We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A long-stayers review”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Fiji Resort
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Denarau Island
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I recently stayed for 6 weeks at the Sheraton Fiji Resort, and thus feel qualified to comment on pretty much all aspects of the hotel. My wife was with me for some of the time, but we were not "typical" short term holidaymakers with small children, so I can't comment on those aspects, but as one who comes from a customer service background, I recognize excellent service when I see it. And I saw great examples every day, in every location at the Sheraton, and indeed their sister property of the Westin, next door.
The Sheraton is a large, busy resort, but the management have gone out of their way to get their staff into the mindset that everyone staying there is a VIP guest. From the gardeners, cleaning staff, front office teams, restaurant and bar staff - everyone took time to stop and smile, to remember guests names and to go the extra mile in giving great service.
The key to giving that "extra special" customer service is to empower staff to fix the little problems as they occur, as they inevitably do and we found that empowerment everywhere. Nothing was put in the "too difficult" box or ignored and we were most impressed by the "can-do" attitude of the staff.
We spoke to many guests during our stay and many were returning guests, some of whom had been coming back to the hotel for many years. I can see why they would do so. There are plenty of choices of resorts in Fiji in general and Denaru in particular, but the Starwood properties of the Sheraton and Westin get my vote with absolutely no hesitation .

Room Tip: We had an Ocean view room, which was in a quiet and peaceful location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Airportroamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottJMacDonald, Manager at Sheraton Fiji Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Airportroamer,

As a much valued long-stay guest, thank you for your compliments and recommendation of Sheraton Fiji Resort.

I am delighted to know that you experienced consistently great customer service during your stay with every interaction you had with our team across our three resorts.

Please allow us to make your future reservations personally, by emailing angela.fox@sheraton.com. We look forward to showing you the same great hospitality again soon!

Best regards,
Scott MacDonald
On behalf of the Sheraton team, we look forward to welcoming you back and showing you the same great hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,288)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,415 - 1,421 of 2,288 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2014

I recently bought a great family holiday to Fiji from Travelzoo. Having not been on an overseas holiday for two years our 3 children Jack 10, Jess 8 and Jamie 5 were very excited to be spending 6 nights at Sheraton Fiji on Denarau Island. The package we bought included flights from Brisbane, accommodation with breakfast daily, airport transfers, unlimited golf including gold cart and one full day Island trip to South Sea Island for everyone. We worked out that by booking the Travelzoo package we saved over $1000 on these inclusions than if we had packaged them up ourselves individually.

We were met at the airport and given a welcome pack including cap, sunscreen, water and local area information with discount vouchers and were whisked straight to the Sheraton in air-conditioned comfort. We were checked into our rooms within an hour of clearing customs which didn’t even give the kids a chance to start arguing and fighting. Staying at the Sheraton allowed us to also use the facilities of the Sheraton Villas and Westin hotels so we had 6 swimming pools and a host of restaurants, bar and spas to explore. There were many families staying so all the kids made friends and were happy spending the days in the swimming pools and on the beach. For drinks and snacks, sunscreen newspapers etc there is a supermarket outside the main gate which is cheaper than the one in the Sheraton itself.
There are many places to eat at the hotels on Denarau and there are also cheap options at the Golf club, a Pizza restaurant outside the front gate and at Denarau Port where I really recommend the Indian restaurant.

The Fijian people are the friendliest we have ever encountered and were really a highlight of our trip- always greeting you with a warm “Bula” whenever they see you.
The standout however was the South Sea Island trip as it was only an hour to get there from the hotel (via the Port) and had fantastic activities such as glass bottom submarine rides, guided snorkeling trips, free non motorized watersports and also included buffet lunch and unlimited drinks. The coral within 15-20 meters of the beach has been killed off by swimmers but if you venture further out there is a great variety of coral and marine life which was a pleasant surprise having read some negative reviews before we went. We will definitely head to back to Fiji and I would recommend it as a close family friendly destination.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottJMacDonald, Manager at Sheraton Fiji Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear Scott B,

Greetings from Sheraton Fiji Resort and thank you for reviewing your recent stay.

I was delighted to hear that you have spent an enjoyable family holiday with us and that you enjoyed all of the facilities and services we have to offer throughout our resort complex.

I hope that you will return to become a regular guest of ours and to have another memorable family holiday!

Best regards,
Scott MacDonald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

What a great place to stay, and walking distance (10-15min) to all the port facilities (eating, drinking, shops, day trips to islands). Loads of pool areas to choose from, including a quiet adults pool, and with lots of options for eating, both informal and formal, where the food couldn't be faulted. In addition, there are shops across the road for all the essentials (think corner shop), and even better, there is a pantry shop in reception area for those fresh coffees and filled rolls etc - great to take away. People are very friendly and service was fab. We booked an Ocean Studio room, which was all we could ask for, including balcony with seats. Inside had a lounge area, and was a large, very clean room with great aircon and fan. Prices for food/drink are standard for pacific islands (i.e. not cheap, but not unexpected), but you can always buy food for breakie and make up lunches to keep costs down if you need to (small fridge in room) and ice machine outside. Can't wait to return in 2014, and thanks Sheraton for a fab time!!

Room Tip: We had an Ocean Studio, and on the 1st floor (above ground), with clear views of the ocean, but it s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BobFrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottJMacDonald, Manager at Sheraton Fiji Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear Mr Frost,

Warm greetings from Sheraton Fiji Resort.

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of your recent stay with us. It is pleasing to learn that our services and facilities has lived up to your expectation and that our team took good care of you during your stay.

On behalf of the Sheraton team, we look forward to welcoming you back and showing you the same great hospitality!

Best regards,
Scott MacDonald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

As a frequent visitor to TA I am mindful of negative comments and I need to acknowledge that the Sheraton is a great hotel but not enought to entertain our family. Therefore my comments shouldn't detract from a lovely hotel with amazing service but trying to entertain 3 teenagers on a budget was not an easy task. BUT this was my choice and no reflection upon the hotel and those that enjoy it.
The hotel is lovely but the activities limited. The pool is OK but not large enough for our needs.
Mealtime for 5 was an expensive affair but we did appreciate the great option of kids eat for $5 if they order from the kids menu with a paying adult. When we enquired about the use of canoes etc these were an addition cost- not one I was expecting.
The bula bus is also expensive when you consider its $8 per person so a trip to Port Denerau was $40 before we even started. The taxi option was $5 each way but we needed 2 taxis so this was the cheaper option at $20.
If you want to chill and lay by the pool and do very little this would suit you ideally.
What is great is the ability to access the Westin Hotel and Sheraton Villas- the Westin pool is amazing and the children had a great time there.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mummycate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottJMacDonald, Manager at Sheraton Fiji Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear mummycate,

Thank you for taking the time to share your impression of our resort. We strive to create a balance of facilities and activities for families of all ages to enjoy during their stay at our resort, including a teenager program run through the kids club.

There are increasingly more attractions being offered in the surrounding area which are ideal for teenagers and many of our guests have incorporated these activities into their holiday.

Once again, I thank you for your first-hand opinion as it helps us to better understand our guest’s needs.

Best regards,
Scott MacDonald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We stayed at the Radisson Blu Resort but wanted to experience other restaurants and bars that were on offer with other resorts on Denarau island given they are all so close to each other. We went to the Chimes bar at the Sheraton in the evening to have drinks whilst listening to the band. My husband was told by the waitress they only accepted guests or we had to use a credit card no cash. No cash? Are you serious? Really poor policy and coloured our view of what seemed to be a nice resort. Clearly encouraging potential new clients to their resort through great customer service is not a high priority. No sure in all our travels throughout the world we have been told by any resort they don't accept cash at the bar.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
1  Thank Rachael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottJMacDonald, Manager at Sheraton Fiji Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear Rachael W,

Warm greetings from Sheraton Fiji Resort.

I am sorry that you were inconvenienced by our cashless system which is in place at all of our food and beverage outlets. This system has proven to be the most effective way to secure our revenue along with credit cards. Several local establishments have also followed our lead on this.

I do hope you had an enjoyable stay in Fiji.

Regards,
Scott MacDonald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We chose the Sheraton Fiji for our first overseas family holiday based on the recommendation of friends, and it didn't disappoint. We purchased a package through MyFiji.com, and everything was taken care of - flights, return resort transfers, accommodation and daily breakfasts. It was very easy and straightforward.

The resort grounds are impeccably maintained and are spacious. Our energetic kids (aged seven and five) loved that they explore outdoors while Mum and Dad relaxed on the patio with a holiday drink.

Our room was clean, comfortable and well appointed. The only drawback was that the air-conditioner was noisy, however the ceiling fan and screens meant that we could open the room up and still be comfortable.

The feature for us was the Kids Club. (In fact, it was probably the main reason the holiday was so memorable). From our very first visit for orientation the staff were perfect - friendly, happy and great with the kids. It was almost too good - we had to negotiate time with the kids each day, as all they wanted to do was go to the Kids Club! On the final day there were tears and hugs as the kids had to say goodbye to the staff they had formed a very close bond with.

The daily breakfast buffet was very impressive and included a range of food to suite all tastes. We soon realised that after a big breakfast, we could easily skip lunch and move straight to dinner! We tended not to eat dinner within the resort, as the prices were outside of our budget. However a short walk to the Golf Club, or a short taxi ride to Port Denarau, offered a wide range of kid-friendly meals for the budget-conscious. (That being said, we did have an amazing final meal at one of the resort's restaurants - Flying Fish. Again the staff were friendly and relaxed, but helpful and efficient.)

We were keen to give the kids an authentic experience in Fiji, and so booked a local driver for a half-day tour. We visited a local village, the Nadi markets, and local volcanic springs and mud pools where visitors were encouraged to smother themselves in mud. (We were reassured the mud was good for our skin and general wellbeing, but the kids just loved the fact that the entire family was covered in mud from head to toe!)

Ultimately this holiday allowed us to relax as a family and create some really special memories. This is testament to the staff at the resort, and the friendly locals - genuine, caring people.

We know we'll be back, because we now know the experience offered by the Sheraton Fiji works for our family.

This resort comes highly recommended

Room Tip: If you have kids, request a ground-floor room. You can sit on the patio or spread a towel under one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank moonahman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottJMacDonald, Manager at Sheraton Fiji Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2013

Dear moonahman,

Warmest wishes from the Sheraton Fiji Resort! I am thrilled that you had a wonderful and memorable holiday with us and really appreciate your positive feedback regarding our service, facilities and the friendliness of our wonderful team. I hope that you will return and become a regular guest of ours!

Best regards,
Scott MacDonald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We've stayed at the Sheraton at least six times in recent years, the most recent being November 2013 for 8 nights. Its good points remain the spacious rooms (we had an Ocean View room) and the shared facilities with the Westin, while its downside remains the lack of free internet access around the resort (unlike the Westin).

As with most resorts, menus tend to be static if you stay for more than a day or too, so being able to move around the restaurants is an advantage.

The staff remain courteous, friendly, and helpful, and quick to resolve any problems you have.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Perrorist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottJMacDonald, Manager at Sheraton Fiji Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Dear Perrorist,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent holiday at Sheraton Fiji Resort.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed all of the services and facilities throughout our resort, in particular our ocean front rooms and the restaurants throughout our resort complex. I hope that you will choose to stay with us again on your next visit to Fiji.

Best regards,
Scott MacDonald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denarau Island
0.9 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,417 reviews
11.4 mi away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
0.3 mi away
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Denarau Villas
Sheraton Denarau Villas
#4 of 8 in Denarau Island
782 reviews
22.4 mi away
Sheraton Resort & Spa, Tokoriki Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Fiji Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Fiji Resort

Address: Denarau Island, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Denarau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Denarau Island
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Denarau Island
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Denarau Island
#7 Family Hotel in Denarau Island
#7 Spa Hotel in Denarau Island
#7 Luxury Hotel in Denarau Island
Price Range: $190 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Fiji Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Fiji Resort is stunningly situated in the tropical oasis of Denarau Island. Designed with comfort in mind, the 297 spacious guest rooms and suites are beautifully furnished in harmony with the idyllic South Pacific setting. The resort is the ideal playground for vacationers and families to experience an array of dining venues and leisure activities. With its close proximity to Denarau Marina, it has an easy and quick access to the beautiful outer islands, shopping and a vast range of dining experiences. The resort is the ideal backdrop for an unforgettable destination wedding in Fiji or a corporate style event. Starwood Preferred Guest(R) Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. As part of Fiji’s only 5 star integrated resort complex, guests have access to facilities at the adjacent Sheraton Denarau Villas and The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa giving guests a choice of 12 restaurant and bars & 6 swimming pools to experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Starwood, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Fiji Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Fiji Hotel Denarau Island
Sheraton Denarau Island
Denarau Island Sheraton
Sheraton Fiji Resort Denarau Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing