We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“This place would be perfect if only...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Hotelito at the Rainforest Experience Farm

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Hotelito at the Rainforest Experience Farm
Ponce, Puerto Rico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“This place would be perfect if only...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

It wasn't managed by the owner who is arrogant and rude. Unfortunately he seems to think that the spectacular views and elegant decor overshadow the fact that his hospitality is terrible. One would think that anyone in the hotel business or HOSPITALITY industry would know that guests not only pay for the physical space that the stay but for the service and how they get treated. In additon, ironically this guy claims to have the only Eco-friendly lodging on the Island (not true, there are others) yet he chains smokes 24-7 in the common areas. So, while you're trying to get a "breath of fresh air" what you really end up inhailing is a cloud of second hand smoke. I have him to thank for the congestion and headache I came home with.

I would like to say that I will return, but I wont at least not as long as this guy is managing the place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank soyquiensoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrbenitez, Owner at El Hotelito at the Rainforest Experience Farm, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for mentioning the " spectacular views and elegant decor " of El Hotelito. In no way i am arrogant or rude to our guests, but i expect guests to behave like normal educated human beings and if your behavior affects the peace, tranquility and safety of other guests , I have to intervene. Because you bought a prepaid discount package does not mean its a free for all . There are rules , like no portable stoves in the rooms, which this guest insisted on using, there are no services , food or bar, from 10:00am to 5:00 pm, but she insisted on requesting food and soft drinks constantly, so therefore our "hospitality is terrible ". The other four couples staying this weekend were very happy and enjoyed El Hotelito .
Yes i use to be a heavy smoker, but never in public areas, it is against the law in Puert Rico, and there are four no smoking allowed signs in the public areas. My room and the chaise lounges by the pool were my smoking stations.
Of course there are other EcoFriendly lodges in Puerto Rico, but El Hotelito is also completely disconected from the grid ( energy and water ) and conserving in its natural state 25 acres of rainforest,,and in this respect we are the only one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    32
    15
    12
    20
See reviews for
27
112
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Beautiful view and place. The hotel is actually a big house or mansion with great look all around. However, there was no warm water to take a decent shower, problems with light sockets. We couldn't charge our phones or anything. No wireless network. Very low pressure with water in every room. I woke up late at night (I think it was a Friday) and went to take a shower, there was no water until 8am on the next day. Also, the owner's hospitality was horrible in many aspects. He had very unpleasant manner with us and another couple. If you like an owner that disrespects you to a personal level and tries to get away with it with: "we're only joking, right?", then this is your guy. It is really sad, because it is really a beautiful place (I can't lie in spite of everything that we went through), but I also paid for great hospitality, and I can honestly say it was miserable. And it was strange, because my wife and I were nothing but nice to him and warm, nevertheless he found a way to insult us again and again.
I'll come back, sure... but not with this manager/owner in charge.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Isael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrbenitez, Owner at El Hotelito at the Rainforest Experience Farm, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
This couple bought a discount package of three days two nights at El Hotelito and decided they could do whatever they wanted , disregarding the rules of normal behavior and the rights of other guests. No , I am not rude and do treat guests very respectfully and try to be as polite as possible, but i do run a very professional and serious place . What can i say about a couple that departs very early in the morning without paying their dinner and steal two towels ? So I understand this review is in retaliation to my effort in collecting what they owed. It is very strange they mention all kind of problems in this review but never complained or made me aware of them while being here. The four other couples staying that weekend had a wonderfull time and never complained on any problems.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Can't say enough good things about El Hotelito! If you are looking to relax, unwind, and fall asleep to the song of the coqui than this quaint place is waiting for you. Rainforest views are breathtaking and the owners hospitality is unmatched by any other in the area. My husband and I enjoyed our stay and look forward to coming back again!

Room Tip: You will have a spectacular view from any where at El Hotelito
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fajardo
4.7 mi away
The Fajardo Inn
The Fajardo Inn
#3 of 3 in Fajardo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
4.5 mi away
Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn
6.0 mi away
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
11.1 mi away
El Escondido Guest House
El Escondido Guest House
#1 of 2 in Canovanas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
6.2 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Hotelito at the Rainforest Experience Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Hotelito at the Rainforest Experience Farm

Property: El Hotelito at the Rainforest Experience Farm
Address: Flower Farm Rout 984 km. 3.1 Mundo Tropical, Bo. Naranjo, Fajardo 00738, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Fajardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Fajardo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Hotelito at the Rainforest Experience Farm 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The main house consists of seven spacious rooms, a dining room with bar, a living room, and a library. All open out onto to the lawn and swimming pool. Relax in peace and quiet while enjoying the sound of the wind in the trees on one of the chaise lounges or swaying in a hammock in this tranquil retreat. Our Hotel has been planned and designed for the enjoyment of individuals with a strong ecological interest and a need for peaceful coexistence with nature. ALL our electricity is solar, the water comes from the rain and a well, and the entire farm is completely organic and always has been! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your El Hotelito at the Rainforest Experience Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Hotelito At The Rainforest Experience Farm Puerto Rico/Fajardo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing