We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Initial Impression - I will write more later :)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fajardo
Certificate of Excellence
Wallingford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Initial Impression - I will write more later :)”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I did a lot of research before booking Las Casitas about a month ago. Frankly, I was worried based on some negative reviews. I wanted to reassure anyone who is having doubts that you should not. We just got here 4 hours ago and our casita is spacious, clean, and the Casitas are in a lovely village-like atmosphere. We are in Casita 5021 which is in a section of the resort very close to the main hotel. The views (ocean front views) are absolutely stunning (one picture attached).

The only adventure from our room so far was to go from our casita to the main hotel, down the funicular, and to have dinner at the marina. I was anticipating this would be a huge deal, but it was not. We walked a short bit through the main hotel pool area, down past the shops, went down one level on an elevator, and grabbed a funicular within a minute. I would guess that our entire travel time from leaving the casita to getting to the marina was about 7-8 minutes. Our food at the marina casual restaurant was actually fairly good, not bad at all, if slightly overpriced (but I expect that at a resort). We do not plan on spending our time at the fancier restaurants, we are only here for four days. So I won't be able to comment on that.

Based on the advice here, we did stop at Walmart and Ralph's supermarket before heading into the resort and stocked up on water, soda, beer, lemonade, and snacks. Oh, and as for Charlie's Car Rentals, my initial impression was not so good. The other car rental agencies had their vans circle the airport area no less than 5 times before 1 Charlies van pulled up (after we called a good 20 minutes earlier). However, having said that, their service was excellent. We got there and were in and out in no more than 15 minutes. If you do use Charlies, call them as soon as you get to baggage claim. We waited until we had been standing by the other vans for a good 5 minutes before we called and then it took another 20 minutes for the van to show up.

I want to thank all the positive reviewers here because I was really skeptical but I decided to trust those who said I wouldn't be sorry! So far, so great! I am writing this while the two French patio doors to the casita are wide open with a fantastic ocean breeze coming through. When we get back, I will update this review. We plan on going to the beach all day tomorrow, then the Coqui water park on Monday (we are traveling with our 8 year old son), and the beach again on Tuesday.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank NicksMomLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortManagementTeam, General Manager at Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear NicksMomLiz,

Thank you for honoring us with your first TripAdvisor review! We are so pleased that you are enjoying your villa and elected to share your enthusiasm.

Please feel free to reach out to me if I can be of service during your stay! If any TripAdvisor readers have doubts about our beautiful resort or it services, by all means give me a call.

Best regards,

Maxence Bonnamain
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    901
    393
    143
    79
    53
See reviews for
934
335
7
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Western Springs, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Las Casitas are a very good place to stay if you are traveling with family especially children. We had an ocean view which was the best part of our condo. We had wonderful breezes coming of the ocean and sun every day. Each area of condos have their own small pool which is great if you are looking for a quieter place to relax. There is a larger infinity pool but I would not recommend it for younger kinds because it is not very large. Best place for the kids is at the main hotel or the water slide park. Both areas were crowded but that was due to spring vacation. One disappointment was that the resort is not beach front. They have an island and you need to take a ferry to get to it. The island was nice with beautiful white beaches. They has plenty of items to rent for the day to keep everyone entertained.

Need to rent a car if you plan on leaving the property. It was about 30-45 minutes into San Juan.

If you are eating at the outdoor restaurants be prepared for lizards and birds to be around and looking for hand outs.

Room Tip: Request an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babs1269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortManagementTeam, General Manager at Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear babs1269,

Thank you for your kind words regarding your family's experience at the Resort. We pride ourselves with the variety of amenities both adults and children can enjoy on site. Alas getting to Palomino island can seem like a small excursion but as you pointed out it is well woth it. The height of the villas, perched atop a cliff, also make for the dramatic views of the Caribbean / Atlantic ocean you witnessed and are unique in Puerto Rico.

Babs1269, the entire Las Casitas Village team will await your family's return.

Sincerely,

Maxence Bonnamain
Las Casitas Village
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We went to this hotel in August 2013 with a family of 7. We stayed in a 3 bedroom at the Las Casitas....which was absolutely wonderful. It had a full kitchen with all the necessary dishes, cooking utensils, etc. It surpassed all pictures that I saw online. Maid service was great, and the beds were very comfortable. Rooms were very clean. I thought it was much nicer than staying at the El Conquistador portion of the hotel. We had our own private butler who was amazing (Steve). He was able to set us up with everything from snorkeling, deep sea fishing, where to eat, where to shop, etc. The hotel did not have the availability to schedule much for us when it came to excursions. The grounds were beautiful. Get an ocean view...it is worth the price. We did not eat much at the hotel. The food was not all that. The only place we enjoyed eating was at the marina bar and grill down by the marina. It was decent food for the price. We had heard that the Sting Ray grill was nice, but there was a dress code, and the prices were way up there. $50 for a steak...so a family of 7 would have costed us nearly $400, and getting my group to wear nice clothes on vacation was probably not going to happen. I would have rather spent that much money on doing something else anyway. The private island (Palomino Island) was great! Well worth the 16% resort fee they charge. They have kayak, jet ski, and all types of rentals. And the food there was good, despite all the negative reviews. We ate there several times. Great drinks as well. Would stay there again in a heart beat. We had stayed at the Gran Melia the last time we went to Puerto Rico (which was also nice), but this hotel was better for families. "Captain Ron" was the highlight of our trip! If you have a family or want a private charter for fishing or snorkeling, he is your guy! Had a great time!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank RWCalvert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortManagementTeam, General Manager at Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review and recognition of our amazing staff from housekeeping to Steve the butler. We are all delighted to learn that you enjoyed your visit of palomino Island and the amenities it includes.

We look forward to your return visit.

Best regards,

Maxence Bonnamain
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Las Casitas @ El Conquistador are a very good place to stay, relax and enjoy the great view of the Ocean. It was very clean, rooms were great, people that work there were very friendly, there is no free breakfast (but you can buy from the many restaurants they have there), but the rooms are like an apartment because they have refrigerator, stove, microwave, plates, cups, etc. I would love to stay there again. Pools are great, plus they have a private island (Palominos) where you can go and enjoy the beach all day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iraze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortManagementTeam, General Manager at Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear lraze,

Thank you for your enthusiastic review of Las Casitas village. We so appreciated you noticing how hard our team works at keeping the villas clean and fresh. On behalf of all of us here, thank you for your visit. We are so pleased that we could provide you with a great vacation!

Hurry back soon!

Regards,

Maxence Bonnamain
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Our experience at the hotel was wonderful. The property was gorgeous, the rooms were lovely and the amenities were great. A fantastic place for kids and adults. My husband's one complaint is that the casino is closed. Unless you have a car and can travel off property you are a captive audience for all meals. Probably a good idea to bring in some food and snacks or it can get expensive

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Joy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortManagementTeam, General Manager at Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Joy W,

Thank you for your wonderful review of the resort. I am glad that you and your family had such a great time. With your permission, for our readers I will touch on two important comments you made.

We always recommend that our guests take advantage of the villas fully equipped kitchens, while the resort offers a variety of great restaurant this is one of the benefits of your residence away from home. Our personal concierges and butlers can assist and have your choice of groceries awaiting your arrival.

As far as our late Casino, unfortunately illegal gambling machines have multiplied and can now be found nearly everywhere. Gambling regulations on the island are also very stringent and could never be relaxed to meet the realities of the recession. This placed great strain on the Casino and its usage by our guests became such that we did not believe it to still be a key feature.

All our best,

M. Bonnamain
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, Utah
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I stayed at La Casitas, a condo property that shares all amenities with the Conquistador Hotel. The properties are spectacular and offer multiple pools, restaurants, and a private white sand beach which is perfect for children. The downtown area of Fajardo is very close and has restaurants and grocery stores with prices similar to the states. Prices at the hotel for food are higher but quality is good and it is convenient. I recommend La Casitas over the hotel due to lower price, free parking, and because its more private.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Douglas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortManagementTeam, General Manager at Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Douglas B,

Thank you for your wonderful review of Las Casitas Village. We were pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay as well as our location on the East coast of Puerto Rico.

You are right to point out about Las Casitas Village, free parking, wi-fi, complementary water bottles, private pools and butlers are just some of the many advantages to staying with us.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to Paradise.

Best Regards,

M. Bonnamain
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

The view from our hotel room was incredible. However, the property itself needs an extreme makeover. This is not at 5 star hotel. There are cracked titles everywhere, stained carpets and no sign that they're trying to improve any of it. Although the staff is friendly, they don't know how to answer or help you with anything.

There used to big a casino in the lobby and they just threw stuff in there to fill the hole. There's a bar at the back but in the front there's more of a teen atmosphere with games. There is an arcade room around the corner but half the games didn't work and when I complained they gave me the number of the vendor who owned the machines. They said it wasn't their responsibility. In general most things I asked about were handed off to someone else.

The main restaurants had good food but the casual places were horrible.

You have to take a finicula and then a boat to get to the private island. The private beach is lovely but the coral at the bottom of the ocean makes it extremely difficult to walk. It was hard to take 2 steps without stepping on a piece and it's painful.

The pools are average but again they're not well taken care of. The waterfalls are broken and the cabanas (which cost extra) are dirty with curtains that have been ripped off the rods. We paid for a cabana and basically we got a TV stuck into the wall and six warm sodas for $300. There was no specail service whatsoever that came with it.

The waterpark is small but nice. They didn't have enough tubes for the waterslide and lazy river. When I complained they told me I had to wait and find someone who was finished. That's hard when a bunch of people are trying to do the same thing you are. However, for an extra cost you can rent a three person tube.

The resort is just run down. It needs upgrading desperately and someone to run things properly.

Room Tip: Ask for Ocean View, it's the best part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joyce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortManagementTeam, General Manager at Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Joyce B,

We are very sorry to read your review as it is apparent that you did not enjoy your stay. We work very hard to create wonderful experiences and when we do not we are as disappointed as you are. We appreciate and accept your feedback and we will continue to focus on creating lasting memories and Waldorf Astoria guests for life.

At your leisure please contact me to further discuss your stay.

Sincerely,

M. Bonnamain
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fajardo
26.0 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,140 reviews
13.1 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
30.9 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.3 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.2 mi away
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
29.9 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Property: Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Address: 1000 El Conquistador Avenue, Fajardo 00738-3711, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Fajardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fajardo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Casitas Village is an enclave of private villas that enjoy sweeping ocean views, fully equipped kitchens, personal concierges and butler service. Among many pleasures, enjoy an expansive waterpark, scuba dive, ride horseback, golf or choose from a renowned menu of soothing treatments at the Waldorf Astoria Spa. Las Casitas Village has long been known as the jewel of the Caribbean and has accumulated a list of prestigious awards and accolades including a 4-diamond rating by AAA. Welcome to Las Casitas Village, a Waldorf Astoria Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Vacatia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Casitas Village, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Fajardo
Waldorf Astoria Fajardo
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort Puerto Rico/Fajardo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing