We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Views, peace and quiet!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Hotelito at the Rainforest Experience Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 5, 2013

If you are looking for a relax, eco friendly environment with great views, temperature and comfort, this is the right place. We'll return as soon as possible. I haven't sleep so good in a long time. Cool natural air and forest sounds are a symphony for the soul. Thanks Rafa, for your great company, you are a great host, and a wonderful cook. See you soon!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeroma43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (233)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 233 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013

This simple, elegant, and refreshing inn/B&B teeters on the edge of El Yunque, the only tropical rainforest in the US Forest Service. Just minutes from Fajardo, it is the perfect getaway spot with outstanding views from private balconies. The floor plan is as open and welcoming as the inn's hosts. My wife and I stayed here on a return trip from Vieques and it was a very welcome change from the central Fajardo hotel we stayed in prior to heading out to the island. Bring a good book, a bottle of wine, and be prepared to be soothed by the sounds of the rainforest.

Room Tip: Arrive during the day - this hotel is NOT someplace you want to be headed to in the dark!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Climbing up the road to get to El Hotelito is a bit of an adventure, but once you get there, this "little hotel" is a postcard-worthy haven in a private flower preserve. More inn/B&B than hotel, El Hotelito provides a more intimate take on the landscape and the locals. While we were there, Rafael Sr.'s gregarious son, Rafael Jr., folded us into the mix with a warm welcome, extending us an invitation to taste his father's homemade smoked pork and chat through the evening about everything and anything.

My husband and I meandered down the freshly-macheted path into the rainforest to marvel at the hundreds--no, thousands--of blooming tropical flowers, and upon our return, we relaxed in the peaceful oasis that is El Hotelito.

No TV, no distractions, the sound of the coqui frogs lulled us to sleep.

This is the place to be to disconnect with the frivolous and reconnect with nature and your travel companions.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back of the house might offer a better breeze for nighttime slumber. Also, note tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GwendolineVanDoossel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

what a find! way up on the mountain, surrounded by the rain forest, with fabulous views towards the ocean - this place is absolutely unique. not luxurious, but very comfortable and totally relaxing. the lower level has no walls, so you sit at the bar or in the lounge and it's as if you are in the garden. the pool is a few steps away. but the best part is the owner - Rafael. We hit it off from the second we arrived and enjoyed every minute of our time with him. very knowledgeable about all things Puerto Rico - he knows everyone and guided us to places he goes for dinner recommended activities which made our stay delightfully pleasant. loved it!
if like us, you shun away from resorts and big hotels and want an authentic experience in an eco friendly environment - this is it. we will be back!

Room Tip: book directly by calling the owner rather than through booking.com and Rafael will guide you to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eiran G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

AWESOME! simple... relaxing... peaceful... naturally beautiful. def would stay again. This is not your hilton or marriott which is exactly what I was looking for. El Hotelito is a place you go to and forget all your worries... the sounds of the coquis & owls are priceless. I love how everything is eco friendly think green. After staying here it just goes to show you we all live way beyond our means. If I could stay I would. :) Dont worry about getting to El Hotelito... fyi the roads are not paved so dont go looking for golden path to lead you there. The road is good enough to make the trip in a car & you do not need a 4x4 people exaggerate. Def. recommend and I do look forward to another stay. Look 4 Max hes such a sweet boy and of course lil Miss Nina.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NenaPrieta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrbenitez, General Manager at El Hotelito at the Rainforest Experience Farm, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

NenaPrieta,

Thank you so much for taking time to review our property. I am very happy that you enjoyed your time with us and hope we can see you again soon!

Regards,

-Rafael

P.S. Nina and Max say hi!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We were only able to stay one night, but wished we could have at least stayed for a few. It is tucked away up in the hills of the rainforest surrounded by lush greenery. It is not the easiest place to find, but that was half the fun - it proves how exclusive it really it. I would recommend renting an SUV if you know you are coming here, but its not necessary. We drove up in our Hyundai Sonata rental and made it just fine. Rafael, the owner was very kind and helpful. He made delicious pizza for the house guests the night we stayed. (I think it costed us around $10 a person or so). The house architecture was very charming and exquisite. We loved the openness of it - the only walls were on the bedrooms, everything else was open! We sat on the patio and relaxed while gazing at the breathtaking views and listening to the frogs and wildlife chirp away. I would highly recommend this place if you like to meet new people, try new things, and escape from the hustle and bustle of the city. Thanks for your hospitality Rafael!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tiffany K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrbenitez, General Manager at El Hotelito at the Rainforest Experience Farm, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Tiffany K,

Thank You for taking your time and review our property. I am so very happy that you enjoyed your stay. In the future please come see us again and as you said on your review you should stay for longer!

Thank you , thank you for being our guest, we truly appreciate you staying with us!

-Rafael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

If you want to experience the real Puerto Rico, this is the place to go. This lovely small hotel is located away from the city, right next to the rainforest, and offers beautiful views of the surrounding areas. El Hotelito has its unique wonderful charm mirrored in the architecture and furniture, it is open to all sides and this way you can really appreciate being within nature. At night you will sleep hearing the birds, frogs and other local animals….. it felt like a real jungle experience. And who cares that there is not always hot water in the shower, this is not the reason to go to a place like this. You rather go there for the AUTHENTIC Puerto Rican Experience!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judith N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrbenitez, Owner at El Hotelito at the Rainforest Experience Farm, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank You,,,,,Thank You,,,,,Thank You,,,,,,,,We need more people like you in this World. Rafael, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fajardo hotels
4.9 mi away
The Fajardo Inn
The Fajardo Inn
#3 of 4 in Fajardo
1,003 reviews
6 mi away
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
5.9 mi away
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Suenos del Mar
Suenos del Mar
#2 of 5 in Fajardo
41 reviews
5.1 mi away
Moonlight Bay Hostel
Moonlight Bay Hostel
#3 of 5 in Fajardo
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Hotelito at the Rainforest Experience Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Hotelito at the Rainforest Experience Farm

Address: Flower Farm Rout 984 km. 3.1 Mundo Tropical | Barrio Naranjo, Fajardo 00738, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Fajardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Fajardo
Price Range: $135 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Hotelito at the Rainforest Experience Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The main house consists of seven spacious rooms, a dining room with bar, a living room, and a library. All open out onto to the lawn and swimming pool. Relax in peace and quiet while enjoying the sound of the wind in the trees on one of the chaise lounges or swaying in a hammock in this tranquil retreat. Our Hotel has been planned and designed for the enjoyment of individuals with a strong ecological interest and a need for peaceful coexistence with nature. ALL our electricity is solar, the water comes from the rain and a well, and the entire farm is completely organic and always has been! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your El Hotelito at the Rainforest Experience Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Hotelito At The Rainforest Experience Farm Puerto Rico/Fajardo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing