to be not only seated next to every child that wanted to scream the entire meal, they were also screaming at the pool.

I had a terrible time getting service at the pool for drinks and snacks. I always had to go and order it myself or ask multiple times for a menu.

Towels had to be returned at 6pm, but twice I went before six and no one was there.

But what really made me angry was a charge on my itemised bill for some charity. I would not have known this unless I had asked for an I itemised bill. Who does Westin think they are to add an unauthorised charge to my bill? Do they do this because we spent so much that they think we would not have known? Just completely unethical. I asked for it to be removed, and they did, but how much,one yard they pulling in for a "charity" that others are not aware?

For this, I will not be coming back to this hotel. I suggest buyer beware!

Room Tip: If you ask for an ocean view, you could get just a partial view like we did. Ask for full view of y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Southernqt72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RavDesi, Hotel Manager at The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Southernqt72

Thank you for your review. Whilst it is great to read about your positive experience at our resort, my apologies for the areas we fell short to your expectations, and I will be addressing this with the F&B team.
The Charity that Starwood supports worldwide is UNICEF for kids and we post US$1.00 onto the bill which can be removed at our guests discretion. These funds are all forward to UNICEF without any deductions. We do put collateral explaining the charity donation in our rooms and my apologies for the inconvenience in this regard.

Warm regards
Ravinder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

We spent a week at the Westin on Denarau Isand, just got back yesterday and I must say it had the most comfortable bed I have ever slept on, the spa and showers in the room are great - the shower is a two headed one and the water flow is thick and fast, the rooms were clean and the resort put on a lot of entertainment the week we were there - breakfast was incredible - buffet which included freshly made bread and fruit that you could juice yourself with ginger, - was INCREDIBLE and I would highly recommend it. Staff are friendly and happy.
Negative side? Not a huge selection for dinner and it was expensive, the Internet access was pretty slow and also quite expensive - at $25 per day and the connection speed was really bad - for me that is used to streaming live on the net it was really pathetic. I had booked the internet for the time we were there so in all it costed just over a hundred dollars but seriously wasnt worth it - in total i probably used it for about 3 hours max and that was literally uploading pics and checking facebook.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DesireeB305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RavDesi, Hotel Manager at The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Ni Sa Bula DesireeB305

Thank you for taking time to post your review, bet Fiji is the topic of conversations! Great to read you enjoyed the service and facilities, did you try the dinner options at our sister resort Sheraton Fiji. My apologies on the negative internet experience, we are definitely working on ironing out the teething problems of the new install, it will be fixed before your next stay.
Vinaka
Ravinder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We had five nights of carefree leisure at the Westin in Denaru made even more enjoyable by all the staff at the resort especially Francis and the rest of the staff in the Meke Lounge.
Our room was always clean, well maintained and spacious with a pleasant view to the ocean.
The service was excellent with any requests of the staff always greeted in a friendly manner and easily resolved or answered.
The resort is well located with access to other Starwood Resorts, the Denarau Golf Club and the Marina. The golf club has a good pizza restaurant while the marina has a variety of restaurants and shops all for a $3.00 taxi ride.Certainly worth a visit or night out.
We were in a group of ten friends all of whom spoke highly of our time at the Westin.
Already booked for seven nights in September 2013 with another group of friends.
Great service, location, ammenities and price.Ideally suited for a relaxed getaway with the comforts of a first class resort.

Room Tip: We had an Ocean View room which was sheltered from the winds and provided a good amount of privacy a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill120848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RavDesi, Hotel Manager at The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Bula Bill,
Vinaka for your post, I will be sure to recognise Francis and the Meke Lounge team in our quarterly awards. Great to read you enjoyed our service, facilities and interaction with our staff.
Thank you for your loyalty and look forward to welcoming you back in 2013.
Be Well
Ravinder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denarau Island
0.6 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,930 reviews
39.3 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#5 of 23 in Coral Coast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,386 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Fiji Resort
Sheraton Fiji Resort
#7 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
#6 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,315 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Denarau Villas
Sheraton Denarau Villas
#3 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji

Property: The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji
Address: P.O. Box 9081, Denarau Island North, Denarau Island, Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Denarau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Denarau Island
#3 Romantic Hotel in Denarau Island
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Denarau Island
#4 Spa Hotel in Denarau Island
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Denarau Island
#6 Family Hotel in Denarau Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji 5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa beautifully reflects Fiji's rich cultural heritage and local style. Offering the finest resort facilities including 243 guestrooms and suites and the award winning Heavenly Spa by Westin, it is a simply stunning resort for your next holiday in the South Pacific. Stay in 1, play in all 3: directly adjacent to The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa are the Sheraton Fiji Resort and the Sheraton Denarau Villas. Within the shared complex, guests can enjoy all facilities including the 14 dining venues, 6 swimming pool and the Denarau Golf and Racquet Club. Starwood Preferred Guest(R) Members receive complimentary in room internet and special dining discounts when booking direct. Book direct today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Denarau Island Resort And Spa Fiji
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji Hotel Denarau Island
Westin Denarau Island
Denarau Island Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing