We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Rainforest experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
El Hotelito at the Rainforest Experience Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Real Rainforest experience!”
Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

Run on rain water and solar power, this place is beautiful. Open space set up. They fed us breakfast and dinner and had a nice little bar. There are no tv's and we lived by candlelight and the sun. We could use a charging station for our phones but other than that, the entertainment is up to you. There is a nice hiking trail on the property that holds the mos beautiful foliage. There are three dogs on site. Super friendly. Don't be surprised if the lizards and frogs come to visit at night. They sing you to sleep.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elaterra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    41
    19
    13
    21
See reviews for
29
127
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

I can't say enough great things about this place. Beautiful setting, accommodating hosts, clean and comfortable rooms... It was the highlight of our trip. Unfortunately we only spent one night but I will be back. I travel often and have pretty high standards, and I rarely ever write reviews so you know they are doing something right!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Katielzx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

The location just can't be better. It is in the heart of the Jungel, at the top a mountain, with an amaizing vue to the Ocean, to Culebra and Vieques Ilands. If you would like to feel yourself sourrounded with nature, plantation and bird singing, this is just the right place to be. As it is an Eco Village, don't be nervous, if you have to wait for the water sometimes, it is not serious. The rooms has amaizing vue, the hause has a calm, fliendly atmosphere, so you can jus relax, calm yourself. The owner is taking care of you, He is cooking amaizingly, so to order a dinner from Him is highly recomended! The rooms are large, clean and beautifully furnished. All in all this was one of the most romantic place I have ever been.

Room Tip: Try to choose rooms on the floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marietta F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I can't really add much to what others have said in favorable reviews of this hotel, but it was by far the highlight of my time in Puerto Rico. I'll be staying there again.

Regarding the unpaved road to the top of the mountain, our taxi driver (driving a large van) was originally hesitant about making the full climb, but did so anyway for a bit more money (from Fajardo it was $40; El Hotelito->Rio Grande was $60 the next day, though I get the feeling I could have bargained him down a bit for that second trip). If you do not rent a car, be prepared to pay slightly more to get dropped off at the top than you would for other destinations of equal distance, though your mileage may vary.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ECZ-NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

The location offers breath taking views and the guest house is beautifully designed so there is no space in the house with out a view. The staff, and even the dogs are friendly and welcoming. Staying here felt more, like visiting friends than staying in a hotel. Definitely hope to return. Rooms are very comfortable and clean. It is a bit of a steep drive to get to, but worth it and, provided you arrive before dark not really a problem.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flg8rot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leverett, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

A handsome, two-story lodge with 6-7 guest rooms, owned/managed by Raphael, an enterprising and gracious, US university-educated young man. The approach on narrow, winding, unpaved road to the mountaintop location was challenging in our rental car--one should be sure to arrive in daylight. We thoroughly enjoyed our modestly-priced buffet supper shared with interesting guests--conversations in Spanish, English, French and German around a long communal table on the sheltered veranda looking out to sea and the twinkling lights of Fajardo. Complimentary breakfast was simple but sufficient. The cool stone floors, the gentle rain through the night, the sounds of frogs and birds, the luxurious foliage everywhere--El Hotelito will be our beautiful rainforest experience, NOT our miserable and quickly abandoned visit the next morning to El Yunque, crawling with tourists and woefully inadequate to accommodate the crowds.

Room Tip: Rooms do not have sufficient electric power to operate medical devices such as used for sleep apnea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RedSoxFan100341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 18, 2014

El Hotelito is a fantastic bed and breakfast. It's very simple, eco-friendly, charming, and seamlessly blends into the tropical mountainside. If you want a relaxing and quiet stay with breathtaking views, this is the place. They provide a nice breakfast which is included with your stay, and dinner for a small cost, if you like. The owners (a father and son) were very welcoming, accommodating, and very knowledgeable about the surrounding area.
Getting there is a little tricky for city-slickers like me because you have to go up a somewhat rural mountain road. I recommend getting there before dark if it's your first time. But follow the directions on the hotel website - they're perfect. We were able to get up in a regular car with no problems. Once you're up the road, it's so worth it because of the stunning views. The hotel is very eco-friendly and environmentally passive, relying on solar panels and collected rain water. They're basically off the grid. I really appreciate this, because they're doing their part to preserve Puerto Rico's natural environment. There are no TVs, Wi-Fi is only on the first floor, and you should be mindful of how much water you're using when showering. If you don't mind unplugging for a bit and staying in paradise, the lack of TV or a long hot shower shouldn't bother you.
It's also good base for exploring other areas of Puerto Rico, especially if you plan on going to El Yunque Rain Forest.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fajardo
4.9 mi away
The Fajardo Inn
The Fajardo Inn
#3 of 4 in Fajardo
986 reviews
4.7 mi away
Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn
10.3 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
6.3 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
5.9 mi away
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Hotelito at the Rainforest Experience Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Hotelito at the Rainforest Experience Farm

Property: El Hotelito at the Rainforest Experience Farm
Address: Flower Farm Rout 984 km. 3.1 Mundo Tropical | Barrio Naranjo, Fajardo 00738, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Fajardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Fajardo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — El Hotelito at the Rainforest Experience Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The main house consists of seven spacious rooms, a dining room with bar, a living room, and a library. All open out onto to the lawn and swimming pool. Relax in peace and quiet while enjoying the sound of the wind in the trees on one of the chaise lounges or swaying in a hammock in this tranquil retreat. Our Hotel has been planned and designed for the enjoyment of individuals with a strong ecological interest and a need for peaceful coexistence with nature. ALL our electricity is solar, the water comes from the rain and a well, and the entire farm is completely organic and always has been! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your El Hotelito at the Rainforest Experience Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Hotelito At The Rainforest Experience Farm Puerto Rico/Fajardo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing