We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rip off”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Fiji Resort
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Denarau Island
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Denarau island is full of expensive resorts but I stayed in 4 different hotels whilst in Fiji and believe the Sheraton is the most expensive for a lot less. They use the phrase "stay in one, play in all three" which is actually just an excuse for the Sheraton not actually having the amenities that make it a 5 star hotel and requiring guests to walk around its neighbouring resorts to find these things. They will also find new and exciting ways to continue to add to your bill... breakfast you didn't have, random $100 charges, duplicated room service. Yes the items were removed once challenged but do you really want to have to be on your guard for the duration of your holiday?
In addition to this it became evident that they over sell their rooms so don't expect to get the room you paid for when you turn up.... and that doesn't mean you'll get an upgrade! There is an element of deception associated with this - they let you think you have the room that you paid for and only confirm that you have been put in a inferior room if you go back to reception and ask. As the room that you paid for is sold out you just have to put up with it (sorry no refunds, even partial ones for the difference in room price which was over $100).
The genuine friendliness of the Fijian people will always make a hotel perform better than it should be you can get that at another resort that hopefully doesn't try and rip you off so badly.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SJVC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,239)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,708 - 1,714 of 2,239 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2012

We travelled as a couple to spend 7 days at this resort. Check in was great. We had an upstairs ocean front room - very spacious, good size bathroom with twin vanities. The fridge inside was very narrow - not a mini bar, so you could only keep minimal drinks in there. We took some crackers, nuts etc to have in our room and enjoy a drink on the balcony. Only thing was that there were 2 coffee mugs provided and no cup and saucer so the cheese I bought locally I had to cut up on serviettes. We had thought to take a bottle opener which had a small flip out knife on the other end so we could slice the cheese up. This may sound stingy but the drinks at the resort are very expensive. My first glass of wine by the pool was $20 FJD + 20% tax! My husband drank the local beer which you could buy in the resort shop for $3.95FJD. A bottle of wine in the restaurants was really expensive. We were disappointed with the size of the pools especially when the place was like a pre-school and the adults only pool was very small. In fact the toddler thing became a bit of an issue - lack of parenting or rather why people take babies and toddlers with them on holidays we'll never know.One morning at breakfast we were sat opposite a table with a family including a little girl who wasn't wearing any underwear - come on, really! Aside from that the meals at all the restaurants were very nice - apart from the price. We had a few pizzas across the road at the Denarau Golf and Racket Club. These were yum and you could sit and watch the golfers play the last hole. We did have a problem with the safe in our room and it took 4 visits by 4 different people over a 3hr period to get it open, by which time we were unable to get to the Marina and onto a boat. The Marina is a nice place to shop and eat also. We used the bula bus - pay for 3 days ($21FJD each) and get the fourth day free. Our taxi from the airport to the hotel cost us $25FJD but the one we travelled in from the hotel back to the airport cost us $35FJD - ripped off there. The one boat trip we did book ended in the harbour when our boat and another collided, after some really scary moments we were back onshore and offered a refund. We did a tour with Inland Tours which took us to a Fijian village - very interesting followed by 2 & half hours in Lautoka for shopping which we weren't interested in doing, so we found the Waterfront bar and hotel and had a nice lunch and stayed until it was time to be picked up, then we were taken to the Garden of The Sleeping Giant, which was very pretty. Unfortunately we only had 2 whole sunny days & rain the rest of the time, which put a dampener on things. If we went back to Fiji we would look for a child free resort. We have two adult children and can't wait for grandchildren but I can definitely do without them on an overseas holiday!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1666 - quiet except for the one time the groundstaff decided to rake the sand area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GTILover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

After a 5 hr flight the welcome of the Fijian people was delightful. We were welcomed once we arrived at the resort and that didn't stop the whole stay. It is a safe, caring environment and would stay there again.Taxis are there non stop, Bula bus there frequently and the rooms are good- due to age of Resort. The service is fantastic and the food is great. We didn't find it to expensive compared to Australia. We will return there . :)

Room Tip: ocean view rooms are great and have on ground level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 0susan11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for the last night on our honeymoon before we flew out of Fiji. We really enjoyed our short stay. The buffet was good and were accidentally over served on wine when we did the tasting that included 3 wines. The management apologized profusely but there were no complaints from us! The pool with swim up bar was decent but very crowded. The grounds were very nice to walk around on and watch the sunset but we did not go to the beach there. Our room was great with a very comfortable bed. I don't think I would have liked to stay at the resort for my entire honeymoon as it is very large and there were children everywhere. Overall I would recommend this resort to someone travelling with family or a short stopover.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank huskerabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here 10 nights and enjoyed everything but the cost of food and drinks. But thats Fiji, not just the Sheraton or Denarau (Island).
We enjoyed walking next door to the Westin for dinner and to the golf club for lunch.
Got very tired of the buffet dinners very quickly and Flying Fish VERY expensive for what it is. They need a more adult grill style option here in the hotel. Breakfast buffet is good. We found the Waters Edge pool bar/cafe at lunchtime to be terrible. Tried it twice, no more. Lots of restaurant options available down at the Port. It's a 20min safe, easy walk or catch a taxi/shuttle.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Red263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We arrived for 4 nights and it took them 1/2 hour to check us in, we had booked Ocean Breeze room and upon arrival found out that we had been upgraded to Ocean Front, however it had twin beds as we had originally booked for King. We had to go back to Ocean Breeze since they did not have King Bed in Ocean Front.
Fiji bottled drinking water was not restored after day one and this continued for the duration of the stay, we are wondering if this was just a complimentary !!
Also no mini bar in room..........
Apart from the above, room was nice and the staff were great, I am formerly of Fiji and it was great to catch up with few old staff who have been at the resort for over 20 years.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Radha66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I didn't have high expectations as so many reviews explained the dated amenities and poor service, but my experience was far from that!

Everyone I encountered was extremely helpful, our room was in the perfect location and had a lovely view, I had nothing to fault when it came to the room. We were offered a discounted meal at the seafood buffet that evening and had a great time listening to the live band adjacent to the restaurant.

We stayed at the Westin during the same trip, and have to say we experienced much better service and found the little touches at Sheraton made them a cut above the Westin (for example - flowers in the room, discounted meal voucher, cold fruit juice when checking in, escorted to our room (had to flag someone down to help us with bags at the Westin and had no idea where to go!)

Seafood buffet was lovely, as was breakfast. If I was to choose between the 2, I'd definitely go with Sheraton.

Room Tip: We went with an ocean view room and it was perfect, right next to the restaurant and right on the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandy-WorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denarau Island
0.9 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,332 reviews
11.4 mi away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
0.3 mi away
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Denarau Villas
Sheraton Denarau Villas
#4 of 8 in Denarau Island
761 reviews
25.6 mi away
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Fiji Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Fiji Resort

Address: Denarau Island, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Denarau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Denarau Island
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Denarau Island
#7 Family Hotel in Denarau Island
#7 Luxury Hotel in Denarau Island
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Denarau Island
#7 Spa Hotel in Denarau Island
Price Range: $170 - $418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Fiji Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Fiji Resort is stunningly situated in the tropical oasis of Denarau Island. Designed with comfort in mind, the 297 spacious guest rooms and suites are beautifully furnished in harmony with the idyllic South Pacific setting. The resort is the ideal playground for vacationers and families to experience an array of dining venues and leisure activities. With its close proximity to Denarau Marina, it has an easy and quick access to the beautiful outer islands, shopping and a vast range of dining experiences. The resort is the ideal backdrop for an unforgettable destination wedding in Fiji or a corporate style event. Starwood Preferred Guest(R) Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. As part of Fiji’s only 5 star integrated resort complex, guests have access to facilities at the adjacent Sheraton Denarau Villas and The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa giving guests a choice of 12 restaurant and bars & 6 swimming pools to experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Fiji Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Fiji Hotel Denarau Island
Sheraton Denarau Island
Denarau Island Sheraton
Sheraton Fiji Resort Denarau Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing