We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Stunning Place!”
Review of Flying Fish

Flying Fish
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $48
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Flying Fish Fijis’ intimate beach front ambience and poolside setting features a menu designed by Peter Kuruvita focusing on fresh, local produce and sumptuous seafood. Our delicious must-try crabs, lobsters and fresh fish are supplied by our local fisherman. Watch the sun set while laying back on the bar daybeds during Golden Hour or let us deliver to you by the pool or beach. With mouth watering delights, attentive service and a carefully crafted wine list, Flying Fish is the perfect setting for any occasion
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We have been coming here to the Sheraton for 5 years with our kids. This restaurant is just such a beautiful spot! Who could not love the proximity to the ocean and the sand between your toes?! We love what Peter Kuruvita has done with his influence on the food! Curries and flavours that use local ingredients, especially seafood to their best advantage. The service standards with the Fijian staff have improved dramatically in the last 5 years. However, they have not lost the unique Fijian style that is laid back. Good wine list too. On this visit, Kim Brennan impressed with his easy going nature and approachability. I loved his scallop with pineapple salsa and tamarind on the seafood tapas. Yum!
Keep up the good work! This rocks!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KuruFive, Guest Relations Manager at Flying Fish, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Bula Peter P,
What a wonderful review, especially from someone who knows Denarau Island so well and has watched our progress. All of us are proud and happy to hear how much you enjoyed the food, service and atmosphere. Thank you for taking the time to let us know and we look forward to seeing you many more times in the years to come
Vinaka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,096)
There are newer reviews for Flying Fish
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

938 - 942 of 1,098 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2013

This being our first trip to Fiji we had no idea where to eat but having overheard a couple of fellow hotel guests raving about Flying Fish we decided to book it. When we arrived at the restaurant we were thrilled to be led out to a front table right on the beach with the sand between our toes. The greeting was warm and welcoming even though we are staying at another hotel (the radisson). We ordered a bottle of veuve but only Moët available (not really an issue!!). The food was expensive but of a good standard but it was the setting that made it special with the torchlights illuminating the palm fringed beach. Our kids (10 and 7) spent most of the time playing in the sand and climbing coconut trees leaving my husband and I to enjoy a lovely evening. It was another tables last night and the goodbye song was sung so beautifully by the Fijian wait team. Very enjoyable!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KuruFive, Guest Relations Manager at Flying Fish, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Bula Amanda P,
We are very happy to hear you so enjoyed dining at Flying Fish with your family. It is wonderful to get this feedback from our guests and we appreciate the time taken in doing so. We hope to see you again soon.
Vinaka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We were seeking a celebratory dinner location (so something a bit fancy-schmancy required). FF was the first of our walking stops along the cluster row of International Hotel restaurant sites and the menu & location seemed hopeful. We decided to walk no further.
I don't think we are high maintenance but we know what we want and like. So the table we were shown was not where we wanted to be (waterfront, sand under toes etc) and "No problem". We waited on the beach sipping champagne whilst they kindly reset a table.
The cuisine was uncluttered, fresh and full of clever well-worked ingredient combinations.
The service FIJI friendly, genuine, engaging and attentive.
Very expensive but that was largely a result of our beverage choices.Top marks FF!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank magoo421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KuruFive, Guest Relations Manager at Flying Fish, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Bula magoo421,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. All our staff take great pride in hearing when a guest has enjoyed their experience so much. We hope to see you at Flying Fish again soon.
Vinaka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We had a table right on the sand. Pity they had run out of lobster and other crustaceans - we dined at 7.30 and expected these would still be available. The food we had was delicious and well presented. Service was hospitable and friendly. Only problem, which was not the restaurant's fault was a family decided to play running races and rugby right next to the sand by our table. If you are wanting an intimate dining experience by the sea, just be aware that the sandy area by the restaurant is sometimes a main thoroughfare for beach walkers.

2  Thank Loveurope22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KuruFive, Guest Relations Manager at Flying Fish, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Bula Loveurope22,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your experience at Flying Fish. Sorry to hear you missed out on one of our famous mud crab or lobster. As we rely solely on local fishermen for supply, sometimes they are unavailable due to weather conditions and other factors.
We hope we can wow you with chilli mudcrab next time you visit.
Vinaka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Had dinner there recently - wet rainy day and the resaturant was busy but the kitchen did not miss a beat. Amazing seafood cooked beautifully and topped with excellent service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KuruFive, Guest Relations Manager at Flying Fish, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Bula Mary M,
Thank you for the lovely review of Flying Fish Fiji. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed it so much and appreciate you taking the time to let us know. We hope to see you again soon.
Vinaka!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flying Fish also viewed

Denarau Island, Viti Levu
Denarau Island, Viti Levu
 

Been to Flying Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing