We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spa, otherwise inconsistent services”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Fajardo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2011

The Golden Door Spa was wonderful and I took an excellent yoga class with Rita. The cardio/weight room is not large but well-equipped. The locker rooms were very pleasant and the spa boutique staff very helpful.

The pools in Las Casitas are very pretty and peaceful but in need of better cleaning and upkeep. Nothing appalling but enough plastic cups and bottles left hanging around to be disappointing and unpleasant. The pool scene at El Conquistador wasn't really what we were looking for-better for singles and families with older kids.

The setting is beautiful. Palomino Island was pleasant but unexpectedly crowded with slow food and drink service. (This was not the fault of the gentleman working at the beach. He was all alone and overwhelmed by sheer numbers.) The restaurants were generally unimpressive as far as service and food quality.

The rooms are dated and need a completely thorough cleaning and re-upholstering. We had a lot of difficulty checking in and left feeling that we had lost half a day of vacation due to the delay in cleaning our room and poor communication between Las Casitas and El Conquistador.

We found the prevailing staff attitude to be disinterest and apathy. We jokingly called it the "can't do" attitude. We may be spoiled because we typically stay at Four Seasons resorts. Our experience here has led us to decide to return to the Four Seasons for future resort-based vacations.

In general, a pleasant enough stay but enough aggravations and disappointments to make us hesitate before returning.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smileyjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,683)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,402 - 1,408 of 1,683 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2011

The Las Casitas Village Waldorf Astoria is the sister resort to El Conquistador. It's basically the same resort but nicer/better accommodations (the rooms are nicer, check it out on Trip Advisor). This Waldorf Astoria resort is definitely the best place to stay in Puerto Rico. It's in Fajardo, which is where you want to stay most of your trip (San Juan resorts don't offer much beauty, they're in the city (which has slum areas), and the beaches aren't that nice). Las Casitas in Fajardo offers nice room accomodations and access to spa, water park, nice private beach/ferry to private island (Palomino) and water activities, as well as beautiful scenery.

Places you gotta go while in PR:
-Old San Juan
-La Bombonera restaurant in Old San Juan (try the mallorcas!)
-16th century forts
-Las Casitas Village Waldorf Astoria
-Bio-bay kayaking excursion (if there is no moon or half moon)
-Aquafari excursion
-Ferry to Culebra (go to Flamenco beach, hike to Carlos Rosario and other beach to the right )
-Rent a car to travel from San Juan to Fajardo and to the Culebra ferry and other excursions.

Also, definitely bring your own snorkling gear, a pad lock or some sort of lock for the lockers at Culebra and a benedryl pen for the bug bites. Enjoy your vacation!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank justbeachy85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2011

We just returned from our 4th year at Las Casitas and once again, it was a truly perfect vacation. We hated to leave! Beautiful surroundings, great accomodations in our 2 bedroom ocean view casita, excellent service, especially from our butler, Carlos, and all the girls at the Manor House. This resort has everything for a couple/family to enjoy and we have already booked our trip for next year and can't wait to return to Paradise!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank delbymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2011

Just got back from this wonderful vacation! Can't wait to return. Beautiful place, beautiful weather. Wonderful experience. Almost lost my daughter's new ipod touch and it was returned to us by Albert.. Sooo grateful!!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank firecanyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2011

We wanted to See the El Yunque rain forest nearby and decided to stay for 2 nights in this place.
The setting is nice and the place is just large and a little outdated .
These Grand Hotels were fashionable in the late 30th and it cavernous premisses did impress some people.
However now more private places are preferred with good restaurants and service.
To say at least ,this place ,in the older part is very outdated and needs a complete workover.
The rooms even with their terrific view show their age.
They are clean but not spotless.
The restaurants,we tried a sandwich(just good for the waste basket) and a Chinese place do not meet the proclaimed standard of this place.
So for dinner ,rent a car and eat off the premisses.
When we send an email to the food manager ,he was disappointed that we will not visit this place again.
So if you want to have a real luxury hotel ,take the ferry to Vieques and stay at the really renovated W Hotel.
It is expensive but worth the money.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Garryauspa19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2011

We stayed at the Las Casitas/El Conquistador Resort in Fajardo for 5 nights in January 2011. We had a 2Br casita that had an oceanfront view. We elected to drive to the hotel because the transfers were $75 and renting a car for 5 days was $150 and it gave us the freedom to drive around. The hotel grounds are very nice and you drive up a hill to get to the front desk of Las Casitas (which is separate from the main hotel). check in is a breeze.
The 2br Casita is very spacious and has a full size kitchen which was awesome we have a 2.5 year old daughter. The rooms are very comfortable and housekeeping was thorough and polite. We had to ask for a few things more than once (paper towels, soap), but things happen. Beds and linens are comfortable, master bedroom has a safe. The balcony can be accessed via the living room and the bedroom. Nice touch.
The Casitas have their own pools and hot tubs which were not crowded and the infinity pool was amazing. The pools are not heated which is not a problem during the day, but in the evening it can get chilly.
The hotel grounds are expansive. There is no "on-site" beach, but our daughter loved the way we'd get to the beach: golf cart ride to main hotel, funicular down the hill to the marina, and a 7 minute boat ride to palomino. The island is clean and beautiful and the west side of the island has almost no waves and crystal clear water.
We only went to the restaurants a few times. Decent, overpriced, bland resort food. There are a number of better restaurants within a 5 minute drive of the hotel (La Estacion is one) that are much much better.
The dive shop on the site of the resort is above average as is the spa.
Overall, Pros: Beautiful 4.5 start resort that is incredibly family friendly and worry free.
Cons: no beach on site, but the island is awesome.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Atman S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2011

First of all, Las Casitas are beautiful and the perfect place for any family with children of any age! The rooms are beautiful and the activities are plentiful for all. Kids Camp, Teen lounge, Water Park, excellent restaurants, Casino, Spa, and private Island. There is a beautiful golf course, Tennis, horseback riding, and it is real near El Yunke forest. There are excellent restaurants right near the hotel as well. The pools are magnificent!
My only complaint has to do with housekeeping. Sometimes we didn't get towels and another time housekeeping didn't show up until my 3rd call at 7 pm. Fortunately, the managers did respond and within 30 minutes all problems were resolved. So I would give it 4.5 *. It is too bad housekeeping took away the last star.
However, our family of 4 will be returning next year. If you don't mind spending a little time correcting the issues and reviewing the bill, it is a great place! I think tipping the manger will solve the housekeeping issue. I found out people paid lots of different amounts for their rooms so search around before booking. One other point, the hotel has a lot of hidden charges or rather not apparent charges so if your room charge is $400, expect another 20% of "resort fees" and taxes!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DAVEBUCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fajardo
13.1 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico
26.0 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,255 reviews
26.3 mi away
El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.3 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
30.9 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#18 of 47 in San Juan
7,204 reviews
44.9 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 1000 El Conquistador Avenue, Fajardo 00738-3711, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Fajardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Fajardo
Price Range: $236 - $843 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Casitas Village is an enclave of private villas that enjoy sweeping ocean views, fully equipped kitchens, personal concierges and butler service. Among many pleasures, enjoy an expansive waterpark, scuba dive, ride horseback, golf or choose from a renowned menu of soothing treatments at the Waldorf Astoria Spa. Las Casitas Village has long been known as the jewel of the Caribbean and has accumulated a list of prestigious awards and accolades including a 4-diamond rating by AAA. Welcome to Las Casitas Village, a Waldorf Astoria Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Casitas Village, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Fajardo
Waldorf Astoria Fajardo
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort Puerto Rico/Fajardo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing