We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you can elbow the kids out of the way ..you'll enjoy your stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Fiji Resort
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Denarau Island
GOLD COAST
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“If you can elbow the kids out of the way ..you'll enjoy your stay”
Reviewed October 28, 2009

Ah! a week in Fiji at the Sheraton...5 star.....Sea views, re furbished rooms....but wait no bathrobes, slippers, cotton buds , no bath towels or tea bags (some days) plus a noisy room airconditioner. Don't expect impecible service in a 5 star environment as this is all part of the Fiji atrraction.. so you need to go with the flow or you'll have a breakdown whilst on HOLIDAY! The good things are the people and staff ,who try really hard to please and the EXCELLENT buffett breakfast , but you had to elbow over zealous kids out of the way to get near the food. Beware school holidays!! Finally, food prices at the Sheraton do not include the 17.5% Tax (unlike the other Resorts and Restaurants who do include the tax in prices) so, beware . From numerous previous visits to Fiji I would say the Radisson dining offers best value and choice at present..... Vinaka.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tolhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,084 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    797
    708
    332
    140
    107
See reviews for
701
801
45
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (643)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2009

My husband & I traveled with our young son aged 4 years
This was our second time in Fiji and it has improved so much in 10 years. It is the best place for families with young children. One thing we really noticed at the Sheraton is that none of the staff were on Fiji time the service was really like that of what you would expect at any top resort.
Plus the exchange rate is so good at the moment. Upon arriving at the hotel it was clear that it was fully renovated and it looked lovely. Unlike other places we have stayed at our rooms also looked as good as the foyer. Staff were friendly on check-in and let us check in when we arrived which was about 9:00am even though official check-in is 3:30pm. We got the kids eat and play free deal with buffet breakfast included. The room had 2 x double beds, two of the pillows smelled like smoke (from a previous guest?) and our room was missing bath towels. A quick phone call to hotel services rectified this for us immediately.
The kid’s lagoon pool is one side sand so when our son was reluctant to get in we tried this side. He also loved making sand castles. The kid's club also lends plastic buckets and toys for the kids to play in the kid’s pool even if your child is not attending that day. There is also a NZ ice cream next the kid’s lagoon, very tempting. There are 3 great pools at the resort 2 that are good for the kids. You can also get poolside service for drinks, which was such a treat; they even have kid's drinks.
The kids club is handy although half a day was enough for our son. Babysitting is available for FJD20 for 3 hours, which is handy if parents want to do some activities without the kids. We used it once when we went to the bar Chime on a Saturday night which has the best live entertainment! My husband was understandably apprehensive as this is something we don't usually do but the Fijians women are fantastic with kids and they did a great job of looking after him.
There are desktops with Internet access and a printer at [--], which is a great way to keep on top of your e-mails and banking etc.
The food in Feast buffet restaurant was ordinary on the night that we went (Wednesday night FJD88 + second person half price + kids eat free) it is probably much better on Friday and Saturday night with the seafood. Breakfast there was great though especially the omelets.
The Sheratons travel desk is too expensive though. It is much better to go to Rosies at the Westin and book through there. We booked at South Sea Cruise - Finding Nemo, it was good but too short.
We ate at the The Flying Fish restaurant everyday for lunch! The kids eat free here when an adult pays. The meals were delicious especially the Mahi Mahi FJD27. We also had dinner one night when we ordered 1 kg of Salt and Pepper Morton Bay Bugs FJD65! Delicious!
We went to the Hard Rock Cafe, in the Denarau Marina. It was OK. As everyone else says the Marina is cheaper than the resort but the food at the resort was so good I wouldn't bother the time going to the Marina.
We ate at the Steak House at the Westin. Kids eat free at the buffet in the restaurant next to the Steak House. It's not advertised anywhere but the waitress told us after we gave her a FJD2 tip. It was OK.
We also had the BBQ at the Golf Club, which was also delicious. Kind of homey and one of the few places you can get vegetables included. Choose your own meat for the chef to cook chicken skewers FJD$4ea, Mahi Mahi FJD6.50 Lamb Cutlet FJD19 & help yourself to salad & dessert buffet FJD22. There's no kid's menu but kids under 5 get the salad bar for free.
If you get good service it's great to give a small tip as the Fijians only earn about FJD3 an hour and they work long hours, you'll often see them working in different restaurants from first thing in the morning to last thing at night. The Bula Bus is free to other Sheraton Hotels which is handy with a four year old. The Westin also has a great kids playground.
The Bus to the Marina costsFJD$6 for the day. You also get 10% off all the Sheraton/Westins restaurants and bars with this pass. The Radisson has a free shuttle so once we used their shuttle to get back to our hotel.
A note on the mini bar. There was a bottle of sunscreen on our room that that was almost empty. We thought it was for guest use but it was actually part of the mini bar and we were charged for it (FJD22). I wouldn't have minded if the bottle was full. The reception staff took it off our bill after we explained but it was a headache I would rather not have dealt with. There is also a 17.5% VAT on all items sometimes it's included in the listed price sometimes it isn't. It's worth keeping an eye on that when you order so there are no surprises. Also it's worth keeping in mind the exchange rate when at the resort as most 5 star resorts it's not cheap but when you convert it over to AUD it really is much cheaper than you'd expect. There are also shops at the front of the Sheraton. Cafe Piazza has lovely coffees and smoothies much better that the resort and cheaper. Plus the stores have soft drinks and other items for much cheaper than the resort i.e. a can of coke for FJD1.80 vs. FJD5 for a glass of coke in the resort.
All up though the Sheraton was an excellent resort and I can’t wait to go back next year!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Corrie35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2009

My husband & I travelled with our young daughter (age: 2yrs 3mths)
My husband & I have travelled all over the world (backpacking & luxury) & with our daughter, travelled to Bali in Feb 09.
Our travel style is pretty laidback, after all...we are on holidays!
This was our 1st time to Fiji & we had a fantastic time!

Upon arriving at the Nadi airport, our daughter was extatic that she got a pretty shell necklace & Fijians singing & playing music to greet her to Fiji!
From there we were easily transferred to the Sheraton by Coral Sun Transport, who were friendly & on time.
After seeing other hotels along the way to the Sheraton, we realised that we were staying at the best looking one! It has an enormous foyer with beautiful water features.
The staff at check in werent overly friendly but I just put it down to her being busy.

We got a golf buggy transfer from the foyer to our room, which was big, beautiful & new.
We stayed in the Ocean breeze room (#1426) It was on ground level so great with our 2 yr old. A huge garden area out the back door that she could run & play with her ball.
The room had 2 x double beds,next to each other. (Now we are used to our Viscose memory foam King bed at home, so the beds to us were a little bit hard & definatley smaller than what we are used to.) It took 2 nights for our daughter to settle in the other bed right next to us, with us watching TV while she was trying to sleep, but after a while got used to it. I would perhaps look at a room with seperate rooms for her to sleep in next time.

The kids lagoon pool is wonderful! its 0.8m deep, so our daughter could stand & in the end didnt even wear her back bubble!
After walking to the other hotels in the area I thought the Sheraton Resort had the best kid friendly pool.
She loved playing in the sand & with the other kids. There were always lounges to lay on in the sun or shade.
The activities were great for the kids with fish feeding every morning, apple eating comp, dancing comp, face painting, weaving etc.
Our daughter was too young to be left at Kids Club, but we took her to participate in the activities. All the staff were excellent to us. They try to keep the kids outdoors & active throughout much of the day.
2yr old did painting & drawing inside Kids Club, which she loved & a few beach activities but I found the older boys (6-8yrs) to be a bit rude to her, so ended up taking her back to the pool.
The beach had bits of coral & shell which 2yr old loved playing with. We took reef sandals for her to wear in case there was lots of stuff on the beach but she hardly wore them.

The food in FEAST buffet restaurant was absolutely beautiful! Regularly rotated with new & fresh food.
While were we there, they had a special buy one adult dinner buffet Sun - Thurs for (FJD$88) get 2nd 1/2 price (FJD$44) & Fri & Sat night was FJD$88 each & if there are 2 people paying you got a free bottle of wine.
Huge selection of prawns, crabs, indian, carvery,salads, chinese,cakes, ice cream etc.

The Sheratons travel desk werent helpful & too expensive.
We ended up booking through Rosie Holidays, through the WorldMark Hotel (lovely staff) with South Sea Cruises. We booked a day trip to Treasure Island which cost FJD$135 per adult (2 yr old free)...saving us about FJD$50 each from the Sheratons quoted price.
Later we noticed that the Westin's travel desk had a Rosie Holiday rep. So you could probably book with them too.

We ate at the The Flying Fish restaurant twice for lunch. The kids eat free here when an adult pays. We got 2yr old grilled fish & chips (normally costing FJD$19) which was beautiful! We got the Mahi Mahi Burger which was nice but not as nice as the kids meal! Hubby got the Calamari which was beautiful (each cost around FJD$25)
Next day we got the Chicken with Mango chutney & Fiji Game fish & chips which were both really nice.(again costing around FJD$25 ea)

We went to the Indian restaurant,Indigo, in the Denarau Marina. We had 1 x Naan, 1 x butter chicken, 1 x prawn skewers, 1 x rice & 1 x beer & 2 x cokes & it came to FJD$120.
It was nice...but Ive had better Indian elsewhere.

We also ate at Mamas Pizza - 1 lrg pizza, 1 garlic pizza & spag bol for 2yr old. FJD$40
The ham tasted funny on the pizza, but we didnt get sick from it so maybe just different brand? The garlic pizza was cold & hard as a rock & the spag bol was quite greasy. 2yr old just ate the pasta out of it.

We ate at the Steak House at the Westin. We ordered NZ chicken breast & Lamb shanks. Kids eat free at the buffet in the restaurant next to the Steak House.
We waited probably 1/2 hr for our meals to be served which we werent worried about seeing we were feeding 2yr old her dinner. But the staff were very apolagetic about the waiting time & gave hubby a free premium beer.
When our meals came out, they were worth the wait!! Absolutley beautiful...melt in your mouth!!!
I think our bill come to about FJD$140? our 2 mains, side of fries & vegies & beer & 2 cokes.
Compared to price of Indian, Id rather eat here for sure!
It was my favourite restaurant, apart from the Sheraton Feast buffet.

We also had the BBQ at the Golf Club. which was nice, but take mosquito repellent!! we got bitten alive! Choose your own meat for the chef to cook & salad buffet. 3 chicken & prawn skewers FJD$4ea, i sausage FJD$4 for 2 yr old (they dont have kids menu) & steak FJD$25. salad bar cost FJD$25ea.
Its part of the Sheraton so you can charge it to your room if you wish.
Frogs (or toads) hopping everywhere in the foyer! our 2yr old loved it!

The Bula Bus is free to other Sheraton Hotels, but you can easily walk along the beach or main road footpath.
The Bus to the Marina costsFJD$6 for unlimited trips. A taxi from the Sheraton to the Marina cost FJD$5. So if you have more than 2 people it might be cheaper to get a cab.

We got a taxi to Nadi Town for FJD$12 one way from Sheraton, which the Concierge called the Taxi over for us.
The driver dropped us off at a Tourist shop at the start of the main street & gave us his card with a mobile number. He said to go inside the Tourist shop & they will call him in our behalf & he will pick us up again. It was all very easy.
I found souvenirs to be the same price if not cheaper at the shops in the Sheraton than in Nadi Town.

We had a fantastic time in Fiji & at the Sheraton Resort.
I would definately stay here again...perhaps next time come with grandparents?
We stayed 7 days & it felt like 2 weeks!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ltdowd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2009

We have been visiting Fiji and Denarau virtually every year since the early 1990s, mostly staying at one or other of the three Sheraton properties.
In recent times the Sheraton Fiji has had a U$20 million makeover; this sort of thing is always in the eye of the beholder but we think they've made a dog's breakfast of the public areas - examples being the jarring bright red decor of the main restaurant and the silly 'beds' (instead of couches or chairs) scattered around the foyer and bar areas.

The guest rooms have been considerably improved with new bathrooms - well done.

The hotel had confirmed it had arranged a taxi to pick us up at Nadi Airport. This did not eventuate.

After check-in we found the usual golf carts were not available to take us and our baggage to the room - we had to walk, though escorted by a porter. Then the electronic keys would not work and we had to wait outside for some considerable time while he walked back to reception to get new cards.

On our first day our room had not been serviced by 3pm, not a good standard for a supposed 5-star property. The appropriate complaints were laid but it was still amost 5pm before the room was cleaned.

Then came the major disappointment of the appalling fall in standards of the "Ports of Call' restaurant. In the past this was always a highlight - not any more.

The main courses brought to the table did not match the menu descriptions and the quality was so bad we returned them to the kitchen. Even though we were offered replacements (which we declined) and were not charged for them, it left a bad impression and absolutely spoiled was was supposed to be a special evening (my wife's birthday)

Associated with the Sheraton (although not operated by it) is the nearby Denarau Golf Club, which also has a restaurant. On past visits we've had highly enjoyable experiences and good food there .. but not any more - the service and food quality were poor to say the least.

Maybe this whole unfortunate experience brings us to the end of what have in the past been memorable experiences at Denarau and the Sheraton in particular.

It will likely be a very long time before we return.

Helpful?
Thank PeteWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2009

As we pulled up to the resort it looked fabulous. Reception was very nice and as you walk out towards the pool - spectacular. We check in and are taken to our room - Ocean View and very nice. Resort has had a wonderful refurbishment. Then it goes south from there no bathrobes, no slippers, only 1 teacup, no teaspoons, no hairdryer, shower head does not work properly - keeps leaking (ask reception to fix, handy man arrives does nothing and says that they all do that cant fix). Ring Guest Services to ask if there is a supposed to be a book in the room to advise of their services, are told to switch on tv as they list services there. No information whatsoever - just emergency procedures and very vague description of a couple of services. If you want more info got to see Guest Services or ring them. So if you need to organise a porter your need to ring guest services to get their number. If you wish to book in a tennis game ring guest services to get the number. If you wish to ring and make a booking at a restaurant - you guessed it ring guest services - absolute pain. If you decide to go and see them you have to line up behind the half a dozen other people that are there probably asking the same questions. Very poor for a 5 star resort.

Also never go when they have a conference on, we wanted to use their motorised sports and guess what the conference booked everything, including the little island across from Denaru Island. So the rest of us paying schmucks could not use any of the facilities. We also did not get a discount for lack of 'services' they provide.

We decided to go for swim in their beautiful pool but the pool is only 1.1mtrs deep - too shallow for kids that are good swimmers. Childrens 'eat free & stay free' deal - if you are happy for your 10 and 11 yr olds to eat a meal the size of a tennis ball - fine, but mine where starving. The deal is that at least one adult has to eat with them (at the Outrigger and Shangri-La we could feed them, very generous portions incl. dessert, and once they finished went to kids club - husband and I could have a very nice meal together in peace) the Sheraton you have to eat with them otherwise they will charge you for their meal.

The kids club - caters to 4-5 year olds, they have outside play for about 20 mins then go back inside and do drawings or learn Fijian words or watch a movie (for 1hr) not much fun if the kids are between 8-12. Met a few people around the pool who said the same and their older kids would not have a bar of the Kids Club - also always hungry after their kids meals. We found it was cheaper to go to Port Denaru and all eat at Cardo's rather than eat at the resort even though the kids ate for free.

Also found that the Sheraton is the McDonalds of hotels - you could pick it up and put it anywhere in the world - void of any culture. Where we in Fiji? couldn't tell.

As a family the Shangri-La and Outrigger where outstanding catered to all.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Needabreak2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed September 21, 2009

Overall a very good Resort - Our room was fantastic and we upgraded to Ocean View which was worth it.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank axiate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2009

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nites following a dive week on a remote island in Fiji. We used our points for 2 of the nites and paid a pretty high rate for the third. We discovered when there that they offer very reduced rates to travelers from New Zealand and Australia, something to research in the future. Although not very Fijian feeling after our island stay, the Sheraton had lovely rooms, pool area, good shops and excellent service. The concierge was very helpful with restaurant suggestions and when we told her it was our anniversary, we came to our room to find flowers in th eshape of a heart on the bed and a lovely chilled bottle of champagne with a small body lotion and soap waiting for us...it was a lovely thing to do and quite a surprise. Just a note...the bula bus is great and takes you to all the other hotels. I also want to recommend Saffron restaurant in town...a $6 taxi...the best Indian food we have ever eaten! Finally, our anniversary dinner complete with singing by the staff at Nuku at the Hilton was fabulous! Regardless of where you stay, try to talk to the local Fijians and you will have a wonderful time!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ConnieLongBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denarau Island
0.9 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,128 reviews
39.3 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#4 of 24 in Coral Coast
2,586 reviews
11.4 mi away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Denarau Villas
Sheraton Denarau Villas
#3 of 8 in Denarau Island
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Fiji Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Fiji Resort

Property: Sheraton Fiji Resort
Address: Denarau Island, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Denarau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Denarau Island
#6 Luxury Hotel in Denarau Island
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Denarau Island
#7 Spa Hotel in Denarau Island
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Denarau Island
#7 Family Hotel in Denarau Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Fiji Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Fiji Resort is stunningly situated in the tropical oasis of Denarau Island. Designed with comfort in mind, the 297 spacious guest rooms and suites are beautifully furnished in harmony with the idyllic South Pacific setting. The resort is the ideal playground for vacationers and families to experience an array of dining venues and leisure activities. With its close proximity to Denarau Marina, it has an easy and quick access to the beautiful outer islands, shopping and a vast range of dining experiences. The resort is the ideal backdrop for an unforgettable destination wedding in Fiji or a corporate style event. Starwood Preferred Guest(R) Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Fiji Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Fiji Hotel Denarau Island
Sheraton Denarau Island
Denarau Island Sheraton
Sheraton Fiji Resort Denarau Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing