We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Denarau Villas
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Denarau Island
Certificate of Excellence
Perth Western Australia
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed August 23, 2008

My husband and I had come from the wonderful Tokoriki Island Resort to the Sheraton Villas and found the Sheraton Villas to be quite disappointing. The room is a good size but the cleanliness was questionable, the back of the bathroom door was dirty. The pool often had noisy children playing in it which was offputting - I will be more careful with my research in future. The Westin restaurants were overpriced. We went into the marina for a nice italian meal and also into Nadi for a great curry at the Saffron restaurant. The free shuttles were excellent and helped us get around.

  • Liked — Room size
  • Disliked — Noisy pool
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Idaellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    232
    77
    18
    18
See reviews for
513
65
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2008

We stayed at the Villas for 2 nights before heading off to Mana Island (the real Fiji). The villas were lovely, clean and everything you wold expect from a Sheraton hotel.
Check in was at the Westin, and after travelling all day, our room wasn't ready until 5:45pm, which was a little frustrating.
The whole area is beautiful, but you do feel like all you do is walk, as nearly everything you need is at the Westin. We ate at the Pasta Restaurant the first night. The food was very over priced and plain. The buffet breakfasts were great though.
On our second night we caught the free "Bula Bus" to the marina and enjoyed a great, well priced dinner and drinks at the pizza restaurant Cardo's. Warning the Large Pizzas are MASSIVE. Yum. Drinks were reasonably priced, and a live bamd was nice.
The pools were a little cold but nice.
We are definitely glad we spent the majority of our holiday on the Mamanuca Islands. Once you see the white sands, and crystal blue waters, you will never stay on Denarau again.
Overall, a lovely "hotel" but Fiji is so much more.

  • Liked — Gardens
  • Disliked — Reastaurants
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OzLisaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2008

Stayed here for one night with 3 girlfriends the night before my wedding (in the Yasawas), so that we could get some pampering before the big day. We booked a 2 brm villa for the 4 of us, and were upgraded to an ocean view on arrival. The villa was bigger than expected... I know some people who live in places smaller than our villa! There was a room downstairs with a big bed and ensuite, and another upstairs with its own ensuite. Also a fully equipped kitchen (which we didn't use), lounge, dining, even washer and dryer!
We had a great view of the pools as well as the beach in the distance. The villa was nicely decorated, and very clean.
Breakfast is at the Westin (the Sheraton and Westin seem to be the same thing..), a large buffet breakfast which was nicer than what my husband and I had on our last night at the Sofitel. Re value for money, we paid only slightly less for an 'oceanview king room' at the Sofitel than the Sheraton villas, and got far better value at the Sheraton!! Sofitel room was more a garden view, and small and musty). Sheraton also seemed to have a good range of shops etc (also at the Westin), and large pools.
I would recommend this for families with kids, and couples travelling together.
However, I think its a bit sad that this is the only 'Fiji experience' some travellers have... while its good for a stopover on the way to/from the islands, there is so much more to the real Fiji that can be seen on the islands etc than staying in a resort that really could be anywhere in the world!!

  • Liked — Size, cleanliness
  • Disliked — Lack of character
  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank spiffmiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2008

I agonized over whether to stay here or at the Shangri-La where I had a fantastic holiday some years ago. I kept an open mind having read the fairly mixed reviews this place gets it basically matched what people have said before.

Check-in was chaotic, a coach-load of people trying to get served by two staff (with a supervisor who did nothing but supervise) whilst one guest trying to check out was questioning every single item on his bill and demanding refunds...one by one. And don't forget, this is the checkin-place for 3 different hotels.

It was actually very hard to tell when you left one resort and moved to another....it's not as spread-out as I had expected, in fact it's quite a small complex, although the main Sheraton was closed (thanks for letting us know btw). This closure was a problem, as thats where the good restaurants are - the food at the Westin is pretty terrible and very expensive - no excuses on Fiji time here as all the chefs' I saw were Australian.

We followed some other reviewers suggestions and tried the place at the Sofitel - where we sat down and were ignored for 30 mins before leaving. We went over to the pizza place in the port, which was very average although MUCH more reasonably priced - there seemed to be quite a few restaurants there but we didn't stay long enough to try.

The Villas are far and away the best accommodation in the complex, and in fact would be considered pretty exceptional at any resort. The other room types seemed very small and dingy, I'd have been very upset if I were in one of those. However, they are all very close to each other, and the sea-front villas still have a pool bar and cafe between them and the sea (with no immediate beach). The cafe itself is the best located eatery, but with the worst menu - burgers, chips, sandwiches. Even then it was closed for one night for a wedding party. Also, on another evening another wedding party arrived and promptly set up guitar amps in the gardens right outside our Villa - fortunately on the last night.

The Japanese restaurant was pretty good, but seems to be operated independently of the the hotel and was frequented by foul-mouthed ex-pats...food was good though.

I strongly disagree with reviews that say this place has the friendliest staff - memories of Shangri-La genuinely happy people, this lot would scowl until they were an inch from you, smile with a fake Bula, and then get back to being grumpy.

Needless to say there were quite a few upset couples wandering around....I did sympathize with them as it's totally unsuited to that style of traveler, although at the same time there are so many secluded islands around they had nobody to blame but themselves.

The pools are all pretty nice, especially the one near the villas which is massive. However, they are not heated and the weather in May is not the best so it was pretty much like being in Sydney back-yard pool - ie cold.

The spa, however, was amazing. Really well presented, fantastic staff - totally out of place in this hotel.

Its not that it's a bad hotel\resort, it's just that there are so many little issues that they all add up to some bigger problems, and to top it off it's not exactly cheap - in fact it's more expensive than some true 5 start places I've been to and the food was basically a rip-off compared to outside of the hotel.

If you are with a large group of family\friends - you'd probably have a great time, however for smaller families I'd strongly recommend looking at Shangri-La. If you are a couple - just stay away.....

  • Liked — Villa was superb
  • Disliked — Low quality and high prices
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheClairvoyant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolangatta, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2008

We stayed four nights at the Sheraton Denarau Villas following our stay at Musket Cove Resort on Malolo Island and the difference was like chalk and cheese. The Sheraton Villas are very Sterile and Westernised in facilities and appearance. This is great if you want a holiday in the Sun with all the mod cons of home, but as a representation of Fiji it does not come close. If your are looking for Tropical Beaches then forget this as well, Denarau is surrounded by muddy beaches & water and the island exists solely for the large resorts and smaller residential enclaves. As the Sheraton is closed, you get to eat at the Westin next door. Breakfasts are included in the price which is full buffet, but the drinks at the Bars and dinners are outrageously expensive. My advice is to eat at the Golf club acros the road, or take the shuttle to the Marina where you have a choice of restauarnts.
One final thing, the main pool tempertaure was icey cold, not great in a tropical climate.
My advice is stay on an island, you get closer to the staff and get to experience something closer to the real Fiji.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Biddleonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2008

We loved the accomodation and the pools. The Resort is in bad need if a refurbishment which we believe will be sooner than later. The Villas are well planned out and provide everything you will need for your stay. The meals are very ordinary and do not justify the price you have to pay. Breakfast which was included in the price was average and we were invaded by birds daily so if you forget something then say goodbye to your breakfast. The staff smile alot and stand around but are very prompt to remove your plates wether you are finished or not. The "Toot- Toot " buses as we called them were great in getting from one resort to another and they cost nothing. Can not see us going there again or maybe we just chose the wrong resort /area in Fiji.

  • Liked — variety of pools
  • Disliked — very expensive for food/drinks
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank golflink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2008

My boyfriend and I went to Fiji in Nov/Dec of 2007. We spent a week at Mana Island Resort and then a week at the Sheraton Villas at Denarau.

The Sheraton Villas is located between the Sheraton and the Westin resorts on Denarau Island, about 5min drive from Denarau marina and 10min from Nadi.

Room:
We were upgraded to a Lagoon view room on the second level (there is only ground level and the second level). These rooms overlook the pool area, while the garden view rooms look out either to the Sheraton or Westin accommodation.
The room was large and spacious. There was a king size bed, writing desk, sofa, wardrobe and cabinet with bar fridge, stereo, DVD player, cutlery & crockery and a large screen TV on top. The bathroom was big too, with a bath/shower, toilet, and basin. Our room had a good-sized balcony where there was an outdoor table and two chairs, with a view of the pools.
The other types of rooms available are the one bedroom villa, which has a bedroom and bathroom and also a kitchen and lounge room. These would be good if you wanted to not eat out all the time and cook your own meals.
The two-bedroom villa is the one bedroom villa with another room (the one we had) added to it. This could easily fit a family or group of friends as you could have up to 4 beds and a kitchen and lounge and 2 bathrooms, 3 balcony’s.

Food:
Dinner -
We ate at a number of restaurants.
We twice ate at the Denarau Golf Club, which is just across the road from the Villa and the Westin. It wasn’t too busy and meals could still be charged back to your room. For around $18FJD you got a large meal, they had a nice variety and drinks were reasonably priced. The second time we went it was on a Saturday night and it was BBQ night. We didn’t enjoy this as much as the normal menu.
The Steak house at the Westin was good. More expensive than at home, but that is to be expected as most of the meat would be imported.
We ate at the Hard Rock Café at the marina on its opening night. This was typical Hard Rock Café food: big meals! We took the Bula bus there and walked back to the villas afterwards (took about the same time).
The Pasta Kitchen at the Westin was good. We were not sure about eating here as there has been both good and bad reviews about this restaurant. We were glad that we did choose to eat there though. The Kitchens concept is ‘sharing food’. We enjoyed trying a few different pasta’s and surces .
Breakfast -
Breakfast was included in our accommodation cost. We ate at both the Westin and the Sheraton. The food was pretty much the same at both; we liked the atmosphere better at the Westin, as there were more kids at the Sheraton.
Lunch -
We never really ate lunch. We just picked up a snack mid afternoon.
The Marina has good options for lunch with a number of different restaurants/cafes and also a bakery and the BEST Pizzas at the pizza restaurant.
Snacks –
We brought some snack food over from Australia, and purchased some more snacks and drinks at the supermarket in Nadi and also at the little milk bar out the front of the villas (bottle of soft drink was about $2.50FJD), which was not expensive.

Beaches/Pools:
Denarau Island is not known for its beaches. If you are after white sand and clear water, this is not the place to be.
There are two pools at the Villas. The larger of the two is the Lagoon pool, which snakes around in a U-shape between the 2 Villa accommodation blocks. The pool ranges in depth from about 1-1.6m, has little alcoves, a waterfall, walkway bridges going over it and garden in the centre of the U-shape.
The other pool is a horizon pool over looking the ocean. This pool has a shallow area for little kids to walk around in but the pool also has a deep area (over 2m deep). There is a pool bar with this pool (light meals and drinks) and often an ice cream cart near-by.
Staying at the Villas gives you use of the Westin and Sheraton pools. There is one pool at each of these resorts. You can also take the free Bula Bus around Denarau and visit and check out the other resorts (eat at their restaurants and swim in their pools).

Activities:
There is no activities bure at the Villas, but you can use either the Westin or the Sheraton instead.
Most of the water activities seem to be run from the Sheraton, and we did the flying fish and jet skiing. We enjoyed both. There are many other activities that you can do, as well as a number of tours (we did none this time as we have done many of them before).
I had a look around the shops at the marina and the Sheraton and the Westin. This kept me busy for a little bit of time and was good to get a few little souvenirs for people and brought some things from ‘Cocoon’ (bags, jewellery) that were beautiful.

Weather:
Went in Nov/Dec, so it was warm. Yes it was wet, due to a cyclone passing us, but we only had 2 days of rain and we were still able to swim and do everything else we wanted except water-sports.

Staff:
Staff where nice. We didn’t have too much to too with some of them, but they were helpful with checking in and out and if we had any questions everyone was only too happy to answer them. Our room was always well cleaned each day, but besides from that you don’t see many staff at the Villas, except at the pool bar! Dining staff were friendly and helpful. My boyfriend is diabetic and they were always wiling to accommodate any requests that he had in relation to his meal.

We have been to Fiji a number of times and chose to say here as we had never stayed at Denarau before. We were impressed with the room and its size. We enjoyed our time relaxing by the pool, trying different restaurants and spending time together.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank Swimmer_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denarau Island
0.8 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,128 reviews
39.4 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#4 of 24 in Coral Coast
2,586 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Fiji Resort
Sheraton Fiji Resort
#7 of 8 in Denarau Island
2,084 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
#6 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Denarau Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Denarau Villas

Property: Sheraton Denarau Villas
Address: Denarau Island West | P.O. Box 9761, Denarau Island, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Denarau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Denarau Island
#3 Family Hotel in Denarau Island
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Denarau Island
#3 Spa Hotel in Denarau Island
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Denarau Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Denarau Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal hotel for a family holiday in Fiji, the Sheraton Denarau Villas feature 82 luxuriously designed two- and three-bedroom-villas. All villas feature a comfortable lounge a fully equipped kitchen, dining area, flat screen, TV, DVD player and sound system, ensuit bathroom and laundry. Located directly adjacent to the Sheraton Fiji Resort and The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa, Fiji, guests can enjoy all facilities of the resort complex including access to the 14 dining venues, 6 swimming pools, kids club and business centre. Starwood Preferred Guest(R) members receive complimentary in room internet and dining discounts when booking direct. Book direct today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TravelUp, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Starwood APAC, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sheraton Denarau Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Denarau Villas Hotel Denarau Island
Sheraton Denarau Hotel
Sheraton Denarau Resort
Sheraton Denarau Island
Denarau Island Sheraton
Sheraton Denarau Villas Fiji/Denarau Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing