We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Fajardo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2014

For the most part we were satisfied, however the other members of our party had numerous complaints. Our butler Carlos Mangual was excellent. The facility needs updating - it is like an 80 year old woman putting on red lipstick and eyeshadow and thinking she looks young. It is a good place for families as there is much to do for the children. It is far to get into San Juan and costly. The hotel charges $250 for a cab and car rental is $60.00 for the day. the car rental service didn't answer their phone an never returned our message.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria V, Manager at Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2017

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your experience with us!

Sincerely,

Maria Vega

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,683)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

978 - 984 of 1,683 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights, and absolutely loved it! We spent our time equally between the resort and the other things to do in PR, like zip lining, (DO IT), exploring the rainforest, touring Old San Juan (do it!). We had a wonderful time, and this resort is spectacular. We could easily have spent all 5 days here, and not gotten bored. The private island is great, with tons of activities, wave runners, snorkeling, scuba, and tons of activities for kids, too. We didn't get to the waterpark, so can't rate it, but the pools are never crowded. We had a wonderful couples massage at the spa, and ate at both Blossoms and Stingray. Blossoms was fun, but we went at 6, and ended up at a grill with two families with several kids. We enjoyed Stingray more, and went at 7:30pm for an absolutely amazing, upscale dinner. The seared halibut with lobster risotto was to die for, and the mahi mahi with escobeche was spectacular as well. I understand Chops and Stingray are their best restaurants. Pricey, but worth it. We also found a Walmart (the one in Fajardo is small, with not too much food) a bit farther west of Fajardo, and were able to stock our kitchen with breakfast and lunch items, snacks and fresh local fruits. Really made the kitchen in our casita a plus, as again, the resort food is pricey. The staff is super friendly, and very very helpful.
The private island was one of our favorite things, a short ferry ride across the bay. We read the reviews about the rocky ocean floor, definitely true. Take water shoes! The coral reef is dead, which was sad, but we saw one man who had two conch he got snorkeling. We were jealous, until our guide at the Rainforest Zip Line Co advised there is a $10,000 fine for those without a license!
Again, we traveled as a couple, and loved it-beautiful landscaping, quiet, private room with gorgeous views, massage, etc. However, there were lots of families traveling with kids, and they all seemed to be really enjoying themselves. We'd love to go back!

Room Tip: We had room 5538, a one bedroom casita with a gorgeous ocean view. It was farther from the restauran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TrishandGary2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria V, Manager at Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2017

Thank you for your stay and for the 5 Star Review!

Sincerely,

Maria Vega

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Perhaps one of the best beach/golf resorts that I have ever stayed in, Las Casitas offers a bit of everything. Great beach on Palomino Island, good-looking golf course (though I didn't actually get to play), top notch spa, and good food (though very expensive). It is a fantastic resort for families and young adults, most of the afternoon is tame and there is a decent nightlife later on for the older folks. I really enjoyed this resort and the time I sent there, and I would recommend it to anyone traveling with family.

Stayed: March 2014
4  Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria V, Manager at Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2017

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your experience with us!

Sincerely,

Maria Vega

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights in order to do a great rainforest tour with Kalichi Adventures before heading to Vieques. The 1 BR garden villa was nice and accommodated our family of 4 (kids age 15 and 12) just fine. Plenty of space and conditioning was above average. Breakfast at Las Casitas cafe was very good and dinner at Chops was surprisingly good too. Steaks and family style sides were at Ruth's Chris level. Pools and water park are good. Staff was nice and helpful. Overall it was a good stay but would not want to stay more than 2 nights because the beach at Palomino Island was actively bad. Would not stay at El Conquistador ... Would rate that 3 stars.

Stayed: March 2014
2  Thank ATLFamilyofFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria V, Manager at Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2017

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your experience with us!

Sincerely,

Maria Vega

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We chose Las Casitas based on the recommendation of a friend who lives in our TX neighborhood, but is a Puerto Rico native. This was spring break for our kids, and we were looking for a nice sunny beach destination. We took a cab on our own from SJU rather than use the resort transportation. It is cheaper to take a cab and you are on your own schedule, not theirs. We paid $120 for taxi, including tip, one way, 4 people. It is about 1 hour depending on traffic. On arrival, reception and checking was personal and friendly. We were driven with our luggage on golf cart to our villa with a tour of the property on the way. There is a complimentary shuttle service around the property at any time if needed. Please understand that this is a HUGE resort (combined with the El Conquistador) and you will walk A LOT!!!!

Our one BR ocean-view villa was lovely! Lots of space, a very nice kitchen, very well stocked with pots/pans, etc. the bathroom was huge, with several closets, robes, slippers. TVS and DVD players in bedroom and living area. The pull out sofa in living area was very large and comfortable enough for our 11 and 15 year olds for 5 nights. The balcony was huge and had a chaise lounge as well as a table and 4 chairs.

We had them provision our kitchen with some breakfast foods and brought some things from SJU. It was nice just to prepare breakfast in the room and save some $ that way. It was also quicker and we got to the pool faster! The coffee maker and coffee provided were quite good. They also provided creamer and sweeteners.

The fitness center at Las Casitas was very nice and I made good use of it. There were about 6 treadmills, 6 ellipticals, recumbent bikes, stair machine, and multiple weights....free and machines. A frig with bottled water also was available. There is a smaller fitness room farther away at El Conquistador.

There were many pools to choose from.....3 at Las Casitas, and several more at El Conquistador. The best by far for adults was the stunning Piscina Bahia Azul Infiniti pool. The large pool at El Con was great for the kids to play basketball. The private island was nice and never seemed all that crowded to me. The beach was pretty although has coral pieces in sand and on one side is fairly rocky. The view of mainland PR is spectacular. We tried paddle boarding and horseback riding there. You need to reserve spots for those because they book up! Food on the island was good, but pricey. The fish and chips were amazing, as was the salad. The ferry service to the island is a bit of a production especially if coming from Las Casitas.......walk to main resort, take funicular down hill, wait for ferry, 7-10 min ferry ride. So plan to go and stay a while.

Downside to the resort is cost of food. There are many dining options, but it's just expensive, and really you just kind of expect that. We did not done at any of the signature restaurants because of price, but instead went off- property to try local restaurants Kasavista and Don Esteban. Both were excellent.

Excursions are available but cheaper to book on your own. We did the bio-bay tour and it was very cool!

We would definitely return to Las casitas! It was a wonderful relaxing vacation! I would never even consider staying at El conquistador! as it it just bigger with less awesome views and smaller rooms. It was worth the extra money for the lovely casitas and excellent service.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
4  Thank Stephelps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria V, Manager at Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2017

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your experience with us!

Sincerely,

Maria Vega

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We had a terrific casita - 2 big bedrooms and 3 baths, a big living room and a well-equipped kitchen (including a blender). It was really comfortable and it was easy to drive into town and stock the kitchen with breakfast foods and snacks. The staff at the resort was also great - completely responsive and helpful. We loved the pools - the lap pool, the volleyball pool and the infinity pool were favorites. The resort food was fine but you can eat much better and certainly more economically in town. The one issue we had was with the beach island. It's a production number to get there and when we made the trek we found it crowded. I wonder whether it might be more pleasant at other, less crowded times of year. Overall, Las Casitas offered great relaxation. Don't miss the mango mojitos.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank TexasKami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria V, Manager at Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2017

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your experience with us!

Sincerely,

Maria Vega

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We stayed at this hotel with a conference. We were SO glad we chose the Las Casitas over staying at the El Conquistador like the rest of the group. Our 2 bedroom/2 bath ocean front room was fabulous! So comfortable. It was easy to get to and from the El Conquistador via the free van or golf cart transportation. The service at the El Conquistador was basically terrible. We used the restaurants and the pools at both. Food was average at both and very expensive. The trip to Palomino Island was great. We were traveling with our 17 year old daughter and she enjoyed that a lot. We enjoyed our stay at Las Casitas and would like to go back and do more exploring of the island. If you are hoping to do any excursions I suggest booking ahead. It was difficult to do things we wanted because they were booked, like the kayak trip to the illuminescent bay or zip lining. Which EVERYONE said was awesome. Next time we would grocery shop and stock the room with food and get out of the hotel more…live & learn!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MicheleMil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria V, Manager at Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2017

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your experience with us!

Sincerely,

Maria Vega

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fajardo
13.2 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico
44.9 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
1.5 mi away
The Fajardo Inn
The Fajardo Inn
#3 of 4 in Fajardo
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.3 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
18 mi away
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,843 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 1000 El Conquistador Avenue, Fajardo 00738-3711, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Fajardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Fajardo
Price Range: $314 - $634 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Casitas Village is an enclave of private villas that enjoy sweeping ocean views, fully equipped kitchens, personal concierges and butler service. Among many pleasures, enjoy an expansive waterpark, scuba dive, ride horseback, golf or choose from a renowned menu of soothing treatments at the Waldorf Astoria Spa. Las Casitas Village has long been known as the jewel of the Caribbean and has accumulated a list of prestigious awards and accolades including a 4-diamond rating by AAA. Welcome to Las Casitas Village, a Waldorf Astoria Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Casitas Village, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Fajardo
Waldorf Astoria Fajardo
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort Puerto Rico/Fajardo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing