We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Stay at the Westin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Denarau Island
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Great Stay at the Westin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

I was nervous about staying at the Westin having read some of the reviews on tripadvisor. With a fussy wife and teenagers who are fantastic critics, I have to say our family really enjoyed the stay. Our room was refurbished, big and clean and the bedding very good. The Bathroom was good and the ocean views were fine (we stayed in rooms 2105/2107). Our room was ready on arrival albeit we got to the hotel at 7pm, the staff friendly and we found the dining to have plenty of options and normal hotel/restaurant prices. The pool is excellent and the activities are there if you want them. The live fijian music during the day, acoustic ballads at the pool bar in the evenng and the serenades at the restaurants and the nightly fijian dance and firelighting show are hard not to be captivated by.
I stay in plenty of 5 star accommodation as I travel regularly for work. Ok so there is no spa bath in the room, or sunken TV in the wall of the bathroom etc. However you are in Fiji and unless you are being overcharged this hotel is good value.
I walked and ate at the Sheraton hotel and villas and the Sofitel who are alongside and after seeing these the Westin's resort feel was my preference. It has better dining options and by any account a much better pool and bar area.
Now if really want 5 star the intercontinental looks the best but it also has the price with it, if you want the really white sandy beaches go to an island, none of the mainland hotels excel at this, if you want really cheap food go to Bali or Thailand and deal with everything that comes with this. If you want friendly people, plenty of blue water and sky's, somewhere to relax and not having to worry about anything other than the sunscreen, where to sit by the pool and what thongs to wear to dinner you are in the right place. I do feel awkward for those who got bad rooms or unrefurbished, however I also think if you are going with good spirits, and not looking for the worst of situations, you will get a good time in a good place that will keep you entertained and relaxed.
3 tips: join the Starwood preferred program it costs nothing before you go as you get better rooms allocated; checkout port denerau restaurants (an easy $3aud cab ride) when you want to escape the hotel; make use of the happy hours at 5-630pm and again at 9pm for half price cocktails and drinks (if only you need an excuse).

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Thefox_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    976
    815
    318
    153
    100
See reviews for
516
1,167
98
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (722)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naomi Moore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

We stayed for 1 week over the Christmas holiday with young family (8 month old baby). The place is stunning, discreetly elegant, surrounded by great gardens, ponds and trees. A series of recreational swimming pools offers some chill in the humid heat without the disturbance of a bar area in the water. The rooms, in a set of independent blocks, are spacious and nicely decorated; cleanliness falls short of five star with dust and lime scale forgotten here and there. What we liked of the Westin was that it had a sense of authenticity rather than some of the other hotels. Staff are unbelievably friendly and even more so with our baby, which makes you feel welcome everywhere, pity they lack of effectiveness in customer service (e.g. the reservation was not on their systems and we had to pay to show our internet booking). Price is rather extortionate, not only for the room but for anything you purchase; strictly include breakfast or all meals in your booking. Supermarket is down at the Port as well as cheaper eats. Baby can be easily entertained in the pool or with low-cost nannies; older children may want to stay in other resorts with an onsite playgroup. Great that you can make use of Sheraton pools and facilities, although we preferred the Westin pool!
Overall, great but overpriced place.

Room Tip: Room can be ocean facing (great view but lack of privacy if you are towards the Sheraton just after...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N0ms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

We visited Fiji as my Brother decided to have his Wedding there, and chose The Westin to stay at as my Brother had stayed there a year or so prior. I had not done any research on teh hotel, I merely chose it as that's where he had been before and it was also where the rest of the Wedding Guests were mostly staying. I absolutely loved the resort, as did my Husband. The rooms were beautiful, the resort was immaculate, and the whole place had a real friendly feeling about it... the staff seemed more like family than complete strangers. Breakfast each day was amazing, I lost count at how many mini danish's and mini chocolate croissants my brother and I ate over the course of the week! The food in general was great in Fiji, especially the Hard Rock cafe and the pizza place (mama's pizza from memory?) at Port Denerau - A large pizza is massive!!! I wouldn't recommend the seafood restaurant at the port, it was overpriced and had horrible food - for a restaurant right on the water you would expect MUCH better, and MUCH fresher seafood. It wouldn't surprise me if it was all frozen stuff from a supermarket!
Other than that let down the rest of our trip was amazing. The Wedding took place at a nearby resort, and the staff were exceptional! We even gave all the staff at the wedding a nice big tip for being so amazing! Be careful with Taxi's.. the price ranged so much between taxi drivers make sure you agree on a price BEFORE you get into the taxi! We traveled to and from Port denerau for $5 for a full car load, yet when we got a car with 7 seats he tried charging us $25! it's literally a 2 minute drive! The only other main disappointment was the Spa at The Westin. Of the way the staff and hotel rave on about it makes it out as if its fabulous. Its more fabulously overpriced, and the massage was nothing special, I felt more frustrated after the massage than i did before hand as I really expected a decent massage. And for the $200+ fijian dollars I paid for it, I was a bit annoyed about it at the end.
The staff were exceptionally friendly.
We also had the issue of being asked to pay our room bill half way even though we were paying it off daily. I guess they must have a policy for it but I was pretty annoyed that the bill was less than $500 fijian dollars, and they had a $8000aud+ credit card on file, yet they wanted it paid out. Any mistakes or errors made by the hotel were promptly attended to, and we loved the way we were always greeted with a smile.
The bed was stunning and SO comfortable! The worst part of the whole trip was needing the aircon on all day and night, which resulted in me being admitted to hospital with Pneumonia 2 days after our return. But hey, its a hot place to visit, so I can't really fault the aircon! Loved everything else about the trip. Will definitely return soon!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasmyn1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

Dear Trip Advisors

Be careful be very careful this hotel which is part of the Starwood group has a little problem with their accounts. Let me explain. I stayed on News Years Eve for one night and had a delightful meal with a few drinks at their sister hotel the Sheraton. Now one might imagine that the bill would be simple to work out as remember I only stayed the one night, but it appears not. This is what they have billed me so far.

04 jan 582 F$ = £ 214.72 taken by the westin
04 jan 361.5 F$ = £ 116.78 taken by the westin
05 jan 700 F$ = £ 258.29 taken by the westin
06 jan 582 F$ = £ 216.35 taken by sheraton
04 jan 582 F$ = £ 216.35 taken by sheraton

Now I love to eat and I love a drink but am I that good that I can always match by previous bills, or perhaps they are overcharging as a matter of policy and then see if we fail to catch them out. I have called them and written to them to please send me all of my signed bills etc, but nothing absolutely nothing in reply hence my gentle warning to other guests who might be thinking of staying here.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ashandalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

We stayed for our mini anniversary break, on arrival our room wasnt ready but this way quickly fixed up and the flowers, champagne and cake arrived wife happy.

The resort is Fijian style and our upgrade to an ocean room was most welcomed.

With newly renovated rooms and modern cons we found the hotel to be quite nice.

Major bonus sharing the sherraton next door so you get the best of both hotels in one. Although we perffered the westin pool.

Feast restaurant was really awesome all the staff sang to us on our last night saying good bye in the full restaurant.

Breakfast was great and moo moos is a must for steak.

Fiji is Fiji and if you can handle Fiji time for some things it's a place you will keep going back too.

We will be back at the westin and enjoyed our two weeks there.

Again a credit to management and staff who really listened to us and made our time really great.

I'm sure with constant improvements it will be even more improved on our return.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amicsMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

A few things to note about this hotel - first, if you book via an online website you are given a low-grade room (this was confirmed by the duty manager when we wanted to extend for a late check-out). The room we were given was definitely showing signs of wear and tear - stains on the bathtub, fridge not cold, black dust around the airconditioning unit. We also had some issues with communication amongst the staff regarding our check-out time which was annoying. However, we still enjoyed the Westin for two main reasons - firstly, the very very comfortable beds and secondly, the lap pool (adults only) which enables older couples to escape the families for a while, so if we return to Denarau would probably stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lyndah50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddonfield, New Jersey
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

The Westin Denarau is just not up to par. Unfortunately I don't think I can blame Starwood for any of it, because they don't have much skilled labor to work with in Fiji and I imagine that aside from the water/coffee being worldclass - there isn't much local produce to support the amount of tourism on the island . Aside for the friendliness of the staff which is unmatched anywhere else on earth you should note the following.

Food was overpriced - the cost is more than in Australia (menu items are the same as any on the Goldcoast PLUS 20% service fee) ridiculous, and the food was horrible and the servers could never get an order correct. My husband ordered special K cereal each morning and he received a different cereal each time. One day they didn't even know what cold milk was, they kept bringing him hot milk for his cereal and this type of confusion carried on throughout our stay. The only half-way decent restaurant was Moo Moo grill, but it is spoiled by the social issues I state below.

Rooms - The older rooms are in terrible shape - we had to upgrade. Unfortunately for us we stayed in 4 rooms in 4 nights because the aircon kept breaking in each room.

Internet - you must pay a ridiculous amount for internet service and the speed is so slow you cannot download anything - checking email is all you can do.

Beach - there is no beach. Do not go to the Westin or the ajoining hotels thinking that you have a beach to stretch out on and go for walks. There is no beach and the pools are filled with so many screaming kids, you will not get your peace and quiet by any body of water at any of the starwood hotels. You can use the other hotels pools and there is an adult pool at the Sheraton Villas, which also has the nicest pools overall, but the adult pool has 2 chairs to sit on - its laughable. And each couple/family staying at the Villas basically hoards the chairs outside their front doors. It's a mess.

Social notation - most parents at these hotels do not control their children. They are running around like wild dogs, falling into pools, falling off steps and columns, running around your tables at dinner lunch and breakfast. Screaming, crying and flailing about. It's embarrassing and if you go here on your honeymoon, like we did, those families are not going to give you the solace you expect on an island in the middle of the pacific ocean. Nor will they keep standards high enough so that if you want a nice night out where you get dressed up and can have an intimate meal with your hunny, the kids running around your tables, are going to spoil your attempt at a civilized meal. Leave your nice dresses and heals at home - there is no place for them here at any of the Starwood resorts.

Spa - is beautiful, probably the 3rd most beautiful spa I have been to after Rosewood Mayakoba and Banyan Tree Phuket. HOWEVER the staff is slack and they did not incorporate this so called serenity welcome ritual before the servceis. I had 2 massages in 4 days as it was raining on our trip. Staff was late to work each time, the "signature Fiji Bobo" massage was nothing more than a boring Swedish massage. There were no towels before 10am to shower with so you couldn't use the steam rooms or wash off your oils if you had a morning massage at 8am. No hair combs, no womens sized flip flops, there are only 2 indoor showers and 2 toilets and half were broken so there aren't enough working facilities when the spa is busy. The staff use the chaise lounges that look out over the lily pond to fold the towels and the robes you wished you could use, no place to meet and sit with your husband afterwards to just soak in the relaxation as the staff use the lounges as I said. And finally, if you are going to the spa on a rainy day, the rooms can get flooded, so you cannot use the outdoor shower attached to your outdoor massage room and also note, it can be windy and colder on a raining day, so a if you are a person who will get cold lying outside in your underwear with nothing but a polyester sheet over you, no warming table, you will freeze.

I could go on, but I think you get the picture.
Go to Hawaii instead.

Room Tip: ask for a newly renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tokyojellybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denarau Island
0.6 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,969 reviews
39.4 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#5 of 23 in Coral Coast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,432 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Fiji Resort
Sheraton Fiji Resort
#7 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,001 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
#6 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,349 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Denarau Villas
Sheraton Denarau Villas
#3 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji

Property: The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji
Address: P.O. Box 9081, Denarau Island North, Denarau Island, Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Denarau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Denarau Island
#4 Luxury Hotel in Denarau Island
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Denarau Island
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Denarau Island
#5 Spa Hotel in Denarau Island
#6 Family Hotel in Denarau Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji 5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa beautifully reflects Fiji's rich cultural heritage and local style. Offering the finest resort facilities including 243 guestrooms and suites and the award winning Heavenly Spa by Westin, it is a simply stunning resort for your next holiday in the South Pacific. Stay in 1, play in all 3: directly adjacent to The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa are the Sheraton Fiji Resort and the Sheraton Denarau Villas. Within the shared complex, guests can enjoy all facilities including the 14 dining venues, 6 swimming pool and the Denarau Golf and Racquet Club. Starwood Preferred Guest(R) Members receive complimentary in room internet and special dining discounts when booking direct. Book direct today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Starwood APAC, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Denarau Island Resort And Spa Fiji
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji Hotel Denarau Island
Westin Denarau Island
Denarau Island Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing