We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL VACATION”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Fajardo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 29, 2008

My family and I just came back from a 4 night stay at las casitas village. We had a great time. The resort is just beautiful. The service was excellent. Our butler Ricardo was there anytime we needed him and was extremely nice. I even called him on his day off not knowing and he still got what I needed. The pools are beautiful at the casitas(3 of them). We didn't have a problem getting a golf cart shuttle to take us to and from the casitas. The most we had to wait was 6-8 minutes and that was on a very busy saturday evening. Yes the food is expensive and sometimes not very good but there are plenty of island restaurants around. We will be returning to las casitas in the near future.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rerearuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,682)
There are newer reviews for Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,480 - 1,486 of 1,682 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2008

I booked a long weekend retreat for eight executives, who were sadly disappointed in travel time, service, food quality, and getting around villa. Trip to/from airport to villas was longer than anticipated. Room service took an hour to arrive. Butler service was almost non-existent. Food quality was very poor at The Strip House and most of the food was barely touched. Too difficult to get from villas to marina, main hotel, spa. Had to wait for trolleys to arrive to transport you around the complex. Would not visit again.

On the good side, employees were nice, scenery was nice, villas were clean.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JoyAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortManagementTeam, General Manager at Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear JoyAtlanta,

It has been many years since your review. While your review was not answered back then, it is hopefully never too late to do the right thing. It pains us that the experience you had of our resort was not conform to your expectations. There have been many new and exciting enhancements to both Las Casitas Village and El Conquistador since then. It would bean honor for us to welcome you back.

Please do contact us at LasCasitasConcierge@LuxuryResorts.com so we may assist with your return

Warm Regards,

M. Bonnamain
Director of Operations
Las Casitas Village, a Waldorf Astoria Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2008

What an odd experience I had at Las Casitas....
first of all, while the place is pretty there were hardly any guests so it felt VERY lonely and there were hardly any staff members in sight during the daytime. (No staff at the tropical pool at ALL to take a drink order or anything).

At night, it was a bit creepy coming back to this place with NO ONE around except for the hired security guard. The place is not well lit at night and that made it feel weird too. I'm all for solitude but this was just...odd.

On my last day, I called the Bell Captain to ask that they send someone to assist me with my bags and I was told to "bring them down the stairs and bring them by the pool area"...I thought I must've heard wrong! I asked again and then they showed up to assist me.

I really would NOT recommend this as a full-service luxury resort, it isn't. The staff is simply not trained for that level of service. Don't let the high rates fool you. This place is sort of sad - even the umbrella tables by the tropical pool are tattered; a real eyesore at a place that is all about luxury.

The best part of this resort is Palomino Island so it's not such a bad idea to stay at The Marina area and have your meals down there where it's nice and calm. FYI, the casino at the El Con attracts tank top wearing guys with beer bellies and it is not a pretty site, it also makes the place appear less luxe since there's no dress code to dissuade these gut-bearing guys that visit by the dozens...better to stay at The Caribe Hilton; a WORLD of a difference in Customer Service and the service there is given with an open hand (not a tight fist like at the El Con).

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank RedCarnationReady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortManagementTeam, General Manager at Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear RedCarnationReady,

It has been many years since your review. While your review was not answered back then, it is hopefully never too late to do the right thing. It pains us that the experience you had of our resort was not conform to your expectations. There have been many new and exciting enhancements to both Las Casitas Village and El Conquistador since then. It would bean honor for us to welcome you back.

Please do contact us at LasCasitasConcierge@LuxuryResorts.com so we may assist with your return

Warm Regards,

M. Bonnamain
Director of Operations
Las Casitas Village, a Waldorf Astoria Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2008

some technical glitches both before and after our arrival....upon arrival at the airport, our requested hotel transportation was not there.......initially annoying as we were tired after a long flight, but actually lucky as we took a taxi-van to the resort for less less than half the resort-quoted price.........getting to las casitas, the initial impression is a good one....the villas are attractive, pastel stucco..fountains and well tended plantings abound..we had a two bedroom villa with a large terrace overlooking the sea....great space with nicely appointed kitchenette and living area..huge master bedroom..smaller second bedroom with twin beds and no windows.....teeenage kids had no issues with no windows..two baths..groceries we had pre-ordered to be the villa were not there.......thus were especially pleased that carmen rios, a las casitas staff member, had taken the time to send a bottle of wine accompanied by several nice cheeses and fruit...apparently she appreciated the lengthy two-stop journey from london and our late arrival..the gest was a lovely welcoming.........overall, the staff members in charge of las casitas were attentive, helpful and kind..........carmen went above and beyond..

groceries were ordered the next day, again...a great idea to have snacks, drinks, etc on hand with two teens.......good idea..we ate breakfast both in the room and in one of the outside cafes..slow service, but a nice breakfast..

eating out and recognizing it was a busy time, we made reservations through las casitas for three of our evenings..getting to the venues, no record of our reservation was found..thus, some scrambling needed........food overall was good in all establishments but not extradordinary....expensive...

no one in the family particularly liked el comquistador side, the antithesis of the las casidas side.......las casidas was quiet, relaxing, generally handled being fully booked well...........el conquistador was teeming with guests, poolside jammed, noisy...too much

unfortunately, all dinner facilities are on the el conquistador side..plus, getting to the resorts only beaches is on the el conquistador side...in addition, guests must queue and take fast-moving ferry transport to the resort-owned island......first getting to the ferry by taking a funicular...........too much

the island beaches were crowded on one side, but after walking ten minutes, less peopled beaches could be found....once there, fine, but the hassle of getting there was more than we were willing to do generally..........

most often, we stayed at the pretty pool near our villa......only issue being lack of chairs.........just too many visitors looking for relative quiet..the pool itself attractive, infinity pool with lovely view....

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kmacdLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2008

This was our sixth visit to Las Casitas and we were pleased to see that LXR is making some needed changes to the hotel, since they have taken over ownership and management of the property.
Manny Melendez, Operations Manager of Las Casitas, was so gracious and helpful, he did all he could to ensure our stay was enjoyable. We see improvements to the running and efficiency of Las Casitas under his direction. Eggy Lopez, our butler, as always went out of his way to make our stay comfortable and easy. We had some issues with the sofabed in our casita which Eggy tried very hard to resolve for us, Joanne, a server at Las Casitas Cafe, remembered our family from past years and is always so pleasant and smiling each morning at breakfast!!

We would love to see some updating of menus at the restaurants, when you return year after year, you get very tired of seeing the same menu choices-particularly for lunch and breakfast when you eat at the restaurants closest to your casita. Enjoyed the new Strip House-an excellent meal and cocktails. Otellos was again a good meal with quality service. New water park is fun-meant for young children, under 10, not much amusement for pre-teens or teenagers.

We go to Las Casitas to have a relaxing vacation in a beautiful environment, staying at Las Casitas vs. El Conquistador, provides more serenity and privacy while still being able to utilize the amenities, such as the casino and restaurants, of a larger hotel. We enjoy the Goldern Door spa for both services and group fitness classes.

Stayed: March 2008
Thank Hodiecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortManagementTeam, General Manager at Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear Hodiecat,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at Las Casitas Village and honoring us with your first TripAdvisor posting. Though many years have passed I wanted to make sure we acknowledged you review. We are all delighted to learn that you enjoyed the Resort and the caring service of our butlers.

All of us here are looking forward to welcoming you back in Paradise.

Best regards,

Maxence Bonnamain
Director of Operations
Las Casitas Village, a Waldorf Astoria Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2008

The staff at las casitas village in Puerto Rico, particulalrly Alfredo Bizardi, the only female Butler, Ms. Gmez, and all the rest of the Butler staff, as well as housekeeping, icluding Belen, made my stay with a frined who just lost a child due to a still birth, incredibly relaxing, refreshing, and most of all, comforting.

Whle the cost was steep, it was well worth it. There is another butler whose name escapesme but is tall, young, and whose son just turned 5, who went out of his way tio ensure that my friend was cared for without her even knowing that I had mentioned why I was beinging her there. The grounds, service, and villas were spectacular. I would recommend a trip here to anyone, not just someone in mourning, The Golden Door Spa's representative, Miriam, I believe, was phenomenal, as was the service.

Thank flaca6147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortManagementTeam, General Manager at Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear flaca6147,

Thank you for sharing your great experience at Las Casitas Village with our TripAdvisor community. Though many years have passed I wanted to make sure we acknowledged you review. We are all delighted to learn that you enjoyed the Resort from the Spa to caring service of our butlers and housekeeping attendants.

All of us here are looking forward to welcoming you back in Paradise and pampering you.

Best regards,

Maxence Bonnamain
Director of Operations
Las Casitas Village, a Waldorf Astoria Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2008

We spent 9 heavenly days at Las Casitas. Our stay was terrific from arrival to departure. We stayed in a 2 bedroom ocean view villa. The location is breathtaking - we were set high on a cliff overlooking the clear, green blue ocean. This was our 2nd year at the Conquistador. We very much enjoyed the activity of the hotel last year, but were drawn to the serenity and the charm offered by the Casistas.

We were pampered by a great staff. Before we even arrived on island, Manny Melendez did a terrific job in seeing to our accommodations. Our butlers, Manny and Will could not have been more accommodating. Both were easily accessible, having supplied their cell numbers to us. And we called them! They were very prompt in responding to our requests. They could not have been more helpful. And Ana Colon, was very helpful in getting our dinner reservations organized. The staff is a big part of the reason that we would hope to go back yet again next year!

Stayed: March 2008
1  Thank Luvtobepampered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortManagementTeam, General Manager at Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear Luvtobepampered,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful review with our TripAdvisor community. Though many years have passed I wanted to make sure we acknowledged you review. We are all delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay and the service from Ana and Manny whom still work here.

All of us here are looking forward to welcoming you back in Paradise and pampering you.

Best regards,

Maxence Bonnamain
Director of Operations
Las Casitas Village, a Waldorf Astoria Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fajardo
13.1 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico
26.0 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,254 reviews
26.3 mi away
El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.9 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 47 in San Juan
7,192 reviews
44.9 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
0.2 mi away
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 1000 El Conquistador Avenue, Fajardo 00738-3711, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Fajardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Fajardo
Price Range: $237 - $944 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Casitas Village is an enclave of private villas that enjoy sweeping ocean views, fully equipped kitchens, personal concierges and butler service. Among many pleasures, enjoy an expansive waterpark, scuba dive, ride horseback, golf or choose from a renowned menu of soothing treatments at the Waldorf Astoria Spa. Las Casitas Village has long been known as the jewel of the Caribbean and has accumulated a list of prestigious awards and accolades including a 4-diamond rating by AAA. Welcome to Las Casitas Village, a Waldorf Astoria Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Casitas Village, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Fajardo
Waldorf Astoria Fajardo
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort Puerto Rico/Fajardo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing