We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 Island not 5...”

Schooner Whale's Tales
Book In Advance
More Info
$118.82*
and up
Fijian Islands and Snorkel Full-Day Whales Tale Cruise including Beach BBQ Lunch
Ranked #3 of 18 Tours in Denarau Island
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: ''Whale's Tale''"A TASTE OF THE ISLANDS"Aboard the Magnificent 100 Foot Schooner '' Whale's Tale'Fiji's ultimate one day 5 Island spectacular Champagne sail cruise thru the Blue Lagoons and the beaches of the nearby Mamanuca islands and featuring an escape to your own Private & Exclusive Uninhabited Island Paradise.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“1 Island not 5...”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We booked a cruise to stop at 5 islands - we saw 3 (from far) and only stopped at 1... most of the time was spent on the boat. We were not at all impressed with this 'highly recommended' cruise. The James Bond Island cruise in Phuket is the standard we were expecting! Rather dissapointed.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank HBE2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    459
    90
    22
    6
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Lillian Rock, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“value for money”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Fantastic time,the crew were helpful and happy,could'nt do enough for you.Plenty of singing,drinking(all in the price)a great way to spend a day enjoying your self..recommend this for singles,couples and kids awesome.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A great way to spend the day!”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

My wife and I went on the tour following the reading of reviews. It was a great day with a varied passenger list.

The crew were happy, friendly and eager to make you drink! They sang on the way out to there little island and on the way back. There isn't much on their little island but you can snorkle (or have a look in the glass bottomed boat. After lunch you can have a swim or go hand fishing. The meal that the chef cooked on the way over was very fresh and plentiful. Not sure how she got the beef curry so tender.

The trip includes all drinks so very very good value. If you are a beer drinker remember to take a stubby holder as it can get hot out there. One word of warning - beware the local spirits that they serve. I am certain the barman got the measurments the wrong way round with my rum and coke!!!!!

The only disapointment was that my wife and I did not get a sulu as advertised as we were on our honeymoon.

As part of the service they pick you up from your hotel and return you after the trip. Certainly a day trip not to be missed

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank andrewakarobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Awesome Day out”
Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

Had a fantastic day on the boat with these boys in early December. They could not do enough to help and filled us full of drink and good... Nothing was too much trouble for them and we hardly had to left a finger... The facilities are awesome and the island is a dream cone true... Highly recommend..

Helpful?
Thank DAM79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A fun day out”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Being the only thing my partner and I were going to do outside of the resort, we were hoping the $199 FJD we payed would be worth it. I'm happy to report that it exceeded expectations! The price gets you a cruise out to your own private island, bypassing popular islands such as bounty, beach comber and south seas (Castaway island can also be seen at a distance) A continental breakfast, BBQ lunch on the island and afternoon tea. All drinks are covered by the cost and the staff were always happy to come over and offer you more drinks. The staff were great, not only was the service good but they pointed out islands to you and even sung for some entertainment on the way. On the island they provided you a bbq lunch which was delicious, and an array of activities to enjoy (Snorkelling, glass bottom boat tour, kayaking or just swimming in the beautiful clear water). You get around 3 hours to enjoy the private island which just caters for your group, and before you get back on the boat the staff and tourists play a big game of beach volleyball which was lots of fun. On the way back you still get unlimited drinks and an afternoon tea (If it's a special occasion like a honeymoon they bake a cake to celebrate as was the case when we were sailing). It's a very enjoyable day out, and it's great value for money. It's a must do!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank dwdwdw_90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schooner Whale's Tales also viewed

Denarau Island, Viti Levu
Denarau Island, Viti Levu
 

Been to Schooner Whale's Tales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing