We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect getaway with 3 young kids”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Denarau Villas
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Denarau Island
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The perfect getaway with 3 young kids”
Reviewed December 27, 2010

We have stayed in Fiji on the coral coast many times with a young family but always dreaded the commute for 1.5 hours after arriving at Nadi 6am from Melbourne with babies. So we chose the Sheraton. The villas are so spacious and allow separation for 5 of us so parents enjoy time together with kids able to sleep in an ajoining villa. The kids club was just heaven for little ones and excellent babysitting for the babies. Overall the buffet was great for breakfast but the great thing was the free bula bus to the marina about 10 mins away to buy things for lunch at a well stocked not expensive supermarket. The villas have a complete kitchen facility great for preparing baby food and kids snacks. The hidden benefit of the marina though is the huge number of super cheap and kid friendly restaurants. It literally saved us hundreds of dollars in hotel costs and enabled different food every night with a fun ride to and from on the bula bus. The restaurants at the Sheraton a lovely but expensive we limited eating there to a handful of times. We cannot wait to get back there!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Travistys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    232
    77
    17
    17
See reviews for
504
65
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2010

Omg if you are travelling to Fiji it is amazing.
I stayed at the Villas and had a pool access room and it was great, me and my partner stayed there for 10 nights 11 days and it wasnt enough(we wanted to stay more).
It was lucky because we had sun beds near the pool and the room so it wasnt far to move. The staff was great the played drums when you arrived which was very different, and they take you to the check in place they were very friendly and always ready to help you. Most of the staff were fijian but some were indian and they just stared and were sometimes rude but dont let them stop you. The fijian staff also remember my name which is very nice, we stayed in a 1 bedroom pool access Villa and it was outstanding it was very spacious and had everything we needed. The weather in Dec was good we stayed 5th-15th and had little rain and heaps of sunshine. It would only rain for 1-2 hours in the day then it will be clear blue skies, then sometimes rain at night but only sometimes.
TIPS
- I recommend staying on the main Island because there is more to offer then just staying on a Island, which you will need to get transfer out to other islands and they are expensive.
- Try give some tips to the staff as they work for very little but are still very happy no matter what.
- Eating in the resort is very expensive on our first night we had a 50% off voucher only vaild for 1 night which was at the feast. ( Great food its a nice buffet style ). The food was really good but because it was based outside and if your eating at night REMEMBER always put on areogaurd. (areoguard, stop itch and sunscreen will be your bestfriend there)
- The Bula bus will only take you to the sheraton and westin resort if you want to go down to the PORT use the blue bus its $6pp fijian and thats for the whole day but that will take you to all the resort on Denarau.
- If you take a taxi always ask how much it is even thou you have been there heaps of times. Down to the Port should only be $5 fijian and to the airport around $20-30 fijian
- Do the PJ tour its great we went to plantation island and it was beautiful crystal clear waters and great views, also we did snokelling on the trip and it was great. Buy or bring your own mouth piece and mask as you may get a srcatched mask or you might not like using other people's mouthpiece (they do wash it thou). This cruise I recommend the crew and food was great on the island was a nice buffet and light snacks on the boast and Entertaiment was also included.
- The Helmet dive on beachcomber Island was heaps good could be longer but very good if you dont or cant scuba dive.
- If you dont like frogs beware as they come out when its raining and there are heaps of them at the hotel
- If your going into town be careful people ask were you come from and try and tell you were to go and shop. Just say its your last day and they wont bother you
- Dont buy stuff in the resort go into down if you want and buy it there, all the money goes to there village it isnt expensive at all.
- Make sure if you buy wooden items always ask for a stamp or a sticker that will clear it at customes
- Bring areoguard that it a MUST
- Go eat down at the port I was there almost everyday you get your moneys worth and bring areoguard lol

Over all i recommend Fiji for couples young and old couples, its great and relaxing if your bringing children its ok there are nannys that are really cheap that you can hire all day and they will help you out, but its nice just to spend time with your partner and not worry about anything else.
Feel free to email me if you need advice or want to know anything else will upload photos soon

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank babybOox0x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2010

This is the second time we have been to the Sheraton Denarau Villas this year.

We have a 5yr and 1yr old and find the 1br Lagoon View Villas (overlooking the swimming pool) fantastic - the kitchenette allows bottles and baby food to be prepared, the bathrooms have washing machine/dryers (great for travelling for kids) and the Villas are right in the middle of the Sheraton/Westin resort complex.

The standout at this resort is the Lai Lai Club (Kid's Club) - our 5 year old did not want to leave and even met her first boyfriend on this holiday! Mere, Ane, Sai, Aka, Nati and all the carers are simply superb.

The restaurants at the complex are great - the standout being the Fijian cousin to Sydney's Flying Fish. Kids under 12 eat free at the Sheraton and for others the Starwood Privilege card is a must (www.starwoodhotels.com/privilege) - provides 50% off all meals & 15% off drinks - means you can do breakfast for a family for about AUD25 and dinner for about AUD50 - great value

For a relaxed family holiday we simply cannot go past - see you again next March!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shelcee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2010

We have just returned from the Villas after 8 nights. We had the best time!!! We had read a number of reviews and were concerned as some had said how rude the staff were etc. To us they were great! We couldn't have had better service. The kids loved kids club and couldn't get enough of it. The housekeeper's were great and our room was spotless every day on our return. The pools were all clean and we always managed to find a chair by the pool. We had booked a room and were told it would be garden view but ended up with a pool view, which was great. We thought overlooking the pool might be noisy but because you can't swim late at night (there are security wandering around to monitor this) there was no noise. We as a couple actually got to have fun together. The day spa was brilliant. The cocktails were excellent and the food was yummy! Will definitely recommend this to our friends. Looking forward to hearing "Bula Vinaka" again soon!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank non76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2010

We just got back from a week at the sheraton villas denarau. What a week. We had a double villa and 2 single rooms, and all the facilities were great. The double villa was one of those two rooms ajoining via a shared front door which was fantastic, the larger of the rooms with the kitchenette was perfect. Dinner table for four, largish tv, and another in the enormous bedroom, with a great sized bathroom, and washing machine. The kitchen is pretty well kitted for a hotel, and the wonderful staff even did our dishes.
The rooms were spotless by lunch each and every day, and the towels were a plenty.
We visited all the surrounding resorts, and thought that sheraton villas was most definately the best value and the facilities are pretty good.
The staff, although functioning on fiji time (takes some getting used to),
The trip was for my fathers 60th, and the entire family came including my 3 year old neice and 1.5 year old nephew. The staff were always keen to help the kids out with a helping hand, a smile and always willing to play with the kids. They were great.
The breakfasts were quite good, continental. We never ate lunch at the resorts, the breakfasts would generally fill you up to not require it, or it was provided on tours. However the supermarket at the wharf is quite good, and much much cheaper than the resort stores. The prices at the resorts is astronomical, so keep that in mind, and its only a few minutes down the road on the bula bus to the wharf. (6fjd per day)
The restaurants at the wharf are really good.

The highlight for us was definately the Moo Moo restuarant at the Westin, I have been to restaurants all over the world and this for service was phenominal. The kids were getting restless, and the wait staff all took turns dancing singing, and playing with them. My young nephew even got two visits into the glass wine cellar, much to his amusement, as well as ours. The food was fantastic, and they do honour the starwood discounts, which makes a massive difference when you're paying for 10+ people to dine at a 5* restaurant.
It is a shame for the westin that the restaurant directly next door was an attempt at a fusion restaurant. and it failed miserably. We all ordered different dishes, and none of us were happy. The scallops were served half cooked and cold. When this was raised, the wait staff apologised and took it back to the chef. A new serving was sent to the table, this time it was cooked, but still cold. Meals were served at different times, and the starters often at the same time as the main. The staff were not attentive at all, and everything we asked for was a hassle. An extreme disappointment having followed on from the previous nights experience at Moo Moo's.
The buffet the first night was quite nice, at the same feast restaurant (where breakfast is served) however the price is acceptable considering the 50% off voucher we were given at check in. Normal price is just prepopsterous.
Ports o call do not allow children, it is considered fine dining, however just seems to come across rather toffee nosed, which doesnt fit in with the relaxed surrounds.
Flying fish restaurant has a lovely feel, the staff did try but the food was a bit of a let down, and we seemed to have to ask for everything numerous times. The novelty of the beach sand floor doesnt wear off at all, the ambience is really great.
Chiime bar is worth checking out, cocktails are ok priced 10-16 fjd but a great atmosphere with the large lay down style couches, and table staff.
Keep in mind, considering the staff wages, the resort charges a fortune for EVERYTHING! this is the same through the entire denarau area. However, if you want to save a few pennies, then just trek to the wharf, its a lot cheaper at the shop there, as are meals.
If you manage to make it into Nadi, then its even cheaper again,
Dont by your trinkets and novelties at the resort. We did a trip out to a village near the first landing, and the identical items were 3x the price at the sheraton villas. obviously the locals have to pay rent to sell their wares at the resort.
The fijian staff are all very pleasant, and always happy to sing and chat, and you will never tire of everyone saying hello in fijian.
We had a few troubles with keys and our safe mysteriously locking itself, which were not great issues considering the thoughfulness of staff.
Dont forget fiji works on its own timeframe, so expect to wait for service at times, nothing is rushed.
We are already talking about heading back next year. :)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrmurdock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
port macquarie
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2010

We have just returned from a week at the sheraton villas and cannot speak highly enough of the property.
After reading a few reviews we were a little worried about the service, the water and the location but there was nothing to worry about.
The sheraton was immaculate, this was due to the large number of staff employed. The staff were very friendly and helpful to both my husband and I and particularly to our children.The service was amazing, prompt and always with a smile .Not one staff member would walk by without a cheery bula whether maid, security, concierge or reception. We saw no evidence of fiji time at all which we were prepared for.
The property was child friendly with ramps to cater for the pram, kids club and activities poolside.The staff involved our children in many of their activities and went well beyond what was expected. The nannies were very caring and involved with the children.
It was our pick after checking out the other hotels in the area for young children

The only downside to the Sheraton is the cost of the food. Even with the kids eat free deal the cost of a meal was ridiculus. It was cheaper to catch a taxi to the marina and pay for the whole family to eat or order takeaway.
Tip: If you are after day spa: look outside the resort. The resort is 3 times more expensive than other day spas

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lunds5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2010

We are just back from seven nights at the Sheraton Denarau Villas. We are a family of two adults and two kids, just turned five. We booked a 2 bedroom lagoon villa and they are a good set up with a 1-bedroom villa and a motel room joined together to form the 2-bedroom villa. The bed configuration was 1 king and 2 doubles. The beds were very hard and so not very comfortable. The room was clean and serviced daily, but the bathrooms especially were showing their age. In the kitchen there is a full sized fridge, dishwasher and 2 hot plates, but no oven. There is also a washer-dryer combo in the bathroom. We had a problem with the dryer not working properly. We asked at reception for someone to look at it and they eventually did, but it still didn’t work well. The Sheraton supply powder for the dishwasher and washing machine. The aircon units are very noisy if left on at night, but there are overhead fans. We also figured out to turn the unit on in the lounge room along with the fans and it was enough to keep the bedroom relatively cool.
Check in was quick, but the reception staff failed to mention that we were not issued with a lagoon villa for the first night. Instead it was a garden villa. However, as we checked in after dark we had no idea. We spent quite a bit of time unpacking everything that night only to have a message left on our room phone the next day to say that we needed to move to the correct room. I spent over 30 minutes on the phone trying to find out what was going on, but eventually gave up and went around to reception. We were shown another room and decided to move as we had already paid for this room type and the view over the pool was much better than the gardens. We were given a voucher for dinner at Feast restaurant at the Sheraton to compensate us for the hassle.
The pools were very warm and we didn’t have any trouble finding lounges to sit on. Pool towels were sometimes not available until they had got more from the laundry, so we tended to hang on to ours for a couple of days and then swap them over.
We had breakfast at Feast restaurant included in our rate. It was average at best, but was better if you had your eggs freshly cooked. There was no Vegemite on offer, just Marmite, so luckily we brought our own. Our free dinner at Feast was quite good, but I don’t think it would be worth the price if you had to pay for it. We also had the 2-course dinner at Flying Fish at the Sheraton which came with 2 glasses of wine for $75FJ per person. It was a very nice meal, although the servings weren’t large. Kids eat free here and there were some good options on the menu for them. We also ate at the Wet Edge at the Villas, which was a nice meal, but expensive.
For lunches we ate at the Pantry in the Sheraton lobby, which had nice fresh bread rolls, but was pricey. Cafe Piazza, just on the road between the Villas and the Sheraton, had sandwiches and wraps. Their prices were much more reasonable, but the quality was not as good. We also bought bread, ham and cheese from the Yees supermarket next to Cafe Piazza and made our own lunches in the room. We caught the Bula bus or a taxi to the Port on a few occasions and ate lunch at Cardo’s and dinner at Mama’s Pizza. The meals were okay, but nothing special.
Our kids used the kids club at the Sheraton on 3 occasions. They enjoyed it, but I think mainly because they had befriended another child who was there at the same time. Take note that they do not give the kids anything to eat or drink, so make sure they at least take a drink bottle with water in it. We sent our kids with their hats, but saw them later on feeding the fish without hats, so don’t expect the staff to remind the younger kids to put them on.
We also used the gym at the Westin. It is quite small with 4 treadmills, 3 bikes and 2 steppers. There are also some free weights and fit balls. The room is airconditioned and there is a water stand, but don’t be fooled into thinking it is bottled water, as the spare bottles are open and so I assume just filled up with tap water. There is also no complimentary bottled water supplied in the room. We bought ours on arrival at Nadi airport and again at Yees supermarket. The prices were not that different.
Overall, we had a great time at the Villas, with a few minor hiccups during our stay. I would definitely recommend it for families.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Familyfun0509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denarau Island
0.8 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,067 reviews
39.4 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#4 of 23 in Coral Coast
2,538 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Fiji Resort
Sheraton Fiji Resort
#7 of 8 in Denarau Island
2,055 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
#6 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Denarau Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Denarau Villas

Property: Sheraton Denarau Villas
Address: Denarau Island West | P.O. Box 9761, Denarau Island, Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Denarau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Denarau Island
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Denarau Island
#3 Family Hotel in Denarau Island
#3 Spa Hotel in Denarau Island
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Denarau Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Denarau Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal hotel for a family holiday in Fiji, the Sheraton Denarau Villas feature 82 luxuriously designed two- and three-bedroom-villas. All villas feature a comfortable lounge a fully equipped kitchen, dining area, flat screen, TV, DVD player and sound system, ensuit bathroom and laundry. Located directly adjacent to the Sheraton Fiji Resort and The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa, Fiji, guests can enjoy all facilities of the resort complex including access to the 14 dining venues, 6 swimming pools, kids club and business centre. Starwood Preferred Guest(R) members receive complimentary in room internet and dining discounts when booking direct. Book direct today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Denarau Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Denarau Villas Hotel Denarau Island
Sheraton Denarau Hotel
Sheraton Denarau Resort
Sheraton Denarau Island
Denarau Island Sheraton
Sheraton Denarau Villas Fiji/Denarau Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing