We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food and great service”

V Restaurant at Sofitel Fiji Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: This Signature restaurant offers seating for up to 70 guests who truly enjoy the art of fine food and wine. Located on the ground floor of the central building. Elegant decor with air - con or open aired (weather dependent). Type of cuisine : GourmetOpening hours : 18:30 - 22:30
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Delicious food and great service”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We ate dinner twice at V and were very impressed. The quality of the food was very high and the extra touches such as house baked bread basket were appreciated. It was really lovely to have a child-free oasis as the rest of the resort was overrun with children (including our own)! Keep your eye out for lovely speciality dinners they do - there was a mushroom/truffle emphasis when we were there which was delicious.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank AusFamily123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    75
    34
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitford, Auckland
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Consistently High Standard”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We have just spent a week in Denarau and based ourselves at the Sofitel. This is not our first trip to this restaurant nor to the hotel and we looked forward to returning.

We ate at V on three occasions over the week and were extremely pleased with the high standard we experienced each time. Obviously we ate a variety of dishes and on each occasion ordered a dessert to share. Every dish was enjoyed.

Every dish was well presented, tasty and fresh. The desserts were excellent and generous. We appreciated the variety of complimentary breads served prior to each meal and the special treats compliment of the chef. V is an excellent and its standard is good even in comparison with restaurants in other countries we visit.

It is not only the food that is of a high standard I must also make note of the staff. There attentive friendly and professional service would be some of the highest we have experienced in Fiji. All of the waiters and waitresses were knowledgeable, and genuine. One even remembered us from a booking on our last visit. (I am sorry I did not get his name). Keep up the good work you are setting an impressive standard.

We look forward to visiting V again on our next visit. I would also highly recommend others make the effort to eat here when staying in Denarau.

As we are regulars visitors to Fiji we purchased the Accor Advantage Card. I would recommend if considering several visits or staying for a long period of time you consider this.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheezel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“Excellent service and food. Highly recommend.”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

My experience at the V restaurant was all good on 2 occasions. Service is impeccable and food is delicious and prepared correctly and with flair. Try the white wine flight or the red wine flight which is a sampling of wines presented in spectacular fashion. The decor is simple, spacious, elegant and classy. Recommend the Mahi Mahi or the beef tenderloin with truffle potato. Desserts are delicious. Highly recommend even though its no Aria...but they do try.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tripping-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Outstanding food in Fiji - Yes really!”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We have eaten at V Restaurant at the Sofitel before and were looking forward to returning. We were not disappointed. V, is by far and away the best food in the Denarau area. The staff are knowledgable and attentive,which cannot be said for most restaurants in the area.
The food was outstanding, even by standards set by highly rated Australian restaurants. The French chef really knows how to cook. If you expect your French food to be full of overpowering garlic flavour,you will be disappointed. But if you like classic cooking with delicate sauces and imaginative food combinations you can't go past V.
Instead of a main course we chose to try all the entrees, which were preceded by an amazing amuse bouche from the chef. Everything we ate was outstanding and the selection on the bread plate was also excellent and not stale as some reviewers have stated. Seafood, meat, delicate sauces, velouté, you name it and it was delivered with style and flavour.
Deserts were also excellent.
Reasonable prices, with tax included, unlike many restaurants in Denarau, especially The Sheraton and Westin, were a bargain with the Accor Advantage card.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 00BCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Food and service very good”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

The setting of this restaurant is elegant and quite spacious.
The service was efficient and attentive from the moment we arrived until we left and really went above and beyond.
The food was delicious. We enjoyed 3 courses and each course was lovely and perfectly cooked but not quite high level dining.
The prices were good for the quality.
As I am pregnant I cannot comment on the wine list.
I will certainly return to this restaurant if I come back to Fiji.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ktm76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed V Restaurant at Sofitel Fiji Resort also viewed

Denarau Island, Viti Levu
Denarau Island, Viti Levu
 
Denarau Island, Viti Levu
 

Been to V Restaurant at Sofitel Fiji Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing