We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for a family” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Denarau Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sheraton Denarau Villas
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Denarau Island
Certificate of Excellence
Robina, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Great for a family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We spent a night here before catching the ferry to the Yasawa Islands.
As a family of 6 we were relieved that there were villas large enough to accommodate us. They have clearly recently been updated and they were very modern and clean inside.
Beds were very comfortable.
We did not stay long enough to enjoy many of the other facilities but had a great evening watching the sunset by the pool.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa31jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottJMacDonald, Manager at Sheraton Denarau Villas, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear lisa31jane,

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts on Sheraton Denarau Villas on TripAdvisor.
I was delighted to learn that our Villas suited your family needs and I do hope you will return in the future to really enjoy our services and facilities.

Best regards,
Scott MacDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    229
    73
    16
    16
See reviews for
477
65
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Since my first review of the Villas in Jan 2013 where I stated that they were very tired and in need of some work done. Well the good news is that now(we are here at the moment June 2013) they have been totally revamped with new furniture, tiling, laundry appliances etc etc so Now they are certainly worthwhile coming back to.
Our ONLY problem has been, once again, all the sun lounges being reserved early in the morning, especially around the pool near the Wet Edge Bar. (21 reserved at 8.30 am yesterday - no-one in sight).

Room Tip: We always like the Ground Floor Seafront Villas for convenience and no stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 17bunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottJMacDonald, Manager at Sheraton Denarau Villas, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear 17bunny,

Thank you for taking the time out from your holiday to review Sheraton Denarau Villas!

I am delighted that are enjoying the enhancements we have made to the rooms, grounds and facilities since your last visit.

As a valued guest, I appreciate your comments and I thank you for choosing to stay with us once again.

Best regards,
Scott MacDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

We've just returned from a one week stay at the Sheraton Villas. It was just perfect for our family of 5 (kids ages 7, 4, 1). The villas are spacious and clean. The variety of pools and restaurants to choose from is excellent (Sheraton Villas, Sheraton Fiji, and Westin)! The gym at the Westin is really good, as is the lap pool. The Spa at the Westin was aptly named Heavenly. It was like something out of Getaway!

We bought a Starwood Privilege Card ($99 for 3 months) and this paid for itself in the first day! Definitely recommend getting this before you go. We ate at Feast for dinner, which was OK, but but not great. The kids loved the dessert buffet. Ports O Call was delicious, especially the caesar salad and seafood chowder! The atmosphere was a little lacking, but the waitstaff were very attentive and wonderful singers!! They sang to us for our celebration, which was a lovely touch. The highlight of our dining experiences was at Flying Fish. It was sensational. We sat at a table on the sand and ate the most wonderful degustation (highly recommended!) with the sand between our toes. It was bliss. We loved it so much we went back for lunch, but it definitely wasn't as good. The menu was totally different and the food was bland in our opinion. Would only book dinner next time. We took our family to Zing at the Westin, which was a perfect family restaurant with a great kids menu. The pizza at the Golf Club across the road is excellent too. They have a big screen and televise sports at night, so it suits the kids who can run around on the grass and the adults! :-)

Our two older kids went to the kids club for a couple days, which they liked, but preferred staying with us at the pools.

We got a fabulous babysitter for 3 nights. Her name is Mela. She was wonderful, especially with our 1 year old who cried a little bit when we left. She's a mature babysitter and we had complete confidence in her ability to look after the kids. We traveled with some other families who also loved their babysitters.

The Westin Pool was great fun, however we ending up swimming at the Wet Edge infinity pool the most as it was easier to keep an eye on all the kids. The Bailey's Banana and the Pina Colada were our favourite cocktails having tried quite a few! :-)

The only change we'd make next time is that we'd stay longer! At least 10 days, but ideally 2 weeks would have been better. It rained 2 days whilst we were there, so on a 7 day holiday, it meant we only had 5 days of beautiful, sunny weather. Next time we plan to stay here for a week before heading out to the islands to stay for another week. Counting down the days already....

Room Tip: We had a ground floor villa, which was great for us with a stroller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sydneyfam5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottJMacDonald, Manager at Sheraton Denarau Villas, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Sydney008,

Warmest greetings from Sheraton Denarau Villas!

It was with pleasure that I read your kind review of our resort. I am pleased that we could play a small part in what was a wonderful and memorable family holiday!

Thank you for highlighting the Villas, resort pools and facilities, our food and beverage outlets and the hospitality of our team, in particular, Mela, who will be delighted to hear your feedback.

We are already looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,
Scott MacDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We returned to the Villas in June 2013 having enjoyed our first stay there in 2011. An overview of our experiences and insights is as follows:

1. Early check-in: Do not expect that just because staff are generally accommodating that you will secure an early check-in. If the resort is fully occupied, then the earliest you can check in will be when the first guest has checked out (no later than 10am) and the villa prepared for your arrival. We arrived on an early flight and got to the reception desk at 6.30am. Despite our requested ground villa not being available we were offered a L1 room which would be ready sooner (which we declined in preference to the ground floor). They took our cell phone number and gave us a key to a dedicated changing room to freshen up and we spent the next few hours by the pool with access to the resort food and beverage facilites while we waited for our call. So despite being tired and in need of a room, the staff get full marks for how they managed our needs.

2. We are a family of 5 with 3 kids under 9 years of age: unless you like being elevated, the convenience of a ground floor villa (preferaly adjacent to the pool) wins every time.

3. Food and Beverage: We paid a considerable additional surcharge to have the buffet breakfast each morning. We were unaware when we booked that kids under 5 eat for free and kids up to 12 eat for $5 when an adult is dining. In hindsight, we would have not taken this option and would have just used our "Starwood Privilege" (refer below) card to eat at the buffet when the mood took us. There is a small resort bakery which is a more cost effective option for a light breakfast and the local shop on the resort grounds is more economical still. Note that the kids package extends to the Westin restauarants as well. The choice resort restaurants for us were Flying Fish and the Steakhouse which are both open for lunch but note that absent the privilege card, the prices for a 'grown-up' meal with wine is not dissimilar to smart Sydney prices.

4. Star Privilege: Is the Sheraton / Westin loyalty program which for a A$300 outlay yields a 50% discount on restaurant food and a generous discount on beverages. Ours paid for itself in 4 days but note we were not on holiday to shop for our own groceries to cook....so, a tighter budget on F&B may not make it so worthwhile (unless you're fortunate enough to be considering multiple Sheraton holidays in a year).

5. Family Friendliness: The staff simply cannot do enough for their guests. I will give just one examplae by way of illustration....our 6 yo son had a cold which we felt had developed inot a chest infection so we thought a check-up with a doctor would be appropriate. We fully expected to trip into Nadi for at least a half-day exercise so you can imagine our delight when the hotel staff sent us back to our villa as they arranged for a visiting doctor to call on us....who knocked on our door just 40 mins later. Nominal fee (compared with Australia) was charged to the room and the icing on the cake was when the necessary prescription was filled by a mere exchange of fax between the hotel and the Nadi pharmacy and a cab courier, the efficiency and cost of which would put Australia to shame. Later that afternoon, we returned to our room to find a 'get well' card for our son and a complementary fruit platter.

6. Overall: The point of differentiation is the warmth and generosity of the people and, to a lesser extent, the favourable travelling time from Australia relative to competiing destinations, ie in Asia. The standard of the accommodation and facilities is just great for a relaxed family holiday. We would return tomorrow. However, I would say that for an equivalent or less financial outlay a higher standard could be obtained in Bali, Phuket and other regional holiday destinations and we hope that the local investment in Fiji continues in order for it to retain its competitiveness as a holiday of choice to families.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottJMacDonald, Manager at Sheraton Denarau Villas, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Mark H,

Warmest greetings from Sheraton Denarau Villas!

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and rating on TripAdvisor. As valued, returning guests, I truly appreciate your insight and recommendations of our resort.

I am delighted that you enjoyed the personalised service of our team and I trust that your son made a speedy return to good health.

I am honoured that you have chosen to stay with us again for your family holiday and hope you will return soon to re-live your fabulous holiday memories and create new ones!

Best regards,
Scott MacDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

We as a couple have stayed at both the Sheraton and the Sheraton villas - this year we took the family with us, 3 adults Plus Nan and Pop (us) and our 3 1/2 year old grandson- Fabulous holiday nothing was a bother with all staff - check in was great - the Villa was clean and lacked nothing - fully stocked kitchen - dryer, washing machine - rooms cleaned each day, couldnt have asked for a better holiday, ocean view was great and so close to the infinity pool our little one had a ball - would certainly recommend this spot for a great family holiday. We will be back next year

Room Tip: Ocean views are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phaseAshburton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottJMacDonald, Manager at Sheraton Denarau Villas, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear phaseAshburton

Thank you for your kind review of Sheraton Denarau Villas. I am delighted that you enjoyed a perfect holiday with us! We hope to create many more wonderful holiday memories on your future visits to Fiji!

Warm regards, Scott MacDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

We had a great stay at this hotel. We had a two bedroom villa for our family including seven year old, four year old and a baby. We were surprised and impressed with the spaciousness of the villa. Plenty of room to spread out and fabulously comfortable beds. We had an upstairs villa even though we had a pram because we wanted to avoid people clomping overhead ( bad experience elsewhere). The villas were nice and Quintana very comfortable. The nearby shop and atm were useful, we enjoyed all the facilities at the hotel. Breakfast was good quality although there were sometimes lots of flies. These were quite a problem in some areas of the resort. We enjoyed breakfast at the Westin twice and it was a bit quieter and fewer flies. The Westin generally has a more sedate, modern feel. The Feast restaurant at the Sheraton with its acres of red mosaics was a little dated although the food was good. Staff did seem a little overwhelmed at times.

Kids club was excellent. Clare who runs it was great at connecting with the kids and all the staff were great. Our kids were excited to go.

We had only positive experiences with staff. All interactions were friendly, efficient and helpful.

There is a great choice of pools at the Sheraton and we used the Westin pool and gym too. We would certainly return to the Sheraton, or Westin.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thefourcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottJMacDonald, Manager at Sheraton Denarau Villas, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear thefourcs,

Warmest greetings from Sheraton Denarau Villas!

I really appreciate your favourable review regarding your recent stay with us. Thank you for your highlights in regards to the comforts of your spacious villa, the resort facilities and of our fabulous Kids Club. I will be sure to share your kind comments with Claire. It is pleasing to learn that you enjoyed everything we had offered and I hope that your wonderful family holiday memory will bring you back to stay with us in the near future.

Best regards,
Scott MacDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

We are returning to the Sheraton Villas again for the second time in less than a year.... Can't wait to write another review!!! Last time was fantastic and this time we are bringing some friends with us. Staying in two x 2 bedoom apartments! The lead up has been good, transfers booked direct, the spa treatments booked and our favourite restaurants too.... See you on the 15th June! The kiddies can't wait.... I just hope it lives up to the expectations....

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottJMacDonald, Manager at Sheraton Denarau Villas, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Aussie_Ox,

Thank you for your compliments and recommendation of Sheraton Denarau Villas.

My team and I are very happy that you enjoyed a memorable stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again next week!

Kind regards
Scott MacDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denarau Island
0.8 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,932 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
0.2 mi away
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Fiji Resort
Sheraton Fiji Resort
#7 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,973 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
#6 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,317 reviews
25.7 mi away
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Denarau Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Denarau Villas

Property: Sheraton Denarau Villas
Address: Denarau Island West | P.O. Box 9761, Denarau Island, Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Denarau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Denarau Island
#3 Family Hotel in Denarau Island
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Denarau Island
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Denarau Island
#3 Spa Hotel in Denarau Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Denarau Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal hotel for a family holiday in Fiji, the Sheraton Denarau Villas feature 82 luxuriously designed two- and three-bedroom-villas. All villas feature a comfortable lounge a fully equipped kitchen, dining area, flat screen, TV, DVD player and sound system, ensuit bathroom and laundry. Located directly adjacent to the Sheraton Fiji Resort and The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa, Fiji, guests can enjoy all facilities of the resort complex including access to the 14 dining venues, 6 swimming pools, kids club and business centre. Starwood Preferred Guest(R) members receive complimentary in room internet and dining discounts when booking direct. Book direct today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Sheraton Denarau Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Denarau Villas Hotel Denarau Island
Sheraton Denarau Hotel
Sheraton Denarau Resort
Sheraton Denarau Island
Denarau Island Sheraton
Sheraton Denarau Villas Fiji/Denarau Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing