We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic - Everything there”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Denarau Villas
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Denarau Island
Certificate of Excellence
New Zealand
Level Contributor
97 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Fantastic - Everything there”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2009

Great location - we had a one bedroom self contained villa - way more than we needed but very nice all the same.
The resort is one of three all of which blend into one. Great food
& service. Only issue we had was using Rossie Tours - hopeless

  • Liked — Size of villa
  • Disliked — deck out look
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lovestoholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    230
    75
    17
    17
See reviews for
488
65
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2009

We stayed between the 10th and 14th of January 2009 in a two bedroom Villa.
Firstly let me say that during our stay Fiji was experiencing its worst weather in at least the last 10 years. We were constantly reminded of this by the hotel and the fact that they were short staffed and doing the best they could. That said there was no reduction in the cost of any beverage, food or room rate and it seemed to be an easy excuse to cover themselves.
The villas are comfortable and quite large with a kitchen (which is a real plus considering the price of the food) washing machine and dryer. As previous have mentioned the Hotel information is accessed via the TV. We had three TVs and none would access the information menu.
The Villas are managed by the Sheraton Hotel next door so check in is through them. After spending almost 10 hours getting across from Plantation Island and nothing to eat since breakfast, we arrived at the Hotel at 6pm anticipating a quick shower and a decent meal. Check in took 90 minutes (we were second in the line) only to be given the wrong rooms (should have been one two bedroom not two one bedrooms), back to reception another 30 minutes, " sorry we have none of this type left we can move you in the morning" Not impressed booked this room August 08 so should be no excuse. We took the rooms and agreed to change the next day (had no choice). Took another hour to change room the next day.
Decided to have room service as we were tired. Told it would be 1 ½ hours. Two hours later rang back. “He is just coming back to pick up your order now, should be 10-15 minutes” Half an hour later rang again only to be told it would be another 15 minutes, so just canceled our order. Next night tried again, this time as only 1 ½ hours. Food was terrible. A Beef Burger, a Toasted Cheese sandwich, Childs Spaghetti Bolognaise and a Chicken Curry cost FJ$106.00. Ended up eating a lot at Port Denaru which is a FJ$5 cab ride each way or free if you catch the Bula Bus. Great Pizza place and a Hard Rock Cafe plus Italian, Indian etc
Every time we went to reception or concierge we waited at least ½ hour even if we were the only one there.
On a more positive note, during our stay it was our Daughters Birthday. My wife asked one of the Housekeeping staff (Armani) where she could purchase birthday candles explaining it was our daughters birthday the next day. He said to leave it with him and he would get some. He came back a few minutes later with a full packet. He also asked her name and wished her happy birthday for the next day. The following morning there was a knock at the door and here was Armani and three other housekeeping staff with a wedge of cake on a decorated plate singing happy birthday and a long life. It really made our daughters birthday.
Overall for a Sheraton Hotel our experience was below expectations.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Long wait to get anything done
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Warrens_of_Conder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
townsville
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2009

we have just returned from Fiji - we were very fortunate to be of denarau and on Castaway Island for the worst of the flooding (see review of castaway - it is magical)

I really couldn't fault the sheraton villas - the rooms were great - everything worked - except the old style compendium of resort facilities/menus etc are on the interactive tv and this was pretty useless and confusing but didn't really effect us much.

the resort is very westernised but we had 3 great days of sun and cocktails - with our two young children making friends in the pool - the kids club wasn't that well staffed the day we went in - one carer to 20 kids down the beach looking for shells - but I am told this is not usual!! we took them out and had fun together at the pool

the best bit about the sheraton for us (kids back in rooms with friends) was the fabulous cocktails in the main pool area - the restaurant precinct and the interiors of the main sheraton resort is just stunning and you cant beat lying on a lounger looking up at swaying palm tree and the moon sipping a maitai and listening to band.

Go - but only spend a few nights then sea plane/ helicopter to an island = CASTAWAY is perfect

  • Liked — location, activities, pools and bars
  • Disliked — too westernised
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank mjkTownsville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Sheraton for my sister’s wedding. We had friends and family staying at every resort on Denarau so we got to see inside all the hotels on Denarau. All the hotels on Denarau are lovely, but we were happy we’d chosen the Sheraton resort. The swimming pools and resort rooms are lovely. The newly-refurbished ‘resort’ rooms are much nicer than the ‘villas’.

One of the best things about Fiji is the people. The staff at the Sheraton are all lovely and friendly. A very special THANK YOU must go to the maintenance engineers and gardeners at the Sheraton who obliged a panicky wedding party by fixing broken shoes and earrings at a moments notice, and cutting down frangipanis for the bridesmaids’ hair.

Unfortunately most of the food on Denarau is (generally) overpriced and a bit hit-and-miss. I recommend:

-Book a room rate that includes the (excellent) breakfast buffet.
-Ports O Call restaurant. It is fine dining so it’s expensive but much better value than the other Sheraton restaurants (and delicious!).
-The delicious (and relatively inexpensive) pizza place at the Marina for lunch or dinner. Catch the free bulla bus!
-Take a bus (or cab) into Nadi to stock up on basic snacks/supplies/souvenirs. (Cheaper than the stores on Denarau).
-The restaurant at the Worldmark (Wynnum), just a walk up the beach (the last hotel past the Radisson). The food and service is wonderful and good value.
-If you love drinking cocktails from a swim-up bar, the Worldmark also has the cheapest Happy Hour at their pool. (A bunch of schoolies told me, so it must be true!).
-Get your massages on the beach out the front of the Worldmark (Cheaper than the resort spas).
-Don’t bother with the Wet Edge restaurant at the Sheraton - The food is not good!
-There’s a good sandwich shop at the Radisson for lunch (just a short walk along the beach).
-And have a swim in the Raddisson pool - it has shade sails and a waterslide!

My sisters wedding in the Sheraton’s little chapel was beautiful. Although, if you’re planning a wedding, I must say, I’m not sure exactly what the “wedding planner” did, but I don’t think it was much!
Make sure you check your bill thoroughly when you check out. I did not have any problems myself, but my sister almost paid for her wedding twice over!

If you’ve never been to Fiji before, I would actually recommend staying out on an island rather than Denarau (Denarua “island” is really still the mainland if you ask me). We had an lovely stay Navini Island before we got to Denarau, although it is a very different type of holiday, so maybe unfair to compare the two. We did enjoy Denarau for what it was – the resort was luxurious, the staff were lovely, and we had a wonderful week with friends and family. But we probably would not go back there. By contrast, we are already dreaming of another trip to Navini Island.

  • Liked — All the pools, the staff, the refurbished resort rooms, the breakfast
  • Disliked — Everything on the island is overpriced. Not really a genuine Fiji experience.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank sonimikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2008

Stayed at the Sheraton Villas for the first time over the xmas period.
Checked in at the Sheraton reception. Was not recognised as a Starwood Gold member and was told i couldn't get a late checkout.
No paper in the morning or welcome drink. Everyone at reception seemed busy and stressed out.

The rooms really need a major upgrade. I know the Sheraton next door has rooms that have been upgraded and they look good but don't stay at the Villas as your paying alot of money to stay at a 4 star hotel. The swim up bar ran out of beers half way through the day and we ended up packing up and going next door to use the Sheratons pool. Not worth the hassle.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
Helpful?
1 Thank JasonFSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2008

Staying at the Sheraton Villas was a pretty average experience for the price. Although many of the staff were happy to be of assistance, call me Mrs, which we found quite amusing there were a couple of short comings.
On arrival we were able to check in early which we were grateful for, however we found a room with a large puddle of water on the bathroom floor. Overlooking this we also found the television didn’t switch on. Once these issues were rectified by maintenance things were fine, until dinner. We were looking forward to a Fijian inspired menu over at the shared facilities at the Westin, instead we were met by a less than Pacific and perhaps more western menu. This would have been fine if the food was done well, unfortunately we found out why the restaurant only had two other couples present.
Over the next couple of days the trip improved. We met a lovely couple of lady bar tenders (one called Neiley) at the pool who we hope our tips went directly to, we also looked forward to the walk back to our room as there is a huge frog population that, if you’re quick enough, you can catch in your hand!
However, on our final night, our air conditioning decided to stop functioning.
A great holiday, just a little bit disappointing really.

  • Liked — The well maintained pools.
  • Disliked — Poor room presentation, and restaurant menu.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank kpric1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2008

Our family 2 x adults 1 x 2 y.o. & 1 x 6 y.o. have just returned from a stay at the Sheraton Denarau Villas.
We stayed in 1 x bedroom suite which had everything we need but the interior was starting to look a bit tired. The hotel is one of three inter-joined Sheraton’s. The other two have both in the last 18 months had a total refurbishment so maybe the Villa’s are next. Though for those who wish to cook a few of your own meals the Villa's are perfect.
We all loved the 2 x pools but other than that there is not much more to the property. The reception, shops, gym, restaurants are all managed by the Westin next door. There is a shuttle every 5 to 10 mints that takes you between properties.
The Westin buffet breakfast is the best we have had in Fiji. Overall a great stay for a few nights in between returning from Castaway Island and flying back to Sydney. If you did not need a separate bedroom (like we did for the kids) we would probably have been better off at The Westin.

  • Liked — Big rooms, kitchen, 2 x plasma's 10 sec from pool
  • Disliked — Starting to look a bit tired.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank FamilyGuy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denarau Island
0.8 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,974 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
0.2 mi away
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Fiji Resort
Sheraton Fiji Resort
#7 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,002 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
#6 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,354 reviews
25.7 mi away
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Denarau Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Denarau Villas

Property: Sheraton Denarau Villas
Address: Denarau Island West | P.O. Box 9761, Denarau Island, Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Denarau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Denarau Island
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Denarau Island
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Denarau Island
#3 Family Hotel in Denarau Island
#3 Spa Hotel in Denarau Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Denarau Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal hotel for a family holiday in Fiji, the Sheraton Denarau Villas feature 82 luxuriously designed two- and three-bedroom-villas. All villas feature a comfortable lounge a fully equipped kitchen, dining area, flat screen, TV, DVD player and sound system, ensuit bathroom and laundry. Located directly adjacent to the Sheraton Fiji Resort and The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa, Fiji, guests can enjoy all facilities of the resort complex including access to the 14 dining venues, 6 swimming pools, kids club and business centre. Starwood Preferred Guest(R) members receive complimentary in room internet and dining discounts when booking direct. Book direct today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Denarau Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Denarau Villas Hotel Denarau Island
Sheraton Denarau Hotel
Sheraton Denarau Resort
Sheraton Denarau Island
Denarau Island Sheraton
Sheraton Denarau Villas Fiji/Denarau Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing