We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a wonderful holiday!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Denarau Island
Certificate of Excellence
Annandale, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“What a wonderful holiday!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2008

My partner and I stayed at the Westin in October 2007. We were celebrating an anniversary and managed to get an excellent package through an Australian airline.

I was a little apprehensive about staying here as I had read some fairly average reviews, but I'm pleased to say that I was very pleasantly surprised!!

We had a beautiful view on the ground floor which looked straight out onto the ocean, and the room was immaculate! One of the best Westins I have ever stayed in.

The staff were friendly, helpful and always out to make sure we had a great stay. The pool was fantastic and the fact that we could use the amenites of the other Sheratons made it all the more better.

Whilst there is no beach, we didn't find this a problem - and would gladly come back - and probably will as soon as we can!!

  • Liked — The room - it was lovely!
  • Disliked — The fact that there weren't very many restaurants around other than within the hotel
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank HotChilli81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    976
    815
    318
    153
    100
See reviews for
516
1,167
98
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (722)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2008

Had 5 nights booked at this hotel and then 6 nights at Amunuca Resort. Loved our stay and didn't want to leave. Had a bad time on Amunuca and left early to spend last three nights at Westin.
Knew we made the right choice when we walked back into Westin. Service was slow at times but staff tried very hard to please. After staying on Amunuca realised how lucky we were at Westin with the buffet breakfast. Restaurants in hotel ok and best meals were at Nuku at Hilton.
Checked out all other resorts on Denarau and was still amazed every time we pulled back up in Shuttle Bus how glad we were we made the right choice. Hilton and Sofitel very nice but nothing beat the beautiful Fijian ambiance of the Westin. Best pool area of all resorts. Hilton very sterile and bland by comparison .Could have been lying by the pool in the GoldCoast at Radisson and Hilton.
All the comfort of a reputable 5 star big name hotel yet keeps the Fijian style.

  • Liked — Pool areas
  • Disliked — tiles in shower
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank SydneyPrincess26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver. Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2008

We stayed in the Westin during the Christmas holiday. It was a three days stopover before we transferred to the outer Island resort. There are several other hotel properties in Denarau but the Westin is the best among others. The room is very comfortable and in particular, the bed and the pillows are true to their advertisement... "heavenly" However, the bathroom is very average and we heard the same complaints from other guests. The renovated vanity area is very awkward and water splash all over and outside the basin every time one tried to use it.. It looked nice but it was very impractical. The main restaurant (buffet breakfast) was good and in high (north american)standard but it not to say about the steak house. The steak house services were very slow and tardy. The food was not memorable and it was extremely expensive. The best tip is to dine at the hotel Japanese restaurant and it was wonderful. Overall the staff was friendly and polite and it is a very beautiful hotel. One more tip about dining outside and in the marina area. "Buyers beware" because they are not any better.There were several reviews about how wonderful and cheaper to eat outside the hotel and it is false. We went to "Cardo" a steak house in the marina and it was a ripoff. They charge top dollars but the guests felt like they were sitting in a food court eating bulk food. The hardrock cafe is a bit better but one must wonder why eat in hardrock cafe when u are in Fiji?

  • Liked — beds and pillows
  • Disliked — bathroom setting
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank awesam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildura,Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2008

Everything was first class at this resort.We stayed for 9 nights and had a ball.Could do what you liked the whole time we were there.Room was great.First floor deluxe beachfront room.Food was excellent.Could charge back from other hotels as well.Sheraton and Villa's.Port a Call is a must for a great meal at the Sheraton.
Staff were fantastic.Bula to you all!
This place is so close to everything.The Marina for jet boat rides,island hopping,restaraunts,shopping.Nadi for shopping and a lesson in how not to drive!Day trips to Villages,garden of the sleeping giant,etc.
Golf....terrific course if you are a golfer.
We could not fault the Westin and would return again or recommend to anyone.

  • Liked — The well organised nature of the whole resort
  • Disliked — The room mini fridge....too much stuff in it to keep cool!!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Isdonisgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2008

The Westin, Denaru, Fiji was a really nice hotel and I do recommend it. There are a few things to keep in mind before you get there. We arrived at 6 am and the hotel attendant said that the earliest time they could give us a room was 3 pm unless we booked a room for the night before. We told them that we had come off a 15 hour flight and were tired and hungry. We then paid $75 for a buffet breakfast for 2. We also noticed in the following days that when other people arrived at the hotel, they received fresh juice...we didn't??? We finally, after much argument with the manager Brad Mercer got our room by 11 am...This was not a great way to start off our trip! Although Brad was sympathetic, he didn't seem to have much say or power, but did apologize for the inconvenience with a bottle of champagne...which was nice of him. Overall the food was ok...SPA was GREAT...rooms were nice. ..loved the Bula Bus and the restaurants at the port were much better. There is one restaurant we got kicked out of b/c my husband and his friend were wearing open toed shoes...I mean, that's all they brought to the beach! So make sure you bring a pair of fancy shoes.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank travelluv_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2007

Good 5 star hotel which provides the basis for travelling to some of the Fiji islands. Standard of accommodation is very good - rooms have been recently redecorated (except toilets). 2 very good swimming pools and access to the nearby swimming pools ar Sheraton and Sheraton Villas.
Excellent breakfast and Steakhouse restaurant was very good
People very friendly.
Transport from the airport - used a taxi which cost 22 FJD each way (around £8).
Make sure you book your favourite island tour early because there are limits to day visitors. South Sea cruises can organise day excursions

  • Liked — Rooms, pool
  • Disliked — Bathrooms
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank theoCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2007

We are a family of two adults, 39 and 43 and two little ones 4 and 9 months. We stayed at this resort for one night before we flew out the next day to return to Melbourne.

I must first of all start off by saying that we had just come from a ten night stay at the Shangri-la Fijian resort, which was amazing, so any other resort was going to have to be great.

We had very high expections of this resort and we were looking forward to be spoilt on luxury after our fabulous but more like 4 star holiday at the fijian. We were so disappointed by the Westin.

First impressions:

The entrance to the island and the resort is stunning. The foyer and bar that greets you is just as beautiful as in the catalogues. The service on the front desk was disappointing. We clearly had a baby in a pram, however initially we were given a room on a second floor, no lifts (totally impractical). When we realized what had happened, we requested a ground floor and after much deliberation and made to feel like we were inconveniencing the lady at front desk, we were given a beachfront ground level room (we were charged the upgrade $50fjd). We also found the front desk reception lady to not be very friendly or personable, like it was just a job that she didn't want to be at. We also had to pay an extra $50 fjd for an extended checkout to 5pm, that on it's own we thought reasonable.

Room:

As an upgrade, we were disappointed that our room was soooo small and with cot and two doubles (that's all that was available) it was a tight sqeeze. The bathrooms are really pokey and hard to move around in when there are two of you! Not worth the money in comparison to the big room we had at the fijian for half the price.

Food:

Breakfast was amazing. True 5 star quality smorgasboard breakfast wth complimentary champagne. Reall good bacon! The extras were beautiful like the bacon and egg quiche. We also ate lucnh in the bar and tht was really good food too.

Pool area:

Gorgeous, however the pool areas, including the whole hotel doesn't have a very child friendly feel to it. The pool next door at the sheraton denerau villas was so much better for kids and also had a swim-up bar. We loved this pool much better. You can use all the facilities at the different resorts.


Cocktails:

Had so many Billibillis, just really yum cocktails. Much cheaper at the Fijian, however they were really good at the westin!

Island:

We used the complimentary boat to the private island and found itto be restful, peaceful and a nice way to spend the afternoon, but it wasn't a very attractive island and we enjoyed our time on the lagoon beach at the Fijian so much more!

In summary:

We can't help but make a comparison on the price of the two hotels. Overall we found the westin lacking in a fijian feel to it and the staff not that friendly or warm. We know we spoilt rotten at the Fijian and we can't wait to go back there. The westin is much more attractive for couples only. We used the babysitting service and the lady was lovely, but again not warm and loving like the sitters at the Fijian.

If we stayed on Denerau Island again (which I'm sure we will next year for a night when we return to the Fijian for our holiday), we would look at staying at the Raddisson (their pool looks amazing for kids) or the Sheraton Denerau villas (fantastic set-up for kids).

We just weren't impressed enough to want to stay here again!

  • Liked — the great cocktails and the bar, lobby and pool areas are beautiful
  • Disliked — staff not friendly, front desk not welcoming adn the rooms and bathrooms too small and pokey for the price and not clean enough for the price.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank yeahbigspender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denarau Island
0.6 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,971 reviews
39.4 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#5 of 23 in Coral Coast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,435 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Fiji Resort
Sheraton Fiji Resort
#7 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,002 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
#6 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,349 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Denarau Villas
Sheraton Denarau Villas
#3 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji

Property: The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji
Address: P.O. Box 9081, Denarau Island North, Denarau Island, Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Denarau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Denarau Island
#4 Luxury Hotel in Denarau Island
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Denarau Island
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Denarau Island
#5 Spa Hotel in Denarau Island
#6 Family Hotel in Denarau Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji 5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa beautifully reflects Fiji's rich cultural heritage and local style. Offering the finest resort facilities including 243 guestrooms and suites and the award winning Heavenly Spa by Westin, it is a simply stunning resort for your next holiday in the South Pacific. Stay in 1, play in all 3: directly adjacent to The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa are the Sheraton Fiji Resort and the Sheraton Denarau Villas. Within the shared complex, guests can enjoy all facilities including the 14 dining venues, 6 swimming pool and the Denarau Golf and Racquet Club. Starwood Preferred Guest(R) Members receive complimentary in room internet and special dining discounts when booking direct. Book direct today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood APAC, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, TravelUp, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Denarau Island Resort And Spa Fiji
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji Hotel Denarau Island
Westin Denarau Island
Denarau Island Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing