We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A surprise jewel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Denarau Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We spent 2 nights at Westin after returning from an outer island. We were pleasantly surprised at how much we enjoyed the resort. We had an ocean front room which was a good size for my husband and i and our daughter. The fittings in the room were of a high standard. I would not worry about paying for ocean front in future as the room is right by the path which is well travelled at all hours by people moving between resorts. The breakfasts were amazing and Moo moo and Zing both offered good food and good service. In fact we didnt have any issues with service. The pools were great. Only down side is the lack of beach

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tania M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RavDesi, Hotel Manager at The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Bula Tania

Thank you for your review of our resort. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the service and facilities at Westin. Great to note that the culinary offerings at our restaurants were well enjoyed by yourselves.

We do look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Vinaka
Ravinder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,557)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,825 - 1,831 of 2,557 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 7 nights in a ocean view room with our two children. From late September to Early October
From the moment of arrival we were greeted with a Happy Fijian man with the biggest Bula! I've ever heard.
The reception were amazing always helpful.
Buffet breakfast was great as well many varieties of food cereals yogurts pastries fruit hot food bacon hash browns etc. and omelettes made on the spot by the chef and a range of juices wines & hot drinks.
Pool was great but I'd have to say we as a family enjoyed the Sheraton pools a lot better Westin was great but the Sheraton have a policy sign that a towel on a deck chair doesn't mean it's reserved so it was always easy to get a seat .
But at the Westin pool this issue was so annoying people going to breakfast at 8am putting there towels on deck chairs but not even swimming until 10am then theyd go places & just leave there towels there etc. doesn't sound much of an issue but it was really annoying as you'd have to be in the pool pretty much as there's no where to sit on a sunny day - I'd suggest they have the same policy as the Sheraton as many people were frustrated with this issue.
Room was beautiful & cleaned to perfection every day air con was amazing! And the beds were the best ever like a marshmallow to sleep on so so good!
Staff at the spa were great as well one lady was a little off but the girls who did mine and my husbands couple massage were really nice & professional.
Dining here was expensive so we ate out at the marina as its not affordable pricing for the average family however we did eat at the wet edge on our last night & the food was expensive but wow did it taste amazing!
Seafood entree & our mains were great too.
They also have a bakery near reception & the food there was also delicious. They also have tour desks the resort we booked a tour through Rosie tours at the resort & the staff were great.
For our first time to Fiji was great to stay at the Westin it was great!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holidayers86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights in a refurbished garden view room. Good size room with comfortable beds, very quiet and not too far from the reception. No problems with noisy neighbours like other reviewers have commented on.
We received a 15% discount voucher the night of check-in which we used at Moo Moos. This helped in bringing the cost down as we found it quite an expensive restaurant though the meal was delicious and service was good.
We also ate at Zing during our stay but apart from the daily breakfast also at Zing we ate most of our other meals at Port Denarau which gave us more choice and was a little cheaper.
Thanks to the suggestion of other reviewers we took a taxi to/from Port Denarau and also walked it once (15 mins) as the taxi at $FJD5 was cheaper for our family of 3 than the Bula Bus. We did find the ice cream expensive no matter where we went it was $FJD9.40 for one scoop! Port Denarau was buzzing and had a really good atmosphere especially when the ferries and Captain Cook Cruises were in port. One day the P& O Pacific Jewell moored just off land (great views from the Westin) and tendered into port. Live bands provided another reason to visit the port. Overall a great stay and enjoyed the ability to "pool hop" to the other resorts. We mostly spent time at the Sheraton Villas pool as less busy than both the Westin and Sheraton pools. Would have tried the spa but very expensive as prices listed were 'exclusive to 20% VAT and 5% tax and 10% public holiday surcharge' But this didn't seem to perturb others as heard they were booked out on some days!

Room Tip: we had Room @2201 at the end of the 200 block, 5mins walk of reception.Nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndAkiAnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We have been to Fiji a number of times but this time stayed one night prior to our trip out to the islands and one unplanned night on our return. Moo moo was divine, the service excellent and we thoroughly enjoyed the buffet breakfast. The pool has plenty of loungers which can be a problem at other resorts. On our was home we arrived without a booking due to a medical emergency with our 16 mth baby. We arrived at 8am completely soaked from a storm and harrowing boat ride to see a doctor in Denerau and the staff were amazing! They checked us in early and upgraded our room, sent staff too and from to send and receive faxes to our agent in NZ and health insurer. We have written off this last trip but will definitely stay at the Westin next time. Nothing was too much trouble!!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank Janine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

As a regular traveller and a member of Starwood I was disappointed with the service standards at this beautifully laid out resort. I enjoyed the room, the beautiful culinary options, the pool areas and bars and would go back again hoping that the Venue does get their act together and fix their service levels, especially at the check in. E.g. I was even charged $5 to charge my phone! Also the lack of the personal touch which is normally quite prevalent in Westin locations.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the upper floor facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seaneka7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RavDesi, Hotel Manager at The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Ni Sa Bula Sean e

As a Starwood Preferred Guest, we appreciate your feedback. Whilst it is pleasing to note that you enjoyed the facilities, the service was below expectations. We are definitely addressing these with our back to basics training as an ongoing tool. We look forward to welcoming you back to display our normal excellence in service and please do not hesitate to contact me directly for your next visit.

Warm regards
Ravinder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

I think we were unlucky with our stay, but I can only review on what I experienced. Firstly, room was terrible. Leaking air conditioner and wasn't fixed after advising staff. The bath room was poor. More like a back packers shared facility. I'm sure this is due a renovation and actually saw other rooms being renovated in our block. Mold everywhere. Appaling. The food is good, not great. The staff are generally laid back and helpful. (like all people in Fiji) Food prices are on par with Sydney!! So gets expensive. 20% tax on everything, and 30 if you happen to be there on a public holiday...ouch. Hit up The Raddison for Happy Hour. It's the best of the bunch with 2 for 1. Good holiday, but nothing in particular that would make me come back to the Westin. 6/10

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveDWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

My mother and I stayed here for 5 nights in late September in a ground floor oceanview room. I can quite honestly say it was the most relaxing 5 days I have ever had. The facilities were great, the view was great, and the restaurant offerings ranged from good to great (Moo Moo was a definite favourite!) although the food was relatively expensive as expected for a resort of this nature.

The most praiseworthy aspect of this resort is the attention given to service, as the staff were consistently friendly and helpful without exception. The farewell song following our last dinner was a particularly nice touch.

In the same vein, the couple of minor problems we had with our room (safe not working, refrigerator not working) were attended to and solved within minutes of us calling reception, despite requiring an additional staff member to the one who came initially in the case of the safe. The maintenance staff were very friendly and polite.

We were mildly disappointed that the included transfers to the adjacent island which were advertised were not available and instead we had to rely on island-local Tim to take us in his fishing boat at the nominal price of $10 FJD/person return, who may or may not have been asleep at the time we would have liked him to take us across meaning we ended up postponing our trip till the following day. We were assured that this was a temporary measure while the Westin boat was being repaired, however this boat was clearly visible from our room and we saw no evidence of maintenance being done on it! Fortunately this worked out alright as we had very flexible plans and did not mind sharing the boat with the catch of the day, and Tim himself was a very pleasant fellow who seemed eager for us to enjoy the island.

Similarly, I was disappointed to find that after enjoying free wifi in the lobby (as advertised) on the first couple of nights, the free internet subsequently did not work and desk staff informed me I would have to pay at the quite exorbitant rate of (from memory) approx $10 FJD for one hour, or $25 FJD for a whole day.

Additional touches that would be highly appreciated and more in keeping with the expectations associated with luxufy-resort travel would be access to included supplies of bottled water and complimentary internet access in rooms (or at the very least in the lobby as advertised!)

Last but not least, this was my first time sleeping in the aptly-named Westin Heavenly Bed, and I don't think I'll ever sleep as well again, so I was delighted to find that they are available for sale online. I am seriously contemplating picking up extra work over Christmas and New Years to fund this extravagant purchase for myself as I'm sure it will be well worth it!

Room Tip: We loved the ground floor oceanview room for the ability to just spill straight out onto the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank v0xp0p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denarau Island
0.6 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,259 reviews
11.8 mi away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Fiji Resort
Sheraton Fiji Resort
#7 of 8 in Denarau Island
2,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Denarau Villas
Sheraton Denarau Villas
#3 of 8 in Denarau Island
744 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
#6 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji

Address: P.O. Box 9081, Denarau Island North, Denarau Island, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Denarau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Denarau Island
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Denarau Island
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Denarau Island
#4 Spa Hotel in Denarau Island
#4 Luxury Hotel in Denarau Island
#6 Family Hotel in Denarau Island
Price Range: $173 - $388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji 5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa beautifully reflects Fiji's rich cultural heritage and local style. Offering the finest resort facilities including 246 guestrooms and suites and the award winning Heavenly Spa by Westin, it is a simply stunning resort for your next holiday in the South Pacific. Stay in 1, play in all 3: directly adjacent to The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa are the Sheraton Fiji Resort and the Sheraton Denarau Villas. Within the shared complex, guests can enjoy all facilities including the 14 dining venues, 6 swimming pools and the Denarau Golf and Racquet Club. Starwood Preferred Guest(R) Members receive complimentary in room internet and special dining discounts when booking direct. Book direct today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji Hotel Denarau Island
The Westin Denarau Island Resort And Spa Fiji
Westin Denarau Island
Denarau Island Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing