We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dinner Buffet restaurant wasn't as expected” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Fiji Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sheraton Fiji Resort
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Denarau Island
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Dinner Buffet restaurant wasn't as expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

While the variety and quality of food was actually good, the front-of-house staff and the appearance and presentation of food weren't that great.
In two different occasions we were presented with the bill before we had even finished dinner, and the desserts buffet was badly supplied and full of empty/dirty plates.
Not a must, despite having good selection of options in the buffet dinner.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SilviaKeddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottJMacDonald, Manager at Sheraton Fiji Resort, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Ms Keddie,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comment regarding your recent stay at Sheraton Fiji Resort.

Your feedback is appreciated. I regret that your experience in our restaurant did not meet your expectations and will take your comments as an opportunity to review our front of house presentation. I look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Fiji.

Kind regards,
Scott MacDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,973 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    749
    677
    311
    132
    104
See reviews for
656
761
45
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (617)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

This resort hotel is high end and very lovely. The bar in the evening is a comfortable place to gave a drink and the small band that plays most nights is really amazing. Great covers and their voices are fantastic.

The buffet restaurant is great. Decorated in a striking red, the food is vast in variety and great quality, especially for a big buffet.

The location is not that great. We only stayed here for one night on our way to the islands, so not so much an issue for us. And if you were on the type of holiday that just involved a lot of cocktails by the pool, this is as good as any to stay at.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottJMacDonald, Manager at Sheraton Fiji Resort, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Charlie,

Warm greetings from Sheraton Fiji Resort and thank you for your review.

I am pleased that you were able to experience our buffet dinner at Feast and the evening entertainment at Chime Bar during your stay with us.

I hope that you had a most enjoyable Fijian holiday and I hope you will consider staying with us longer when next in FIji.

Best Regards,
Scott MacDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honiara, Solomon Islands
Level Contributor
246 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

I used to live and work in Fiji for over 5 years and properties on Denarau, Nadi were always my pit stops during official visits to the West. And of course many conventions and meetings were held here. All Sheraton properties on Denarau have their own class and style but the Sheraton Denarau has a special aura. It provides a 5+star facility at a decent price. Large breakfasts and the friendly Fijian hospitality (Bula everywhere) make you feel at home. And they can package fun filled stays as well. The Chime Bar has some great music in the evenings and great people to mix with over beers. I have been attending the Pacific Microfinance Week and the place is great to do networking as well.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Krishnan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottJMacDonald, Manager at Sheraton Fiji Resort, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Krishnan N,

Sunny greetings from Sheraton Fiji Resort!

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on our resort and for your high rating.

As a corporate traveller, I am delighted that you found our resort and its services welcoming and comfortable, and convenient for quality dining and networking during your stay.

I appreciate your continued loyalty and support and I hope you will visit us again soon!

Best regards,
Scott MacDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed for 7 nights at the Sheraton Fiji Resort and were very satisfied. On arrival, we were greeted to 3 singing locals on a guitar which was perfect for our 18 month who was a little grumpy from the flights. We were treated to 5 star service by being escorted to our room by golf cart another nice surprise. During check-in the receptionist gave us 50% discount to the seafood buffet which we took advantage of on the first night. They also gave us a 15% discount at their other restaurant the flying fish but we didn't end up using it.

All the staff were awesome, very friendly, welcoming and remembered our son's name everyday and made a big fuss over him which he loved.

We booked an ocean room but was given a garden view room but I was not fussed as it's just a view and our room was massive and bigger than it seems in the pictures. The bed was huge but unfortunately the pillows are too soft and my wife and I both got sore necks by the 7th night. All the restaurants had international and local flavours but be warned - food in Fiji is very expensive. The Chime bar had happy hour at 5pm with the 3 local singers singing again. Awesome just chilling out after a day in the sun. For cheaper food and drink options either visit the marina for multiple options or go to the golf course clubhouse (opposite the Sheraton Fiji Resort) and have a huge 18" pizza for under $30 and beer for $4.

One of the great advantages is the use of all three resorts - Sheraton Fiji Resort, Sheraton Villas and The Westin. All 3 properties are accessible with each other and all facilities may be used. We made use of the Villas pool and restaurants and The Westin's playground.

The Bula bus is a great way to travel on the island and costs $24 for 4 days or $8 a day and does a loop between all the 5 star hotels and the marina. I suggest stopping at each hotel and seeing what is on offer. Great way to see what they offer.

The beach isn't your typical white beach soft flour sand like some beaches in Fiji however the water is warm, calm and great to just paddle around. Make sure to go in the morning as when it's high tide there is no sand.

The kids club looked well managed and all the kids looked like they were having a lot of fun. We didn't use this as it really is only catered for kids over 3/4. We did however use the babysitting which was $20 for the first 3 hours. Great to get away from the chaos and unwind.

Overall, awesome value for money and had an great holiday. Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: We were in 1627 and was close to reception/pools/restaurants. Some other of the rooms were a bit fur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gwilyn13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottJMacDonald, Manager at Sheraton Fiji Resort, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear gwilyn13,

Warm greetings from Sheraton Fiji Resort!

Thank you for your positive and detailed review of your recent holiday with us. I am delighted that our resort, services and hospitality has met your expectations and I hope you will choose to stay with us again on your next visit to Fiji!

Best regards,
Scott MacDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Have just returned after spending 8 fantastic nights at the Sheraton- our first trip to Fiji ( went for a family wedding), but certainly wont be the last. Where do i start- couldn't fault the room (1752- balcony with ocean view)it was always cleaned to perfection by Mela- nice touches were the flower left on the bed each day and in the bathroom. All staff greeted you with their beautiful smiles and Bula- this happened everywhere from the gardeners, the ladies in the souvenir shop, reception,restaurant staff, the porters etc etc etc. The pools are fantastic and lucky enough to be able to have a swim everyday- usually by 9am we were having out first swim. Also did water aerobics most mornings ( good idea after having the buffet breakfast) The breakfast - was included in our package) has something for everyone so once again couldn't fault it- it was lovely hearing the staff sing the farewell song most mornings- best omelettes ever ! My granddaughter( Macy) used the kids club- with one of the friendliest happy, charming ladies working their- Lala ( not sure if that is the correct spelling ( all the staff working their were also friendly- but Lala is a gem ) We had tea at the Feast- slightly pricey but that is the norm in 5 star resorts- also went to the Marina, and the golf club across the road- plenty of eating places to choose - catering for all budgets.Also had a couple of swims in the ocean- a different colour than back home but water was beautiful and warm to swim in. Vinaka to everyone at the Sheraton for making our stay there so memorable- cant wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McFarlanesAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottJMacDonald, Manager at Sheraton Fiji Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear McFarlanesAustralia,

Bula!

Your positive review of your stay with us was a pleasure to read and I appreciate your compliments and recommendation of our resort.

I will share your praises with Layla and the recreations team, who will be delighted to hear that they made your stay even more special.

I am thrilled that our team was able to deliver the Sheraton brand experience that we strive so hard to achieve with every guest, and your stay with us has left you with wonderful memories.

Best regards,
Scott MacDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

My partner and I and 3 friends took a holiday to Fiji in January 2013 for my birthday. We stayed a week in Port Denarau at the Sheraton Fiji Resort and had a few issues from the beginning.

Our travel agent from Flight Centre (whom we won't ever be going through again) didn't mention to us that the hotel freezes a sum of money roughly $100FJD per night that you stay which was a total of $750FJD. So the money we took as spending money ended up being frozen, which I was furious about, but not their fault. Lack of communication from Flight Centre was the cause of my anger.

The room was nice, we had adjoining rooms with our 3 friends in one and myself and my partner in another. Room service was great. Staff were friendly. All amenities were lovely and clean, bar staff were willing to give you extra shots in your cocktails for money on the side and same with some watersports that you had to pay for, the staff did it cheaper if you paid them cash in hand. Pool was great, really disappointed that you weren't allowed in a bit later as it was quite hot and it would've been a nice way to cool down and relax in the evening, especially if the bar was open.

The downside was the food is expensive!! Way more expensive than anything you'd pay for in Australia and disappointing to say the least. Also, when we went to leave my sister forgot her very expensive waterproof camera in the room. She went back to reception as it was before we had left to get to the airport and were just hanging around and asked them to look for it, literally 20 minutes after we'd vacated the rooms and it had been what we assume was taken by the cleaners. We were really annoyed by that.

All in all the hotel was nice, we won't be going back there due to how expensive it was but will try somewhere else in Fiji.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alisha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottJMacDonald, Manager at Sheraton Fiji Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear AlishaPD,

Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. I am happy to learn that you enjoyed the facilities, services and hospitality that we offered during your stay with us.

I do hope you will consider Sheraton Fiji Resort as your holiday destination on your future travels to Fiji.

Best regards,
Scott MacDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Just back from 1 week at the Sheraton resort Fiji. It was beautiful. We stayed in an Ocean front room top floor. Tripadvisors had said that upstairs had better views & were quieter so I spoke up & asked for a room upstairs when I was told we were given a ground floor room. This would have been OK however there is a better view & more privacy & security upstairs. This was no problem & a new room was assigned immediately. All the rooms have an OK water view however the ocean front rooms are the closest to the water. I probably would not spend the extra money for the ocean front room next time. We swam in the ocean every day. There is nothing wrong with the beaches at Denarau island except that the sand has dark minerals & looks grey. The water was great, not muddy at all. The ocean was a warmer temperature than the pools.
All the staff were very friendly. Housekeeping keep everything very clean & the amenities are look recently refurbished. The bed & pillows were great. The Sheraton has the best pools & soft foam covered lounge furniture. We swam in everyones pools & used all the other hotels amenities but found the Sheraton's the best. Prices though were very expensive in the restaurants. Some of the other hotels had better sunset entertainment. It is worthwhile keeping an eye out for entertainment that is available. We often stumbled onto these as we went on a pre dinner walk or saw them advertised.
We found that Port Denarau had cheaper dinner prices than the hotel. The Indian food at Indigo was excellent. The Bulla bus was fun & easy to use to get there. The Brown Bulla bus takes you to the Sheraton villas, the Westin & the Golf club for free.
A few negatives were that they don't have coin operated washing machines & dryers. Everyone washes their underwear & dries it on their balcony furniture. This is an eyesore but the laundry service was just too expensive to use. Other hotels provide laundry rooms in Fiji. Other Starwood properties that I have stayed at have them. Why not in Fiji? I was very disappointed and went out & bought rubber gloves & a press seal bag of detergent from the supermarket at the Westin villas. The Fiji water bottles were not replaced after the fist day nor was the longlife milk. All in all it was a terrific stay.

Room Tip: Northern rooms get a lot of sun in the morning. Get a west facing room to avoid early sun. Upstair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joemary7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottJMacDonald, Manager at Sheraton Fiji Resort, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear joemary7,

Thank you for choosing Sheraton Fiji Resort for your stay in Fiji. I really appreciate your comments, it is always a pleasure to receive feedback, both positive and your thoughts on where we can improve. I will indeed share them with our team. Vinaka!

Best regards,
Scott MacDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denarau Island
0.8 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,932 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
0.3 mi away
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.6 mi away
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Denarau Villas
Sheraton Denarau Villas
#3 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
#6 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Fiji Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Fiji Resort

Property: Sheraton Fiji Resort
Address: Po Box 9761, Denarau Island, Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Denarau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Denarau Island
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Denarau Island
#6 Luxury Hotel in Denarau Island
#7 Spa Hotel in Denarau Island
#7 Family Hotel in Denarau Island
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Denarau Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Fiji Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Fiji Resort is stunningly situated in the tropical oasis of Denarau Island. Designed with comfort in mind, the 297 spacious guest rooms and suites are beautifully furnished in harmony with the idyllic South Pacific setting. The resort is the ideal playground for vacationers and families to experience an array of dining venues and leisure activities. With its close proximity to Denarau Marina, it has an easy and quick access to the beautiful outer islands, shopping and a vast range of dining experiences. The resort is the ideal backdrop for an unforgettable destination wedding in Fiji or a corporate style event. Starwood Preferred Guest(R) Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. Book direct today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sheraton Fiji Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Fiji Hotel Denarau Island
Sheraton Denarau Island
Denarau Island Sheraton
Sheraton Fiji Resort Denarau Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing