We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Sheraton Denarau Villas(Denarau Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Sheraton Fiji Resort(Denarau Island)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Terraces Apartments(Denarau Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,754)
Filter reviews
2,755 results
Traveler rating
1,185
949
347
167
107
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,185
949
347
167
107
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean frontmeke loungeheavenly bedzing restaurantheavenly spabula busoceanfront roomgolf clubbuffet breakfastour honeymoonplunge poolfood and drinksgolf courserelaxing holidayground floortour deskcoral coast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,132 - 2,137 of 2,755 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2012

On arrival at the Westin all of us went WOW this is soooooo stylish, set out well, the pools are fabulous, we really enjoyed staying at this resort...
the biggest let down and at first it was enough to put us off (11 in our group) we almost backed out to go up the road to one of the many other resorts on the strip of beach.
We had to wait hours for our rooms, with 5 kids also in tow this was tough but we held our patience, we went off to eat, to walk along the beach, we checked out the resort to pass the time as we are continually told this is "FIJI TIME" no pressure, no stress....
well it did become a wee bit to laid back so we did let the staff at reception no we wanted names, and to speak to the manager...enough is enough of the lame excuse of fiji time...
Rooms ended up at the very back of resort facing the road...NO THANKS..
so we waited again but in the end we had lovely rooms, the staff came to our rooms to say sorry and offer us a bottle of wine each...which was very smart of them as we softened and then really did enjoy the wonderful WESTIN resort.
Night entertainment was above average...very impressed.
lots of interesting activities by the pool such as coconut shredding, cooking classes.
one can book horse rides along the beach
our grandkids had lots of mocktails, the service staff are friendly and the breakfast is one of the best anywhere...we missed this at the Warwick..the breakfast at the Warwick was like comparing cordial to fresh juice the Westin serves up lots of fresh variety of top quality food choices, displayed beautifully, we went to bed thinking about what we would eat the next morning as so much yummy yummy choices.
We would highly recommend the Westin in Fiji...great location, all round it was a very special stay for all of us, if we go back to Fiji we will stay again at the Westin for sure.

Room Tip: One of the best breakfast buffets any where in the world...5 star plus. great location
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sunshinegoldenbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Sadly this property is well passed its use by date, it certainly doesn’t deserve the 5 star rating associated with the Westin brand - Starwood would be wise to either invest in a serious upgrade or rebrand as a FourPoints.

The rooms are in a constant state of maintenance freefall – on our first night we moved rooms twice, issues with the first two rooms included a broken bed leg, broken air-conditioning, broken fridge, broken TV, broken phone, apathetic duty manager and staff not given the tools or training to handle disgruntled guests properly. Ironically the reservations team tried to put us back into our first room of the night after the second room turned out to be a lemon.

The group we are travelling with has reported a myriad of similar issues with their rooms – thankfully the staff endures the challenges with a smile on their dial.

The resort is perfectly positioned to take advantage of the area’s natural beauty and the grounds and gardens are beautifully maintained.

Come on Starwood – turn this back into a property worth of the Westin name

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here. We were there 2 nights before heading to Savusavu. We brought our 12 month old and really the only complaint is the lack of eating establishments with high chairs. There are really 2 restaurants at the Westin. The breakfast was great - LOVED the buffet and very family friendly. And the nicer place (sorry don't know names) was good too. But if you wanted to go somewhere else, you needed to walk not too far. We loved the Flying Fish at the Sheraton - just farther to walk with the baby and Water's Edge over at the villas was ok but they had 1 high chair. The hotel is beautiful - rooms well-appointed and very Fijan yet still very Westin, if that makes sense. On our way back we stayed at the Sheraton because we were curious to see which was better, and the Westin won hands down. We wished we were back at the Westin again. The thing people don't realize is the hotels on the main island just don't have the most beautiful of beaches. Those are found on the other island like Savusavu in my opinion. This island is better for a stopover.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaliGirly77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uraia R, Manager at The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2012

Bula CaliGirly77

Greetings to you from the Westin Resort & Spa, Denaru Island, Fiji

Thankyou for your feedback and your comments about the high chairs has been addressed with the department head concerned.

I'm glad that you still rate the Westin as good place to stay!! Vinaka.

We certainly look forward to seeing you again and thanks for the feedback

Warm regards
EAM - Westin Resort & Spa, Fiji

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

The Westin Fiji was great! The service was excellent. We enjoyed ourselves and would love to go back. The hotel may want to think about making some upgrades; however, I do understand they still want the traditional look and feel of Fiji. At times the room seemed dark. In the morning, we walked the grounds to exercise before having a fabulous breakfast. The hotel is clean and the staff do a great job to ensure you are enjoying your vacation. Taking the boat over to the island was great. While on the island, we were treated like family to fried fish and cassava! We loved this! My husband and I got emotional during our last day because unfortunately, it was time to go home.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank newyork8losangeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We stayed here for 2nights with our two kids (aged 5&7) after a week at Shangri-La...mainly as it was the cheapest in what is a string of overpriced Denerau resorts. We had a garden room which isn't as far as some people are complaining about....the grounds are lovely so a little walk to the lobby etc is not an issue. Pools are pretty average and disjointed so we often ended up in the Sheraton Villa pools which are more popular with kids.

Internet & wi-fi is not free, unlike Sheraton which does have a lovely internet room in the lobby for guests.

The Adult lap pool and gym/spa area looked gorgeous and very relaxing!

Rooms:
Our room was very dark with very little natural light....and the lights/lamp in the room are very dim as well....they can def improve that...we often struggled to find stuff in the suitcase due to bad lighting in the room. Beds were very very comfortable. Noisy air.con. Bathrooms was dated (shower/toilet area). Like other travellers, we were constantly calling for more towels!


Food:
Buffet was good and extensive choice, however a small seating area comparatively to most resorts. We are early risers anyways so didn't have an issue getting a table straight away but those that got there around 8.30am onwards ended up in a long q waiting for tables to come available! I can see that being an issue if you have small kids standing in a q for ages!! :)

There is a local deli shop by the Villas where you can get a loaf of bread (we brought some marmite etc) so lunch can be easily done. Resort restaurants are hideously expensive so we went to the Port everynight for dinner....highly recommend Mama Mia's pizza(YUM!) and Indigo where the curries were delicious and well-priced.

All in all....good for a short stay.

Room Tip: We always get a local taxi for transport which is so much cheaper than getting travel agent arranged transfers! A taxi to airport is FJD30.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peach007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews