We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay for business and pleasure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Fajardo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Las Casitas was very nice, well appointed and staff was helpful. Great food in the restaurants, service was only a little slow once and when brought to their attention they were great. Nice that there are several excursions you can take advantage of - though you can get a better deal if you go direct or through the internet, so do your homework!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
1  Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortManagementTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Julie A,

Thank you for your lovely note. As you highlighted the Resort has a lot to offer and we sincerely hope you will come back to visit for leisure!

Las Casitas Village
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,683)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,168 - 1,174 of 1,683 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

If this were a typical hotel I would rate it a little higher, but with the Waldorf name comes a certain level of expectations. The rooms are not up to snuff, no butler was offered, water was never delivered as advertised, room service skipped a day and our key cards stopped working on multiple nights, requiring walks back to El Con's front desk. This really put a damper on a 5yr anniversary.
It is expected that on site food and stores are pricey...but OMG. This place is over the top expensive for food and drink. The Spa was full service.
The pools were nice, however all the hot tubs were scalding, could not sit in them. The private island was a nice get away destination. Make sure you are a heavy sleeper, as sound proofing between rooms is almost nil. Plus every morning a guy with a leaf blower gives you a wake up call. Why they don't use a vac to keep this activity to a minimum is beyond me.
This place is riding the coat tails of the superb location... it could and should be so much more. As it is, it is an over priced trap.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortManagementTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear Scott D,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Resort. We appreciate you bringing your concerns to our attention, and would like the opportunity to address them with you personally.

Would you be so kind as to e-mail me directly at LasCasitasConcierge@LuxuryResorts.com so we can discuss?

We strive to provide excellence, and hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Las Casitas Village
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We just returned from a weeks vacation at Las Casitas/El Conquistador. As every review states, the grounds and views are absolutely beautiful. We stayed in a one bedroom garden view casita in the North Village. We were able to walk to everthing including the El Con amenities, golf course, all pools, restaurants, etc. We did not rent a car but if we were to go back, I believe we would next time. The shuttle to and from the airport was costly ($155 each way for 5 people- 2 adults and 3 children).

A couple of things really bothered us about this resort. Namely, the common areas around the pool were full of empty cups, plates, garbage wrappers consistently. Yes, the breeze picks up which causes things to blow around but none of the workers seemed to care to pick trash up. (Neither did the guests which isn't right either!). One afternoon, a little girl vomited pool side. The owners didn't clean it up which we found pretty rude but when I complained about it hours later to the pool attendant, he didnt seem to act quickly either. We went to dinner and finally 5 hours after the vomit had occurred, it was cleaned up.

The beach at Palomino Island is gorgeous and very entertaining for kids. There are a lot of no-cost activities to pass the time out of the sun. (Chess, soccer, basketball, corn hole, etc) The restaurant there is decent for lunch but be aware of the wildlife! You will see large iguanas roaming around the restaurant, birds flying everywhere-landing on vacated tables to eat the leftovers and also leave their droppings on your chairs and tables!! (GROSS-staff doesn't seem to care and therefore they don't clean any of it either-) chickens and horses and again BIRDS.

We really did have a wonderful vacation and I do recommend this place for families and I do think we will go back again. However, I wish the cleaning crew would scrub down the pool decks, chairs and tables daily. Having to watch for bird feces everywhere got to be annoying! I've never seen this problem at any other resort...not sure why the hotel management can't prevent this from happening.

Oh, one more thing....be prepared to pay extra fees. There are 2 tax charges along with the resort charge per person. For us, it added up to $400 per night for one bedroom garden view casita!

Room Tip: If you want to walk to everything, ask for North Village.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob0902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Go no further than Las Casitas Village if you want first-rate accomodations and service with the views of the French Riviera or Costa Amalfi. Overlooking the Atlantic with views of the islands of Vieques, Culebra and Palominos, las Casitas is the exclusive locale of El Conquistador hotel in Fajardo. Rooms are well appointed and some have their own jacuzzis. There's a private pool and restaurant. Las Casitas is next door to the golf clubhouse and you get access to all the amenities of the Hotel including the water park and transfer by boat to Palominos island. I'd say that Las Casitas is right up there with the best and most exclusive hotels in PR.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lin929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Our stay at Las Casitas Village was memorable. Although we had stayed at the hotel before, it was our first time in Las Casitas and definitely not our last. The service and accommodations were excellent. We were given an upgrade to an ocean view room and it was wonderful. The view was breath taking. A perfect place to relax and unwind, and enjoy all the amenities the hotel has to offer. You will love your stay. I guaranty it!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Thank Lin929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The views from the infinity pool were so beautiful! The room was average but the property overall was very comfortable, with a relaxed atmosphere. We enjoyed spending a day at Palomino Island with its' beautiful beach and water activities. Food and drinks, (except water which we appreciated so much), were very expensive! Service was good, staff was friendly and very helpful. The water park had four slides and the lazy river. It was on the small size but we had a great day there. One slide is for young kids and one slide is for adventurers, the other two were fun. Our room did have a mini-fridge but no kitchen.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeannine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Las Casita Village is beautiful. We were there for 4 nights in a 3 bedroom ocean view casita and it was perfect. View.Size.Furnishings. It was quite, the pool was excellent as was the overall service.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fajardo
13.1 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico
26.0 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,255 reviews
26.3 mi away
El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.3 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
30.9 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#18 of 47 in San Juan
7,204 reviews
44.9 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 1000 El Conquistador Avenue, Fajardo 00738-3711, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Fajardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Fajardo
Price Range: $236 - $843 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Casitas Village is an enclave of private villas that enjoy sweeping ocean views, fully equipped kitchens, personal concierges and butler service. Among many pleasures, enjoy an expansive waterpark, scuba dive, ride horseback, golf or choose from a renowned menu of soothing treatments at the Waldorf Astoria Spa. Las Casitas Village has long been known as the jewel of the Caribbean and has accumulated a list of prestigious awards and accolades including a 4-diamond rating by AAA. Welcome to Las Casitas Village, a Waldorf Astoria Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Casitas Village, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Fajardo
Waldorf Astoria Fajardo
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort Puerto Rico/Fajardo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing