We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hostel in Fajardo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moonlight Bay Hostel
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
449 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Nice hostel in Fajardo”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Great option (only option though) to stay in fajardo for a few nights for those who are planning to catch the ferry to the islands for day trips. A walking distance to the port, and the staff of the hostel are great. They can arrange a transfer for a fair price to San Juan or the Airport, or even to Las croabas if you are planning to do the bio bay tour in the evening.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iuri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    46
    19
    17
    16
See reviews for
9
60
49
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Healdsburg, California
1 review
Reviewed March 7, 2014

It was fine. Nothing great, but also not as bad as some reviews claim. There may be a pancake breakfast, but it's after the staff wakes up (which is not before the ferry leaves for Culebra or Vieques). We had the single room and the bed was comfortable with a decent shower in the morning. I always travel with earplugs, so I popped them in and slept soundly all night. The staff are middle aged guys from the US who like to tie one on at night, so don't be surprised if they offer you a beer at night or have one themselves. I'm an easy traveller, so I didn't mind the lax attitude. It is a hostel- not a hotel or motel- so don't expect 5 star amenities. If you're looking for a decent sleep close to the ferry so you can escape to the islands off the coast of PR, spend the extra bucks for a single room, bring your ear plugs, and loosen up. Not going to be the swankiest place you stay (may be the sketchiest), but if you just go with the flow you'll have a decent stay. Honestly, were there for just over 12 hours, which is (in my opinion) enough time in Fajaro for anyone! :)

Room Tip: Get the Single Room. It's worth it to be able to have privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCRowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

This hostel alone turned our whole trip around from a great time to a miserable experience. I can't speak for everyone, but upon walking in we were greeted by some belligerent drunk people, which turned out to be the people running the hostel. Whatever, we had a couple beers, but not enough to drown out the yelling and slamming of doors all night. Got up in the morning and everyone was still passed out. No pancakes, unless you count the dog poop on the stairs and ants taking over the disaster from the night before. Took a shower, then went and sat down in the front room on what was apparently a couch made of nothing but fleas (unaware I had already been bitten by the moonlight bay bedbugs) I somehow started working the front desk as other guests left and had no one to check them out. One by one people handed me their keys and when we had to leave (at noon), still, no one was up so I eventually just left a bunch of keys on the main desk. I've been all over the Gulf and South America, but have never stayed anywhere as bad as this, ever.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PanchitoPistoles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2014

This was more like a hotel than a hostel. Much nicer than the other island type hostels on the island. Stayed at "island time" is San Juan which left much to be desired! This hostel had a really cool roof top terrace and umbrellas that was perfect for hanging out and meeting people! And did I mention it's like 200 feet from the ferry? Very convenient!

Room Tip: Choose a dorm to meet people or a private to have privacy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tylerconsult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

There is no all-you-can-eat pancake breakfast like their website claims. The floors, lobby, and bathrooms were dirty. There was a lot of garbage at the front entrance and the place looked a little sketchy when we first arrived. It doesn't look like there had been any updating in a long, long time.

Surprisingly the beds were clean and mattresses decent. Seven of us stayed in the 12 bed coed bunk room. The party was up on the roof so the rooms were quiet for sleeping. It was very, very close to the ferry, but I'd try staying somewhere else next time. There are no decent restaurants nearby. It wasn't worth $25/person. A hotel room would have been a better value for our group.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chizwuzhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

It's possible, I suppose, that if we had gone on some other day of the week, or some other time of the year, things would have gone better. But we didn't. We went on the day we went, a Saturday night, that's all we have to go on, and it was an excruciatingly bad experience. It seems the people who run the place exercised absolutely no control over noise either from within or without. It was loud, loud, loud all night, crashingly loud music, expecially from the amped-up audio systems of cars parked outside, but also from inside the place. And nobody seemed to care.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobbieRannigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We stayed here because we were unsure when we'd be able to catch the ferry from Vieques to Fajardo, and wanted to make sure we had a place to sleep on that night. However, we didn't sleep. The bed was comfortable, as another reviewer mentioned, and the twenty-somethings all over the place (is this the only demographic that stays in hostels?) were polite -- until about 10 p.m. After that, the party in the lobby (and in the hallways and on the roofdeck and in the street) was incredibly loud and never-ending. In addition to the noise at the hostel, at least two of the locals' cars showed up on the street around 10:00, outfitted with the ear-splitting sound systems. They parked down the street and played a competing cacophony of merengue and salsa until after midnight. At that point, the volume decreased, but the party in the lobby continued in varying volumes until about 2 a.m. I'm a musician and I like all kinds of music, but this was just hell. All night I felt as though someone was threading a red-hot screw of iron through my head, from ear to ear. It was unbelievably inconsiderate of everyone, and I felt very sorry for the neighbors who endure this night after night, poor people! During the night, I felt trapped, not knowing the area and whether or not it would be safe to leave at 2 am. It took my head days to recover from this experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fajardo
0.3 mi away
The Fajardo Inn
The Fajardo Inn
#3 of 4 in Fajardo
982 reviews
6.4 mi away
Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn
13.5 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Hotel Yunque Mar
Hotel Yunque Mar
#2 of 3 in Luquillo
221 reviews
1.8 mi away
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.6 mi away
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonlight Bay Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonlight Bay Hostel

Property: Moonlight Bay Hostel
Address: 478 Calle Cometa, Fajardo 00740-2213, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Fajardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Fajardo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Moonlight Bay Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moonlight Bay Hostel was just voted "The Best Hostel In Puerto Rico" by HostelWorld, the largest hostel booking site in the world! The Moonlight Bay Hostel in Fajardo, Puerto Rico is brand new and was founded by experienced world travelers with knowledge of the needs and desires of the typical hostel guest. With over $30,000 in renovations/improvements, a brand new 1,600 sq ft rooftop terrace and the expertise gained from visiting hostels in over 60 countries, our founders have discovered what it takes to truly make a hostel a "Destination" in itself! Your stay at Moonlight bay Hostel includes:-FREE sleep on: Brand new premium memory foam mattresses.-FREE air conditioned rooms.-FREE "do it yourself" all you can eat pancake breakfast daily.-FREE coffee & tea -FREE access to our Wi-Fi hotspot.-FREE towels and linens provided.-FREE usage of our in room security lockers.-FREE access to the largest Roof Top Terrace in Puerto Rico!-FREE access to our Roof Top terrace!-FREE phone calls to the USA and Puerto Rico!-FREE secure luggage storage.-FREE monthly Full Moon Parties!-FREE hot water showers.-And for your convenience and protection, all rooms are keyed and our staff is on-site 24-hours a day.Located 60 yards from the Bay and a popular port cafe and Bar, Moonlight bay Hostel is a 2 minute walk to the Culebra & Vieques Island ferry! Our Superb location, giant roof top Terrace, brand new facilities and amazing prices make staying in a Fajardo hotel crazy! Our Amazing location also puts you closer to the Fajardo Bio Bay and El Yunque rainforest entrance than any other hostel in Puerto Rico!With '5-star' amenities, amazing staff, prime location and the biggest outside hostel gathering area in Puerto Rico there is no better place to stay in Fajardo so come join us to keep the Puerto Rican Party going! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Moonlight Bay Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moonlight Bay Hostel Puerto Rico/Fajardo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing