We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Massive Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Fajardo
Certificate of Excellence
Manalapan, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Massive Resort”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

My family and I travelled to the Las Casitas Vilas at the El Conquistador in April for a business trip. The resort was stunning, but a bit far from the airport (over an hour). It was a little bit tired and run down, but it was very clean. The villas were very nice, but the bathrooms needed some TLC. The size of the resort was a little much, though. When saying at Las Casitas, you could use the Casitas pools, and all the amenities at El Conquistador. However, only people staying in a Casita can go to a Casita pool. Also, there is no beach in the main hotel area. From the Casitas, you must ride in a funicular (tram/trolley) down to the marina. From the marina, you take a 15 minute boat ride to Palomino Island. Even though it is a hassle to get to the beach(s), it is fabulous once you get there (besides for some rocks and corals in the ocean).

Room Tip: Villas closer to the main hotel are easier to get to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsftennis801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    956
    409
    152
    85
    56
See reviews for
1,006
345
8
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed May 10, 2014

So beautiful, charming and exclusive, the Casitas are the best offering at El Conquistador. Delicious breakfast at the casita cafe (Thanks JoANN and staff), Palamino Island, dinner, movie and/or shopping. Repeat.

Room Tip: recommend Ocean View Casitas but since you spend so little time there, any Casita village room is gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruthrabbit1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

There is terrible sound proofing - none at all really - between rooms. I am not kidding. I can hear the SHOWER in the room next door. The staff is also not helpful at all in trying to change rooms. We ended up having to stay in 3 different rooms in a weekend stay and being downgraded to 2 queens instead of a King because of the noise issue. Such an unfortunate turn to what was supposed to be a wonderful romantic weekend getaway.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Vanessa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortManagementTeam, General Manager at Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Vanessa P,

We deeply regret your impression of the property and your disappointment. We take your observations very seriously, and as such, please do contact us at LasCasitasConcierge@LuxuryResorts.com so we may address the issues you pointed out accordingly.

Your experience is certainly not representative of what our guests have grown accustomed to and can be expected at a Waldorf Astoria property.

Warm regards,

M. Bonnamain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

This is one of those resorts that you keep coming back to because you know what you're getting. Being said, the Casitas are the way to do it. The manager of the Casitas, was very dedicated to our stay being perfect. She came in earlier than her shift (530am) to get us checked in since we arrived ridiculous early (oops). The staff even waited for us while we watched the sunrise. The room was thoughtfully picked and was like having your own tropical condo for a week. We had a king size one-bed on the North side and it was outstanding. Very clean, serviced perfectly each day comfortable bathrobes. The infinity pool on the Casita side was steps away and service by the pool matched perfection. Attentive, friendly, fun drink and food service. We took a trip to Palomino Island (part of the resort, free ferry ride!) and even flew to Culebra. The resort is HUGE, there are so many different pools to explore on the main hotel. We would walk through the grounds, passing the meditation trail and feeling like you're in a rainforest. Very well maintained. There are also two pools and hot tubs by the casitas, one being the infinity pool that makes the whole trip. Float around and have a cocktail. I always leave here very relaxed. Customer service A++. See you guys next year.

Room Tip: We've stayed Ocean side and also garden view one bedroom Casita. I prefer the garden view they a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Momopies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We just returned from La Casita and read most of the reviews prior to booking! The negative comments are not found worthy. In contrary the facilities, people ( Especially Lily on check out) and everyone from Palomino Island to the tram operator were awesome . Our Ocean review groom was to die for. Room service was on point and awesome. I told Lily that we WILL be back in July Can't wait to see them again!!

Room Tip: Ocean view is the way to go but the entire property is awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hector R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 336 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Overall I liked the resort but there were some things that were not great. We had a one bedroom ocean view room. The view was spectacular from our balcony. The bed was very comfortable with nice sheets and pillows. The living room furniture was not very comfortable with a sofa bed which was very stiff and not very nice to sit on. There was a small kitchen which we did not use. What I really did not care for was the AC which was very loud with a strong fan that blew heavily on us while sleeping and made a lot of noise so I was very happy when the breeze was blowing to turn of the unit for some quite. The infinity pool was gorgeous but the furniture needed some replacement with many loungers broken. The biggest problem is you needed to go the main hotel for dinner choices and it was a long walk or you needed to get a ride. The staff was friendly but I never really saw the butler they talked about.

Another annoyance was there was no beach at the hotel and you needed to take a shuttle to the hotel, ride and elevator down, then take a tram to the bottom, catch the boat to the private island just to get to the beach. I found the beach area pretty but it was very cramped feeling with the lounge chairs all right on top of each other. It was a nice beach but I've been to many other nicer beaches and found it too much of a pain to get to and would prefer to have a beach that was closer to my hotel room.

The food was expensive but pretty good however we mostly ate meals at group functions.

The golf course was pretty with may interesting elevations however there were no holes on the ocean. I was disappointed that a course so close to the ocean did not have one view of the water.

Overall, we had a good time and we enjoyed Puerto Rico and the nice hospitality from all we met but I'm not sure I would pick this hotel again when return primarily because of the long journey to get to the beach.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank luv2travel63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castro Valley, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

I do not understand the negative reviews. I be staying here again for the 4th time in a couple of weeks for my honeymoon. It has been a great experience each time. I love Las Casitas. My love for the entire El Con and Las Casitas resort began when I passed by it on a sail trip in the '80's and the El Con was abandoned and in total disrepair and then Wyndam bought it and renovated it and eventually the Casitas were added. The staff is very accomodating. You cannot beat the views and the peace and tranquility you will experience here and also the infinity pool at night after a long hot day on the beach. Also, check out Stingray, one of the restaurants on the premises. Best ceviche ever. I cannot wait to be there with my new husband.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner Casita. View my videos of the property on youtube Sencha415.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sencha415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fajardo
13.1 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
26.0 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,227 reviews
30.9 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 47 in San Juan
7,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.1 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
26.6 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
0.2 mi away
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Property: Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Address: 1000 El Conquistador Avenue, Fajardo 00738-3711, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Fajardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Fajardo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Casitas Village is an enclave of private villas that enjoy sweeping ocean views, fully equipped kitchens, personal concierges and butler service. Among many pleasures, enjoy an expansive waterpark, scuba dive, ride horseback, golf or choose from a renowned menu of soothing treatments at the Waldorf Astoria Spa. Las Casitas Village has long been known as the jewel of the Caribbean and has accumulated a list of prestigious awards and accolades including a 4-diamond rating by AAA. Welcome to Las Casitas Village, a Waldorf Astoria Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Casitas Village, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Fajardo
Waldorf Astoria Fajardo
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort Puerto Rico/Fajardo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing