We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would come again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Denarau Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Despite some negative reviews we found the Westin to be fantastic-beyond what we hoped for. The room was comfortabe, there were plenty of clean towels in the room and around the pool, the ambience was wonderful and the staff friendly. I loved the real Fijiian feel of the place compared to the neighboring resorts and at no time did we feel the necessity to go elsewhere to use other resorts' facilities.
Money-take some Fijiian dollars & Aussie cash. There is a Westpac bank at the Harbour & they change money at no charge & was a better rate than I got in Oz. Better than using ATM & associated charges.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in a block close to the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nellie84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,702)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,250 - 2,256 of 2,702 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2011

We arrived here after 5 nights on plantation Island, so yes we were ready for comfort and alittle bit of spoiling, and yes we got it!
The breakfasts here a amazing, and propably the best I have seen in a long time. Take your time and enjoy them!!! The beds are amazing, something about fluffy pillows and doona's that instantly make you relax. The flat screen tv with foxtel was a welcome addition that the kids loved. The bulla bus was a great option to nick into the marina for dinner or to use post a day trip out to the islands. The shops at the Westin were cheaper than the coral coast or the marina shops, and the ladies who sell the shell necklaces also have contacts with Fijian taxi drivers who will drive you anywhere in Fiji cheaper than tour operaters and usually with more local knowledge of the area. Propably the smallest pool i saw out of the resorts I visited, but really the Westin was just a place to sleep at night close to marina so this didn't bother us as we were day tripping to various islands for snorkeling.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharon1074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

My Sister and I decided on a girls wk away and headed to Fiji!! After finding an amazing deal for The Westin, we booked but then read some average reviews on trip advisor!! I CAN TELL YOU THAT THIS RESORT IS FAR FROM AVERAGE... IT WAS AMAZING!!!

We had the best week, the staff were so friendly and welcoming!! We'd booked the garden view room which was very clean and tidy AND had ocean view's from the balcony!! The beds...... so comfy!!

The Buffet Breakfast included in the price, is by far the best I have ever seen!! It has everything you can imagine. Eggs and omelets cooked to order, fresh juices AND Champagne if you wish!! Most days we barely needed lunch!!

The split level pool was great, the staff walk around and take your cocktail orders and bring them to you so you don't even need move... besides to and from the pool!!

The activities staff were fun.. getting you involved in beach volley ball, kava tasting, cooking demos et!!c See Joe & Tui at the pool towel desk.. they were lots of fun!!

It is defiantly worth the walk along the beach front passing by the all the resorts on Denarau (The Westin is the best) .. also the Sheraton Resorts next door, are owned by the same company so you are free to roam between the Resorts and charge back to your room at The Westin!! Also its only about a 10-15 min walk to Port Denarau that has more restaurants/shop to check out.

Some of the bad reviews mentions un-efficient staff, not up to 5 star standard!! But you do need to understand that It is the Fijian way... they are on 'Fiji Time'!!! The people are so relaxed AND your on holiday so why rush?? Just kick back, relax and enjoy!!! I would defiantly recommend The Westin!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 11michelle11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

Loved our stay here it was so close to everything which made it more relaxing. Also enjoyed the local dances put on every night.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MattyB77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

When we booked the Westin we were a little concerned by some of the negative reviews on TripAdvisor, but being loyal to SPG we went ahead anyway. We have just got back to NZ after four days there and can only suggest that anybody considering this destination ignore the negative reviews and head on over. The staff, the service and the location were everything we wanted for our time away in Fiji, we are looking forward to trying to get back there again before the winter is over.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WellingtonBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

We upgraded our room on arrival to an ocean view (which was great), but the promise of free Internet and cocktails was not delivered upon. Air conditioning only worked on high and very noisy, and not at all cold. Asked them to repair on first morning, so we could sleep but this was never done. We were in refurbished rooms but the room is still tired looking and feeling. Way over priced for what we got. Not a great end to our holiday.

Room Tip: Noisy air conditioning. Got bitten by Mosquitos in the room at night, even with doors closed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Antrim46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

I have just returned to New Zealand from a week in Fiji during July 2011. I travelled with my two teenage/adult children, we stayed two nights at the Sofitel and three nights at The Westin. Prior to leaving for our holiday I was really concerned about the negative reviews of The Westin in Trip Advisor. You can safely ignore them, they are wrong and misleading. The Westin was terrific, it has the best authentic Fijian resort atmosphere, very friendly staff, the best breakfast, comfortable spacious rooms and two happy hours! I do agree with the comment that the airconditioning unit is noisy. We stayed in both the Garden View and Ocean Front rooms and they were equally comfortable. The upgrade rooms really only refers to the bathrooms but the older style room we stayed in the bathroom was still clean, functional and acceptable. I am an international airline pilot and have stayed in hundreds of hotels over a 30 year career. This is not the most modern hotel in Denarau but I prefer it the most. You will have a great holiday here.

Room Tip: pay $150 Fijian for an Ocean Front upgrade at check-in
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Bulavinaka51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denarau Island
0.6 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,417 reviews
11.8 mi away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Fiji Resort
Sheraton Fiji Resort
#7 of 8 in Denarau Island
2,288 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Denarau Villas
Sheraton Denarau Villas
#4 of 8 in Denarau Island
782 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji

Address: P.O. Box 9081, Denarau Island North, Denarau Island, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Denarau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Denarau Island
#3 Spa Hotel in Denarau Island
#3 Romantic Hotel in Denarau Island
#3 Luxury Hotel in Denarau Island
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Denarau Island
#6 Family Hotel in Denarau Island
Price Range: $187 - $347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji 5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa beautifully reflects Fiji's rich cultural heritage and local style. Offering the finest resort facilities including 246 guestrooms and suites and the award winning Heavenly Spa by Westin, it is a simply stunning resort for your next holiday in the South Pacific. Stay in 1, play in all 3: directly adjacent to The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa are the Sheraton Fiji Resort and the Sheraton Denarau Villas. Within the shared complex, guests can enjoy all facilities including the 12 dining venues, 6 swimming pools and the Denarau Golf and Racquet Club. Starwood Preferred Guest(R) Members receive complimentary in room internet and special dining discounts when booking direct. Book direct today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Starwood, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji Hotel Denarau Island
The Westin Denarau Island Resort And Spa Fiji
Westin Denarau Island
Denarau Island Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing