We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hostel experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moonlight Bay Hostel
philadelphia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect hostel experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

I stayed at Moonlight for three nights and thoroughly enjoyed my time there. The staff - Chris, Zach and the rest - were awesome and made sure every guest was never at a lack of things to do. I had originally only planned to stay for two nights, but couldn't resist spending one more night. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scott y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    46
    19
    17
    16
See reviews for
9
59
49
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Petersburg, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

This heavenly like hostel was my first destination when I arrived to Puerto Rico and became my last when I realized that this was the greatest place I have ever stayed. Being my third time traveling Puerto Rico I was very comfortable and ready for all the adventures; Moonlight Bay showed me wonderful activities, explorations, and thrills. I met amazing travelers from all around the world and we spent a lot of time at the hostel; either partying and BBQ'n on the roof, or watching movies and listening to music in the commons area. Sleeping arrangements were very comfortable and the place was very clean. It really had all the amenities one would need to feel like home. I will go here to die.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zachary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for two nights and my only regret is not staying longer! The beds are extremely comfortable. We contemplated staying in Culebra for a night but quickly dismissed that idea when we realized how comfortable we were in our room and again, our beds! The place is modern and clean. All 3 of the staff members were awesome and they made you feel like you're at home! They were very kind, helpful, resourceful and fun! They pointed us to exactly what we were looking for and where we wanted to go. I would definitely go back again and spend more time exploring that part of the island. Great job MoonLight!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Port Richey, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

So, let me just start off by saying that I had a great time!!! This is one of the cleanest Hostels I've ever stayed at... and I've been around! ;) The staff was very helpful on making sure i got tickets to the ferry on a weekend! Even made the call to Corbin Power Sports to reserve tickets so that i wouldn't have to wait in line! They pointed me in the direction to this cool bar that's down the street that's a 10 min ferry ride to a little island. All in all, I had a really nice time with the guests who were staying at the hostel! Cool crowed! Ill definitely be making my way back here and hopefully doing some work/stay to travel the island a bit more! O.... and the rooftop has an awesome view and AMAZING breeze!!

Room Tip: I stayed in the 6 bed Mixed and it was just enough people to have a nice time but not too many to wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RivsLuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

I had a great time staying at this hostel. It was a 2 minute walk from the ferry dock to Culebra, so it was in a great location. The rooftop patio was fun to hang out on. The hostel was very clean and there was plenty of hot water in the bathrooms. All in all it was a great hostel to stay in.

Room Tip: If you want privacy, stay in one of the private rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Unless you must stay in Fajardo to get to Vieques or Culebra I wouldn't suggest staying here.

As far as the hostel goes, we got the feeling that we were begging them for a place to stay even though the hostel was booked and paid for. No one want's to feel like they are unwanted in a place, especially when they are paying to stay there.

They shouldn't advertise breakfast, because it's just pancakes on a griddle in a small, dirty kitchen. The rooms have NO ventilation and there were beer bottles underneath the bed.

As far as the staff goes, the tall, heavy guy and and the girl who works there seemed unhappy by our presence. I'm not sure why, as I have never seen them before. The girl even tried to remind us about "not taking towels", after giving us very dirty ones. Yet it seemed like a regular occurrence for them to sleep on the hallway couches and/or any unoccupied rooms.

While the rest of the staff was quite rude, the short guy with black hair was very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: If you're staying at this hostel just to get to Vieques or Culebra, simply go to the surf shop a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pgbk87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

This was really an excellent place to stay when you are spending most of your time in Puerto Rico traveling or on the beach anyway. Comfortable beds (really), warm showers, and clean accomodations were really all we wanted. Also only a 3 min walk to the Fajardo-Culebra, Fajardo-Vieques ferry station, and you really have to get there early (5am for the 9am ferry) to get tickets, so it helps to be only 3 min away... We ended up standing in line in shifts so some of the early folks went back to the hostel and went back to sleep after their shift... I would definitely recommend it - bathrooms are private and clean, off the main hallway, and because we were a big group and it wasn't too crowded, we had one room to ourselves!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shilpsmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fajardo
0.3 mi away
The Fajardo Inn
The Fajardo Inn
#3 of 3 in Fajardo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
6.4 mi away
Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn
13.5 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.5 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
1.8 mi away
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.6 mi away
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonlight Bay Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonlight Bay Hostel

Property: Moonlight Bay Hostel
Address: 478 Calle Cometa, Fajardo 00738, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Fajardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Fajardo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Moonlight Bay Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moonlight Bay Hostel was just voted "The Best Hostel In Puerto Rico" by HostelWorld, the largest hostel booking site in the world! The Moonlight Bay Hostel in Fajardo, Puerto Rico is brand new and was founded by experienced world travelers with knowledge of the needs and desires of the typical hostel guest. With over $30,000 in renovations/improvements, a brand new 1,600 sq ft rooftop terrace and the expertise gained from visiting hostels in over 60 countries, our founders have discovered what it takes to truly make a hostel a "Destination" in itself! Your stay at Moonlight bay Hostel includes:-FREE sleep on: Brand new premium memory foam mattresses.-FREE air conditioned rooms.-FREE "do it yourself" all you can eat pancake breakfast daily.-FREE coffee & tea -FREE access to our Wi-Fi hotspot.-FREE towels and linens provided.-FREE usage of our in room security lockers.-FREE access to the largest Roof Top Terrace in Puerto Rico!-FREE access to our Roof Top terrace!-FREE phone calls to the USA and Puerto Rico!-FREE secure luggage storage.-FREE monthly Full Moon Parties!-FREE hot water showers.-And for your convenience and protection, all rooms are keyed and our staff is on-site 24-hours a day.Located 60 yards from the Bay and a popular port cafe and Bar, Moonlight bay Hostel is a 2 minute walk to the Culebra & Vieques Island ferry! Our Superb location, giant roof top Terrace, brand new facilities and amazing prices make staying in a Fajardo hotel crazy! Our Amazing location also puts you closer to the Fajardo Bio Bay and El Yunque rainforest entrance than any other hostel in Puerto Rico!With '5-star' amenities, amazing staff, prime location and the biggest outside hostel gathering area in Puerto Rico there is no better place to stay in Fajardo so come join us to keep the Puerto Rican Party going! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Moonlight Bay Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moonlight Bay Hostel Puerto Rico/Fajardo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing