We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italian??”

Amalfi Italian Restaurant
Price range: $20 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Amalfi Italian Restaurant is located at Port Denarau Marina, on the seaside, with a nice view, and provide for "al fresco" dinner with tables under big umbrellas.Manager and Executive chef are directly from south Italy, just to deliver the real genuine taste of original Italian cuisine.Many ingredients are imported from Italy and you can find classical recipes as well some fusion dishes with local fresh ingredients.Our pizzas are prepared as per italian method, using crushed non-precooked tomatoes, olive oil, mozzarella, parmesan cheese and fresh ingredients. Wide range and selection of Italian, Australian and New Zealand wines to complete your experience at Amalfi Italian Restaurant.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Even though this is an Italian restaurant we opted for the lobster specials and T-bone steak specials which were sensational. I can see the confusion on its identity but it's prices on lobsters were great which is what we wanted. The dessert menu left a lot to be desired and services just average.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Aussiekiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amalfi_Restaurant, Manager at Amalfi Italian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear Tigers4me,
Many many thanks for your review on our restaurant.

What to say? Your review is clear and explicative, and can only help us to improve our food & service quality.

As already stated in the answer you can read below, we are having, since the opening in 2008 a serious problem of "crisis of identity", if you permit me the words joke.

What we want propose as true, genuine, 100% italian style cuisine is often not accepted by our customers. It's a matter of tastes developed by years of overseas italian restaurants frequentation, personal tastes and other factors that contribute to not help us in developing our own identity as real italian restaurant.

We, the manager and the executive chef, come from south Italy, with no experience in Australia and New Zealand market that is the biggest part of tourists coming to Fiji. After five years we are still struggling and striving to find a perfect compromise between what guests want and what we want propose.

We will work hard with no breaks and we will never give up finding this perfect balance.
In the meanwhile thanks again for the annotations about the service and the dessert manu.
A true italian restaurant should have in the fast, paced, but professional and friendly service his strong point. As well the menu dessert, being Italy a land of sweet treats and regional desserts. We will work on this too.

Thanks for the four "balls" on tripadvisor. Basically it's the reason for what a manager or a owner have their page on here. But it's also important to highlight some important points:

- Amalfi Italian Restaurant don't stress its patrons pushing and begging them to write a good review on tripadvisor (like others do)
- Amalfi Italian Restaurant don't surrender to blackmails attempts of some customers asking for extra-discounts or food for free in change of a good (or very bad) review on here (like others do)
- Amalfi Italian Restaurant don't always answer punctually to all the good reviews (like others do). It's commonly known that is not a fine or elegant "tripadvisor move" to answer at every good review in a self-referantial way. The review is very interesting and helpful for others? We answer. The review is normal and acceptable? We don't answer. The review is fake, false or trolling? We answer, oh yes, we answer for sure!

hoping to see again the Tiger at Amalfi, please accept our best regards and Ciao and Bula!
Stefano
Amalfi Italian restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (523)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

432 - 436 of 523 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2013

Extremely average Americanized? Italian food. Not sure what was going on in the kitchen, but they have a strange concept of what Italian food is. The disinterested service certainly didn't make up for the sub-par food.

2  Thank cindalou22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amalfi_Restaurant, Manager at Amalfi Italian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dearest Ms.Cindalou,

Many many thanks for your useful and important review to our restaurant.
First of all we deeply apologize for the bad service that you received, spoiling your dinner at Amalfi Restaurant.

We are still working hard on our staff and we will never be satisfied about the performances of our waitresses.

With reference to the "average Americanized? Italian food" we also ask you sorry, but moreover because for us, after 5 (successful) years in Fiji, is still hard to understand what exactly our precious and valued and esteemed guests would like to find in our menu, how cooked and decorated.

Do they refer their tastes to their favourite italian menu in their country or city (not Italy)?
Do they refer their tastes to the cooking style of their italian best friend?
Do they refer their tastes to a trip made in Italy visiting some touristic restaurants?
Do they refer their tastes to a trip made in Italy visiting some genuine out-of-hand restaurants?
Do they refer their tastes to only their own conception of italian food?

At the opening in August 2008 our menu was so strictly and strongly "italian" that we didn't receive a very good response from our guests. Most of our guests didn't like (at all) traditional true genuine italian recipes, with original ingredients and original way of cooking.

So the choice was very hard: to strictly keep our 100% italian style (and close down the restaurant in few months) or finding a good honest compromise of what guests want and what we want offer?

We decided, for honesty and our love for our guests, the second way, offering a wide menu with a lot of choices, modifications and suggestions.
In fact when couples of italian (not expat or 1st generation overseas, i mean original from Italy) honeymooners ask us for a plate of REAL genuine italian food, we have no problems to cook on the spot something that we can NOT insert in the menu, with the risk to not sell it.

The problem with your review, dearest Ms.Cindalou, and a lot of other reviews on this website, is that are simply "generic", "approximated", "superficial" and of course deceptive and misleading for the other users that read our page to have a better idea on what we propose and offer.

"average Americanized? Italian food" has simply no meaning. What dish you didn't like? and why? what was you expecting? did you express this to any waitess or to the manager (me)?
I don't think so. This is the power (and sadness) of Tripadvisor, a guest, a Ms.Cindalou comes, shoot out her comment (generic, average, approximated, superficial and misleading), put her two balls on five, and leave...done, mission accomplished.

Why a lot of comments can't be constructive, suggesting, inspirating, clear and well explained? I have my opinion and my idea on this.
Generic and superficial comments are exactly the mirror of the mood with which the guest sat at our restaurant.

Good for you that you enjoyed the fantastic pies of our wonderful and exceptional neighbors in denarau marina. Most probably your acknowledge of food stops at mince pies and sausage rolls (with ALL the respect of our neighbors, my favourite bakery shop...)

Don't take it wrong Ms.Cindalou, but i think that your knowledge of real italian food can be summarised in one single word: "meh".
With all the love and respect
Stefano
Amalfi Italian Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Italian wasn't our first choice but I'm glad we ended up at this place. The pesto penne was to die for. The portions were a little on the small side , but I am a glutton so was probably just the right amount!
Definitely would eat here again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We had dinner here on our last nice in Fiji. I ordered the lobster pasta and it was cooked perfectly. It was a nice place to sit by the water. Great atmosphere.
We will definitely be coming back to this place in the future.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mel_L-D_33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We have eaten at this restaurant previously and the portions were on the small side but this time their servings have increased in size but not price and the quality and flavour is still there. It is a good Italian restaurant to eat at and they are very hard to find in Fiji, even their salads particularly the seafood salad was devine.

Thank happytimesGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amalfi Italian Restaurant also viewed

 
Denarau Island, Viti Levu
 
Denarau Island, Viti Levu
Denarau Island, Viti Levu
 

Been to Amalfi Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing