We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Moonlight Bay Hostel
Nearby Hotels
$140
$129
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$227
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Suenos del Mar(Fajardo)(Great Value!)
$140
$136
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$200
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn(Luquillo)(Great Value!)
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$250
$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hacienda Tamarindo(Isla de Vieques)
$167
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (196)
Filter reviews
196 results
Traveler rating
96
46
20
17
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
96
46
20
17
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspancake mixbunk roommorning ferryplace to stayrooftop terracewalking distance to the ferryconvenient locationcommon areasviequesnetflixlaundryseastaxis
Filter
Updating list...
132 - 137 of 196 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Great option (only option though) to stay in fajardo for a few nights for those who are planning to catch the ferry to the islands for day trips. A walking distance to the port, and the staff of the hostel are great. They can arrange a transfer for a fair price to San Juan or the Airport, or even to Las croabas if you are planning to do the bio bay tour in the evening.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iuri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

It was fine. Nothing great, but also not as bad as some reviews claim. There may be a pancake breakfast, but it's after the staff wakes up (which is not before the ferry leaves for Culebra or Vieques). We had the single room and the bed was comfortable with a decent shower in the morning. I always travel with earplugs, so I popped them in and slept soundly all night. The staff are middle aged guys from the US who like to tie one on at night, so don't be surprised if they offer you a beer at night or have one themselves. I'm an easy traveller, so I didn't mind the lax attitude. It is a hostel- not a hotel or motel- so don't expect 5 star amenities. If you're looking for a decent sleep close to the ferry so you can escape to the islands off the coast of PR, spend the extra bucks for a single room, bring your ear plugs, and loosen up. Not going to be the swankiest place you stay (may be the sketchiest), but if you just go with the flow you'll have a decent stay. Honestly, were there for just over 12 hours, which is (in my opinion) enough time in Fajaro for anyone! :)

Room Tip: Get the Single Room. It's worth it to be able to have privacy.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCRowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

This hostel alone turned our whole trip around from a great time to a miserable experience. I can't speak for everyone, but upon walking in we were greeted by some belligerent drunk people, which turned out to be the people running the hostel. Whatever, we had a couple beers, but not enough to drown out the yelling and slamming of doors all night. Got up in the morning and everyone was still passed out. No pancakes, unless you count the dog poop on the stairs and ants taking over the disaster from the night before. Took a shower, then went and sat down in the front room on what was apparently a couch made of nothing but fleas (unaware I had already been bitten by the moonlight bay bedbugs) I somehow started working the front desk as other guests left and had no one to check them out. One by one people handed me their keys and when we had to leave (at noon), still, no one was up so I eventually just left a bunch of keys on the main desk. I've been all over the Gulf and South America, but have never stayed anywhere as bad as this, ever.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PanchitoPistoles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

This was more like a hotel than a hostel. Much nicer than the other island type hostels on the island. Stayed at "island time" is San Juan which left much to be desired! This hostel had a really cool roof top terrace and umbrellas that was perfect for hanging out and meeting people! And did I mention it's like 200 feet from the ferry? Very convenient!

Room Tip: Choose a dorm to meet people or a private to have privacy!
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tylerconsult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

There is no all-you-can-eat pancake breakfast like their website claims. The floors, lobby, and bathrooms were dirty. There was a lot of garbage at the front entrance and the place looked a little sketchy when we first arrived. It doesn't look like there had been any updating in a long, long time.

Surprisingly the beds were clean and mattresses decent. Seven of us stayed in the 12 bed coed bunk room. The party was up on the roof so the rooms were quiet for sleeping. It was very, very close to the ferry, but I'd try staying somewhere else next time. There are no decent restaurants nearby. It wasn't worth $25/person. A hotel room would have been a better value for our group.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chizwuzhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews