We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a special night out to remember”
Review of Flying Fish

Flying Fish
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $48
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Flying Fish Fijis’ intimate beach front ambience and poolside setting features a menu designed by Peter Kuruvita focusing on fresh, local produce and sumptuous seafood. Our delicious must-try crabs, lobsters and fresh fish are supplied by our local fisherman. Watch the sun set while laying back on the bar daybeds during Golden Hour or let us deliver to you by the pool or beach. With mouth watering delights, attentive service and a carefully crafted wine list, Flying Fish is the perfect setting for any occasion
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Upmarket restaurant (maybe best described as fine dining by Fijian standards) and is a sister property to the Flying Fish in Sydney (which currently holds 1 hat). Food is elegant, fresh, and showcases local produce. Service is friendly & relaxed, the view is fantastic, and the front tables are nestled into the sand which adds to the island dining experience. Stand out dishes Mahimahi curry with prawn savory rolls and Seared Yellow Fin tuna with sweet crackling pork and ruby grapefruit. It is certainly an ideal setting for a special occasion. The restaurant is located at the Sheraton Hotel, walking distance if you are staying at any of the neighbouring hotels especially Radisson Blu and Wyndham. The menu prices are higher then other dining establishments and well worth the experience for the quality but my only gripe is the prices are quoted EXCLUSIVE of the government taxes and surcharges so the another 20% or so is added on the top of your final bill (and this is disclosed in the fine print on the menu). It is the only venue I came across that does this but overall would highly recommend Flying Fish for a special night to celebrate & treat yourself.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FoodDiscovery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KuruFive, Manager at Flying Fish, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Bula, thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your experience and for your recommendation. I am happy to hear you enjoyed it. We pride ourselves on the quality of our food and produce, much of which is imported to ensure this and subject to import taxes. By adding the standard government taxes separately we are hoping to show our guests the true value of the food we are serving. We value feedback from our guests highly and your comments will be passed onto operational management. Once again, thank you for your thoughtful review and we do hope to see you again at Flying Fish Fiji. Vinaka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,096)
There are newer reviews for Flying Fish
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

967 - 971 of 1,098 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2013

This restaurant was so nice and the food and staff were professional , friendly and happy also.
We sat in the sand section of the restaurant that creates the feel that you are right on the beach which it nearly is! Such a great atmosphere and character this place has got. Loved it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
1  Thank baggar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KuruFive, Guest Relations Manager at Flying Fish, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Bula, all of us at Flying Fish Fiji are very happy to hear you had such a great experience dining with us. We really appreciate feedback from our guests and would like to thank you for taking the time to review us. Vinaka!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Had the degustation menu so it was a bit of everything and it was yummy so we could of had more. Kids meal was great too. Our kids ate for free as they were under 4 so we expected poor food but were happy when we saw what they got. Sat on the beach side which let the kids play in the sand while we ate our food. No complaints

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Aud88888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KuruFive, Guest Relations Manager at Flying Fish, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Bula, thank you for taking the time to review Flying Fish Fiji. We appreciate any feedback from our guests and It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed the experience. We look forward to seeing you again. Vinaka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Great setting. Tasty food. Attentive service. Why wouldn't I give this place 4 or 5 stars? The price and portion size. My main dish, prawn tortellini, for $68.00 would have made an excellent starter. It was delicious but that price soured it a bit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GLaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KuruFive, Manager at Flying Fish, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us & I'm glad you enjoyed. I wanted to inform you that $68 Fijian currency equals $38.90 Australian which hopefully enhances your experience. We hope to see you again at Flying Fish!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

me and my wife ordered a 2 course special,we both had the grilled maui maui with capers and a lemon dressing with potatoe puree it was so beautiful,just melted in your mouth,then we had banana parfait with butterscotch sauce and cinnamon ice cream it was to die for,it was only 79 fijian dollars each and you got 2 glasses of wine with it,if you stay at the sheraton defintely go there,and try the cocktails in happy hour between 4 and 6 pm.

1  Thank Anthony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flying Fish also viewed

Denarau Island, Viti Levu
Denarau Island, Viti Levu
 

Been to Flying Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing