We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Culebra excursion” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of East Island Excursions

East Island Excursions
Book In Advance
More Info
$113.00*
and up
Culebra Day Trip by Catamaran from Fajardo
Ranked #4 of 54 Tours in Fajardo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Snorkel the crystal clear Caribbean waters, explore our deserted cays, beautiful white sand beaches and then kick back on board and enjoy a sumptuous Lunch Buffet of fresh fruit, salads, fresh baked bread, sliced meats and cheeses. Top it off with a cold Pina Colada or our famous Tropical Rum Punch...that's The East Island Experience!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Eagleville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Culebra excursion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

This was our second excursion with East Island to Culebra. The snorkeling was a blast and the beach was beautiful. The company acquired a new boat which was more roomy AND air-conditioned! Food was great.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,524 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,225
    200
    45
    21
    33
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Anoka, Minnesota
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fun Times on the East Wind”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Took my wife and two sons (10 and 15) on the Icacos Sea and Snorkel trip out of Puerto Del Rey in Fajardo PR. The East Wind is a beautiful catamaran with plenty of seating with covered spaces, uncovered spaces, and front deck seating.

Our check in was quick and efficient at the dock, and we boarded before 10AM. We were supposed to leave at 10am, but a late family held us up until around 10:15-20am.

After finally pushing off, we took off for Icacos, a beautiful island with plenty of beach space and some decent beginner level snorkeling right of shore. They allowed you to roam the beach, snorkel, or enjoy the water slide attached to the back of the boat (it was a hit with all the kids aboard).

They served lunch around noon, cold cuts, chicken salad, chips, and toppings. Very good lunch (included) along with unlimited Rum drinks, iced tea, or Coke/Sprite (which was served all cruise long, the alcohol was served beginning with lunch).

After Icacos we moved to an open water snorkel site with much better snorkeling that had a better reef with less damage (Icacos reef is shallow so many people stand on it GRRRRR). Saw many fish, sting rays, and a turtle.

Overall, great trip with East Island and its crew on the East Wind. Very professional and efficient operation!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tolson70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebring, Florida
1 review
“AMAZING!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

East Island Excursions was top knotch! My wife and I visited PR from 6/28 back home on 7/4 and this was the first day trip on our itinerary. The crew of the Caribe Spirit was splendid, Capt Arturo, Levi, Kayla, Jason and DJ were very friendly and made everything fun and easy. YESSSS Dramamin is a must of you're sensitive to choppy waters. The 45 min boat ride to Culebra was rough and my wife had a hard time but the crew really helped out. Snorkeling was great, not alot of sea life but the coral reef was beautiful. Lunch was great too, cold cuts/sandwiches/chicken & tuna salad and pasta, chips and all the drinks (w or w/o alcohol) you wanna drink. This trip comes HIGHLY recomended, spend the money, relax and enjoy the entire day of fun. If i have the chance to go back, i definitely will!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dominick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“East Island Excursion to Icacos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We went on the Icacos daytrip which included time on a beautiful beach and snorkeling at a very cool reef. It was by far the best thing we did while we were in Puerto Rico!! They offered a free lunch and open rum bar which is included in the fee you pay for the trip. Well worth every penny! It was amazing and the crew was awesome!!! If you are looking for something to do Puerto Rico then this is the place to call :)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank 99RobinP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
110 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Good experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our family (2 adults a teen and a preteen) did the Culebra excursion on our most recent vacation to Puerto Rico. It was a really fun experience. Hotel pickup in San Juan was worth it at 15 per person. We were picked up a few minutes late due to traffic but no big deal, we made it to the dock in plenty of time.

Once there we had a short wait to check in (process was a little disorganized) and we were given our snorkeling fins and boarded. When everyone was ready we were off to the first snorkeling spot.

The power cat was a nice boat, clean and obviously well maintained. The only thing is that the ride out to Culebra can be quite choppy. Definitely take Dramamine if you are at all prone to motion sickness!

The initial snorkeling spot was fine, wouldnt say it was the greatest reef ever but there was beautiful water and different species of fish. We even saw a ray. Lunch was also served on this part of the trip. After a while we were off to Flamenco Beach. All I can say is wow, what a gorgeous beach. I could have stayed there forever. If you are a beach person you'll be in heaven. We had time to walk on the beach, snorkel and swim.

The staff and crew were all very nice and friendly and the drinks were good. Lunch was quality sandwiches and salads. We even got fresh cut fruit and some cookies for the ride back (which was much smoother).

Overall, a very nice day out on the water and the beach. It was a family friendly atmosphere and worth it. Hope this helps.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank nytraveler17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed East Island Excursions also viewed

 

Been to East Island Excursions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing