We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New place, clean , good location, friendly staff !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moonlight Bay Hostel
San Jose, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“New place, clean , good location, friendly staff !!”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The new private room was offered to us at a very reasonable rate and we had a very pleasant stay. The staff present was friendly and helpful. We spent most of the night on the roof top chatting up with other residents. Overall a very pleasant experience. Thank you for hosting us at a short notice

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ppshetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    46
    20
    17
    16
See reviews for
9
61
49
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Sam was fantastic--from coordinating our late arrival to giving us tips about the area and being an accomodating host. The hostel beds are comfortable, and the energy of the place is young, vibrant, and welcoming.

There is plenty of street parking outside of the hostel; it is in the residential area, and quite safe. We left our car there during our 4-day stay to Vieques and returned with no problems. The hostel itself is an easy walk to the ferry, and also about a 15 minute taxi ride to the airport that will take you to Vieques.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emkaybe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Cool hostel, super clean and super comfortable. Cool people and a great place to catch the ferry to Vieques or Culebra. Highly recoomend this place to young or old. I ended up playing poker and having a few drinks with a few guests and a few of the staff...oh how I miss cheap rum in PR : )

Room Tip: Book ahead if you can, especially during high season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ParkerWoodward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

The hostel is brand-new and in a great location, within a 2 min walk to the ferry! I had a blast on the roof-top patio and met some really cool people. Every night they grill burgers and sell drinks on the patio. The beds are new and comfortable and everything is clean. The staff was great, especially the big guy, Chris. They hung out with us and were very helpful in giving us recommendations for local restaurants to eat at and they even helped us arrange a tour of the rain forest.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This past June, I inhabited Moonlight Bay for twelve convivial days. The affable staff provided an exemplary atmosphere of immaculacy, whilst emanating a collective consciousness driven by adventurousness and cachinnation, rarely found in the hostels and guest houses of Western Civilization.

Live like a boss for only 25 bucks a day. Stay at Moonlight Bay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The hotel was pretty new. It was clean. It was close to the ferry for Culebra and Veiques. I stayed in the mixed-dorm. However, I think it was too many beds in one room. They might have the limited space. They had a small area for the shared kitchen that you can use the refrigerator or the microwave.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goodidear999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 8, 2013

This place is Def worth the Price and is much cheaper than anything else in the general area! The main Highlights are the huge roof top terrace, the memory foam beds, the fact that they are within a stones throw of the Ferry! A perfect base to explore Culebra and Veiques! as there is not a Non shady place that is under $150 to stay on the other islands! Plus this place has burgers for sale and an all you can eat pancake breakfast included in the price! it cant be beat!

Room Tip: our room was great! cold Ac and sick beds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jerome g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fajardo
0.3 mi away
The Fajardo Inn
The Fajardo Inn
#3 of 4 in Fajardo
988 reviews
6.4 mi away
Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn
13.5 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.6 mi away
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
9.0 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonlight Bay Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonlight Bay Hostel

Property: Moonlight Bay Hostel
Address: 478 Calle Cometa, Fajardo 00740-2213, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Fajardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Fajardo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Moonlight Bay Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moonlight Bay Hostel was just voted "The Best Hostel In Puerto Rico" by HostelWorld, the largest hostel booking site in the world! The Moonlight Bay Hostel in Fajardo, Puerto Rico is brand new and was founded by experienced world travelers with knowledge of the needs and desires of the typical hostel guest. With over $30,000 in renovations/improvements, a brand new 1,600 sq ft rooftop terrace and the expertise gained from visiting hostels in over 60 countries, our founders have discovered what it takes to truly make a hostel a "Destination" in itself! Your stay at Moonlight bay Hostel includes:-FREE sleep on: Brand new premium memory foam mattresses.-FREE air conditioned rooms.-FREE "do it yourself" all you can eat pancake breakfast daily.-FREE coffee & tea -FREE access to our Wi-Fi hotspot.-FREE towels and linens provided.-FREE usage of our in room security lockers.-FREE access to the largest Roof Top Terrace in Puerto Rico!-FREE access to our Roof Top terrace!-FREE phone calls to the USA and Puerto Rico!-FREE secure luggage storage.-FREE monthly Full Moon Parties!-FREE hot water showers.-And for your convenience and protection, all rooms are keyed and our staff is on-site 24-hours a day.Located 60 yards from the Bay and a popular port cafe and Bar, Moonlight bay Hostel is a 2 minute walk to the Culebra & Vieques Island ferry! Our Superb location, giant roof top Terrace, brand new facilities and amazing prices make staying in a Fajardo hotel crazy! Our Amazing location also puts you closer to the Fajardo Bio Bay and El Yunque rainforest entrance than any other hostel in Puerto Rico!With '5-star' amenities, amazing staff, prime location and the biggest outside hostel gathering area in Puerto Rico there is no better place to stay in Fajardo so come join us to keep the Puerto Rican Party going! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Moonlight Bay Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moonlight Bay Hostel Puerto Rico/Fajardo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing