We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful day in Fiji” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oolala Cruises

Oolala Cruises
Ranked #2 of 16 Tours in Denarau Island
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Oolala Cruises offer daily cruises to beautiful Savala Island. This day trip is a unique Fiji experience for discerning visitors who prefer a smaller vessel with friendly, professional staff and truly personalized service. The cruise departs at 10.00am from Port Denarau and returns to the Port at approximately 4.30pm. Your return hotel transfer is included. This award winning " Trip Advisor Cruise" is designed for travelers who "simply want the best", who respect our pristine environment and leave only their footprints on our island's beautiful white sandy beach, which is fringed with vibrant coral and crystal clear waters. Your day trip includes: • Morning and afternoon teas with home baked cakes. • Scrumptious BBQ lunch. • Complimentary drinks including beer, wines, soft drinks and bottled water. • Complimentary use of snorkeling gear, kayaks, stand up paddle boards. • Guided coral viewing tours. • Massage & scuba diving are available at extra cost. Oolala Cruises are available for private group charters; if you require your own exclusive boat and island for the day or perhaps a charter boat for sunset cocktail cruises.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
157 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Delightful day in Fiji”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Boat, crew and activities including a personally guided 1-tank scuba dive off a very small island 45 minutes from Denarau was one of the highlights of our vacation.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    638
    83
    24
    10
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Murrumbateman, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

The full day cruise to their private island, Savala was awesome, not even the bad weather could put a dampener on the day. Entertainment by Superman and the crew, teaching Aussies ALL of the verses to Waltzing Matilda, hilarious. Snorkelling in the reef off the island, barbeque lunch with more singing, beer, wine cake for morning and afternoon tea, what more could you ask for.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
220 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
“Oo la load of crap”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

The disappointing thing about our cruise today was not the waste of the more than AU$100 per person, but the waste of a whole day of our holiday.

We were picked up from our hotel lobby on time, but then proceeded to wait for forty minutes at the port, provided with neither refreshments nor somewhere to sit.

The 90 minute trip to a ‘secluded sand cay’ (all quotations taken directly from the company’s brochure) was in fact about 80 minutes paralleling the coastline, and about 10 minutes out into the sea. The ‘complimentary Fiji beer’ which was to be provided during the cruise ran out almost immediately, and most people on board the boat missed out on any at all. The wine was undrinkable.

During our trip, a lady slipped on some rocks and hit her head very hard. She was clearly suffering from a moderately severe head injury, being drowsy and confused. The staff of the cruise had extremely poor, and in fact dangerous, first aid skills, insisting on trying to get her repeatedly to her feet despite the danger of a cervical spine injury. I have a medical background, and it was only at my ongoing insistence that the staff agreed that she needed to be taken back to the mainland for medical attention.

The boat that took her back was the glass bottomed boat we were going to go on, so that part of the cruise did not eventuate but completely understandable.

The brochure states, “The day trip caters to smaller numbers for a more personal cruise.” There were over 50 people on today’s cruise, who all were taken on the same ‘guided snorkeling tour’, with one guide leading everyone. This meant for innumerable fins kicking other’s faces, collisions and scaring away of all fish. There were certainly not an opportunity for the staff member to ‘share [his] passion’ with us. After the ‘guided’ snorkeling tour off the boat, we lined up for a long time awaiting the tender boat to transfer us to the beach.

The ‘scrumptious BBQ lunch’ served on the island was in fact reheated chicken and sausages, with very poor excuses for salad (iceberg lettuce, cucumber and an insufficient amount of tomato (not everyone was lucky enough to get a piece), and potato with mayonnaise).

We had both planned on getting a beach massage, for an extra cost. We put our names down on the list, and knowing that we were only 4th or so on the list, did not go snorkeling immediately. We checked on the progress of the list after half an hour or so, and were told that we would get our turn shortly. So we continued not to snorkel. Suddenly, the end of snorkeling time was announced, and as we were joining the long queue to get back on the tender boat, the massage lady came to find us and told us that they had run out of time and we would not get our massage.

And so, for a tour that had three main selling points---snorkeling, massage and complimentary beer, we got zero out of three. The scrumptious BBQ lunch on the beach was well short of the visions those words create in your mind. The secluded sand cay was in fact within easy sight of civilization. This kind of false advertising would be illegal in most of the countries of the participants, and should not be allowed.

I expressed my disappointment to staff on the day, and this was met with face pulling and no apologies.

Paul, the leader of the staff on the day, was actually quite entertaining and his initial safety talk was very thorough. Reading other people's reviews, I honestly think that on this particular day they overbooked the boat and did not adjust staffing and catering requirements. People were scared to leave their seat on the boat in case someone else took it, and the conditions brought out a lot of rudeness in people.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank alittleharsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
86 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent Day Out!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

This is a full day cruise out to a small island with a snorkelling stop off on the way. Paul and the crew are very professional and do a fabulous job making sure everyone is looked after. Morning tea is served, jokes made and songs sung. I cruised with my husband and 2 children aged 7and 9. We all snorkelled and felt safe the whole time. The fish feeding was great! Savala - the island you travel to is lovely. The water was warm and crystal clear. Drinks served as you relax in the shallows. Lunch was a BBQ. I also enjoyed massage on the beach!
We had a memorable day out and thoroughly recommend this day cruise.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kylie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

I just wanted to give a big thankyou to all the staff on the Oolala cruise. We had a great time.
The entertinment on the way to the island was great we especially loved Paul and the other guy playing their guitars and singing for us. For morning tea, the pineapple and coconut slice was delicious. Afternoon tea was fresh banana cake and coffee.
The island was amazing, my two friends snorkeled and they loved it. For someone that doesn't like snorkeling , I was tken with a few others earlier to the island, enjoying the serenity in the middle if the ocean with a glass of wine in hand. They organised a great BBQ lunch and some small entertainment.
Thankyou for a great experience.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank imm82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oolala Cruises also viewed

 
Denarau Island, Viti Levu
Denarau Island, Viti Levu
 

Been to Oolala Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing