We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and hearty welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Estancia Pinos de la Quebrada
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Peaceful and hearty welcoming”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Estancia Pinos de la Quebrada is simply one of the best places I've been in my life. The place is run by the family that lives there. I must thank everybody for welcoming me. I had a really incredible time there, just chatting, relaxing and enjoying rural Uruguay. I already miss Valentina's food, which is delicious. There is no menu, just ask her what she can do and she will do it with passion and care. Martin and Rafael are also great hosts and their father, Jorge, is a man with lots of good life stories to tell. I must say I learned a lot with this man and he inspired me to follow my dreams.
What I can say more? the place is beautiful, with pine trees around (this is their main business), farm animals, dogs, nature and peace. At night you will see the most incredible sky with lots of shooting stars. Near the Estancia you can visit the National Park called Quebrada de los Cuervos that is also beautiful.
There is a swimming pool, table games, darts, pebolin, table tennis, a little gym. The house is very beautiful with a great decor.
I rented a car and also drove until the uruguayn coast (to Punta del Diablo) and totally recomend it.
It was hard to say goodbye to this place and these people. I really hope that one day I can come back with my wife.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eduardo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    10
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
27
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We were crossing Uruguay by car, and at last moment decided to find a place to rest for one night. Definetly "Pinos de La Quebrada" was an awesome surprise!
The brothers Martin and Rafael welcomed our family very hearty and made us feel home.
Good food, good bedrooms, and our kids loved to ride the horse and to play with the puppies after breakfast.
We really want to come back with the whole family (in-laws included) next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parolo-E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Maybe boring, but another 5 points review and this Estancia deserves it.
We stayed for 3 nights at this quiet, remote and beautyful Estancia, rooms are well decorated with home-made natural furniture, spacious with good beds and nice bathrooms.
Made hikes on this huge (450 hectares) property, also a very nice horseride with "multifunctional" Andrea because she also cooks you very nice dinners. Martin is the perfect host and will make sure that all your wishes are taken care off.
You feel instantly very at home within this working estancia because all the doors are open and you are a part of the family life.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Branko_Ingrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level Contributor
141 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Uruguay does not yet have a huge number of estancia's in the way that Argentina is reputed to have. But it seems it has a growing number fo them, and this one will certainly stand out as one of the best. Another is La Vigna near Colonia Suiza. It is out of the way: we clocked 4 hours from Montevideo, but we stopped half way for lunch and walking at Salto de los Penitentes (excellent restaurant) or you can also go to Villa Serrana (very close by) which also has a few excellent restaurants and inns. Coming back to the pousada: it is 30km from the town of Trinta y Tres (33), and 17 km from the turn off to Quebrada de los Cuervos ( a beautiful gorge well worth visiting in good weather). This is a private home, built in 450 hectares of American pine. Horses, cows, and an assortment of other wildlife greet you along the drive to the house which is about 3km rom the main road. Your host, martin, the son of the owners, will most likely be there to greet you and is part of the charm of the place as he takes care of you as if you were guests of the family. The accommodations are comfortable, spacious and very quite. Nothing super luxurious and what the locals here call "caseiro". But ist all fits together. Martin shows you around the house and explains everything to you. In winter there is a room with a huge fireplace where you can have meals prepared by the home's own chef. For larger groups he organises a chef from town and this is a house that is fantastic to rent with a group of friend or a large family for exclusive use. Martin also grew up in the USA so speaks very good English and his parents are also fluent in Portuguese. There is a swimming pool that is lovely and we had both an evening meal and lunch by the pool, both delicious, simple, home-cooked meals. There is a wine rack and you pick out what you want to drink, all at shop prices without a mark-up. There is a large selection of DVD's and a games room with table soccer, ping pong and billiards. The only thing which is not very reliable is the internet, explains Martin, but this is in the hands of the state monopoly. We took our bikes and had great paths for biking and also for hiking. A local gaucho is contracted for people who want to go on horse excursions. This is really a unique spot away from everything and a good point from which to explore or to make a stop-over. The touch that I loved the most was the non-denominational chapel (the first such locale I have ever seen) with copies of all the major religious books and spiritual citations on the wall of various philosophers and persons fo wisdom. You can feel the peace and the love reigning in this special place.

Room Tip: There is a lovely double room if it is free. Otherwise the other rooms are all doubles with one twin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArtProperty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

We found this on the internet and I knew it was going to be a good choice when I received a prompt reply to my queries before arrival. Driving up to the estate, you pass through several farm gates before reaching the estancia. We were fortunate to be the only guests so it was especially quiet and Martin upgraded us to a much larger room than we'd booked just because it was it was vacant which was very kind. There was plenty of storage and a large bathroom. The rooms are clean and look out onto the farm away from the main home. Martin made us feel very welcome, showing us around the house and making it clear that we were free to make use of the various well-appointed and interestingly furnished rooms.

The homestead is located within a huge pine plantation (400,000 trees) and there are animals roaming everywhere. Martin gave us a walking map of the estate with the option of going alone or coming with us. In the event, we couldn't find him, the house is so vast, so we enjoyed a lovely walk on our own down to the sawmill, through the pines and past grazing sheep, several horses, dogs, cats, and so on.

We ordered dinner - there's not much option really as it's about 35 kms to Treinta y Tres - but we were looking forward to a home-style meal anyway as we'd had so much deep fried meat and pasta in Uruguay. When asked what time we'd like dinner, we suggested 8pm even though we usually eat much earlier because we thought we'd be eating with the family and that they might eat late being Uruguay. This wasn't the case though so we should have said earlier because the meal didn't actually appear until 9.30pm. To be fair, we only ordered dinner on the day of arrival so they hadn't been given much notice. During the long wait, we made use of a games room which has table tennis, darts, a pool table and so on. I think there was some gym equipment there as well. Martin had also given us a bottle of wine on the house which was a very generous gesture. We still offered to pay the next day but he refused.

The 3 course meal was cooked & served by the maid. The home-made cheese & onion empanadas were delicious and very welcome as we were quite hungry by then. The main course arrived with 5 star presentation but unfortunately, and surprisingly, the meat was quite tough. It was still tasty despite taking quite an effort to cut it. I've mentioned this only in the interests of keeping my review completely honest and because Uruguay is so famous for its beef. There was a nice fresh salad and we were offered a range of desserts & our chosen selections were very yummy.

We'd been invited to just ask the maid if we wanted coffee made, etc. Personally, I like to have tea and coffee-making facilities in the room or at least a communal area where I can serve myself. The lady wasn't always present and it's always great if you can get to a coffee pot when you wake up.

We had a great nights' sleep in peaceful surroundings. In the morning, we headed back to the appointed dining area looking for breakfast and this time were invited into the family's dining room where 5 places were set. We ate our breakfast, the usual bread, jam, juice and coffee but no-one else joined us.

This is a hospitable, friendly, well-travelled family who speak fluent English. We had a thoroughly peaceful and relaxing time here and I have no hesitation recommending it to you.

Room Tip: All the rooms that we were shown looked fantastic and well-furnished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bilasukari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

It's actually challenging to write this review because words seem inadequate. This estancia is one of the most special places I've ever been. It's impossible to describe how lovely it is. If you are looking to get away from it all, you will be at the right place. There isn't a lot to do and that's the whole point. The two main activities are walking and horseback riding. There is also plenty of time for long chats or reading by the fire.

We stayed in the largest suite and it was incredibly romantic. The room was enormous with a separate seating area and it's own fire place. It was very clean. The housekeepers do a great job. You will probably get to know them since they also cook and serve the meals. We saw some of the other rooms that are designed for families or larger groups. These rooms were also very nice. If you are there with your special someone, I highly recommend the larger suite.

We also enjoyed the meals. It's a little scary to be at a place where there are no other dining options for miles away. You will love the delicious food at the estancia.

It's an incredibly magical place that is like no other and impossible to really describe. Go see it for yourself and see how much you love it. It's worth the long trip to Uruguay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jechath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for two nights at the beginning of our Honeymoon (we travelled through Uruguay & Argentina). I have to say it really was a highlight staying at the Estancia and especially being hosted by the beautiful Valentina & her husband Martin (also their sweet children, dogs, cats, horses, you name it!! all welcoming). The Estancia is really beautiful and the drive up to the residence is so fun crossing lots of land and eventually driving through their pine forest. We were shown are gorgeous enormous room at the back of the house, overlooking the vintage car collection & view of the horses roaming just outside our bedroom. The first night Valentina gave us lots of nice drinks and made a stunning dinner, honestly the best meals I had during our trip in Uruguay were in the Estancia, everything is homemade and delicious. We relaxed in their games room and watched DVDs. 2nd day we went horse riding twice and had a great walk through the pine forest. We really can't commend this place enough! We were made to feel very special during our stay there and it was worth every penny.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Helliebelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Treinta Y Tres
17.8 mi away
Treinta Y Tres
Treinta Y Tres
#1 of 1 in Treinta Y Tres
52 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hosteria Estancia La Paz
Hosteria Estancia La Paz
#1 of 5 in Paysandu
44 reviews
18.3 mi away
No photo provided
El Secreto Hotel Boutique
#3 of 3 in Treinta Y Tres
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Canada del Brujo
Canada del Brujo
#2 of 3 in Treinta Y Tres
4 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Estancia Pinos de la Quebrada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estancia Pinos de la Quebrada

Property: Estancia Pinos de la Quebrada
Address: Ruta 8, Km. 316 5, Treinta Y Tres 33000, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Treinta y Tres Department > Treinta Y Tres
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Treinta Y Tres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than 1100 acres of forest, slightly hilly landscape, fresh air and nature all around. Far away from the city noise, domestic and wild animals, and a variety of colorful birds, live together sharing the shelter of the pine trees. The Estancia belongs to them... We, human beings, are their guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Estancia Pinos de la Quebrada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing