We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sheraton Denarau Villas
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Denarau Island
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Spot!”
Reviewed September 24, 2008

We booked a 3 bedroom villa. It was perfect, 3 large bedrooms all with ensuites, large sitting room and fully equipped kitchen, overlooking one of the three pools. Very friendly staff who adore babies and happily look after them! Breakfasts were brilliant and our stay was perfect. The Sheraton was being upgraded so we ate at the Westin next door and the food was the best in the area. We tried some of the local eateries but the Westin's quality was better, and prices similar. One of the best resorts if you have children, - but if you don't want little people running around, try a different resort!

  • Liked — Spacious, comfortable, clean
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank dinkydye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    232
    77
    18
    18
See reviews for
512
65
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2008

My husband and 2 year old son spent 10 days at the Sheraton Villas in August. Firstly the Fiji weather was fantastic so it would be hard not to enjoy yourself anyway! Our room was HUGE and very clean. The staff made sure that it stayed that way for the entire time we were there. Yes as per some of the reviews the restaurants and drink prices are a bit expensive but surely when u book at a 5 star resort you would expect this. Food was good and the breakfast buffet was so much variety that you could have something different for a month (tip - plenty of us mums were grabbing a bit extra ham, bread, fruit etc so your kids dont actually have to pay for lunch!) The Japanese restaurant was excellent and quite good vallue. Pools were fantastic - the ocean pool at the villas was were the kids really were and you had a choice of 2 others to go to that were much quieter. As for the staff they were lovely....we got to know them quite well and they are friendly and caring....remember though that in Fiji NOBODY moves too fast and they refuse to stress out - we found this to be catching and didnt mind waiting a little longer for some things. Babysitting - what can I say - we had two regular sitters who were assigned to us due to their own children being a similar age to ours therefore they were experienced. AUD $ 4 per hour! One afternoon we spent a few hours by the pool and upon returning to our villa my boy was asleep so she had done all my washing - AND ironing! Cant beat that. Many reviewers commented on the beach and they are right - it's not great and we did not swim there. My advice for people travelling to Fiji with kids is to have a few days at the villas and spend some quality time at Castaway or Mana Island - we went to these and they were stunning! As for Fiji itself - yes we'll go again!

  • Liked — Modern and large
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Multi-taska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2008

We stayed at the Sheraton Denarau Villas for a belated honeymoon...

Whilst it’s a nice resort, it’s not spectacular. The rooms are clean; however we only had a double bed which was a bit cramped. Also its decorated in the older 'resort-style' with patterned bed spreads which is a pet hate of mine.

There isn’t much of a beach; it’s mainly mud and silt. The whole ‘island’ of Denarau is like this. Not exactly the Fiji we had in mind.

On the plus side, the pool is excellent, the facilities are great (regular shuttle bus, water sports, golf, great food) and the staff are friendly and accommodating.

We ended up having a fun stay, although for a honeymoon it wasn't really what we were looking for.

If you do decide to stay on Denarau for budget or convenience reasons (i.e. stopover) the Sofitel looked nice..

  • Liked — Pool, water sports, food.
  • Disliked — Basic, non-luxurious rooms.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Birdie07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Western Australia
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2008

My husband and I had come from the wonderful Tokoriki Island Resort to the Sheraton Villas and found the Sheraton Villas to be quite disappointing. The room is a good size but the cleanliness was questionable, the back of the bathroom door was dirty. The pool often had noisy children playing in it which was offputting - I will be more careful with my research in future. The Westin restaurants were overpriced. We went into the marina for a nice italian meal and also into Nadi for a great curry at the Saffron restaurant. The free shuttles were excellent and helped us get around.

  • Liked — Room size
  • Disliked — Noisy pool
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Idaellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2008

We stayed at the Villas for 2 nights before heading off to Mana Island (the real Fiji). The villas were lovely, clean and everything you wold expect from a Sheraton hotel.
Check in was at the Westin, and after travelling all day, our room wasn't ready until 5:45pm, which was a little frustrating.
The whole area is beautiful, but you do feel like all you do is walk, as nearly everything you need is at the Westin. We ate at the Pasta Restaurant the first night. The food was very over priced and plain. The buffet breakfasts were great though.
On our second night we caught the free "Bula Bus" to the marina and enjoyed a great, well priced dinner and drinks at the pizza restaurant Cardo's. Warning the Large Pizzas are MASSIVE. Yum. Drinks were reasonably priced, and a live bamd was nice.
The pools were a little cold but nice.
We are definitely glad we spent the majority of our holiday on the Mamanuca Islands. Once you see the white sands, and crystal blue waters, you will never stay on Denarau again.
Overall, a lovely "hotel" but Fiji is so much more.

  • Liked — Gardens
  • Disliked — Reastaurants
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OzLisaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2008

Stayed here for one night with 3 girlfriends the night before my wedding (in the Yasawas), so that we could get some pampering before the big day. We booked a 2 brm villa for the 4 of us, and were upgraded to an ocean view on arrival. The villa was bigger than expected... I know some people who live in places smaller than our villa! There was a room downstairs with a big bed and ensuite, and another upstairs with its own ensuite. Also a fully equipped kitchen (which we didn't use), lounge, dining, even washer and dryer!
We had a great view of the pools as well as the beach in the distance. The villa was nicely decorated, and very clean.
Breakfast is at the Westin (the Sheraton and Westin seem to be the same thing..), a large buffet breakfast which was nicer than what my husband and I had on our last night at the Sofitel. Re value for money, we paid only slightly less for an 'oceanview king room' at the Sofitel than the Sheraton villas, and got far better value at the Sheraton!! Sofitel room was more a garden view, and small and musty). Sheraton also seemed to have a good range of shops etc (also at the Westin), and large pools.
I would recommend this for families with kids, and couples travelling together.
However, I think its a bit sad that this is the only 'Fiji experience' some travellers have... while its good for a stopover on the way to/from the islands, there is so much more to the real Fiji that can be seen on the islands etc than staying in a resort that really could be anywhere in the world!!

  • Liked — Size, cleanliness
  • Disliked — Lack of character
  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank spiffmiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2008

I agonized over whether to stay here or at the Shangri-La where I had a fantastic holiday some years ago. I kept an open mind having read the fairly mixed reviews this place gets it basically matched what people have said before.

Check-in was chaotic, a coach-load of people trying to get served by two staff (with a supervisor who did nothing but supervise) whilst one guest trying to check out was questioning every single item on his bill and demanding refunds...one by one. And don't forget, this is the checkin-place for 3 different hotels.

It was actually very hard to tell when you left one resort and moved to another....it's not as spread-out as I had expected, in fact it's quite a small complex, although the main Sheraton was closed (thanks for letting us know btw). This closure was a problem, as thats where the good restaurants are - the food at the Westin is pretty terrible and very expensive - no excuses on Fiji time here as all the chefs' I saw were Australian.

We followed some other reviewers suggestions and tried the place at the Sofitel - where we sat down and were ignored for 30 mins before leaving. We went over to the pizza place in the port, which was very average although MUCH more reasonably priced - there seemed to be quite a few restaurants there but we didn't stay long enough to try.

The Villas are far and away the best accommodation in the complex, and in fact would be considered pretty exceptional at any resort. The other room types seemed very small and dingy, I'd have been very upset if I were in one of those. However, they are all very close to each other, and the sea-front villas still have a pool bar and cafe between them and the sea (with no immediate beach). The cafe itself is the best located eatery, but with the worst menu - burgers, chips, sandwiches. Even then it was closed for one night for a wedding party. Also, on another evening another wedding party arrived and promptly set up guitar amps in the gardens right outside our Villa - fortunately on the last night.

The Japanese restaurant was pretty good, but seems to be operated independently of the the hotel and was frequented by foul-mouthed ex-pats...food was good though.

I strongly disagree with reviews that say this place has the friendliest staff - memories of Shangri-La genuinely happy people, this lot would scowl until they were an inch from you, smile with a fake Bula, and then get back to being grumpy.

Needless to say there were quite a few upset couples wandering around....I did sympathize with them as it's totally unsuited to that style of traveler, although at the same time there are so many secluded islands around they had nobody to blame but themselves.

The pools are all pretty nice, especially the one near the villas which is massive. However, they are not heated and the weather in May is not the best so it was pretty much like being in Sydney back-yard pool - ie cold.

The spa, however, was amazing. Really well presented, fantastic staff - totally out of place in this hotel.

Its not that it's a bad hotel\resort, it's just that there are so many little issues that they all add up to some bigger problems, and to top it off it's not exactly cheap - in fact it's more expensive than some true 5 start places I've been to and the food was basically a rip-off compared to outside of the hotel.

If you are with a large group of family\friends - you'd probably have a great time, however for smaller families I'd strongly recommend looking at Shangri-La. If you are a couple - just stay away.....

  • Liked — Villa was superb
  • Disliked — Low quality and high prices
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheClairvoyant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denarau Island
0.8 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,114 reviews
39.4 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#5 of 24 in Coral Coast
2,573 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Fiji Resort
Sheraton Fiji Resort
#7 of 8 in Denarau Island
2,080 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
#6 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Denarau Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Denarau Villas

Property: Sheraton Denarau Villas
Address: Denarau Island West | P.O. Box 9761, Denarau Island, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Denarau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Denarau Island
#3 Family Hotel in Denarau Island
#3 Spa Hotel in Denarau Island
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Denarau Island
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Denarau Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Denarau Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal hotel for a family holiday in Fiji, the Sheraton Denarau Villas feature 82 luxuriously designed two- and three-bedroom-villas. All villas feature a comfortable lounge a fully equipped kitchen, dining area, flat screen, TV, DVD player and sound system, ensuit bathroom and laundry. Located directly adjacent to the Sheraton Fiji Resort and The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa, Fiji, guests can enjoy all facilities of the resort complex including access to the 14 dining venues, 6 swimming pools, kids club and business centre. Starwood Preferred Guest(R) members receive complimentary in room internet and dining discounts when booking direct. Book direct today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Starwood APAC, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sheraton Denarau Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Denarau Villas Hotel Denarau Island
Sheraton Denarau Hotel
Sheraton Denarau Resort
Sheraton Denarau Island
Denarau Island Sheraton
Sheraton Denarau Villas Fiji/Denarau Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing