We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Trip, Top Notch Staff , Would most definately repeat!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fajardo
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Trip, Top Notch Staff , Would most definately repeat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

The whole resort , especialy Las Casitas was beatiful. The two bedroom ocean front room was very clean, well layed out and showed that they cared. The access to the private pools allowed our family with young children to have a quiet peaceful atmostphere when desired. Lilly @ the concierge was amazing with the requests we made, especially the ones that I did not think could happen.
Her dedication and friendly attitude helped ensure our trip was successful so THANK YOU LILLY!
The grounds, staff and views exceeded our expectations, truly an amazing spot to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank X50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortManagementTeam, General Manager at Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear X50,

We are so happy that your visit was amazing and that you will be back! That is a true compliment that made our day!
Thank you for your kind comments about Lilly.. She was thrilled to see your recognition posted on TripAdvisor!

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back once again in the near future.

Best regards,

Maxence Bonnamain
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    886
    388
    142
    79
    53
See reviews for
919
330
7
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

A great experience and super beautiful resort (albeit with some minor maintenance issues). We reserved a "garden view room" which turned out to be facing the parking lot with plenty of noise and traffic. Upon request, we were changed to another room that was truly beautiful. Staff is extremely helpful and most of them I can say will go out of their way to meet your needs and make you happy. Food is super expensive within the resort and I recommend trying some of the local places which are very nice. It is unfortunate that, on top of very expensive pricing and extra resort fee, they charge quite a bit for usage of the resort's water park. While a great vacation and fun for all, I have stayed at many Hilton properties and I really don't understand why they call this place "Waldorf Astoria" given that it does not come even close to the high standards expected at a Waldorf Astoria or Conrad property, for example(this is not positive for brand image). Just plain Hilton would do it justice.

Room Tip: Garden view should be called parking lot view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ViajeroGringo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

I chose this hotel in great part because of its reputation here in Trip Advisor. I endorse it.
The Rooms are very clean and cozy. The atmosphere of the property is very charming, you really feel like you are in a little town. The private pools are awesome specially Bahia Azul. I suggest choosing a room near this pool.
As a guest of Las Casitas you can use all the facilities of the resort, including the El Conquistador areas. A little walk, but if you don't feel like walking, there is a very good shuttle service.
The water park is at the lower level and you get there through a funicular elevator. It is rather crowded, but the kids love it, what you are gonna do?
The Catamaran water taxi to Palomino Island is nice, it takes about 10 minutes to go. There in The Island you have a private beach, very calm waters, lots of umbrellas and stretchers for everyone. My kids loved the beach. It is really beautiful and exclusive.
The cons:
1) The restaurants are just average, and overpriced. The bar service to the pools is weak, you must walk to the bar to get your stuff- they are rarely available to take orders by the pool.
2) The Iguana Restaurant in Palomino Island has a very limited menu, most of the food is not beach-inspired and the fish was stone hard. The service was really slow, the waitress told us she was overloaded. Of note: 90% of the chairs are loaded with bird droppings- they are always hovering over and eating leftovers. A little attention to this aspect would be welcome.
In summary, a very good hotel, in a great location, with very good staff. Certainly recommend it and will come back some day.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a balcony. Stay close to the Bahia Azul Pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

The resort was awesome!!!! The landscaping was so beautiful ...there were orchids growing in most of the palm trees! The room was fresh and clean and decorated well. Our room looked just like we saw on the Internet! The staff was quick at providing us with special requests such as extra TOWELS..ice..etc I would highly recommend this resort!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortManagementTeam, General Manager at Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear distinguished guest,

Thank you for your kind comments and for sharing the details that made your stay. We now have an herb and orchids garden which our Landscaping Director would be more than glad to have you visit.

Hasta Pronto!

Maxence Bonnamain
Director of Operations
Las Casitas Village, a Waldorf Astoria Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

I booked Las Casistas Village via Kayak with Travelocity providing customer service for the booking; stated on our room charge card "Travelocity RM Only"= paying $249/night for 2 nights ($739 posted price on room door). Here are some photos detailing of the Ocean View Casista Village Guestroom we stayed in. You have the other travelers' reviews. You decide...was it worth it? Not for us. However, we want to give a shout out "thank you" to Janae at the concierge for helping us get with a Bio Bay kayak tour company last minute reservations.

Room Tip: Good room = newer, longer wait/travel time to get to parts of the property (amenities) you want to e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NoogFortWorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortManagementTeam, General Manager at Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Noogfortworth,

Thank you for caring and providing us this very important feedback regarding your stay. It is never our intention for any guests to experience a less than excellent visit with us. So we appreciate the opportunity to fix our shortcomings and defects. Your pictures allowed us to identify which specific room was in question and to task our maintenance team to bring it up to standard.

We do hope you will still return, so we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back, and the opportunity to reverse your initial impression. We look forward to treat you to the uncompromising service that our discerning guests have grown accustomed to.

M. Bonnamain
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

While a lot of travelers complained about the check in, this was a piece of cake. We stayed at Las Casitas Village instead for the El Conquistador, which is the main hotel on the property. If you stay at the village, they transport you down to a different reception area with fewer people checking in. We did arrive on an off day (Thursday) so this may have had something to do with it. On Saturday, there was quite a line at El Conquistador to check in, but the desk was fully staffed and working hard to get people settled. I suggest you take advantage of one of the many packages they have to offer. We did the Coqui Waterpark package and it saved us a ton of money for transfers, breakfast and the water park.

Our room was very nice with views of the ocean and the golf course. We had a one bedroom with a full kitchen. We went shopping to the local market, by cab $20 each way, and we were able to cook dinner in our room two nights. The resort food is very expensive, so I recommend either cooking in your room or going to a local restaurant. Ask the staff what they recommend, they won't steer you wrong.

The breakfast buffet at Las Casitas was okay...it's a buffet, just average with eggs, bacon, sausage, french toast etc.

We ate at Chop our first night and it was good, but pretty expensive. We did have lobster and filet, so of course it wasn't going to be cheap.

Everyone was very friendly and helpful and made our stay quite comfortable.

The private island was a lot of fun. We brought our own snorkeling equipment since rentals can be expensive. There isn't a lot of coral reef, but for the first time snorkeling for the kids, it was an adventure. We rented a wave runner for an hour and switched riders 1/2 way through, 2 the first 1/2 hour 2 the second 1/2 hour.

The water park was fun, but make sure you put some personal belongings on your chair. If you leave just your towel, someone can move it and say it was not there. Get there early to get a chair with an umbrella for some shade.

The highlight of the trip was the bioluminescent bay. This was a two hour kayak trip into the mangroves at night. There are about 15 kayaks following each other in the pitch darkness of the mangroves. You honestly can't see a thing in front of you except the glow stick on the back of each kayak. Once deep in the mangroves, you can see the water illuminate as your paddle hits the water. You scoop up the water and watch it glow as it rolls down your arm...a truly amazing experience. You paddle out to a bay where the guide tells you about the bay and why it glows. The trip back is faster because you're going with the current.

Overall this is a nice resort with plenty to do for the whole family.

Room Tip: Choose a package, it will save you a lot of money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

My family and I just returned from a 5 night stay in Las Casitas -the "upscale" section of the resort... we had 5 adults and 6 children (3 one bedrooms ocean front and 1 three bedroom ocean front suites) the taxi ride to the hotel was very easy and the service was great (call the hotel and ask for Manny- the private taxi vans connected to the hotel charge less than it would cost you for a shuttle bus- good for large parties/quick/private and easy- we paid $300 each way for 10 people and a baby.

The check in was a disaster. We got to the hotel around 2pm and we wanted to get to the pools and change/freshen up but somehow our rooms were all messed up and i had to wait to after 6pm until i finally got a room... doesn't sound that bad but try doing that with 2 hungry kids 1yrs and 3yrs old... nightmare... they did upgrade our rooms and gave me some voucher for food/drinks at Ventana Del Caribe cafe which was nice (but only place u can eat/drink in this section) i was still ticked off, but i let it go and started my vacation! Now let’s begin....

BREAKFAST*** Make sure what deal you have because we were told only my room and immediate family had complimentary breakfast but at the end of the trip found out it was included for everyone in our package. Now let’s get to breakfast... it was considered the off season by a few weeks and they shut down the only breakfast spot in La Casitas. Every morning you had to hike over to the main hotel and eat at Las Brisas... they had an ok buffet but was very annoying starting your morning like that...

FOOD*** the hotel itself was run down but the restaurants were actually decent... we ate La Piccola Fontana (service was amazing and food was great- thank you again) we also ate at Chops steakhouse which was average at best and my wife and i had a private alone night at Stingray Cafe which we both thought sucked to be blunt. The service was good but the food was gross... the octopus was chewy and the main dishes were blah. We went because it was highly recommended but we were not fans. We also walked to the marina and out of the hotel through some metal gates and into town... we had lunch at a very local spot named Racar-- it was a dive but was amazing... try the sangria! We also had dinner one night at a new restaurant right next to Racar called Kasavista (amazing!!!!! chef/owner treated us great, local food with a culinary twist) highly recommend!!!!!! there is another local lunch place next to Racar with a white awning we did not have time to try it but our cab drivers said it was very good and authentic... and about a 1/4 of the price for lunch at the resort!

The spa was good but again average... i would recommend the Coconut Scrub but the facilities themself have nothing special to offer outside the massage.

If you like beaches this is not the place for you... it took us about an hour to get to the beach from our rooms and upon arriving we were very disappointed... it looked like the sun spree i stayed at on spring break for $199 a week in 2001.

The pools stationed throughout La Casistas were very nice -probably the highlight of our trip. Private/clean and well stocked with towels etc... The water park is not free and way overcrowded with limited options... We recently stayed at the Ritz in Dorado Beach and their water park was much nicer, exclusive to the hotel and FREE!!!

The shuttle between hotels was a necessity and some drivers were better than others and depending on the time of day you either waited 5min or 20min... roll the dice!!!

All in all the place was overrated at best... i would not ever stay there again and i have been a Hilton Diamond member for a few years now and try to always stay in one of their hotels but this trip has left a nasty mark and i will have to be research future trips much more carefully, hence why i am writing this review... for others don't make the same mistakes i did...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rpost334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortManagementTeam, General Manager at Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Rpost334,

Thank you for sharing your comments both good and less good about your recent stay with us. Rest assured we take your comments with the seriousness they merited and will address any issues accordingly. I am personally sorry that I did not get the opportunity to meet you in person while you were staying with us.

Your disappointment with the check-in process is quite obvious and I beg you to believe was never our intention. It is my understanding this was the result of a request to change the location of some of the rooms and due to a reservation change from a two bedroom villa to a three bedroom villa. All originally assigned villas were ready at the time of arrival and some upgrades were provided to your liking.

I have double checked with the Hilton Honors Desk and the information provided regarding your Diamond benefits was correct. Honors points only accumulate for up to two rooms per stay, the breakfast and upgrade benefit is for one room only. The team decided to extend the benefits to all of your rooms and should have indeed communicated this much better.

Different hotels offer different amenities and inclusions. The other resort you mentioned did not charge for its Water Park admission while we do. However we do not charge for parking or in room bottled water for instance.

Dear Rpost334, I hope I was able to address you other concerns in the separate communication we had. Please do reconsider and still return, so we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back, and the opportunity to reverse your initial impression. We look forward to treat you and your family to the uncompromising service that our discerning guests have grown accustomed to.

Sincerely,

Las Casitas Village
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fajardo
26.0 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,115 reviews
13.1 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
30.9 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.3 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.2 mi away
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
29.9 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Property: Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Address: 1000 El Conquistador Avenue, Fajardo 00738-3711, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Fajardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fajardo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Casitas Village is an enclave of private villas that enjoy sweeping ocean views, fully equipped kitchens, personal concierges and butler service. Among many pleasures, enjoy an expansive waterpark, scuba dive, ride horseback, golf or choose from a renowned menu of soothing treatments at the Waldorf Astoria Spa. Las Casitas Village has long been known as the jewel of the Caribbean and has accumulated a list of prestigious awards and accolades including a 4-diamond rating by AAA. Welcome to Las Casitas Village, a Waldorf Astoria Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Casitas Village, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Fajardo
Waldorf Astoria Fajardo
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort Puerto Rico/Fajardo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing