We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cruise ship on land”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Fajardo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2011

After spending three days at this "resort" I was wondering why Waldorf Astoria would even put their name on it. The grounds of the hotel are it's only redeeming characteristic. From the moment we walked into the room I was immediately disappointed. The room felt like a poorly designed and outdated timeshare. The furniture was cheaply made and our bedroom's interior door was broken and leaning against the wall. Apart from the terrible room the food was worse. If you wanted to eat anything you had to visit what I called "the cruise ship on land." This "cruise ship" was the main hotel that required a golf cart ride to get to. Once there it was overcrowded, noisy and stocked full of poorly prepared and bland tasting meals. In order to get anything worth eating we had to leave the compound ($60 round trip) and venture to local spots with much better food, and vastly cheaper in price. The last thing I would like to add is the difficulty involved in getting to the beach. The trip in its entirety takes 40 min and once there you are treated to a white sand beach with 2000 other hotel guests. The hotel has its own island and I swear they tried to fit every hotel guest on the island at the same time. I would recommended looking somewhere else on PR to stay or bypass PR altogether.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank FloridaDays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria V, Manager at Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2017

Thank you for sharing with us your feedback!

Cordially,

Maria Vega

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,683)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,398 - 1,404 of 1,683 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2011

When my extended family (grandparens, parents, young children) returned to Las Casitas this year (read my previous posting), we all noted within the first few days significant improvements. Our initial greeting and ease of check in was followed by efficient butler service. Our room with stocked on the first days with all the food and drinks requested. The concierge took care of all extras (e.g. roll away beds) needed. Food and bar service to the pool as well as poolside lunch was now timely. Housekeeping scheduled turndown service according to our request based upon the children's bedtime. The staff is friendly and the grounds are magnificient. The beach and the water park are a bonus. It doesn't get better!

We are already planning next years trip.

Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
Thank eatrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria V, Manager at Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2017

Thank you for your Five "5" Star Review.

Sincerely,

Maria Vega

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2011

The "2-bedroom casita" we booked was actually 2 units separated by a small foyer. It felt strange to have our 2 children sleeping next door rather than in the same unit as us. We were told upon check-out that the South portion of Las Casitas Village has actual 2-bedroom casitas and is newer (7 years old) and nicer. We asked for a change of room after the 1st night and were told nothing was available with an ocean view - which we were not willing to give up. So the casita was very dated and not luxurious. A/C did not work properly so we were either freezing or sweating the entire time. Called it in but no one ever showed to fix/adjust the thermostats. The food at every restaurant we tried was okay (not superior) and ridiculously overpriced. We know fine dining and don't mind paying for it. This was not fine dining. All of the people who work at Las Casitas and El Conquistador were very pleasant. The place is so spread out that you have to walk quite a bit (up and down many staircases) to get from one area to another. The beach is a long walk, an elevator ride, a funicular ride (down the cliff), and a ferry ride away. Not very convenient at all. During our 1 week stay we went to the beach only once because it was a hassle. The pools are not heated and with the wind whipping around us at 20 or 30 mph all week it would have helped a great deal to have a heated pool. The water park is ridiculously over priced for 3 slides and a lazy river. Guests should be allowed to use it without being charged at all. The water park is also a long walk, elevator, and funicular ride away from Las Casitas. We found two huge water bugs in our casita on 2 separate occasions (1 dead, 1 nearly dead). There are no screens on the windows or doors to the balconies so you cannot leave them open. The shades on the windows are falling apart. We found broken glass on the floor in the bedroom that our children were in which must have been there from a previous guest. Housekeeping did not have vacuum cleaners - only brooms and damp mops so they did not do a great job of cleaning. Food at outside eateries was also less than excellent. We tried Metropol and Estacion. The burger at Metropol was dry and tasteless. The mosquitos and cats dodging around Estacion made it difficult to enjoy our meals. All in all we spent a great deal of money at a hotel that did not meet our expectations.

Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
1  Thank 1smartmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria V, Manager at Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2017

Thank you for sharing with us your feedback!

Cordially,

Maria Vega

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2011

We had a wonderful stay here. Staff was great, room on the ocean beautiful, adjacent to the El Conquistador so plenty to do. I would recommend the breakfast buffet but the resort restaurants were very pricey and food very average. I would recomment going to some local places such as the La Estacion and Pasion, both authentic, great food and reasonably prices. Be sure you're prepared to pay the resort fee, an added charge at checkout.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BruceAMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria V, Manager at Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2017

Thank you for your Five "5" Star Review.

Sincerely,

Maria Vega

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2011

The Golden Door Spa was wonderful and I took an excellent yoga class with Rita. The cardio/weight room is not large but well-equipped. The locker rooms were very pleasant and the spa boutique staff very helpful.

The pools in Las Casitas are very pretty and peaceful but in need of better cleaning and upkeep. Nothing appalling but enough plastic cups and bottles left hanging around to be disappointing and unpleasant. The pool scene at El Conquistador wasn't really what we were looking for-better for singles and families with older kids.

The setting is beautiful. Palomino Island was pleasant but unexpectedly crowded with slow food and drink service. (This was not the fault of the gentleman working at the beach. He was all alone and overwhelmed by sheer numbers.) The restaurants were generally unimpressive as far as service and food quality.

The rooms are dated and need a completely thorough cleaning and re-upholstering. We had a lot of difficulty checking in and left feeling that we had lost half a day of vacation due to the delay in cleaning our room and poor communication between Las Casitas and El Conquistador.

We found the prevailing staff attitude to be disinterest and apathy. We jokingly called it the "can't do" attitude. We may be spoiled because we typically stay at Four Seasons resorts. Our experience here has led us to decide to return to the Four Seasons for future resort-based vacations.

In general, a pleasant enough stay but enough aggravations and disappointments to make us hesitate before returning.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smileyjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria V, Manager at Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2017

Thank you for sharing with us your feedback!

Cordially,

Maria Vega

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2011

The Las Casitas Village Waldorf Astoria is the sister resort to El Conquistador. It's basically the same resort but nicer/better accommodations (the rooms are nicer, check it out on Trip Advisor). This Waldorf Astoria resort is definitely the best place to stay in Puerto Rico. It's in Fajardo, which is where you want to stay most of your trip (San Juan resorts don't offer much beauty, they're in the city (which has slum areas), and the beaches aren't that nice). Las Casitas in Fajardo offers nice room accomodations and access to spa, water park, nice private beach/ferry to private island (Palomino) and water activities, as well as beautiful scenery.

Places you gotta go while in PR:
-Old San Juan
-La Bombonera restaurant in Old San Juan (try the mallorcas!)
-16th century forts
-Las Casitas Village Waldorf Astoria
-Bio-bay kayaking excursion (if there is no moon or half moon)
-Aquafari excursion
-Ferry to Culebra (go to Flamenco beach, hike to Carlos Rosario and other beach to the right )
-Rent a car to travel from San Juan to Fajardo and to the Culebra ferry and other excursions.

Also, definitely bring your own snorkling gear, a pad lock or some sort of lock for the lockers at Culebra and a benedryl pen for the bug bites. Enjoy your vacation!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank justbeachy85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria V, Manager at Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2017

Thank you for sharing with us your feedback!

Cordially,

Maria Vega

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2011

We just returned from our 4th year at Las Casitas and once again, it was a truly perfect vacation. We hated to leave! Beautiful surroundings, great accomodations in our 2 bedroom ocean view casita, excellent service, especially from our butler, Carlos, and all the girls at the Manor House. This resort has everything for a couple/family to enjoy and we have already booked our trip for next year and can't wait to return to Paradise!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank delbymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria V, Manager at Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2017

Thank you for your Five "5" Star Review.

Sincerely,

Maria Vega

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fajardo
1.5 mi away
The Fajardo Inn
The Fajardo Inn
#3 of 4 in Fajardo
1,001 reviews
44.9 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
13.2 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
456 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
30.1 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 1000 El Conquistador Avenue, Fajardo 00738-3711, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Fajardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Fajardo
Price Range: $302 - $533 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Casitas Village is an enclave of private villas that enjoy sweeping ocean views, fully equipped kitchens, personal concierges and butler service. Among many pleasures, enjoy an expansive waterpark, scuba dive, ride horseback, golf or choose from a renowned menu of soothing treatments at the Waldorf Astoria Spa. Las Casitas Village has long been known as the jewel of the Caribbean and has accumulated a list of prestigious awards and accolades including a 4-diamond rating by AAA. Welcome to Las Casitas Village, a Waldorf Astoria Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Casitas Village, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Fajardo
Waldorf Astoria Fajardo
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort Puerto Rico/Fajardo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing